Customer Reviews


290 Reviews
5 star:
 (190)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super
Un jour pendant que je me promener, j'ai eu envie de louer ce fameux film donc j'aivais beaucoup entendu parler à la télévision. Quand j'ai su que Stitch était au fond une machine à détruire, j'ai eu une sacré frousse. Mais quand ont va jusqu'à la fin du film ont fini par adorer Stitch et ont a même envie de le...
Published on May 11 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a mite overrated.
I was sick with a cold one night and managed to catch this on ABC's The Wonderful World Of Disney. I decided to check it out because of all the good things I heard about it. I thought Stitch, Agent Pleakly and Dr. Jumba were very funny characters (David Odgen Steirs steals the show as Jumba). The "villain", Captain Gantu was my favorite character. He was a REALLY...
Published on April 22 2004


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, May 11 2005
By A Customer
Un jour pendant que je me promener, j'ai eu envie de louer ce fameux film donc j'aivais beaucoup entendu parler à la télévision. Quand j'ai su que Stitch était au fond une machine à détruire, j'ai eu une sacré frousse. Mais quand ont va jusqu'à la fin du film ont fini par adorer Stitch et ont a même envie de le serrer dans nous bras tellement qu'il est mignon et mouelleux. Enfin, j'avais passer une belle soiré en voyant ce film. Bien sûr ça était un peu difficile d'utiliser le DVD mais j'ai réussi à écouter le film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a mite overrated., April 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
I was sick with a cold one night and managed to catch this on ABC's The Wonderful World Of Disney. I decided to check it out because of all the good things I heard about it. I thought Stitch, Agent Pleakly and Dr. Jumba were very funny characters (David Odgen Steirs steals the show as Jumba). The "villain", Captain Gantu was my favorite character. He was a REALLY cool-looking alien. He's this like 12-foot tall, military buff-type guy (Kevin Micheal Richardson was the perfect voice for Gantu).
OVERALL.
LILO AND STITCH was a movie that was only good enough to keep me entertained. I give it a 3 and half out of 5. I wouldn't reccommend buying it though, but it's worth a rent if still think Disney stuff is cool (like me). This feature is not exactly as good as most everyone says it is (that's just my opinion). Personally I thought DUMBO (which is one of the greatest films ever made in animation history) was MUCH better than LILO AND STITCH. Still, if you wanna try it, don't let me be the one to stop you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best There Is, March 2 2004
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
'Lilo & Stitch' is possibly the greatest Disney masterpiece ever created (in my opinion). It blends magnificent, newly rebirthed coloring techniques, Elvis musical tracks, brand-new voice talent, and enough emotion to make a person laugh, cry, and cheer.
The storyline revolves around an illegaly-created genetic Experiment, and a lonely little Hawaiian girl. They find each other, and nothing but chaos ensues.
The hyperactive alien, 'Stitch', is voiced by director Chris Sanders, and the youthful girl, 'Lilo', by child-actor Daveigh Chase. The interaction between these two characters is magical and heart-warming; comparable to past relationships between Disney characters.
If you haven't noticed before, 'Lilo & Stitch' is the first animated sci-fi film by Disney. Still, the basic family-formula hasn't changed, and that's what keeps the movie good.
The movie was the smash-hit of the summer of 2002, so if you haven't seen it yet, you've missed out. Take it from the fans: this is a masterpiece worth adding to any video collection. Please consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hula Thunk It?, Feb. 6 2004
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
I didn't see "Lilo and Stitch" until it came out on DVD. My 2 year old fell in love with this show immediately. It had to grow on me a little bit before I realized just how great this movie about a little alien experiment trying to find a home was. The message in the film is simple, but speaks volumes: Family means that no one gets left behind or forgotten. Lilo and her sister Nani accept Stitch into their family(ohana, in Hawaiian terms). Lilo loves him right away, but Nani takes a little longer to convince that Stitch belongs. Lilo and Stitch have some wild adventures together and even fight with each other when Stitch gets blamed for tearing apart the little family.
In classic Disney style, Stitch saves the day and proves that even if you aren't born into a family, you can become part of one.
This movie is a wholesome, fun movie for the entire family. It holds the attention of the youngsters and the storyline is solid enough to keep adults interested.
The DVD has a number of extras that include a documentary on the Hula dance and how much time was spent to get it just right for the movie. There is a great segment featuring Wynonna talking about how glad she was that Disney was promoting the music of Elvis Presley to youngsters via this flick. For the youngsters, there is a video by a group of kids singing "I Can't Help Falling In Love With You."
Superb family fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Moose Hole - Nothing but 'Burning Love' for this Film, Dec 29 2003
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
Traditional animation has taken quite a few hits in recent years and some from the studio you would least suspect, Disney. Disney's last traditional animated effort, Atlantis: The Lost Empire, only managed to gather $84 million by the end of its run, well short of the film's $120 million budget. Many recent Disney animated features have suffered from bloated budgets of which include Fantasia 2000 ($90 million budget), Tarzan ($130 million), and the studio's holiday animated release, Treasure Planet ($140 million). Then how has this genre been able to survive? Thanks in part to the Walt Disney Company's Florida animation facility, they have been able to produce the occasional hit to keep the animation wing of the studio chugging along. Traditional animation needs a hit more then ever due to the failures of not only Disney but Dreamworks, Warner Brothers and 20th Century Fox which seem to signal the end of this motion picture staple genre.
The story centers on a mischievous alien who crash lands on Earth and learns the meaning of family from his new friends. Experiment 626, created by the mad scientist Jumbaa, is declared a huge hazard to the universe and is ordered by the Galactic Federation to be exiled on a far distant asteroid. Unfortunately things quickly go wrong and 626 hijacks a space cruiser only to crash into the Hawaiian Islands on the planet Earth. Being mistaken for a normal dog, a misunderstood girl named Lilo adopts the galactic criminal and dubs him Stitch. Unbeknownst to his adopted family, Stitch had been programmed to destroy everything in sight and nothing else but over time the fugitive learns accepts the love of his new friends and learns the meaning of family. The story for Lilo & Stitch starts off a little slow at the beginning but as the film goes on, it quickly picks up and comes off as being unique and well done. One thing that can clearly be said is that the plot holds up much better then Atlantis: The Lost Empire, which suffered severely especially in its third act.
Stitch may look ugly but, as he puts it, he's just "cute and fluffy". The character of Stitch has to be one of the most original creations coming from Disney animation. Certainly he is more different then any other Disney animated character and that is probably why he is so loveable. The Walt Disney Company will definitely be making a fine coin off this wonderful creation based on merchandise sales this summer to be sure. Be forewarned that some smaller children may be frightened by some of Stitch's mischievous antics at the beginning of the feature but they are nothing of huge concern. The character of Lilo, who is a typical six year old who is cute and weird but also has a bit of a dark side, is probably one of the most down to Earth animated characters ever. She feeds a fish peanut butter sandwiches everyday believing it controls the weather and when another little girl makes a comment, Lilo jumps on her and punches her. Her antics worry the audience and yet at the same time we can't help but feel sorry for the way others treat her. The only problem found in the cast of characters lies with the background aliens. Though there are a variety of them in the feature, they aren't as unique to audience members as the aliens in Men In Black or Evolution but it is difficult to do that with so many alien features in recent years.
Overall, Lilo & Stitch is a pure Disney gem and ranks up there with many of the past traditional animated classics. Certainly the film doesn't match up with the artistic merits of The Lion King or Aladdin but its own unique style makes it stand out from the rest of the box office pack this summer. This has to be one of the most different Disney animated films in recent memory but the studio needs to keep up with its ever changing audience. Stitch suffers from a slow start and over cuteness in the story department but there is tons of humor that mixes well with the overall story and delightful characters that makes up for those small squabbles. Despite featuring no original songs, the soundtrack for Lilo & Stitch offers several Elvis Presley songs that go extremely well with the actions occurring in the film. Lilo & Stitch is definitely one of the best comedies of the year and should be considered one of most unique and outstanding animated features in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical film, great for you and your 'ohana.', Dec 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
Prior to seeing 'Lilo & Stitch,' I wasn't sure if I wanted to see this film. When I was at the Disneyland theme park in Anaheim, CA during July 2001, I saw a sneak preview/trailer of this film. I wasn't so sure if I wanted to see it or not. When the film hit theatres, I had failed to see 'Lilo & Stitch.'
When the movie saw its DVD release, I didn't buy it. When the movie premiered on ABC a few months ago, I managed to see all but the first 20 minutes or so of the film. I had realized that I was missing a great Disney masterpiece. So, I decided a few weeks later that I wanted to buy the movie. When, I saw the film in its entirety. Wow, man...just...wow. 'Lilo & Stitch' became one of (if not the) my favorite Disney films.
This film is rated PG, so this is a darker film, compared to most other Disney animated films, but this can be enjoyed by all (though the youngest audiences need to watch it with older people). Not every family is fortunate, and the family of Lilo (Daveigh Chase) and her older sister, Nani (Tia Carrere), is one of those broken families. The two sisters struggle to stay together since their parents were killed in a car accident. They see frequent visitations from the social worker, Cobra Bubbles (Ving Rhames), and he checks to see if Nani is doing a good job taking care of Lilo. Then, came a monster (which Lilo thinks he is a dog), experiment 626 (created by 'evil genius' scientist, Jumba Jookiba (David Ogden Stiers)), arrives on Earth on the Hawaiian island of Kauai. Later on, Lilo chose a new pet...which was 626. She renamed him 'Stitch' (Chris Sanders). Lilo never fit in with the rest of the crowd, while Stitch never had a family. Similarly, both had very bad behavior.
Just when you thought things couldn't have gotten any worse for Lilo and Nani, Stitch causes chaos in shops, at the beach, and even at the Pelekai house (Lilo & Nani's residence). Little do Lilo and Nani know, Stitch was being watched and hunted by two aliens, Jumba and Pleakley (Kevin McDonald). The two have trouble capturing the experiment, and end up being fired from the job.
During the middle of the film, Lilo teaches Stitch about love and the meaning of 'ohana' (which is Hawaiian for family, and it means to never be left behind..or forgotten). Stitch's behavior gradually changes throughout the film, and begins to feel sympathy for Lilo. Suddenly, Jumba and Pleakley arrive at Lilo's house, and go after Stitch. Stitch and Lilo get away, until another space creature, Captain Gantu (Kevin Michael Richardson) arrives, and capture both Lilo and Stitch. Stitch frees himself, but Lilo is still in Gantu's hands. Nani realizes that she may never see her little sister ever again. Things change, as Jumba and Pleakley start to sympathize Nani.
Stitch and the gang go after Gantu's ship, and attempt to rescue Lilo. At the end, things go well for the Pelekai family, and have new members of the family..including Stitch, himself. The ending was great..showing images of Lilo, Stitch, Nani, David (Jason Scott Lee, Nani's boyfriend), Jumba, and Pleakley. During the whole film, I had some really good laughs (Pleakley was very funny, IMO), I nearly cried when Stitch was feeling lost, and when Nani realized that Lilo is captured by Gantu.
The music is really awesome. You won't find many original tracks in the soundtrack. That's because you'll hear many Elvis Presley hits on the movie, which was perfect for the film. The tunes from Mark Keali'i Ho'omalu & Kamehameha Schools Children's Chorus were outstanding. Don't forget the tunes from composer, Alan Silvestri (who did the soundtrack for the Back to the Future movies)...they are very good. While I didn't care for the A*Teen's remake of "Can't Help Falling in Love", I did enjoy Wynonna's version of "Burning Love."
Even though "Finding Nemo" and "The Lion King" are the bigger blockbuster movies, I feel that "Lilo & Stitch" beats both of them (though I like the other two films, also). I feel that this movie is somewhat underappreciated, and many people are missing out on a great adventure. Never judge a film by the trailers alone. I did that, and in many cases, my impressions of the movies change. You'll laugh, cry, and be amazed at the same time. This IS a classic film, thanks to Chris Sanders and the rest of the team behind the Disney film. Everyone should see "Lilo & Stitch." You will not regret it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leave Nemo where he is 'cause this is much better!!!, Dec 10 2003
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
This is clearly the best Disney I have ever watched!And I love life,because it doesn't stop here.There's also a brilliant sequel and an amazing TV series.Whatever it is,I virtually never stop watching Lilo and Stitch.I really disappoints me that Disney could well stop making their movies using traditional animation methods,as some of these are considerably better than the Pixar offerings.Monsters Inc was entertaining but isn't really designed for repeated viewing,and,no offence anyone,but Finding Nemo was awful!However I can recommend Lilo and Stitch to any hard core animated film fan,it's one of those that can really cheer you up when you're down.
I've already been hearing rumours of a third movie release so someone better tell me the rumours are true soon.
After going back to check on updated reviews of Stitch The Movie it seems that the rumours of the third film are confirmed to be true now so Mahalo!Now I just wanna know when it's out and if it's going to the theatres or not.I hope so.Compared to Jungle Book 2,it deserves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Classic, Dec 1 2003
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
After a long break in good movies, the Walt Disney Company has been able to miraculously create a movie comparable to its classics. It seemed like for quite some time the Walt Disney Company had run out of ideas, so it resorted to making sequels for many of its classic movies. Then, without warning, the Walt Disney Company came up with a brilliant idea for a movie. The movie was "Lilo and Stitch," and it seems to have become an instant classic.
When I first heard of the movie, I thought that it was going to be another pathetic attempt to turn an original idea into a movie, but much to my surprise it was quite the opposite. The commercials leading up to the release of "Lilo and Stitch" portrayed the movie as a movie directed toward young boys, with aliens and guns, but it turned out to be a movie that everyone could enjoy.
Up until "Lilo and Stitch" came out, "Sleeping Beauty" was my favorite Walt Disney movie. Instantly, "Lilo and Stitch" became my favorite Walt Disney movie, in addition to "Sleeping Beauty," of course. The story line behind "Lilo and Stitch" is like many I have heard before, but with a unique twist.
Lilo, one of the movie's two main characters, was an oddball. Not liked by her peers, her sister decided to adopt a pet for Lilo to befriend, but gets more than she had hoped for. Not only is this movie adorable, but it also has a good message behind it. The moral of the movie is to not care what other people think, but to always believe in yourself and know that the people who truly matter will always be there for you, a moral that every child should have bestowed upon them.
Another positive message one receives after watching this movie is one concerning self-image. In this movie, all of the characters are drawn to proportion, and do not look unhealthy due to how skinny they are. The characters look like real people, not fat, but also not sculpted and perfected. When a child sees this movie, he or she will see that not everyone can have a perfect body or look sleek and slender, but that it is okay to be healthy.
Lilo is able to hula her way into the heart of many people who watch Lilo and Stitch, and as a result has become a favorite Disney character of mine. Like many other Walt Disney Company movies, Lilo and Stitch also has a sequel, but this sequel is not cheesy like most sequels are. Rather, this sequel is nearly as good as Lilo and Stitch was. If you enjoy "Lilo and Stitch," I would highly recommend seeing "Stitch! The Movie." Also, if you enjoy the idea behind "Lilo and Stitch," I would recommend "Lilo and Stitch: The Series." Each of these installments is a continuation of the idea behind "Lilo and Stitch."
The Walt Disney Company really made a wise choice in creating this movie. I know that I loved all aspects and installments involving "Lilo and Stitch," and I hope that you will to. Aloha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - but watch the 3 and under, Nov. 17 2003
By 
Dena (Fullerton, CA-USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
Great movie. My daughter, who was almost 2 when she fell in love with it, loves it as to my husband and I. The only downfall I caught was that my daughter now licks mine and my husbands arms (Lilo licked her sisters arm when she caught her to ask her why she acted the way she did) when we're trying to talk to her. She also learned to throw herself face down on the floor and mumble unaudiable words when she did something wrong (also a scene when Lilo's sister tried to talk to her about the way she did when the Social Worker visited). She started throwing all her toys in the center of her room and growl stomping through them, throwing them up in the air and screaming (Stitch built the town in Lilo's room and then "destroyed" it). I just found it to be influencial - and not in a good way.
We took the movie away for about 3 months and slowly reintroduced it to her, explaining (while watching the movie)that Lilo was being a baby and that she was whininng because what she did was bad. Also telling our daughter that Stitch was behaving badly.
**Now she can point out when Stitch does something in the movie that my husband and I do not approve of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lilo & Stitch, Nov. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Lilo and Stitch (DVD)
If you're under the age of 12 and know nothing about the greedy corporate capitalism of Disney, Lilo and Stitch might just be the perfect movie for you. It lacks authenticity, it's a base for spawning tons of sequels and games, and it of course has that certain tender moment at the end that is bursting at the seams with morales. It will make your child want to have all the additional merchandise and games.
Half of the title of the movie, Stitch, is actually Experiment 626, a runaway alien that escaped from the very generic-like Galactic Federation armarda of ships around a generic-like nebula and found a safe haven on the planet Earth. The Galactic Federation takes chase, Stitch finds a friend on Earth, and without too much hard thought, you can figure out how it ends without even touching the DVD. All this action takes place on Hawaii, or what Hawaii represents to Disney, hula skirts, flame throwing, and choice waves to surf. I can't understand why it tries to delve itself into mature topics such as social services, and still has lame kiddie jokes and morales upon morales.
But, for the everyday watcher, he or she will probably love this movie, hate the future incarnations, and find the dialogue very funny. Since Disney doesn't succeed very often with the creation of new movies, you have to give them credit for creating something watchable. You also can give them credit for creating something with a good amount of thought, it doesn't take itself totally seriously, and it recreates characters very well. The DVD is lame, doesn't have very much information within, and has a lot of games. It dodges the topics of how the art was created to resemble Hawaii, instead talking about Hawaii itself.
If you hate Disney, you will still enjoy this film for what it is, and at least find it 7 times better than Brother Bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lilo and Stitch: Big Wave Edition (Bilingual)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews