Customer Reviews


379 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (94)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the most influential slasher film of all time
The original Friday the 13th is not the first, the most original, or the best slasher film ever made, but it is arguably the most influential. You almost have to take off one of your socks to count all of the sequels (and impending remake) this slasher granddaddy has spawned, and I daresay the majority of slasher films littering the genre in all the years since were...
Published on Oct. 27 2008 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better..!! -Low Budget..!! -Camera angles..!!
Director; -Sean S. Cunningham.. -Did a o.k job on
this one.. -And took it with this low budget
camera angle's.. -Really good.. -The music by
Harry Mandfredini.. -Is wonderfull.. -I've have
bought all the DVD'S.. -The picture is down right
top notch.. -Way two go paramount..! -I'm ashame
that their are no extra's for this film..?
As far...
Published on June 22 2004 by Robert the Psychoman


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the most influential slasher film of all time, Oct. 27 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
The original Friday the 13th is not the first, the most original, or the best slasher film ever made, but it is arguably the most influential. You almost have to take off one of your socks to count all of the sequels (and impending remake) this slasher granddaddy has spawned, and I daresay the majority of slasher films littering the genre in all the years since were constructed on the generic and simple framework of the Friday the 13th formula. Critics are still foaming at the mouth in indignation over this film all these years later, so you know it did something right. Of course, by today's standards Friday the 13th registers low (if at all) on the fright meter and really isn't all that gory, but no one can dispute the fact that this film set the stage for innumerable bloody slasher films to come.

Halloween, which is technically a much superior film to this one, had already been released and made lots of money, so it's easy to see why Sean S. Cunningham (who had already cut his horror chops on Last House on the Left) wanted to try his hand at creating a scary slasher film of his own. Cunningham did not have a big studio backing him, so he had to make this an independent, low-budget (barely more than half a million dollars) project. With almost all of the action taking place at Camp Crystal Lake, all Cunningham had to do was to find a viable old campsite, populate it with unknown actors (one of which, Kevin Bacon, went on to become a household name), kill his characters in compellingly different yet simple ways, and smack an ending on top of it. In some ways, it sounds like an almost haphazard project. The controversial gotcha scene near the very end, for example, was never in the original script - instead, it was added late in the game on the advice of special effects makeup guru Tom Savini, who had just seen Carrie. That is only one of several obvious influences worked into the film - even the famous Jason music leaves a trail of musical crumbs back to the shark music in Jaws (30th Anniversary Edition). Despite of everything, though, Paramount liked the final product, bought up the distribution rights, and the film hit box office gold. The rest is horror - and cinema - history.

As we all know by now, little Jason Voorhees drowned in 1957 while the counselors who should have been watching him were busy having sex. A year later, two counselors at the camp were brutally murdered (as they were getting it on, of course), with the murderer never being caught. That was more than Camp Crystal Lake could endure, and it soon closed its cabin doors for good. The residents of Crystal Lake know to stay away from the lake and "Camp Blood," but Steve Christy has decided he's going to open the place back up. He's supposedly been working to get the place ready for a year, but it's still a run-down dump. He's hired all of the requisite randy teens to serve as counselors/murder victims (anybody who plays strip Monopoly out in the middle of the woods is practically begging to be eviscerated by a mad killer), though, so everything is in place for good, old-fashioned bloodbath. All we need is a killer.

The one thing I've always admired most about the slayings in the Friday the 13th movies is the sheer efficiency of them all. Even at the beginning, before Jason himself ever lifted his first machete, the killer is all about getting the job done and going on to the next victim. That's not to say the murders aren't stylish and impressive, though. I just wish they would have been a lot gorier. Clearly, this film does have a few problems and doesn't deserve five stars on its own merits. When you figure in the immense influence this film has had on the horror movie genre and pop culture itself, though, I think it rightly deserves that fifth star.

If you've never seen the original Friday the 13th, you need to see it - especially if you've watched several of the sequels. After all, an incorrect answer to the question of who did the killings in the original Friday the 13th film will get you banned from all horror fan clubs for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better..!! -Low Budget..!! -Camera angles..!!, June 22 2004
By 
Robert the Psychoman (Fontana California..) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
Director; -Sean S. Cunningham.. -Did a o.k job on
this one.. -And took it with this low budget
camera angle's.. -Really good.. -The music by
Harry Mandfredini.. -Is wonderfull.. -I've have
bought all the DVD'S.. -The picture is down right
top notch.. -Way two go paramount..! -I'm ashame
that their are no extra's for this film..?
As far the rest of it's sequel's that came.. -But
we get something good.. -Here.. -Their is a decent trailer..?
That is a bit longer.. -But it is worth a shot..
this was 24 dollers when it was release two DVD..!
Not a bad price.. -Sean Cunnignham.. -The producer
of; -The Last House on The Left.. -1972.. -Doe's
really outlandish jabb with the murder scene's..
Great outdoor camp set up by the director of
photography.. -The musicial score creeps and creeps
until the movie is over with.. -Even though the
old score is tame by other horror film's..
Today..!
I know that others said this before..! -I am a
horror slasher fanatic..? -I've been watching horror
all my life.. -But; -Sean, -fitt's this with the
buck.. -For a real horror fan in him..?
Don't worry about those ho hate; -Part 2.. -It
was a great sequel.. -But; -is the same thing as
this bread genera.. -This is; -Kevin Bacon's..
first role; -As a sex crazed staffer ho will be XXX
by Mrs. -Voorhee's in a bunck bed in the middle
scene.. -Which is one of my favorite; -scene's..
perfectly; -executed..?
The movie begin's, -with; -Two staffers getting bump
off by Mrs. -Voorhees.. -The Prowler.. -Ho ever..!
As the movie goe's two the present.. -We are introduce
two Annie.. -The food cook for the inner kidd's..
Doe's the stupidest thing is getting hitched by
local driver's.. -But one warns her about Crystal
Lake's past history.. -Such as the drowning of the
boy; -bunch of fire's.. -The Poison.. -Which is
one of my favorite dialoge of this movie..
Then we meet all the rest of the staffers.. -Staff..
ho don't listen two crazy ralph.. -We have two
practicle joker's.. -Which is; -Ned.. -One of the
worst actors out of all the; -"Friday the 13th.."
film's.. -But he is really good in some terms..?
I love it when the lady's are playing poker and
take off their clothe's.. -Threw out the game..?
one wears underwear.. -And ask Kevin Bacon that
she has two go Pee..! -Their are a lot of jumps
and scares in every angle.. -Two me..! -These
movie's are no longer scary for me.. -A Nightmare
on Elm Street.. -1984.. -Gave me nightmares for a
week.. -So did; -Stephen King's.. -Cult classic..
"Carrie.." -1975.. -But; -this is a rare and rawest
flick that ever came across.. -And if you look at
those other rip off's like; -"House on Sorrority
Rowe.." -It just do the trick..
Adreinne King.. -Is a lot better scream queen..
she is much similar next two; -Jamie Lee Curtis..
but annoy's me at the end of the film.. -I was
glad two see her die at the beginnig of part 2.
so their is my review..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great musical score, May 30 2009
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
i have no doubt that if i had seen this when it first came out in
1980,it would have scared the crap out of me.in the present day
though,i didn't find it scary,mainly because i have seen so many
horror/slasher movies since then.this movie is hardly graphic or
shocking at all compare to today's feature film,and even some TV
shows,for that matter.however,i will say really enjoyed the musical
score by Henry Manfredini,who must have been influenced strongly by
Bernard Herman,who scored Psycho.i believe Kevin bacon makes his big
screen debut here,but i could be wrong.the acting for this type of
movie is fine,although i have to single out Betsy Palmer for really
standing out.this movie spawned,i believe,10 sequels,all differing in
quality.my vote for Friday the 13th is a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th (1980), May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
Director: Sean S. Cunningham
Cast: Betsy Palmer, Adrienne King, Harry Crosby, Kevin Bacon.
Running Time: 95 minutes.
Rated R for violence, gore, language, and mild sexual situations.
One of the more influential slasher films of all time, "Friday the 13th" was one of the few in the series that was moderately scary, used specific camera positioning and foreground for its scares, and possessed a fairly intelligent script. A group of camp counselors are looking forward to their work at Crystal Lake campsite, only to hear the warnings from townies that they are in severe danger and that they should leave immediately. Ignoring these threats, the teenagers live life as if they are no worries.
Their attitudes change when a maniac killer starts to knock off all of the counselors, each in a gory fashion one-by-one. Adrienne King is the main scream queen, running around the camp finding dead bodies all over and finally encountering the killer and learns the truth of the systematic murder spree. Excellent special effects by master Tom Savini and a tense, dramatic musical score, yet the performances are fairly laughable and the plot gets old quickly (which obviously means they should make nine more sequels!). The final scene is absolutely terrifying! Not one of the best, but still important to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Friday The 13th (1980), May 21 2004
This review is from: Friday the 13th (VHS Tape)
Sometimes camping isn't all that safe and that's what is shown here in FRIDAY THE 13TH film that gave SLASHER FLICK its meaning. Friday The 13th is the most widely acclaimed horror film in the entire horror genre. The film was highly praised for it's creative and horrifying murder sequences that were all created by Tom Savini.
I know that all of you, even if you didn't see the film, know that Jason Voorhees was not the killer in this, but I'm gonna give the run-down of this movie anyway.
In 1957, poor little Jason Voorhees supposedly drowned in Camp Crystal Lake at the age of 11. He died while his mother was working as the camp's chef. He died while two teenage counselors purposely ignored his cries for help while they discovered things that go "bump" in the night. A year later, 1958, the two counselors that left Jason to supposedly drown are slaughtered by an unknown killer. After the murders, the camp remained shut down for 21 years. June 13, 1979 approaches. Steve Christy is the new boss of Camp Crystal Lake and finally re-opens the camp. He hires seven new counselors: JACK (played Kevin Bacon), MARCIE, BRENDA, ANNIE, NED, BILL, and ALICE (played by Adrienne King). Unfortunately for ANNIE, she never made it to Crystal Lake. The killer got to her and slashed her throat. The remaining six counselors continue with fixing up the place, while Steve goes off for a couple of hours. After the six had dinner, JACK AND MARCIE go into one of the cabins for a little "fun", while Ned becomes another one of the killer's victims. While MARCIE goes off to the bathroom, JACK lays back in bed until the killer reaches up and stabs him through the back of a neck with an arrow. MARCIE is in the bathroom brushing her teeth until she winds up with an axe in her face. BRENDA, BILL, and ALICE are the only remaining counselors, who are amusing themselves by playing STRIP MONOPOLY. BRENDA goes off to get ready for bed. She gets into her bed until she hears the distant cry of a child screaming HELP ME! BRENDA goes to investigate, but is killed off-screen. BILL and ALICE go and look for BRENDA, JACK, MARCIE, and NED. They don't find anybody. BILL continues to look while ALICE goes back to the main cabin to get some sleep. She then goes out to look for BILL but finds him dead. That is when MRS. VOORHEES (played by Betsy Palmer) pulls up and the finale begins.
MRS. VOORHEES was apparently so crazy that she "lost her head". ALICE grabs a canue and drifts off into the lake. The police come to her rescue until a rotting Jason jumps up from the lake and grabs ALICE, where she wakes up in a HOSPITAL. The sheriff is there and discusses with ALICE the events of the night before. ALICE asks if the boy she saw is dead as well. The sheriff reveals that there was no boy. Apparently, Jason is probably still in the lake.
Some horror fans disliked this movie only because Jason wasn't the killer. Again, I am here to say that those people are still very stupid. They dislike a movie for the dumbest reason. Who the killer is doesn't have anything to do with the whole movie in general. This movie was one of the best horror movies I've seen. If it wasn't for this film, we never would have seen it spawn nine sequels. If you have not yet seen this film, ignore the bad reviews and buy this. Take it from me, I am a true horror film fan and I know what is actually good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome The Original, April 3 2004
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
My review May Have spoilers
It is a very good movie that begins with 2 counselors in 1958 being killed then cut to credits. That scene was chilling alone. Then a character named Annie gets screen time that makes it seem she will be the heroine or survivor. She is trying to get a ride to Camp where she will be a cook. She hitches a ride with the wrong person. She is chased into the wods and killed. Then we see all the counselors at camp. Bill, Alice, Brenda, Jack, Marcie, and Ned with their boss Steve who leaves for town. Then systematically most are killed Ned is Knifed then Jack is arrowed then Marcie is stalked in a bathroom where she is axed. Then Brenda is killed offscreen. Leaving Alice and Bill at camp.....ALONE. Then Steve comes Back but is you guessed it stabbed. The lights go out so Bill goes to the generator. Alice makes coffee and is alone she waits then gooes to look for Bill. She finds him dead. Arrowed to a door.
Alice is freaking out when a body is thrown through the window. Then Mrs Voorhess "an old friend of the Christy's" comes.
SPOILERS
She is revealed as the killer. She is angry that her son drown in 57 so she is taking revenge on all of the counselors and after a suspenseful chase after Alice. Alice gets a Machete and chops the hags head off. She gets in a boat and the next mornuing is pulled under water by jasons young corpse. She wakes in a hospitol and then the movie ends.
Overall a great scary movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why every real horror fan loves Friday the 13th, March 4 2004
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
Friday the 13th shocked audiences way back in 1980 and it's still a classic today.I love this movie, it's perfectly made and is nothing short of a masterpeice.And it was an original at the time of it's release.And it keeps you guessing because it doesn't reveil who the killer is until the end. Let's take a look-see. We've got seven attractive councelors heading up to Camp crystal lake or camp blood as the locals in the nearby town prefer to call it.One by one they get the slice..or the axe..or the arrow through the neck in Jack's (Kevin Bacon's) case.But that's the way it is.The killer is reveiled to be....(and sorry to be a spoiler if by any chance you didn't know)...Mrs. Pamala Voorhees. Her motive? Years ago she worked as a cook in the same camp and her son Jason drowned in the lake coz the councelors who were supposed to be keeping an eye on him were getting it on instead, a huge no-no.So basicly Mrs.Voorhees never got over the loss of her son. And there it is.Perhaps the thing I like most about this movie-it's so sad! I mean even if mother and son are a pair of homicidle maniacs.But it's all out of love awww[...] think it's sweet in a weird, twisted kind of way, and it adds an emotional streak to this horror movie.This is something that all the critics manage to overlook,but they are being superficial.Now gorehounds shouldn't overlook this either,there's stabbing,slashing,spearing,chopping-the whole deal.So all up Friday the 13th really does have something in it for everyone,and may I just say that the final scare at the end is one of if not the best scare ever. This was Deathgirl telling you why every real horror fan (and a lot of other people as well) love Friday the 13th..doomed,you're all doomed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Freaky "Friday", March 3 2004
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
After years of being closed due to the result of a bizarre unsolved double murder, a group of teenagers try to reopen Camp Crystal Lake. But, unknown to the group someone or something is slowly hunting them & like the ten little indians, one by one the counselers are quietly dispatched. Much like "Jaws", "Friday the 13th" taps into the primal instinct within us all. The omnious, vulnerable feeling of being alone & yet having the feeling of someone watching your every move. After almost 25 years, the film remains a jolting, jump out of your seat scare-fest that will make you think twice before going into the woods alone, or into the woods ever again for that matter!
Cashing in on the "Halloween" craze, "Paramount Pictures" bought the rights to the film & released "Friday the 13th" back in 1980. The studio, thinking the film would flop, just wanted a quick payday & nothing more to do with the film. But the studio's plan backfired & "Friday the 13th" became a big hit (approx. 40 million dollars at the box office & becoming one of the top 20 grossers of 1980) as well as, a major embarassment for the studio (after the films release talk shows, newspapers, & activist groups attacked the film for its raw, brutal violence in the film). Thats why there are no major special features, deleted scenes, cast interviews, etc. "Paramount" is still embarassed by the success of this series (its the black sheep series of the studio). The DVD is a barebones affair with 2.0 Dolby Digital, & a trailer for a special feature. One can only hope that "Paramount" will release a special edition to "Friday the 13th" to coincide with "Friday"'s 25th anniversary. Don't hold your breathe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Friday The 13th, Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
One of the longest-running horror film series began with this gory shocker from director Sean S. Cunningham, who had previously produced Wes Craven's classic Last House on the Left. Entrepreneur Steve Christie (Peter Brouwer) re-opens Camp Crystal Lake after many years during which it has been cursed by murders and bad luck. The young and nubile counselors all begin to die extremely bloody deaths at the hands of an unseen killer during a rainstorm which isolates the camp. A woman is chopped in the face with an axe, another has her throat sliced in amazingly gruesome fashion, a male counselor (Harry Crosby) is pinned to a door with arrows, and a young Kevin Bacon has an arrow shoved through his throat from below a bed. Victor Miller's script is not particularly impressive, but Cunningham's tense direction, and some remarkable special-effects by acclaimed makeup artist Tom Savini are enough to make it worthwhile. 1950s quiz-show regular Betsy Palmer appears as the cook whose son Jason (Ari Lehman) drowned 25 years earlier while neglected by romancing counselors. Palmer was reportedly cast because she was willing to drive her own car to and from the set. Trivia buffs should note the decapitation scene near the end, in which the female killer exhibits rather hirsute hands clutching at the air. The hands belong to Savini's assistant, Taso N. Stavrakis. Friday the 13th made over $20 million at the box-office and spawned numerous sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maternal Instincts..., Feb. 11 2004
This review is from: Friday the 13th [Import] (DVD)
In the summer of 1957, a young boy drowned at camp Crystal Lake. One year later, two frisky camp counselors were stabbed to death. The camp has been known as "Camp Blood" ever since. In 1978, a man named Steve Christi decided to re-open the camp. It was the worst decision of his short life. FRIDAY THE 13TH is the classic original in what has become a monotonous stream of inferior sequels (10 to date and counting). Yes, there is a "body count", but at least there's a good, creepy story to carry the carnage! Long before there was a mindless, invincible stalker and his 20+ year murder spree, there was the REASON for it all. In this first movie, we get the actual motive for all that hideous rage and it's gory result. This is a tale of vengeance fueled by insanity. Yes, we get to see WHO is killing the new arrivals at Crystal Lake. More importantly, in this one we get the answer to WHY they are dying. Yes, there is a Jason Vorhees. However, there is someone else who is equally frightening. Someone who will stop at nothing in order to exact revenge. This person is bitterness incarnate, compelled to destroy in order to feed the inner demon. To get "justice" for something that cannot be made right. We get a quick peak at the agony that started the bloodletting. This is rare in this type of movie! A well told campfire story, best viewed alone on a dark, rainy night. Highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday the 13th (Killer Cut, Widescreen)
Friday the 13th (Killer Cut, Widescreen) by Marcus Nispel (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews