Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic
I grew up loving the early ape films King Kong (1933) and Mighty Joe Young (1949). King Kong is a classic retelling of the Beauty and the Beast story and the original was groundbreaking in its use of special effects. Remaking a classic will always attract harsh critics.

For me, a lover both of classic films and of modern science fiction, I place King Kong...
Published on July 1 2007 by Richard Daystrom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars CGI Kong meets demure Ann
Carl Denham (Jack Black) is soon to be divested of hiss backing due to making too many cute movies and no love interest. Ann Darrow (Naomi Watts) is out of work due to poor acting during the time of the great depression. The two cross paths just in time to catch the tramp steamer that will carry them to Singapore (yeah right). We are introduced to the other characters in...
Published on July 1 2006 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, July 1 2007
By 
Richard Daystrom "creator, M-5 multitronic unit" (Daystrom Institute, Earth, United Federation of Planets) - See all my reviews
I grew up loving the early ape films King Kong (1933) and Mighty Joe Young (1949). King Kong is a classic retelling of the Beauty and the Beast story and the original was groundbreaking in its use of special effects. Remaking a classic will always attract harsh critics.

For me, a lover both of classic films and of modern science fiction, I place King Kong (2005) among the best films I have seen in years. In the cinema, this was a true spectacle to behold. The action and CGI special effects were astounding. Peter Jackson took a fairly sparse story and fleshed it out. I appreciated the longer back-story to the characters in New York prior to the sea voyage to Skull Island.

The exposure of themes relating to racism, animal and ecological abuse, and treatment of women was obvious, but not preachy. Despite this being an action film, these themes seemed to me as large as Kong was himself.

Jackson tweaked the storyline a bit and improved on the original. The introduction of the writer (Brody) as love interest instead of the ship captain made more sense and was simply a better story. With the original film, I was quite moved as a kid when Kong died. With this version, I was at least as moved or more as an adult. The relationship with Kong and Ann was portrayed better. I believed that they had made a bond with each other. The moment of Kong's demise is one of the most touching moments I have seen in a film in years.

Finally, James Newton Howard's soundtrack is quite moving, with beautiful, stirring melodies befitting this grand film. Worth listening to in its own right. I would have liked to watch the film with an isolated music score. Unfortunately, this was not included as an option on any edition so far.

Editions:
Two-Disc Special Edition (2006)
For the collector, this included the Production Diaries and several bonus features. A must-have if you love this film and want more background information.

3-Disc Deluxe Extended Edition (2006)
There is no overlap to what is on the 2-disc version, so this was a worthwhile second purchase for me. I enjoyed seeing the deleted scenes. The slightly longer (13 min.) version was intereresting to see. I especially wanted the audio commentary track. No regrets here for having bought both the 2-disc and 3-disc versions, because they each offered different material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film of '05, and one of the best movies ever made., Feb. 22 2006
This is pure Peter Jackson entertainment, some humour, tons of amazing SFX shots, an amazing story, (Although written by someone else, there are little bits added in.) The only thing I didn't like about this film is the fact that he added in about half an hour at the beggining which, although fun to watch and had good character development, was forgettable and was insignifigant to the story. In a magazine I read a review stating that this movie was only intended to be two hours, at the end Peter [Jackson] saw that it was three hours, and he wondered how he ended up with it. Well, that extra half hour at the beggining might have assisted in it.
OK, so the sotry goes that a young actress, Ann Darrow, is looking for a movie or stage she can act at. So, this movie guy askes her if she'd like to go to Skull Island to shoot a film. So they go to Skull Island (How can anyone go to Skull Island? Isn't the name kinda like a warning to stay away?) and find a band of canibalistic natives that really freak me out and take Ann as a sacrfifice. So, a big gorilla named Kong (Or King Kong) comes and takes her away. The rest mainly consistes of getting Ann back and some totally wicked three way T-Rex fights, giant bugs and a brontosaurs stampede involving raptors, or Baryonix, I cant tell, in the mix.
This movie is going to win an oscar for SFX (five bucks says so.) and may win best film of the year. I just can't say how great this film is! But, if sitting through a three hour film isnt your thing, go look at Zathura or Brokeback Mountain, you'll get a kick out of those. Five stars, Bar none.
If you liked this movie you'd also like: Godzilla: Final Wars, Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Alien Quadrilogy, Jarhead, Zathura, Brokeback Mountain, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King Kong 2005............, Nov. 5 2006
B E S T M O V I E C R E A T E D !

This site is filled with users who are judging this film ridiculously. Its pretty pathetic.

This movie is long......but so what? The first hour maybe not have Kong in it but its definately not boring. Actually, the first half is developed well enough that it could stand as it own film.......

Why complain? People must have the attention span of flees.

-Great story and acting, mindblowing action and effects......almost terrific on all counts.

It a great film which is definately worth a purchase. You'll thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Kong, Feb. 20 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No matter how many times I watch this movie, I love it every time. I really like Naomi Watts, she gives a most affective performance, her eyes tell the audience everything she's feeling.I also follow Adrien Brody's career. The special affects were simply amazing. The DVD came quickly in the mail, much quicker than I expected, in fact, and it was in excellent condition. His prices were much more than reasonable. I would order from this dealer in the future, certainly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why are the reviews so bad??????, April 29 2006
I have already posted a review, but I have the need to ask, why are the reviews so low? I mean, it is a great film and I can't imagine any bad things about this film! It isn't average, it isn't bad, it is groundbreaking!!!!!!! Please, get those reviews up!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mauvaise version, May 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
C'est la version doublée en France que contient cette supposée édition bilingue, ça aurait été chouette de l'annoncer. Comme c'est une version NTSC j'ai tenu pour acquis que c'était le doublage nord-américain...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars à acheter absolument, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Kong [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Le film contient des scènes supplémentaires au film présenté au cinéma. Il y a des bêtes supplémentaires sur l'ile. à acheter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good remake, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Kong [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Almost as good as the original. Jack Black is surprising good. Adrian Brody of course is very solid.
Good addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes and the ears, April 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Kong [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Had the DVD witch was already very good.But on Bluray, it's a new level !
Sometimes Blurays can be disapointing compare to the original DVD.
But in this case,WOW ! Picture is amazing and so is the sound.Big difference from original DVD.
If you a nice home-theater system,then go ahead and spoil yourself you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars CGI Kong meets demure Ann, July 1 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Carl Denham (Jack Black) is soon to be divested of hiss backing due to making too many cute movies and no love interest. Ann Darrow (Naomi Watts) is out of work due to poor acting during the time of the great depression. The two cross paths just in time to catch the tramp steamer that will carry them to Singapore (yeah right). We are introduced to the other characters in the steamer that do not have a clue to what their future holds. We hear tales of an uncharted island that has a wall built so long ago that no one knows who built it or why.

Well done by today's standard. They stuck pretty close to the original plotline and even kept some of the key dialog in this version. Some of the characters may have changed vocations, yet the story still floes smoothly. In come ways it is an improvement over the original. However the reason this film is one hour longer than needed to tell the story is all the mindless fluff filler that made it drag on and on and on. Even the action scenes had so much action that you wanted to scream "get on with it" and "let's get going."

Kong himself did not look that proportioned; when he leaped he looked like the Hulk in a fur suit. And poor Ann looked really blurry when she was being swung around. Some parts of her body took time to catch up with the others.

They missed an opportunity in the credits to place the faces of the actors with the names. Fifty years from now all any one will remember is the version with Naomi Watts, whatever she looked like with whoever those other people were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Kong [Blu-ray]
King Kong [Blu-ray] by Peter Jackson (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews