Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reminder of Loss
Dead Like Me: The Movie stays true to the themes and heart of the original series. The majority of the major characters/actors return including George. Like the television series, this movie is a deftly created combination of wry dark humour and reflections on what it means to truly live-even if you're dead. George, while still struggling with an inherently...
Published on March 27 2009 by K. Pegler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not hold up
Art Matters: The Art of Knowledge/The Knowledge of Art
Natural Law, Science, and the Social Construction of Reality

I loved the series. It was funny and serious and had great character interaction.
The movie brings some of the original cast and they are okay but the newcomers do not make it.

The character that gives out the assignments...
Published on Jan. 4 2011 by Bernie Koenig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not hold up, Jan. 4 2011
By 
Bernie Koenig (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
Art Matters: The Art of Knowledge/The Knowledge of Art
Natural Law, Science, and the Social Construction of Reality

I loved the series. It was funny and serious and had great character interaction.
The movie brings some of the original cast and they are okay but the newcomers do not make it.

The character that gives out the assignments doesn't work at all. The writers tried to update the context and had him into all kinds of finance which did not work, but he also screwed up the assignments.
Some of the screw ups could have led to some screw ball comedy but the writing and acting was too flat and those scenes just ended up dead, sometimes not like like the characters

There was a kind of romantic sub plot with a dying person but that was also flat.

In short, a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Beg You..Don't Watch It.., Sept. 2 2009
By 
Willow3171 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
I really liked the Television series. It was offbeat and fun. Quirky and entertaining. This movie is NONE of those things. It is just plain terrible. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Big thumbs down on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excruciating, July 24 2010
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
I nearly died watching this. From pain. DLM is one of my favourite series of all time, and every character did everything wrong, wrong, wrong. Everything I wanted to like about this movie I hated. The dialogue was awful, and like other reviewers said, they broke all the rules. All of them. =/ Anyways, good actors, minus the newly cast Daisy, who was absolutely terrible for the part. I would have liked the movie more if it had been more of a new movie versus a rehash of all the old jokes and idiosyncrasies of the series. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, but some closure, Feb. 20 2009
By 
Happy Lemming (Somewhere North) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed the series, and eagerly awaited the direct-to-DVD movie. Alas, after watching it with my family, we all felt disappointed. The movie lacks the humor and character development of the series; the situations are too predictable. A watch-once. That being said, it was good to see a few loose ends tied up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucked!, May 29 2009
By 
Reid Tucker (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
I loved seasons 1 & 2, but this movie is terrible and a disgrace! I watched it last night and it is now in my garbage can! The script is mindless. The foul language was frequent and inappropriate. The actors must have been desperate for money to portray this pathetic script. Using a different actress to play Daisy was ridiculous.
Rent this movie or wait for it to appear in the 99 cent bin at Walmart which should be soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reminder of Loss, March 27 2009
By 
K. Pegler (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
Dead Like Me: The Movie stays true to the themes and heart of the original series. The majority of the major characters/actors return including George. Like the television series, this movie is a deftly created combination of wry dark humour and reflections on what it means to truly live-even if you're dead. George, while still struggling with an inherently self-destructive nature, has matured...a little. Poignantly, so has her little sister who has her own life-shaping events in this film.
There really is only one thing wrong with this film-it leaves the viewer desperate for more!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A violation.., March 22 2009
By 
S. Read - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
Like another reviewer, this is my first review on this site. I felt this film was disappointing enough to warrant it. My boyfriend and I have been loyal (if not fanatical) Dead Like Me followers since the pilot and have very much enjoyed the scripting and characters throughout.

This movie never should have been made, with such a poor script to work from. The plotline was shaky at best. We felt that the direction it was taken was so wrong; we barely recognized the characters, the way they were written, and those were the ones played by the original actors and actresses. The recast parts did not work for us either.

Completely misses the point and loses the spirit of the show. If you want to remember the characters you love as you came to know them from the TV series, pass on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously?, Sept. 5 2009
By 
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
You need to see Dead Like Me. The TV show. You never, ever need to see this movie.
Rube is gone, Daisy might as well be, and Mason and Roxy's characters have completely lost their original personalities. It violates the rules of the show, and the small portion of the film that almost worked (George and Reggie's encounters) was marred by iffy dialog.
My instructions: Buy the complete collection, and, upon receiving it, destroy this film, and enjoy the original, enjoyable series.
When the "theme" played in the final moments of the film, I was shaking my head, disgusted that it was even used in this poor reproduction of what used to be truly great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this because the director is an idiot., April 10 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
I was SOOOO excited for this movie, even though it didn't have all of the original cast. Wow, was I ever disappointed! It wasn't funny, or really all that interesting. The only redeeming point was that Reggie and Georgia finally talk. The rest was boring, and went by too fast without really stopping to develop the changes. If it were a mini-series it may have worked better, but there was too much to change all at once, and the director really did screw it up. He said he wanted it to not be as funny, and for it to be more sentimental (the opposite of the original series, what people liked). You can tell in the interviews with the cast that they are lying through their teeth about the movie, and I felt bad watching them have to do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's just alright..., Feb. 6 2014
This review is from: Dead Like Me Movie (DVD)
If you buy this movie expecting it to be as good as the tv show,then I fear you will be horribly disappointed.Too many original cast members missing and it was poorly written and directed.I wish this show hadn't been cancelled.Seems to happen with most great shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Like Me Movie
Dead Like Me Movie by Stephen Herek (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 14.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews