Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always...
Published on Sept. 9 2006 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed review
My 3 yr old son loves so many movies. But Mary Poppins just isn't one of them for him. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the Muppet Movie were even a hit with him.
I still love this movie myself though. It's a beautiful movie!
Published on Dec 21 2001


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always out with her fellow suffragettes. Mary Poppins brings magic and fun into the children's lives, something that has been sorely lacking prior to her arrival.

Julie Andrews stars as the nanny and Dick Van Dyke as the lovable cockney Bert, (just forgive his dreadful accent) who always seems to be around at the right time for an adventure. The children find themselves having outings such as jumping into a chalk picture into a cartoon world, having a tea-party on a ceiling and dancing across the rooftops of London. Stuffed to the gills with songs such as 'Spoonful of Sugar', 'Chim Chim Cheree', 'Feed the Birds' and 'Jolly Holiday', this will have you tapping your foot throughout.

This 40th anniversary edition is on 2 discs and features lots of extras such as a documentary, commentary, footage of the premieres etc. The quality of print is very high, the colours have never looked so vibrant and the picture is razor sharp. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins (50th Anniversary Edition blu ray): Great movie, great songs, great video and audio – great for the whole family!, Dec 10 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

Mary Poppins pops onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.66:1 encode. The digital restoration by Disney is simply fantastic. Grain levels are intact and filmic. Colour reproduction is bright, bold, and accurate - especially the fanciful cartoon sequences. Contrast is dynamic and blacks are inky. Image resolution and details are excellent. Human faces and other clothing textures are impressive. You'll see individual hair follicles, wrinkles, and even makeup effects on the Senior Mr. Dawes. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Mary Poppins dances and sings its way onto blu ray with a robust English 7.1 DTS-HD MA sound mix. Dialogue is crystal clear and neatly prioritized at all times; effects are crisp and mischievous; and Richard and Robert Sherman's unforgettable songs have quite simply never sounded better, fuller or more engaging. Dynamic range is just average. There are even a few wonderful moments, like exploding fireworks during Step in Time, where all nine channels spring to life with active, almost-aggressive panning, and my two subwoofers thundered. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

In 1965, out of 13 nominations, Mary Poppins won 5 Oscars: Best Actress (Julie Andrews), Best Film Editing, Best Special Visual Effects, Best Original Song (Chim Chim Cher-ee), and Best Original Score (Richard and Robert Sherman). It was nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Colour Cinematography, Best Set Direction – Colour, Best Costume, Best Sound and Best Music Score.

Mary Poppins has an estimated budget of $6 million, but grossed $102 million, which is phenomenal by today’s standards.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Mary Poppins is a top tier catalog title we've been long waiting to see on blu ray. Thanks to the film's 50th Anniversary and the biopic about the project's development, Saving Mr. Banks, the wait is finally over. The classic live action/musical/animated picture features a stunning video transfer and a lovely multi-channel sound mix. It is a totally enjoyable movie for the entire family. You will sing along with such classics, as Chim Chim Cher-ee, A Spoonful of Sugar, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (I hope I spell it correctly), Feed The Birds and Step in Time. This set is way superior to the 40th Anniversary DVD release, and is highly recommended.

I hope my review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nannie for the children., Aug. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Julie Andrew movies have a knack for turning chores and work into games and along with Divk van Dyke it becomes a hilarious comedy where the entire audience also enjoys the goings on in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted!, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, a classic that must be seen! It even came into a slipcover :) I'm very happy of my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!, March 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un film que j'écoutais étant plus jeune, enregistré en cassette, des milliers de fois, je ne me lasse pas et c'est un classique pour moi! Merci technologie de rafraîchir des films de nos jeunesses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Feb. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its freaking Mary Poppins she's great my kids loved it as I loved it when I was young. Simply a fantastic addition to your movie collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great even watching it without the kids, Feb. 23 2014
By 
Maurice A. Rhodes (BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Perhaps it was nostalgia for other days but we got a kick out of watching this as old folks - maybe it brought pleasant memories when our kids were tots. Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke did a great job of this fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Timeless, Feb. 14 2014
By 
P. Holland (Ottawa, ON, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This should be a part of every family's collection, children or no children. A timeless classic that is just as enjoyable today as decades ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Mary Poppins, Feb. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a classic. Either you love it because Poppins is a part of your childhood, or you don't care for the singing and dancing penguins. It was well-loved in my childhood, and now it will be loved again now that we can watch it on Blu-ray. Glad that I don't have to dig out a working VCR to enjoy the classics again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mary poppins, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Poppins 45th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
This DVD is for a replacement DVD that I had previously owned and was damaged. With this current transaction the seller has acted in a professional manner, expeditiously completing the shipping arrangements. The item was received at my home in excellent condition and now rests in my library. Thank you for your assistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa09ef08)

This product

Mary Poppins 45th Anniversary Edition
Mary Poppins 45th Anniversary Edition by Robert Stevenson (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 90.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews