Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke and Mirrors
I'll confess I'm writing this review from memory (the tape has not arrived yet), but I can say I recall this as one of my favorite episodes starring Tom Baker. The mysterious robot murder-mystery is quite spooky, and the robot masks are great. Really groovy, so check it out.
Published on Sept. 15 2000 by R. Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Are we the only three still alive?"
Probably my least favorite adventure in the Key To Time series is THE ANDROIDS OF TARA. And the main criticism that I have of it is that it commits one of the worst sins that a television program can -- it bored me. Which is a real shame because in-between the long stretches of lackluster material, there are more than a few things to enjoy. But my overwhelming...
Published on Nov. 20 2002 by Andrew McCaffrey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars "Next time, I shall not be so lenient!", Dec 21 2002
By 
Jason A. Miller (Brooklyn, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't be fooled by the lack of buzz, or by all the reviews declaring "The Androids of Tara" to be the weakest of "Doctor Who"'s Key To Time season. Granted, the DVD may be the weakest in the new six-disc box set, but the story itself is remarkably witty and something to be enjoyed again and again.
As the production notes are sure to tell the viewer several times, this story is "Doctor Who"'s homage to "The Prisoner of Zenda", following the plot twist by twist, and adding only a few modest sci-fi elements (two androids and some electric swords). As Tom Baker points out on the commentary track, visiting guest stars used "Doctor Who" as an opportunity to "do a turn" (or, as the fans say, "chew the scenery"), and this serial's guest villain Peter Jeffrey (playing the aptly-named Count Grendel of Gracht) gives a delightful performance as the scheming nobleman who doesn't kill a soul and is allowed to swim away at the end of the story, uttering the famous face-saving line above.
The DVD production is bare-bones, unusual for the high-quality "Doctor Who" line. The text commentary is notably weak, perhaps because it's not written by Martin Wiggins, who did the notes for the first three DVDs in this set. Now authored by Richard Molesworth (who did notes on a few of the earlier "Who" DVDs), the notes are basically endless lists of the supporting actors' other TV appearances -- most of which will not be familiar to the audience watching these US-release-only discs -- and the dates of location filming. It indeed adds a lot to your enjoyment of Part Three to learn that Romana's stunt double rode her horse on the 27th and 28th of July. The notes spend a good amount of time describing the original "The Prisoner of Zenda" (stating three times that the novel was written by Anthony Hope in 1894), but fail to pick up on a deliriously funny blooper in which Jeffrey walks through the walls of a set, Leslie Nielsen style, as Tom Baker ducks through a curtained doorway.
The commentary track is recorded by stars Baker and Tamm (Romana), and director Michael Hayes. Hayes dominates the early going by reciting the "Prisoner of Zenda"'s original movie cast, while Baker laughs insanely at the sight of the poorly-costumed miniature bear that menaces Romana in the opening minutes. After a while it's obvious that the three aren't watching the story, and I found myself mentally tuning out. That said, the anecdote about Petter Jeffrey's wart is funny, and, as in every other DW disc released to date, a commentator asserts that the low-rent 1970s production values "stand up rather well today". Charming. But wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Are we the only three still alive?", Nov. 20 2002
By 
Andrew McCaffrey (Satellite of Love, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Probably my least favorite adventure in the Key To Time series is THE ANDROIDS OF TARA. And the main criticism that I have of it is that it commits one of the worst sins that a television program can -- it bored me. Which is a real shame because in-between the long stretches of lackluster material, there are more than a few things to enjoy. But my overwhelming impression of this (and that impression is reaffirmed with every subsequent viewing) is that there is just far too much padding and fluff in this adventure for its own good.
First of all, the story seems to jar slightly from the usual way that the Tom Baker Doctor interacts with others. Rather than being at the center and driving the action forward, the Doctor takes a passive role for the majority of the tale. He eventually does become a mover in his own right near the end, but for the most part this is a story that he influences rather than drives. ANDROIDS OF TARA is very much the story of the King, the Crown and the fight for the throne rather than having a structure more typical of the average Doctor Who adventure. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, though. It's interesting to see a more subdued Fourth Doctor, although occasionally I was wishing for him to take a more active stance. It just seemed odd that the Doctor would cave so easily under the threat of violence and that it was only this threat that kept him in the story. It's even more odd when one realizes that the Doctor would usually be predisposed to want to help out the Prince, Zadek and Farrah anyway. The fact that most of the plot points are borrowed from other sources is fairly obvious so perhaps this is an inadvertent holdover from an earlier draft. I'm not quite sure what the solution is, but there's something about those sequences that just don't quite seem to work.
As far as the characters go, the oh-so-bad Count is probably one of the most amusing villains in Doctor Who; he almost makes the story worth viewing just by himself. It's true that he becomes a caricature of himself by the end, but by that point he's an entertaining force in his own right. I love how by episode four he isn't even bothering to put up a pretense around his machinations any more, he's just busy being as evil as he can be -- and he's immense fun.
As professional as the rest of the cast is, they simply don't have a terribly exciting script to work with here. The characters are well played but there isn't much to them. With robotic and dull android duplicates roaming through the story, it can sometimes be difficult to determine when exactly someone is portraying an emotionless machine, and when someone is portraying a bland and uninteresting character.
On the positive side, the picture has been cleaned up quite well, and special mention must go to the exterior shots that now look extremely crisp and clear. The sound is also remarkably improved, with many little whispers and mumbles now audible. Tom Baker, Mary Tamm, and director Michael Hayes feature on the commentary track, and this alone is a big reason for obtaining this DVD. Baker and Tamm are slightly more subdued than they were on the RIBOS OPERATION disc, but still manage to come out with several hysterical comments (I particularly enjoyed Tom Baker's pride at his character's ability to consume vast quantities of drugged wine - "I'm the last one to drop!"). Hayes manages to answer Baker's frequent asking of "Who's that?" as well as offering insights into the behind-the-scenes production. The pop-up production notes are sadly much less interesting than those on the previous three discs. While there was some useful information concerning the development of the script, far too many of the slides simply tell us what day and time certain shots were filmed. Not necessarily bad, just dull compared to the other notes.
If you already liked ANDROIDS OF TARA, then no doubt you'll enjoy the DVD release, which again maintains the very high standards that the Doctor Who discs have enjoyed. Personally, I could have done without picking up this one, and had it not been part of the Key To Time box set, I think I would have avoided it. Still, it's always nice to reevaluate Doctor Who stories that one hasn't seen recently, even if one's original opinion remains unchanged. And with the story physically looking and sounding better than it ever has before, this is probably the best opportunity you'll have to enjoy this particular one. I just hope you find it less boring than I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the weakest in the Key to Time series, Oct. 26 2002
By A Customer
Although it gets off to a good start, Androids of Tara just never really comes together. The story is tried and tested - no originality here. It's just a typical person X wants to become king, but person Y is already king, and so hatch a giant, convoluted plot to make person X king. Romana spends most of the time either captured, or reciting her lines often consisting of silly questions, or "explain the plot to the audience" comments.
To be fair, theres some well played out scenes, and some good one-liners by Tom Baker. Humour is there, and you get the impression the story isn't taking itself too seriously. The problem is, by the start of Episode 3, you'll probably wish it was all over.
Two and a half stars for Androids of Tara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Doctor, your fishing holiday has been postponed., Feb. 3 2002
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Doctor is feeling lazy in Episode One and he decides to delegate to Romana, saying that "after a journey of 400 years and 12 parsecs, I'm allowed a rest of fifty years." He goes fishing, to which Romana, clearly disgusted at his childishness, tells him, "Look, I'm going to get that fourth segment and I'll be back in under an hour. You be ready to leave." Of course, things don't pan out as planned.
The medieval society of Tara is the setting for the fourth story in the Key To Time season. The Doctor and Romana get caught up in a power play between the good Prince Reynhart and the evil Count Grendel, contenders for the throne of Tara. Romana finds the fourth segment early enough, and what follows is her being mistaken for an android of Princess Strella. However, when Grendel and Lamia, the peasant android technician, realizes she is human, she becomes further enmeshed in his attempts to gain the throne.
Romana loses none of her stylishness, dressed as she is in a long purple dress with velvety front and matching hat. Despite it being listed as something everyone's wearing, nobody is seen in the outfit. Mary Tamm plays both Romana and Princess Strella.
There's clearly caste philosophy mixed in here. When Reynhart bemoans the tragedy of not being taught peasant skills, Zadek replies, true to Plato's Republic, "If we were meant to be peasants, we would have been born peasants." And Lamia tells Grendel, "I'm a peasant. I leave politics to my betters."
The late Peter Jeffrey has appeared in countless movies and TV series, notably as the headmaster in Lindsay Anderson's if... and as Inspector Trout in The Abominable Dr. Phibes. He's also notable as one of the contenders of the prime ministership in "Party Games," the transition episode of Yes Minister that makes it Yes Prime Minister. He does a fine job as the Machiavellian Count Grendel.
There are repeated themes from other episodes. Reynhart and the pessimistic Zadek are another variation of Vynda-K and Sholakh (Ribos Operation), and the drugged wine a repeat of The Brain Of Morbius. Grimwade's Syndrome or robophobia, (q.v. Robots Of Death) is also felt by, although not nominally referred to by Farrah and Zadek.
Cyril Shaps, who plays the religious leader, the Archimandrite, already made a Doctor Who appearance in Tomb Of The Cybermen.
The Androids Of Tara works in breaking away from the usual finding the segment in the last episode routine, and the lack of unusual monsters or megalomaniac villains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the Key to Time, Sept. 10 2001
I recently re-watched the Androids of Tara for the first time in several years and I found out just why it had been collected dust in the back of my video collection for so long. Simply put, Androids of Tara just isn't that great a story.
It's arguably the weakest of the Key to Time season (Power of Kroll gives it a run for the money in that department), simply because it's too predictable. The search for the Key to Time occupies only the first few moments of episode one and the final moemnts of episode four. It's a book end story designed to get us into the main story--that of Count Grendel and his mechanizations to take power on the planet of Tara. Before you can say "double double" there are androids on top of androids, dopplegangers and the Doctor and Romana embroiled in local politics. The story has potential--but most of it's wasted halfway through. The serial never gels and it feels as though the creative team and the production team were wearying of the entire Key to Time concept by this story.
So, if you're a Who completist, check this one out. If you're new to Who and want to see some great Who, look for "Genesis of the Daleks" or "Pyramids of Mars" as examples of how good the fourth Doctor's era can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke and Mirrors, Sept. 15 2000
By 
R. Thompson (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'll confess I'm writing this review from memory (the tape has not arrived yet), but I can say I recall this as one of my favorite episodes starring Tom Baker. The mysterious robot murder-mystery is quite spooky, and the robot masks are great. Really groovy, so check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf4afaec)

This product

Dr. Who Ep.101: Androids of Ta
Dr. Who Ep.101: Androids of Ta by Tom Baker (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 30.98 CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews