Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Product
I purchased the Smart Oven after watching the review on Cook's Illustrated. They
mentioned all of the positive features plus the price of the unit so I was not shocked when I went looking for the best price.

There are some excellent reviews here so I will touch on a few things that I have noticed over the short time I have had the unit.

I...
Published on April 3 2011 by Abbotsford Flyers

versus
44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Elements failed
After using this oven on a regular basis for thirteen months two of the top three elements stopped working. The oven has been treated with care and cleaned on a regular basis. The warranty ran out one month before and this defect is not covered. I will not consider buying a Breville product in the future.
Published on Oct. 29 2011 by NanaimoConsumer


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In use for years now, No Problems, June 18 2013
By 
David Griffiths (New Westminster, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
It heats up fast, and with the convection option, it cooks food quickly.

Our main oven sometimes burns food when the bottom burner comes on to bring the oven back to temperature. This oven, with the "smart" feature to heat different elements at different times, cooks the food easily.

There are also a lot of cooking options - from the standards of bake, broil, toast, to the more specialized "bagel", "pizza" and "cookies". We typically use bake, broil, toast and bagel.

My only complaint (and it's more of a concern) is that the controls on the front feel very light-weight. I've read that Canadians don't get the same level of support and warranty service that the Americans do, so keep that in mind when purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Problem with temp and cooking times, Aug. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
Love the concept, tried several different times to make meals, but as indicated, the pre-set temps and times were not sufficient and consequently the oven took just as long as my regular oven. I am in the process of returning it to Breville, with no problems, and hope to receive a new one in a short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars food tastes better ! but functions failing 3 mos later..., Sept. 19 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
Following the positive reviews by Amazon clients, I purchased the Breville Smart convection toaster oven and am very pleased and thank all those who recommended it; the food I have been cooking with it even tastes better. Cooks quickly, a truly smart oven. The only reservation, if any, is that i have to remind myself to be careful to not come in contact with the inside of the oven door while cooking or shortly thereafter (say when testing to see if chicken or fish has thoroughly cooked) because the oven door is HOT when opened. This said, I recommend without reservation!! it is well worth the money, and saves you a trip to the store and carrying it home.
An addenda: 3 months later...tho i still like this product i must join those who report that it has stopped cooking efficiently. In fact i have to repeat broiling 3X the time allocated; it just seems as if part of the heating element in this convection oven has stopped functioning. Toast also taking 3x longer. So my enthusiasm is abated and i wonder how many others have experienced decline of functions, alas. i suspect i shall need to buy another shortly, tho i am reluctant to spend more $ and may just take 3X the amount of time to cook and toast,alas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not buy this product, April 6 2011
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
Received this product in October of 2010. Works ok but the cooking times are same or longer than our full size gas oven. Not sure what good the convection feature is doing. Toasting is super slow. Then in March of 2011, stops working completely. No power at all. 1st week of April and still in the shop. Breville shipped wrong part. Call Breville, sorry, nothing we can do for you. Normal wait time for repairs is 4 to 6 weeks. Great service for a $300 toaster oven. Shop elsewhere folks. I for one will never buy a product from this company again. And read through all the reviews, you'll see that there are several complaints about failing units. We were lucky ours was during the 1st year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL, Feb. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
J'ai trouvé que la cuisson des toast est excellente

Je le trouve très utile pour cuire de la viande pour ne pas faire fonctionner le gros fourneau et c'est très commode pour moi,
la sonnerie, comme je suis très occupé je ne manque pas d'aller chercher ce qui est pret

Très facile à nettoyer, efficace et pas compliqué à faire fonctionner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing problem with temperature, Nov. 13 2011
By 
Nannie (Port Alberni BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
We did a lot of research before purchasing this oven and decided to purchase it based on those. However, while it is handsome, sturdy and well designed, it would not heat up past 325 degrees, no matter what temperature you set the dial. It went back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good performance with some flaws, Oct. 25 2012
By 
N. Sabourin (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
This toaster works very well, has lots of features and is very attractive. The baking is even and the convection works very well. The LCD display looks great.
My reason for not giving it 5 stars are that the mechanism which pulls out the grill when you open the door often sticks when you close it. The mechanism is just a magnet which is itself ingenious rather than using a hook, however the sticking can get a little annoying.
The other reason and the most important one is that while the exterior case is stainless steel and very well made, the knobs and rotary switches that they used are very sub-par. The knobs are plastic which could be forgiven but the rotary switches themselves are cheap and don't click well as you turn them to select the different toaster settings. The result is that you often have to turn the knob back and forth to finally land on the right setting because it keeps slipping past the one you want. Spending an extra 2$ on the switches could have avoided this.

As a product designer I'm disappointed at this fundamental manufacturing design mistake. You should never cheap out on the element of your product that the user will manipulate the most. It overshadows the quality of the rest of your product and in this case, makes a very high quality oven feel a lot cheaper than it actually is which is a disappointment when you're spending this much on an oven...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Toaster Oven works great, when it works, July 22 2012
By 
V&E's Mom (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
We have now had 3 of this toaster oven, and had the same problem with all 3. After a couple of months, the toaster oven stopped working, no power at all. The only reason we had 3 of these ovens was that they all died within the warranty period and we were able to take them back to the place of purchase for refund or exchange. Excellent set up, but no good if it is so unreliable. So far for the 3rd one we are having to deal with Breville directly, and this is the reason the toaster oven is still sitting gathering dust. Buy another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, Dec 17 2009
By 
fourpatch (Surrey, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
Been using this toaster oven for 6 months now and love it! The menu is clear and easy to use. Broiling steaks is a breeze. Uniform cooking every time. Even cleanup is easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent toaster oven and small convection oven, March 22 2010
By 
Shannon Peckford "Shannonp" (Kelowna, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL (Kitchen)
I love my Breville toaster oven. I use it for toast, bagels, reheating, etc. I no longer have a microwave or a toaster, as this one does it all well. I did not want to use a microwave any longer, which is why I purchased the Breville. It works great. It does take a little while to get toast going fast, but once it is warmed up (3-4 minutes), it does a great job. Would definitely recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breville Smart Convection Toaster Oven BOV800XL
CDN$ 329.99 CDN$ 224.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews