Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection at a great price!
A must have for every John Wayne fan, this pack has many of his earlier films, restored in original black and white. Hours of entertainment in this pack, and the collectors tin is really nice too!
Published on Jan. 6 2010 by Joel Andrews

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture quality
I purchased this DVD set recently and was very disappointed by the transfer quality used. Some of the films were actually clear in both visual and sound, but others were so poor that they looked like they were transferred from a 3rd or 4th generation copy VHS tape.
Published on July 23 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture quality, July 23 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The John Wayne Collection (DVD)
I purchased this DVD set recently and was very disappointed by the transfer quality used. Some of the films were actually clear in both visual and sound, but others were so poor that they looked like they were transferred from a 3rd or 4th generation copy VHS tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne Collection - 5 Pack, July 17 2001
This review is from: The John Wayne Collection (DVD)
These 10 movies in 5 DVDs from Madacy Entertainment are of the poorest quality that you will find. Most of them look like they are 5th generation copies of VHS tapes that were then copied to DVD. I was looking forward to adding to my collection of John Wayne DVDs, but I would not keep these if they gave them away. I will never buy another DVD from Madacy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very bad, Sept. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The John Wayne Collection (DVD)
very bad quality and waste of money. Will never buy from madacy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars no clue!, Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pour Adultes Seulement XXX (DVD)
I cannot give any details on this movie set cause I have bought it as a gift. As far as I know I do believe my father liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne's Older Movies, Feb. 11 2011
This review is from: Pour Adultes Seulement XXX (DVD)
I bought this set for my Dad; he's a real fan of John Wayne Westerns.
The movies are from 1933 to 1936; the oldies.
The quality is good but keep in mind these are old movies so the picture is grainy and the sound quality is of the 1930's capabilities.
If you have a good quality TV and sound system you will be okay; just don't expect today's picture quality and sound because it's not there. The remastering of old movies of this time period, using today's technology, can only do so much and what was done is good.
If you're a real John Wayne fan and collect his movies you will love this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection at a great price!, Jan. 6 2010
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pour Adultes Seulement XXX (DVD)
A must have for every John Wayne fan, this pack has many of his earlier films, restored in original black and white. Hours of entertainment in this pack, and the collectors tin is really nice too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed movies!, Sept. 15 2003
This review is from: John Wayne-Duke Coll (VHS Tape)
I love this collection of movies! John Wayne in my eyes was one of the BEST actors of his time, no make that the best. He had style that made his movies great that I have not seen anyone get close to. He was graceful and just a good actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Sad Transfer, March 27 2001
By 
M. De Angelis (GB)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The John Wayne Collection (DVD)
I bought this box set of " John Wayne Collection " because ever since i was a small boy i have been a big fan of the Duke (j.wayne)that most of his early films have never been seen in London,England (Great Britan). so for many years they have been showing nearly the same films over and over again ( E.G Rio Bravo,The Alamo and True Grit). But now that Dvd is here with great sound and picture,I thought now is the chance to buy not only John Wayne's movies but some other great action,comedy and various other dvd.... I have to say most films are great on dvd and i have had 5 or so very bad ones..... When i saw this box set i was very happy until now : 5 discs,early 1933 films ( great i thought,never seen them in my life ) And now that i am watching the first dvd while writing these words..... Here is what i am thinking What the hell was the company thinking of,this box set is cheap very bad picture quality so dark..... it's like a bad vhs to vhs copy then transered to dvd,I can not see the actors,let alone the scenery.And even the sound is so low..you can not hear it. please if you are interested in buying the collection stay away from the 5 pack (madacy) collection it's so bad.
So last word look around for a better deal. If any one out there knows if they are going to release the same movies with better picture and sound please let me know..Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some of his best., Nov. 24 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: John Wayne-Duke Coll (VHS Tape)
I have been a John Wayne fan for many years, and have seen almost all of his movies. All of the movies in this set are great, I think probably, some of his best ones. Two are especially favorites. I love ElDorado, even if it similiar to Rio Bravo. The characters are great. My favorite is The Shootist. The movie made me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Trip in Time: a Vision of Yesteryear, Jan. 23 2000
By 
Steve Kaden (Las Vegas, Nevada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The John Wayne Collection (DVD)
The 5 DVD collection of John Wayne rates high in my book. It takes the viewer back not only in the early life of a most notable actor but also in the early years of film making. The 10 movies in this set were all made in 1933 and 1934. Consider that Talkies didn't exist until 1930-31 you have the rare oportunity to see what highlighted the movies top billing and see the movies as did the viewing audience saw them at that time.
If you are expecting the quality of "The Alamo" or "North to Alaska" forget it. The technology at the time was pressed one sided, paper, records that had to be correctly timed to the movie you were watching. Dolby and surround sound wasn't even heard of.
What you get to see is John Wayne as the movies earliest "Singing Cowboy" billed as "Singing Sandy". These are great if you view them with the knowledge of how and when they were produced and enjoy seeing how John Wayne started a career that ended with the United States Mint striking a special medal simply stating "John Wayne - American".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc39871a4)

This product

John Wayne Collection
John Wayne Collection by Popflix (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 15.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews