summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars259
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$59.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2006
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always out with her fellow suffragettes. Mary Poppins brings magic and fun into the children's lives, something that has been sorely lacking prior to her arrival.

Julie Andrews stars as the nanny and Dick Van Dyke as the lovable cockney Bert, (just forgive his dreadful accent) who always seems to be around at the right time for an adventure. The children find themselves having outings such as jumping into a chalk picture into a cartoon world, having a tea-party on a ceiling and dancing across the rooftops of London. Stuffed to the gills with songs such as 'Spoonful of Sugar', 'Chim Chim Cheree', 'Feed the Birds' and 'Jolly Holiday', this will have you tapping your foot throughout.

This 40th anniversary edition is on 2 discs and features lots of extras such as a documentary, commentary, footage of the premieres etc. The quality of print is very high, the colours have never looked so vibrant and the picture is razor sharp. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

Mary Poppins pops onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.66:1 encode. The digital restoration by Disney is simply fantastic. Grain levels are intact and filmic. Colour reproduction is bright, bold, and accurate - especially the fanciful cartoon sequences. Contrast is dynamic and blacks are inky. Image resolution and details are excellent. Human faces and other clothing textures are impressive. You'll see individual hair follicles, wrinkles, and even makeup effects on the Senior Mr. Dawes. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Mary Poppins dances and sings its way onto blu ray with a robust English 7.1 DTS-HD MA sound mix. Dialogue is crystal clear and neatly prioritized at all times; effects are crisp and mischievous; and Richard and Robert Sherman's unforgettable songs have quite simply never sounded better, fuller or more engaging. Dynamic range is just average. There are even a few wonderful moments, like exploding fireworks during Step in Time, where all nine channels spring to life with active, almost-aggressive panning, and my two subwoofers thundered. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

In 1965, out of 13 nominations, Mary Poppins won 5 Oscars: Best Actress (Julie Andrews), Best Film Editing, Best Special Visual Effects, Best Original Song (Chim Chim Cher-ee), and Best Original Score (Richard and Robert Sherman). It was nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Colour Cinematography, Best Set Direction – Colour, Best Costume, Best Sound and Best Music Score.

Mary Poppins has an estimated budget of $6 million, but grossed $102 million, which is phenomenal by today’s standards.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Mary Poppins is a top tier catalog title we've been long waiting to see on blu ray. Thanks to the film's 50th Anniversary and the biopic about the project's development, Saving Mr. Banks, the wait is finally over. The classic live action/musical/animated picture features a stunning video transfer and a lovely multi-channel sound mix. It is a totally enjoyable movie for the entire family. You will sing along with such classics, as Chim Chim Cher-ee, A Spoonful of Sugar, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (I hope I spell it correctly), Feed The Birds and Step in Time. This set is way superior to the 40th Anniversary DVD release, and is highly recommended.

I hope my review is helpful to you.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 16, 2004
This is a review for the new 2-disc Disney 40th Anniversary edition of Mary Poppins.
This is one of the best re-releases of this year.The movie is STILL(and will be for years to come) an aural and visual delight and designed for families and people of all ages.
Interweaving a wonderful story with some groundbreaking techniques and special effects Disney took/takes us on a magical ride in a recreated slice of life from 1910.
The story,by now familiar to many,involves the arrival to the Banks household of a nanny(Julie Andrews).In short order she manages to shake the prim and proper Banks household to its Edwardian core and teaches them,especially the "master" of his realm Mr.Banks(David Tomlinson),that there are more important things in life than strict adherence to schedule,rules and blind duty to ones'job.Bert(Dick Van Dyke),a friend to Mary,assists her whenever and wherever he can.
Julie Andrews plays her character with a wonderful reserve befitting the part and she sings beautifully.Whenever Mary gets too stodgy though Bert,played phenomenally by Dick Van Dyke,is always there to ease the atmosphere and put a smile on everyones' face.
The entire cast from the children,the servants to the admiral and the policeman all turn in a superb supporting job from beginning to end.
The restored print and accompanying sound track have been given the deluxe Disney treatment.Visually I have not seen as good a print of this film since I first saw it during its' premier in Toronto in late 1964.The versions I have seen over the years either on TV or on video just don't come close to this one.
My particular benchmark test was the colour and detail of the panoramic view(with special attention to the sky)when they climb the "smoke stairway" and gaze out over a late in the day city of London.
It is stunningly beautiful and was as I remembered it after all this time.That cinched it for me.
Aurally the liner notes tell us that the sound has been remastered into a Dolby 5.1 "Theatre Mix"(the original 2.0 theatrical mix is also included).
Translation:"Fantastic".
The movie never sounded as clean or as good.I couldn't help but to sing and tap my feet to all the numbers.
The set is loaded with a surfeit of extras that will satisfy even the most picky of movie buffs from footage of its' opening premiere in L.A. to a making-of special.
So grab the popcorn,get yourself seated comfortably on the sofa,turn down the lights and slip into the magical world of Mary Poppins like you've never experienced before.
Oh yes a heads up, grab the hankies for the "Feed the Birds" scene/number....you'll need it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
This concerns the 50th Anniversary Edition (blu-ray). This is another of my "feel good" movies. This movie has been digitally restored and looks nice, although it shows its age more than other restored movies, probably because of the source material, which contains a lot of special effects and animation. Still the images are sharper on the blu-ray than the DVD. This edition contains both the blu-ray and the DVD versions.

The menu which loops a sequence from the movie, looks very nice on the blu-ray, ugly on the DVD (someone at Disney needs glasses). Once you put the disk on the player be ready to press "skip" because you will be bombarded with crappy ads! Does anyone actually watch these things?

The box mentions a making-of documentary, although I can't find it anywhere.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2001
Anyone who has a 16x9, widescreen television will be disappointed to discover that the technical information provided by Disney. They released this disc saying that it was in a widscreen ANAMORPHIC format. It is not. It is widscreen (letterbox) but it is not anamorphic so it is distorted when displayed on a widscreen television. It's disappointing because this film is one of Walt Disney's crowning achievements and it's too bad that they didn't put it out in the best possible format.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2010
I ordered this 45th anniversary edition of Mary Poppins for my pre-school grandson, to see if he would delight in the scenes as much as his parents, his aunts, and his grandparents had done. The magic is still there, even for a kid exposed to the docile renderings on the Treehouse cable network. Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke perform at the top of their game. The chimney sweepers fill the rooftops better than any computer-generated hocus-pocus.
The second disc in this set takes viewers behind the scenes of the recent Broadway production of Mary Poppins. This is a revelation that theatre-goers will love. Not everyone will enjoy the lengthy conversations about adapting the screenplay to the stage. Likewise,pointing out the distinctions between the original texts in England and the Disney version may seem somewhat academic if one is not familar with the books themselves. However, for those people who love this kind of exploration, the second disc is a marvel. Best of all, the disc contains a video version of the stage play's chimney scene, in which the actor climbs the proscenium arch and walks upside down across the top of the stage- spectacular!

I loved the movie the first time around. My three children loved watching it at home on video. Now our little David is enchanted. Hooray for Mary Poppins!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2000
I am a huge fan of Disney movies, and this is, by far, my favorite. Every time I watch it, I get a wonderful, happy, child-like, magical, goose-pimply feeling. Wouldn't it be wonderful to have a nanny like Mary Poppins!! Now that I have a child of my own, I CANNOT WAIT to introduce this movie to him. I'm a firm believer in reading to your children. My son is not 2 yet, and I have constantly read to him since he was an infant, but...this is one time where he'll see the movie before having the book(s) read to him. I've introduced this move to a nephew and a cousin and they were mesmerized. It made me enjoy the movie even more, watching it through their eyes. The songs are EXCELLENT. Dick Van Dyke is AMAZING (also check him out in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) and Julie Andrews is at her BEST (along w/The Sound of Music). This is the magic of Disney at its best. (Other greats: Cinderella, Aladdin, Toy Story I & II).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
Unfortunately the digital copy of this product is not iTunes compatible, which is what I wanted. It is Google Play compatible though, with is something I NEVER use. I wish I had known this when I bought the product since I purchased this solely for the digital copy. Too bad since it's one of my favourite Classic movies from my childhood.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
We really enjoyed watching this movie again. My husband and I had not seen it for several years, not since our children were teens. Now we are looking forward to having our grandchildren coming to visit and watching it with us!!! There is something for everyone in this movie ... music, comedy, drama, great acting, dancing cartoons, wonderful little songs, questionable behaviour addressed in wonderful ways, etc., etc.

Although this may be considered an 'Oldie' ... It's still very much a 'Goodie' as they say ... A good option for sharing some quality time with someone. Whether it's with the kids, grandchildren, spouse, by yourself, snuggling with your cat or dog ... it'll be an enjoyable time!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon September 22, 2003
The first thing you notice about this movie is that Julie Andrews shines. She looks young, happy and a darn sight prettier than in The Sound of Music. She either put everything she had into the part of Mary Poppins, or had a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious time playing her. This role was obviously tailor-made for Julie Andrews and nobody else.
The second thing you appreciate is the subtitles option, which is the only way you can understand what Bert is saying half of the time, unless you're a cockney, or know one to translate for you.
Some of the British terms are quite unusual, and will fly over the heads of most.
Other little comments:
I thought the housekeeper stole the scenes she was in - really funny stuff
Some of the songs went on a bit too long for short attention spans.
In the chalk sceneries, Mary Poppins tells the children not to fall and smudge the paintings, but Bert kneels down in his white trousers and they remain immaculate. (Not complaining, just something I noticed)
There are a lot of songs you know, that you didn't know came from this movie.
Summary:
Great visual effects for the time, great acting by everybody, sing-a-long quality music, a highly entertaining classic movie for all ages. Buy it and learn to speak cockney with Bert.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse