march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 23, 2011
I purchased this album a few months back with the understanding that it was the SHM CD from Japan. This was not the case. It seemed strange that a SHM CD would be listed for such a cheap price. The average SHM CD is around $30.00 or more. I thought that maybe Amazon was just having a sale and getting rid of them, so I bought it.
When i got this album, it was not in the cardboard package and should also have had a Japanese label on it. I would have sent it back , but the TOOLS that work in the warehouse for Amazon would have just sent me the same thing over again. Buy the Album because you like Dokken. Don't buy it if you think you're getting the Japanese version
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2004
I doubt that a two word sentence was ever uttered with the words 'Dokken' and 'Rules' in alphabetical order. Of all the hard rocking L.A. hair metal bands, Dokken was a unique mystery. They were not really power pop because of George Lynch's amazing guitar skills, and they weren't Bon Jovi either, even though Don Dokken wanted everyone to think he was just as sexy and talanted (I for one think that Bon Jovi sucks, but that style was where the money was in the decadant 80's).
Dokken was a meat and potato rock n roll band, period. They hit it big for a short time on MTV with the video 'In my Dreams', followed by 'It's not Love'. Belive it or not a cheap and worthless black and white fuzzy video was shot for 'The Hunter' that played on Headbanger's Ball maybe two times.
Under Lock and Key is a good definition of what Dokken is and what they could have been. When you hear a song like 'Lightning Strikes' you say these guys can really rock, but when you hear stuff like Slippin' Away, you laugh at them for being a cheezy hair band. I don't know of anyone who detests Dokken, but I don't think they were anyone's favorite band. Here's the best way to send them up.
When a Poison or Warrant fan put them on, they were into 'the hard stuff', however a Slayer or Anthrax fan could play them without being embarrassed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2004
From the introdcutory acoustic opening chords of "Unchain the Night", quickly turning into a crunchy, solid hard rocker, this CD is a winner!
"The Hunter" growls and prowls. "In My Dreams", is one of Dokken's more well known songs. It's radio friendly, but melodic and hard enough to still satisfy fans of Dokken's brand of hard rock. (I hate to call them metal...they really are more hard rock).
"Slippin' Away" slows things down a bit. It's one of two ballads of the CD. But it's just another example of how professional and polished these guys were as a band. The harmonies displayed here at one point in the tune are beautifully done.
"Lightin' Strikes Again" quickly brings things back up to speed...nearly a thrasher, but again, tightly played.
I could go on with the rest of the tracks of the album, but it would sound redundant. One thing Dokken had the edge over on any of the "hair bands" "metal bands" (whatever you want to call them) was MELODY.
Everything shines here...Jeff Pilson's bass, Mick Brown's drumming and percussion, George Lynch's blistering solos, and Don Dokken's vocals. Even down to the cover...the tousled hair, the colorful outfits, and the rhyming band name and CD title. This one, and "Tooth and Nail", are probably the two best bets if you're interested in re-discovering 80's hard rock.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon July 1, 2011
Released in 1985, Under Lock and Key is Dokken's third album and marked a bit of a change of sound as it's not as heavy and raw as the band's previous album, Tooth and Nail (1984), or even its follow up Back For The Attack (1987). This one goes for a more polished and melodic approach that was popular during that decade but is overall just as good of an album, if not better than its predecessor. The band was obviously aiming at the charts with this release as they went towards a more commercial way. Under lock and Key features Dokken at it's as its best with some highly melodic and fun rocking songs that proves why Dokken is one of the better Hair/Glam-Metal bands. Dokken released some excellent albums in the 1980's and to me Under Lock and Key is perhaps their very best, it captures the band at its brightest moment. Don's voice is at its best here and sounds amazing; I really feel that he does some of his best singing on this album. As always we are treated to some very skillful guitar work by George Lynch who proves himself once more. Not to be forgotten, bassist Jeff Pilson and drummer Mick Brown also provide a strong and tight rhythm section.

Unchain The Night opens the album very well, it's a good rocker with a memorable chorus. I just love Don Dokken's screams towards the end, Don sounds excellent here and his voice is terrific. The Hunter is one of my favorite Dokken songs, it has a good feel, solid melody and the chorus is undeniably catchy and is simply the band at its best. In My Dreams is a softer song that's very much on the pop side but there's nothing wrong with that as it's a great Dokken song. Its Not Love features an excellent riff courtesy of George Lynch, got to love the tongue-in-cheek breakdown towards the end! Jaded Heart is a very nice ballad with a powerful feel to it. Don't Lie To Me and Will The Sun Rise (It could be said so of many songs but this one has an incredible solo, Lynch makes the simplest things sound great) are both undeniably catchy songs that have some qualities of a ballad but are also rock 'n' roll. The only song that I am not a huge fan of is closer Till the Living End, it's a heavier song and certainly not a bad one but it's not a great track either. It has great playing on it don't get me wrong, it's heavier in the same way that Tooth and Nail was but something is missing.

Here's the thing about Dokken: they know just how to craft a catchy song full or arrangements and hooks while still making it rock. I think Under Lock and Key captures Dokken at its shiniest moment, it's safe to say that if you don't like this album then chances are you won't like the band very much. It's easy to classify Dokken as just another band that was around during the Glam movement or that decade they call the 1980's but I think they were actually one of the better bands of that genre. The band also had a hard-rock sound to them mixed with the 80's sound. Add to this lyrics that were more clever and intelligent than that of many bands of the era had mixed with some fantastic guitar work, and what you get is this band who is in my opinion often overlooked and underrated. I don't think Under Lock and Key is a five stars album but it may very well be Dokken's best and comes somewhat close. I think 4.5 stars is fitting to this excellent album, I love Under Lock and Key and it's an album I would recommend to fans of melodic/Glam metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2002
Though they had some very good hits the albums weren't so good. They found the perfect Pop/Metal formula with a little classic Rock and Scorpions feel to it.
"Unchain the Night" is a longer hard song and typical of the whole album. Somehow it avoids being cheesy, unlike many of their peers. "In My Dreams" was the biggest hit and is a perfect mid-tempo song about love. "It's Not Love", with the chants of the title is good, but not a classic.
The other songs are just as good if not better. The 2 ballads are "Slippin Away" which is relaxed and better than "Alone Again" off their last album. "Jaded Heart" has more of a laid back feel that turns into a Power Ballad. The upbeat Metal of "Don't Lie to Me" and the slightly mournful "Will the Sun Rise" are lyrically deeper than you might think, and are overlooked. The heaviest songs are "Lightning Strikes Again" and the brutal "Till the Living End" are put at the end of each side. Although not my favorites, they're nice since they break up the feel of the album. The guitar playing combined with the high-pitched but not girlie singing seems like good video game music for some reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2002
Though they had some very good hits the albums weren't so good. They found the perfect Pop/Metal formula with a little classic Rock and Scorpions feel to it.
"Unchain the Night" is a longer hard song and typical of the whole album. Somehow it avoids being cheesy, unlike many of their peers. "In My Dreams" was the biggest hit and is a perfect mid-tempo song about love. "It's Not Love", with the chants of the title is good, but not a classic.
The other songs are just as good if not better. The 2 ballads are "Slippin Away" which is relaxed and better than "Alone Again" off their last album. "Jaded Heart" has more of a laid back feel that turns into a Power Ballad. The upbeat Metal of "Don't Lie to Me" and the slightly mournful "Will the Sun Rise" are lyrically deeper than you might think, and are overlooked. The heaviest songs are "Lightning Strikes Again" and the brutal "Till the Living End" are put at the end of each side. Although not my favorites, they're nice since they break up the feel of the album. The guitar playing combined with the high-pitched but not girlie singing seems like good video game music for some reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2002
If it's possible to say there is a "better" Dokken album of their four 80's studio LPs ("Breaking the Chains," "Tooth and Nail," "Under Lock and Key," "Back for the Attack"), an avid, objective 80's metal fan would probably tell you that this album is their best overall. Their heaviest? No. That honor goes to their '87 release "Back for the Attack." Their rawest? No, not that either. That would be "Tooth and Nail." But their biggest commercial and metal success simultaneously? Yup. Their biggest? Probably-- this album awakened a legion of female fans to Dokken's inimitable style. And their finest? By far; there isn't a single filler track, not a single poorly produced track on this album.
Dokken's vocals on this album are, in my opinion, at their pinnacle in this album. Just listen to him hit the soaring notes in "Slippin' Away," an awesome ballad, or sample his vocal power in "Lightning Strikes Again." "Unchain the Night" is another example of how Dokken outshines most other 80's metal wailers [vocally]. This album is proof positive that Don Dokken is one of the 80's best vocalists. He injects passion and vitality into Dokken's songs.
...but Don would be "just another band" without their signature sound-- that of axeman George Lynch. His guitar talent and skill rivals that of other of the 80's best axemen-- no joke. Any of his solos on this album will prove that. Check out the solo in "Unchain the Night" to be persuaded. The crisp, clean distortion sound that jumps off of his guitar in this album was/is one of the definitive sounds in 80's metal. Lynch seems to be able to make the standard pings, squeals, crunches, riffs, and chugs seem extraordinary. For some of his best solos on this album also check out "The Hunter," "In My Dreams," and "Till the Livin' End". But let us not overlook the passion of his guitar in "Slippin' Away" and "Jaded Heart." Nor the sheer power in "It's Not Love" (one of the three BIG hits from this album), "Lightning Strikes Again," "Don't Lie To Me," and "Till the Livin' End."
Pure and simple: Lynch is beyond awesome! (For what I think is his best solo ever, see Dokken's '87 "Back For the Attack" release for the instrumental "Mr. Scary" showcasing Lynch at his finest.)
There are three major singles from this album (tracks 1, 3, and 6), but there isn't one song on here that could be considered filler. This album is solid throughout.
"Under Lock and Key," with a mix of fast songs, blistering guitar riffs and solos, soaring vocals, and tight songwriting, is one of the 80's best metal albums-- despite the fact that it is clumped under the "glam metal" genre.
This albums is a MUST HAVE for any 80's metal fan, or for any fan of top-notch guitar work. BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2001
It starts out mysteriously enough with "Unchain The Night", which is a decent song that takes a while to build up. But this CD really comes together with the blistering yet commercially accessible "The Hunter," which has one of the best intros of any heavy metal song I've ever heard.
In fact, the phrase "blistering yet commercially accessible" would be a good way to describe Dokken's music in general. George Lynch's fully three-dimensional guitar artistry blends effortlessly with Don Dokken's pop sensibility in his songwriting, as well as his melodic singing, to create a unique sound that is all Dokken's. Their sound is easily recognisable, right off the first silky chords provided by Mr Lynch to the piledriver rhythm section provided by Messrs. Pilsson and Brown. In fact, I think that Jeff Pilsson is one of the greatest heavy metal bassists of all time. No wonder why, when Dokken broke up, Michael Schenker snatched him up for the wonderful "Schenker-McCauley" album (1991).
Anyway, other standout tracks on this CD include "In My Dreams" (which is very catchy, full of hooks, and probably Dokken's most commercial song ever), "It's Not Love," and "Till The Livin' End" (which is the most blistering track on this CD, and is one of their fastest songs ever). Sure, this CD is more polished than "Tooth And Nail" but it will still rock your socks off! If you love your '80's metal with a bit more artistry than other "hair-metal" bands, well then what are you waiting for?? I HIGHLY reccommend this CD!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2000
Under Lock and Key is my favorite album from Dokken. This album holds personal significance to me. I first got the cassette of Under Lock and Key in 1986 when I was a teenager. Shortly before, I had seen a couple of the album's videos. For a long time, I couldn't get enough of it. I listened to the album incessantly. It's hard to believe that it has been fourteen years since I first listened to this album. This disc opened the doors to a lot of music that I subsequently started to listen to. Even though I don't listen to Under Lock and Key as much as I did when I was younger, I still have and always will have a tremendous amount of respect for it. The album consists of ten tracks and is in a melodic hard rock direction. Under Lock and Key contains a nice variety of songs. There are straight-ahead rockers, ballads, and a couple of heavy, metallic ones. The musicianship, songwriting, and production are all quite impressive. George Lynch does a very good job with the guitar playing; he has his own style of playing. His solos are well constructed, and there are some cool, memorable guitar riffs. Don Dokken does an energetic job with the vocals. The backing vocals from the group are also very nice. My favorite songs are "Unchain the Night," "In My Dreams," "Jaded Heart," and "Will the Sun Rise." "In My Dreams" features catchy backing vocals and a well-crafted guitar solo (one of my favorite guitar solos) from George Lynch. Don Dokken's vocals on the ballad "Jaded Heart" are nice. George Lynch also plays a killer guitar riff on "Unchain the Night." None of the ten tracks are bad. "Lightnin' Strikes Again" and "Til the Livin' End" display the heavy, metallic side of the band. I also like the album cover. The guys really have a cool look. Under Lock and Key is a consistent album that is quite impressive. It's a better-than-good representation of melodic hard rock. It emanates melody, energy, and emotion. I actually give it 3.5 stars. It's well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2000
As other reviewers have already stated, this is Dokken at their best. While some of the songs on Under Lock & Key border on "typical" sappy hair metal ("Don't Lie To Me" and "Jaded Heart"), you still have plenty of songs with a metal edge to choose from like the brilliant "Unchain the Night", the powerful "It's Not Love" and the dark "Lightning Strikes". And, unlike many other hair metal bands, Dokken's ballads don't whine and moan but, rather, they soar.
I don't know which bands to compare Dokken to musically. The Scorpions and White Lion have somewhat similiar sounds. I think that Dokken may have been influenced by the Scorpions and, for that matter, Van Halen while White Lion sounds like they were, in turn, influenced by Dokken. Either way, Dokken was a pretty good band and Under Lock & Key is their best work. In my opinion, Dokken never did another album after this one that was as good. But Dokken's guitarist, George Lynch, did with Lynch Mob's first release, Wicked Sensation.
Good music and not a bad song on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse