Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a classic interwoven several stories over the same ...
This is a classic interwoven several stories over the same timeline film,with flashbacks and interwoven subplots ala 'Crash".Benecio Del Toro's story is heartbreaking(as they all are)and this superlative actor steals the show.One of the few films I sought out on import sites.MichaelD
Published 6 days ago by Michael P. Dempsey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 21 Grams - drama
This is a good drama movie, but it jumps back and forth alot between the future and the present. This makes the movie very confusing at times expecially the beginning where you dont really know whats going on . This movie isnt that much about drugs as the title claims "21 grams" which isnt cocaine as i thought at first. Its about a man named Paul played by Sean...
Published on July 10 2004 by David


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is a classic interwoven several stories over the same ..., July 19 2014
By 
Michael P. Dempsey "glendem0" (Sarasota,Fl.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a classic interwoven several stories over the same timeline film,with flashbacks and interwoven subplots ala 'Crash".Benecio Del Toro's story is heartbreaking(as they all are)and this superlative actor steals the show.One of the few films I sought out on import sites.MichaelD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 21 Grams, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great movie. Sean Penn and Naomi Watts are outstanding. Probably the best role I've seen Naomi Watts portray. She is very sympathetic and believable. Sean Penn is convincing as an organ recipient. A bit depressing but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars grainy but sharp blu-ray, April 19 2010
This review is from: 21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Although some find this blu-ray of inferior quality, I beg to differ. The film was shot with grainy film stock and this translates accurately INMHO to this blu ray transfer. The grain is very visible and sharp. It is a film-like reproduction and that is fine with me. The fact that this disc holds no special features is also fine for those who don't really care. The film is very good, well acted and well shot. At this price, I was quite pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, Feb. 6 2010
By 
Absolute (Pas-De-Calais) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great story and great acting.

The blu is very good. I appreciated the quality of faces.

The movie is hard, so I prefer Babel.

But the regard on life stays impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly acted and engaging movie, but it's a bare-bones release, March 12 2009
By 
K. Lynch (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I found it difficult to knock a star off my rating of 21 Grams because it's such a fine, engaging movie, with superb acting by Sean Penn, Benicio Del Toro, and Naomi Watts. While it offers an okay 1080p video, and a 5.1 DTS-HD Master audio, this Blu-ray, like many other recent Alliance releases, has no menu system (other than a pop-up menu for adjusting audio) and no extras. This is the bare minimum that you can put on a Blu-ray, and for that I had to give it only a 4/5 as opposed to the 5/5 that I'd have given the movie itself.

Truly, it's a movie that should be in your BD collection but you have to be comfortable with what this release lacks before purchasing this particular one. For my part, I'm still happy with it, as 21 Grams is an incredible experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, July 17 2004
By A Customer
good film. only criticisms are about the acting. naomi watts wasn't so convincing in some scenes, like in her reaction to the news that her family had been in an accident. i thought she was much better in muholland drive. penn also wasn't too convincing as a math prof. if you've ever known any math profs, you'll know what i mean! the other guy (forget his name, shame on me) was good. he looks perfect for the part. i liked the cinematography: dark and grainy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The Weight We Lose When We Die": Moving But Experimental, July 16 2004
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
You may not like the film itself, but you must admit the actors' talent -- Sean Penn, Naomi Watts, Benicio Del Toro are all fantastic. The story, meldrmatatic as it is, is not a problem. The real problem is, you may not be absorbed in the way it is told.
See the characters first. Christina (Naomi Watts) is a mother of two daughters, married to a loving husband. Tragic accident happens to them (that you will see soon), and Chris can be what she was any longer.
The accident was caused by one man Jack (Del Toro), a devoted believer of one sect of religion, and he was also doing time in prison before becoming a fervent member. Jack is also a father of two kids, and one of them knows what the father did.
Christina's tragedy brings another man onto the stage -- Paul (Penn). We know he was going to die -- because of his heart -- but Christina's husband gives another life to him. However, Paul is still unhappy, as if he lost something (perhaps when he should be happy before his wife) And he meets Chris, the one he should never meet. After that, everything starts to rush lie a Greek tragedy.
All these ingredients can be told in the traditional storytelling scheme. The dirctor (of "Amores Perros") strongly refuses that linear narrative, and he gives a very experimental approach to the material --so unique that you should be very attentive to what is going on the screen.
THE FILM'S STORY IS BROKEN into pieces, and they, regardless of chronological order, are all again pieced together, as if hesitating to reveal the whole truth. Thanks to the taut editing and fast pace, you will not lose interest in what happened to these characters to the end, at which the film shows what really happened to them.
And what happened? They turn out so convoluted that you might accuse the director of being too intent on giving one or two too many surprise to us. In fact, though the film's first half is gripping, the second half gets a little dull, for by then we come to realize what is the reality behind these fragmentary scenes. The director tries to outwit us, but the last action of the film is, frankly speaking, preposterous.
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu certainly believes in the power of film as media, and he is good at presenting his story, too. I know he wants to say something -- something about the still undying power of cinema -- sacrificing the accessible narrative method. But you see a dying person, and then see the same person alive and kicking, we find it somewhat disturbing and even pretentious. Why does he go experimental when you get a better way of telling that, in this case, chronological order? We want a better answer to that, in Inarritu's next film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at best, July 13 2004
This movie is not nearly as good as people said it was, so be glad you didn't pay $9 to see it in the theater. Rent it before you buy it. I didn't come out of the theater going "Whoa." The title has more to do with life than with drugs. And Sean Penn as a math professor? Really? The acting was good, though. BOTTOM LINE: IT'S NOTHING SPECIAL, SO NOT A BIG DEAL IF U SKIP IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Its like a bad puzzle, July 11 2004
By 
J. L Schreiber (Fowler, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My boyfriend and I watched this movie the other day, and we were lost during most of the movie. The movie switches from the past to present and somewhere in between and it is really hard to follow. We kept asking each other, "is this the beginning, or the end?" The storyline wasn't that great either, only two major events and the rest was pretty boring.
So, if you still want to see it, rent it! Don't waste your money buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I saw this in theaters and it STILL haunts me on DVD, July 11 2004
"21 Grams" is a gut-twisting, throat-grabbing, and disturbingly powerful film. Not in a long time has such a film challenged an audience to think about what they have just seen. It raises many questions, but that doesn't mean that it leaves the audience unsatisfied. It is certainly one of the best films I have seen all year long-or ever.
The film has many characters, but it pictures Cristina Peck (Naomi Watts), an ex-drug addict turned housewife and mother. She has two wonderful daughters and a kind husband. To remain motivated in life, she swims with her sister Claudia (Clea DuVall) and stays in shape. Paul Rivers (Sean Penn) is a mathematics professor who has a fatal heart problem and needs a new, donated heart soon or he will die. His wife Mary (Charlotte Gainsbourg) desperately wants a child but cannot conceive, and will go to the extremes of artificial insemination to have a family. However, Paul does not agree with this idea. Jack Jordan (Benicio Del Toro) is a spiritual ex-convict who preaches to prisoners in hopes of improving life and staying clean. Marianne (Melissa Leo), his wife, has grown weary of insistently going to church and is upset with his poor parenting skills for their two children. Meanwhile, Cristina's world closes in on her when tragedy strikes and she descends back into drugs and depression. The lives of these three people become intertwined and the audience knows that something terrible is going to happen because the film opens with Cristina screaming in a motel as Paul bleeds and Jack is frozen in place, listening to Cristina's pleading.
"21" is not a film in chronological order. It is, in fact, a film where the ending is shown at the beginning and the characters often know more than the audience, or visa versa. Little details and clues are fed to the viewer as the film progresses and crashes in a stunning finale. The title refers to the supposed weight that everyone loses at the exact moment of death. This is not a misleading title because this is a very dark, grainy, gritty, and upsetting drama. The disturbing images are subtle, and the fabulous photography helps capture what is going on so clearly. Everything is very dark and dim, and the camera is constantly shaking to get a feel for the lives of the characters. The editing is deserving of an Academy Award because it doesn't confuse the audience too much-it just doesn't give them everything they want right in the beginning.
The performances are all Oscar caliber in genius Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu's tour de force. Sean Penn is pitch-perfect, but his character touches familiar ground as in "Mystic River." Benicio Del Toro is fantastic as a very disturbed but honest man. Charlotte Gainsbourg and Melissa Leo both are solid as the wives of the main characters, and at many times, the audience really hates both these women for being so selfish-if a film can do that, then the screenwriter and director have both done their job. However, it is Naomi Watts that really makes "21 Grams." Her performance is so captivating that you can't take your eyes off the screen. She will certainly come out of the Hollywood darkness in this one, making herself a well-known and more respected actress. She deserves an Academy Award because Naomi plays another character that you really want to hate and scream at. She is that good! All of the players are at the top of their game.
If you can sit through darkness, drugs, and depression, this is a great movie with a lot to offer and a shocker of an ending. All the performances are perfect, and the technical production of the film is first rate. "21 Grams" arrives at number 2 on my list of 2003 great films, and deserves all of its acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray]
21 Grams (21 grammes) [Blu-ray] by Sean Penn (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews