Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Painting, painting, who's got the painting?
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Sing a song of crime lords, pockets never dry
2. A Russian dealer comes to town, buildings to buy
3. While the deal was open, there was an offering
4. A rare and lucky canvas, which quickly went missing
5. The Accountant's in her counting house, counting out her money
6. The thug is in the parlor,...
Published on Feb. 15 2009 by Amanda Richards

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't do it for me , but others may appreciate
I am a fan of the BBC series Hustle and bought this hoping it might be similar. It's a cute plot
and worth watching once.
Published 4 months ago by Big Bill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Painting, painting, who's got the painting?, Feb. 15 2009
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Sing a song of crime lords, pockets never dry
2. A Russian dealer comes to town, buildings to buy
3. While the deal was open, there was an offering
4. A rare and lucky canvas, which quickly went missing
5. The Accountant's in her counting house, counting out her money
6. The thug is in the parlor, nibbling at his honey
7. The knave is still a junkie, alive, but no one knows
8. A dirty bunch of con men, and greedy money hos

This is a dark British crime caper with quite a few funny bits, about a London crime boss doing business with a Russian property dealer, a group of criminals known as the Wild Bunch, an overly clever accountant, a harried lawyer, a crack addicted rock star, a couple of record producers, and a couple of junkie thieves.

If you think it sounds confusing, you're right - and things get more complicated when a "lucky" painting gets stolen and starts getting passed hand to hand, often under very unlucky circumstances.

Gerard Butler stars as One Two, one of the leaders of the Wild Bunch, and Thandie Newton sizzles as the Accountant. Other noteworthy performances are provided by Tom Wilkinson as the crime boss, Mark Strong as the right hand man to the crime boss and Toby Kebbell as the drug addicted rock star. Look also for small parts by Jimi Mistry, Jeremy Piven and Ludacris.

Crime, punishment, betrayal, revenge and greed take center stage in this fast-moving dark comedy/thriller. Go see this if too much Butler is never enough.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another great Ritchie movie, June 8 2010
By 
Rene Theberge "Quebecer" (Ste-Foy, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RocknRolla / Rock et escrocs (Bilingual) (DVD)
Not his best movie but RocknRolla is very good, Guy Ritchie is one of the best director
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't do it for me , but others may appreciate, Dec 5 2013
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RocknRolla (DVD)
I am a fan of the BBC series Hustle and bought this hoping it might be similar. It's a cute plot
and worth watching once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Because of Gerard Butler ..., March 8 2009
By 
Dia (West Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
I had to watch this twice to understand all the dialog -- then I enjoyed it. It's a pretty good film, but if it wasn't for Gerard Butler, I probably wouldn't have had the patience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Oct. 13 2010
Another great movie from Guy Ritchie, in the mould of Lock Stock, and Snatch - thoroughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rocknrolla/grooveyard, Dec 27 2009
By 
Mrs. Penelope M. Lamb "p" (eukengenngland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocknrolla (DVD)
i saw this film at the movies so i know its a good watch. so i highly recommend it. but would advice not ordering from grooveyard.ordered on the 25/11 expected delivery 2-8/12 stillnot there.so no xmas present what a let down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa93b19a8)

This product

RocknRolla / Rock et escrocs (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.96 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews