Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (94)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars @ DeanWinchester79
This is uncut. You must be imagining a gorier version or you're thinking of the remake. Before you confuse people, learn a little about the films you're reviewing.
Published on Feb. 22 2012 by S. Masson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great musical score
i have no doubt that if i had seen this when it first came out in
1980,it would have scared the crap out of me.in the present day
though,i didn't find it scary,mainly because i have seen so many
horror/slasher movies since then.this movie is hardly graphic or
shocking at all compare to today's feature film,and even some TV
shows,for that...
Published on May 30 2009 by falcon


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great musical score, May 30 2009
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
i have no doubt that if i had seen this when it first came out in
1980,it would have scared the crap out of me.in the present day
though,i didn't find it scary,mainly because i have seen so many
horror/slasher movies since then.this movie is hardly graphic or
shocking at all compare to today's feature film,and even some TV
shows,for that matter.however,i will say really enjoyed the musical
score by Henry Manfredini,who must have been influenced strongly by
Bernard Herman,who scored Psycho.i believe Kevin bacon makes his big
screen debut here,but i could be wrong.the acting for this type of
movie is fine,although i have to single out Betsy Palmer for really
standing out.this movie spawned,i believe,10 sequels,all differing in
quality.my vote for Friday the 13th is a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars @ DeanWinchester79, Feb. 22 2012
By 
S. Masson (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is uncut. You must be imagining a gorier version or you're thinking of the remake. Before you confuse people, learn a little about the films you're reviewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, April 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Friday the 13th movies aren't all that great. The stories all kinda dull with too many characters. Still a classic for slasher movie fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Killer Collection, Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm very happy with this collection. The DVD's come in this book that contains facts about the film's production and fun facts like weapons that jason uses and number of kills per film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jason reborn.... again!!, Nov. 2 2011
By 
DeanWinchester79 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This remake of "Friday the 13th" has a lot going for it, my fave is having Jared Padalecki (Supernatural's Sam Winchester) in the lead role. But the one thing that I didn't like is having Jason being an ordinary guy - super strong but a human. Although Jason is royally pissed at whoever enters his woods, and a big shout goes to Derek Mears for making Jason fun again, the only solid acting comes from Padalecki. The others are only there for sex, booze and drugs. And like any other "Friday", you know what's going to happen. The plot is based on the first four with the end having aspects from part 5 and "Jason Goes to Hell". The sound is crap, however. A dolby trueHD... A great remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, this movie ain't a winner., Feb. 20 2010
By 
Colin Gross (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kids go to rich boys cottage for party. One by one they get killed off by jason. Some sex and booze but plot for this one didn't take a genius to think up and the writer for this one isn't the most clever. I am a huge fan of horror and I was mildly excited to see this one but at the end I was pretty dissapointed. Too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, simple, effective., Nov. 4 2012
This review is from: Friday the 13th: Uncut (Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
I have never been a huge Slasher movie fan, but I was curious, since this is truly the beginning of it all, the whole series. I was really surprised at how good it was. The storyline is great, the actors are so so (80's and all) and the ending was AMAZING! It really is not what you would expect and the stress and anxiety really lasts until the end. I loved the simplicity of the movie and the fact that it's not overly gory. Special mention to the music : it truly makes this movie!! It was unbelievable! A great addition to any horror movies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than it had any right to be, Oct. 23 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A surprisingly decent remake, especially given that it was made by those responsible for the atrocious reworking of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. This film combines the first three originals into one and, let's face it, the Friday the 13th movies, though culturally significant genre-wise, were not good movies and, in my opinion, were ripe for a remake.

The plot here is of little importance. Suffice to say that the kills are quick, brutal and reasonably imaginative, the nudity is suitably gratuitous, and the victims pleasantly, almost nostalgically typical. The most notable change here is a streamlined Jason, more fullback than linebacker; a sort of semi-feral woodsman-survivalist.

For fans of slasher flicks, it's worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst. Friday. Ever., Nov. 29 2009
By 
Neko (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
People actually liked this movie?! I am a huge fan of slasher, and I own every Friday the 13th up to this point, but it would appear the Micheal Bay is trying to destroy another franchise. The sex and drugs were done in such a way that it feels like it's poking fun at Scream's stereotypes, dehumanizing the characters, so when it comes to them dying, the audience has stopped caring. There was sex and drugs in the original, but they weren't saying "this is what will happen to you if you do drugs". The death scenes, except for one, were unimaginative and not even very bloody. The plot had holes, the characters were unlikeable, and almost nothing new was done with the series. Jason had been slightly changed from the 2nd movie (he ran, he had tripwires set up, and he took people hostage) but none of these changes were for the better. He was supposed to be a smarter killer, but then he keeps one of them alive because she happens to look like his mother. To top it all off, the lighting stayed the same for the whole movie and was EXACTLY THE SAME as Texas Chainsaw's lighting. I can't think of any good aspects from this movie. I can only think of one reason why anyone would want to see this movie, and you can find that in a porno film. Save your money, stick to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable ... One of the worst movies ever, May 23 2010
By 
Sam (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Friday the 13th does not mention anything about it being Friday. All the scenes are very predictable. You can tell what type of people will be the first to die. The characters seem unrealistic. There is so much unnecessary nudity. If you are just looking for that, perhaps you have a chance of enjoying the movie. Every moment I sat through it, I was hoping it would end. We all knew who would make it out alive. I never plan on watching any other Friday the 13th movie again.

A group of people go to the town where Jason lives and decide to camp out there; none of them make it back home. A brother of one of the girls that was in that group decides to go out in search of her. Then he encounters another group of people that are coming to stay at a house nearby where the other group had gone camping. One of the girls in this new group starts taking an interest in him, the brother of the missing girl. The killer, Jason, too, starts taking an interest in this new group that's disturbing his surroundings somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday the 13th: Uncut (Deluxe Edition)
CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews