Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 21st century ultimate, sensitive busking songstress.Introspective and intense..
Madeleine's musical training came on the streets of Paris, where she started as a busker, then after a street-corner audition she got a gig singing with the Lost Wandering Blues and Jazz band, performing songs by artists such as Bessie Smith, Billie Holiday and Fats Waller.
Her previous albums Madeleine Peyroux:Careless Love and Half The Perfect World sold over a...
Published on Aug. 31 2009 by Marie deVarenne

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I have enjoyed Madeleine Peyroux's previous CD's, so was keen to hear this.
I am very disappointed, as all the tracks all sound the same, and all have a very sad, dirge-like feel.
I wish I'd known that all the songs on the CD were composed by Madeleine herself--good for her if that's what she wants to do; but I think I might have been prepared for the product,...
Published on April 5 2009 by John Jazz Fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 21st century ultimate, sensitive busking songstress.Introspective and intense.., Aug. 31 2009
By 
Marie deVarenne (Boston, MA and Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Madeleine's musical training came on the streets of Paris, where she started as a busker, then after a street-corner audition she got a gig singing with the Lost Wandering Blues and Jazz band, performing songs by artists such as Bessie Smith, Billie Holiday and Fats Waller.
Her previous albums Madeleine Peyroux:Careless Love and Half The Perfect World sold over a million copies, earning critical-acclaim for her Jazz-Blues interpretations of works by artists such as Leonard Cohen and Edith Piath.
When she went "missing" in Britain while promoting her breakthrough album "Careless Love", her record company couldn't wait to tell the media.
How better to differentiate Maddie from the rest of the jazz-lite crew than by painting her as a wayward chanteuse? She hadn't disappeared, of course. She'd simply become bored with the promo-circus and gone back to New York. And who could blame her?
But Madeleine didn't need a vanishing act to raise her above her rivals. Her smoke-and-honey vocals, Billie Holiday phrasing, and breezily bohemian way with classy material had assured her fanbase.
They won't be disappointed by her new release, "Bare Bones", produced by Joni Mitchell's ex, Larry Klein.
She has built a career on interpreting the works of other people.
Her sensitive, exquisite voice, reminiscent of the great jazz singers of our yesterdays has added her signature 'postmodernist coolness' (LA Times) and fresh brushstrokes to the work of artists including Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Hank Williams and Serge Gainsbourg.
"Bare Bones" is her 4th solo album and her third with Rounder Records.
It's her most personal, intimate and almost confessional album: she had a hand in writing all the 11 tracks, including collaborations with producer Larry Klein, Walter Becker, Julian Coryell, Joe Henry, David Batteau and Sean Wayland : her intimate readings of original and contemporary love songs evoke emotions laid bare.
It's a daring high-wire act for the 34-year-old singer who for the first time is working without the safety net of covering songs associated with her favourite musical acts, mostly from the past.
With "Bare Bones", Maddie has crafted her best album yet, an artistic breakthrough that finds her sublime voice wrapped around a collection of soulful, silky late-night songs that she helped craft from their inception, marking her evolution as a songwriter. One song, "I Must Be Saved", was written entirely by Peyroux.
While the surface of the songs she sings has an easy-listening quality, there are chasms of emotional turmoil lurking beneath.
She says the album builds from wariness, to loss, to acceptance, and finally to hope.
"I'm really happy that I got to write", she adds, "It feels like a new segment, and it's great work. I'm surrounded by beautiful sounds, really honest musicians, really honest playing".
In fact, the musicianship is excellent: a small group of top notch artists underscore perfectly the languid and bluesy singing of the unusual diva: organist Larry Goldings, pianist Jim Beard, drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, plus producer Klein on bass, his new wife, Brazilian Luciana Souza - who, by the way, is a guest on all Larry Klein produced albums - on bckgr vocals, Dean Parks on guitar, and Carla Kihlstedt on violin.
"It's an exhilarating mixture of fear and self-confidence, in a way...And, obviously, because I am a very new writer, I'm kind of discovering myself by watching audiences' takes on this stuff".
She will always be a busker. Her bohemian upbringing ensures it. Her eschewing of the trappings of celebrity proves it.
And maybe this time around as well, sometimes soon she will vanish just to resurface some days later in another corner of her world.
"Peyroux's soul and melting voice stands out, ways out, from the pack". - TimeOut
Maddie, who said she spent time in a domestic violence shelter as a child, is donating $1 from every ticket sold on her current tour to local charities affiliated with the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence.
My favourite tracks: "Instead", "River of Tears", "You Can't Do Me", "Love and Treachery" and "Something Grand", which she wrote "in support of the new era with Barack Obama".
Oceana
The album debuts at # 1 of Billboard Top Jazz Album.
Issue date: 2009-03-28
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the new songs, Dec 14 2009
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Yes, her voice and singing remain extraordinary with this new CD. But it's the new songs in this album that won me over because they show her talent as a writer. I first heard I Must be Saved on the radio early last summer and my curiosity was piqued by the Dylanesque lyrics and singing style (yet at the same time so uniquely her own) of that song. I bought the CD and was at first disappointed that the other songs in that CD were different. But soon discovered her beautiful voice and superb singing and grew to love all the songs with their varied styles, moods, and lyrics. I subsequently bought Careless Love and one other CD but I think it is with Bare Bones she finally begins to come into her own. I look forward to more solo efforts by her in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Sweet, and Savory Album, July 8 2009
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
What I like about this album is the sprinkled mix of fun up-beat melody with occasional youthful break-up song lyric. This album certainly has the jazz tones with her unique soulful voice, along with some tongue-in-cheek lyric.

You can find more detailed reviews on other Amazon sites such as Amazon.com and Amazon.fr. You'll notice that the rest of the world is enjoying Madeleine's latest work just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, April 5 2009
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed Madeleine Peyroux's previous CD's, so was keen to hear this.
I am very disappointed, as all the tracks all sound the same, and all have a very sad, dirge-like feel.
I wish I'd known that all the songs on the CD were composed by Madeleine herself--good for her if that's what she wants to do; but I think I might have been prepared for the product, and had lower expectations.
This album is not for everyone---I expect many hard core jazz fans will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forgetable!, April 13 2009
By 
Lloyd G. Smith "bluenosens" (nova scotia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Okay, I'm a big fan of Peyroux and love and own all her previous discs. Her voice is as good as ever but the songs mostly slide by without any impact. Her writing here lets her down....easily her worst disc after wonderful previous efforts. She needs good songs and there just arn't enought here. sorta like luke-warm cream of wheat...bland!...would not have purchased this if I had heard it first!...a disappointed fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare Bones
Bare Bones by Madeleine Peyroux (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews