Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shining example of quality 80's hard rock
From the introdcutory acoustic opening chords of "Unchain the Night", quickly turning into a crunchy, solid hard rocker, this CD is a winner!
"The Hunter" growls and prowls. "In My Dreams", is one of Dokken's more well known songs. It's radio friendly, but melodic and hard enough to still satisfy fans of Dokken's brand of hard rock...
Published on April 26 2004 by Paul E. Xavier

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Japanese SHM CD
I purchased this album a few months back with the understanding that it was the SHM CD from Japan. This was not the case. It seemed strange that a SHM CD would be listed for such a cheap price. The average SHM CD is around $30.00 or more. I thought that maybe Amazon was just having a sale and getting rid of them, so I bought it.
When i got this album, it was not in...
Published on Jan. 23 2011 by Justin Baranec


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Some of The Best Songs Of The 80's!, Dec 19 1999
By 
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
This is probably my favorite Dokken album(it's close between this and Tooth and Nail). The tone is upbeat/positive and the guitar playing is very tasteful--not too fast,not too slow. Lynch shows here that style is more important than speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars im not much for hair metal, July 19 2002
By 
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
I have to admit, this has a few great songs on it but not one that lives in my player. I like the album cover just cause i get to see one of mu favorite guitarist (george lynch) with but poofy hair and lookin all feminin. Kinda funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dokken's Best, June 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
UNDER LOCK AND KEY is Dokken's best album. Sure, there are some songs that drag a bit, but the rest are so good that the album gets 5 stars anyway. If you can only get three Dokken records, get this, TOOTH AND NAIL, and THE BEST OF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dokken's Best, June 4 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
Dokken at it's very finest. It's available right here at amazon so you don't need to be a hunter to find this c.d. I wouldn't lie to you, so buy it and watch out for the lighting strikes as you unchain the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Lock & Key (Audio CD)
my partner had told me that this was his favourite album growing up, I wanted to surprise this as a Christmas gift for him, has never left his vehicle since putting it in the disc player. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you sir, May I have another ,, June 10 2004
By 
Hilow "Bill" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
My ears hurt,
This CD rocks so hard you will climb the walls. If your a fan of Ratt, this is better than "out of the cellar". Sure it came along sometime after but it is produced better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOKKEN = one of the 80's best all time Rock band ever!, April 28 1999
By 
Steve Kim "Neoclassica" (Winchester, Southern CA , USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
Great songs written and played by Don and George. If you are into power rock and ballads, then please sample all of their other albums as well. PURE ROCK KNAC salutes to DOKKEN! Rock On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hey, we were all young once!, May 28 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
Only thing that saves this CD from a 1 is the song "In My Dreams!!" Dokken was to '80's metal what New Kids on the Block are to Country music, NOTHING!! Next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth buying, March 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Under Lock and Key (Audio CD)
I wore this album out in the 80's. A GREAT album. George Lynch-the man can just flat out burn up a guitar! Pick up Tooth and Nail too. Wish the band did'nt break up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Unchain the Night...(4.5/5*), July 1 2011
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Lock & Key (Audio CD)
Released in 1985, Under Lock and Key is Dokken's third album and marked a bit of a change of sound as it's not as heavy and raw as the band's previous album, Tooth and Nail (1984), or even its follow up Back For The Attack (1987). This one goes for a more polished and melodic approach that was popular during that decade but is overall just as good of an album, if not better than its predecessor. The band was obviously aiming at the charts with this release as they went towards a more commercial way. Under lock and Key features Dokken at it's as its best with some highly melodic and fun rocking songs that proves why Dokken is one of the better Hair/Glam-Metal bands. Dokken released some excellent albums in the 1980's and to me Under Lock and Key is perhaps their very best, it captures the band at its brightest moment. Don's voice is at its best here and sounds amazing; I really feel that he does some of his best singing on this album. As always we are treated to some very skillful guitar work by George Lynch who proves himself once more. Not to be forgotten, bassist Jeff Pilson and drummer Mick Brown also provide a strong and tight rhythm section.

Unchain The Night opens the album very well, it's a good rocker with a memorable chorus. I just love Don Dokken's screams towards the end, Don sounds excellent here and his voice is terrific. The Hunter is one of my favorite Dokken songs, it has a good feel, solid melody and the chorus is undeniably catchy and is simply the band at its best. In My Dreams is a softer song that's very much on the pop side but there's nothing wrong with that as it's a great Dokken song. Its Not Love features an excellent riff courtesy of George Lynch, got to love the tongue-in-cheek breakdown towards the end! Jaded Heart is a very nice ballad with a powerful feel to it. Don't Lie To Me and Will The Sun Rise (It could be said so of many songs but this one has an incredible solo, Lynch makes the simplest things sound great) are both undeniably catchy songs that have some qualities of a ballad but are also rock 'n' roll. The only song that I am not a huge fan of is closer Till the Living End, it's a heavier song and certainly not a bad one but it's not a great track either. It has great playing on it don't get me wrong, it's heavier in the same way that Tooth and Nail was but something is missing.

Here's the thing about Dokken: they know just how to craft a catchy song full or arrangements and hooks while still making it rock. I think Under Lock and Key captures Dokken at its shiniest moment, it's safe to say that if you don't like this album then chances are you won't like the band very much. It's easy to classify Dokken as just another band that was around during the Glam movement or that decade they call the 1980's but I think they were actually one of the better bands of that genre. The band also had a hard-rock sound to them mixed with the 80's sound. Add to this lyrics that were more clever and intelligent than that of many bands of the era had mixed with some fantastic guitar work, and what you get is this band who is in my opinion often overlooked and underrated. I don't think Under Lock and Key is a five stars album but it may very well be Dokken's best and comes somewhat close. I think 4.5 stars is fitting to this excellent album, I love Under Lock and Key and it's an album I would recommend to fans of melodic/Glam metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Lock & Key
Under Lock & Key by Dokken (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews