Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (300)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows on TV is finally being released
Buffy the Vampire Slayer is one of the most clever, stylish and deep shows on TV today, and Season Two is where it really starts to shine. This boxset contains all 22 episodes of the show's second season, which featured one of the biggest story arcs ever on the show: Angel (good vampire and Buffy's boyfriend) loses his soul after a night of passion with Buffy and becomes...
Published on May 11 2002 by Joseph Rodriguez

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Lousy Presentation
The average review, allegedly of this product, is five stars, but since the reviews came out before the product, these morons have obviously rated the SHOW, not the DVD they're supposed to be reviewing. Yes, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" is one of the greatest shows of all time, but this package is a disgrace. Of the dozens of DVDs and videos I have, the DVD package of...
Published on June 10 2002 by ah952


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Lousy Presentation, June 10 2002
By 
"ah952" (Jamaica Plain, MA United States) - See all my reviews
The average review, allegedly of this product, is five stars, but since the reviews came out before the product, these morons have obviously rated the SHOW, not the DVD they're supposed to be reviewing. Yes, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" is one of the greatest shows of all time, but this package is a disgrace. Of the dozens of DVDs and videos I have, the DVD package of "Buffy"'s 2nd season has by FAR the worst picture quality. Since one of the biggest advantages to DVD technology is improved visual quality, you'd think Mutant Enemy and 20th Century Fox would at least take the time to clean up the image and give us a decent product. But the picture is so bad (especially on Disc 1) that it is sometimes difficult to follow the action...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows on TV is finally being released, May 11 2002
By 
Joseph Rodriguez (Iowa City, IA United States) - See all my reviews
Buffy the Vampire Slayer is one of the most clever, stylish and deep shows on TV today, and Season Two is where it really starts to shine. This boxset contains all 22 episodes of the show's second season, which featured one of the biggest story arcs ever on the show: Angel (good vampire and Buffy's boyfriend) loses his soul after a night of passion with Buffy and becomes the evil, sadistic Angelus.
Note that while several of the episodes from Season Two have been released on VHS, this is the first time that all 22 episodes have been available (at least in the U.S.).
Notable episodes in this boxed set:
"School Hard" - Spike and Drusilla, two British vampires who become series villains, are introduced.
"Inca Mummy Girl" - Oz, a laid-back guitarist who will eventually romance Buffy's friend Willow, is introduced.
"What's My Line" (2 parts) - Career Day coincides with several assassination attempts on Buffy. Introduces the "other Slayer," Kendra.
"Ted" - John Ritter plays the stepfather from hell to Buffy.
"Surprise/Innocence" (2 parts) - The seminal episode in which Buffy turns seventeen and Angel turns bad.
"Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered" - One of the best comic episodes of the show, featuring Buffy's friend Xander.
"Phases" - A werewolf is attacking teens, and apparently Oz has something to do with it...
"Passion" - The Angelus matter comes to a head when he starts going after Buffy's friends.
"Becoming" (2 parts) - The tearjerker season finale, in which Angelus is determined to send the world to hell and it's up to Buffy and her motley Scooby gang to stop it.
This boxed set also includes a boatload of extras, including interviews with actors and with the creator of the show, Joss Whedon. And while it may help to have seen Season One, it's not really necessary to understand the events of Season Two. If you've never seen Buffy, this is a good place to start (I have a feeling you'll like it). If you have seen Buffy before, then I bet you already have this set preordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible (spoilers below), March 9 2002
The second season continued one what was successfully started in the first season. The second season is a lot more ambitious (remember, the first season only had twelve episodes, unlike the rest which had 22).
The story arcs in the second season are brilliant. The romance between Angel and Buffy reached gothic heights with Surprise/Innocence (Surprise is astonishing). When Angel turns bad, David Boreanaz manages to do a sensational job of acting the transition (the episodes "Passion" and "I Only Have Eyes For You" are incredible in detailing this, and Buffy's reaction). Willow's romance with Oz is wonderful, and Giles attachment to Jenny Calendar a welcome addition.
This show still manages to be surprisingly funny (as seen in Halloween, and Bewitched Bothered and Bewildered) and packs a wallop (the two part season ender, Becoming I & II, are essential viewing for any Buffy fans. They are incredibly moving). Yes, there are some clunkers (Killed by Death, Bad Eggs), but they are more than redeemed.
My favourites are: Becoming I & II, Surprise/Innocence, I Only Have Eyes for You, Passion, School Hard, When She Was Bad, and Lie To Me
For a show set in high school, the writers have neatly side-stepped making a caricature of Anthony Stewart Head's librarian/Watcher Giles. His befuddled sexiness is immensely appealing. Alyson Hannigan's performance as wallflower Willow blooming into a witch (her growing powers are smartly charted by writers all the way through season six) is strong, and having the animosity between Xander and Cordelia boil over into lust was a masterstroke. Finally, we have to give the star her due. Sarah Michelle Gellar proved with this season that she's actually a capable actress, both with comic timing (Halloween) and pathos (Surprise/Innocence).
The second season was an immense improvement over the first season (a solid debut) and the quality continues. In my mind, the second and third season need to be bought together (or at least both bought). Story arcs introduced in the second season are wrapped up in the third season. Buy this set, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great show but, Aug. 10 2010
By 
Katy Thompson (conquest, saskatchewan, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 2 (DVD)
I have nothing to say against this show. The bad review is due to the discs that they came on.... The first disc started to work in my dvd player then all of a sudden quit. At first i thought it was my dvd player, but it then refused to work in all of the DVD players that i tried... so i tried the next discs.... some episodes work others don't.... Now i don't know if i just got unlucky and bought some faulty discs or if they are all like that... So if you like the show and want to buy it from here please do so with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buffy's second season is its first essential one, Feb. 6 2011
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 2 (DVD)
'A little less ritual and a lot more fun.' Most fans will agree that was the line that defined BtVS's second season. This season gave us villains that were as fun to watch as the heroes in the form of Spike, Dru, and (most importantly) Angel. The season arc is a straightforward metaphor for a relationship gone wrong, but the series mines it for some superb storytelling and deep characterization. Buffy, the show and the character, came into its/her own this season, making it the perfect starting point for those looking to get into the series.

This season isn't as polished as later years, but every element of the show is much improved from season one. The supporting characters are all better defined and episodes like 'Innocence,' 'Passion,' and 'I Only Have Eyes for You' demonstrate the kind of bold storytelling this series would become known for. There are still some rough patches ('Reptile Boy' and 'Go Fish') but the good definitely outweighs the bad.

Extras
The scripts, photo galleries, and promos are predictably useless, but what we do get more than makes up for it. The three audio commentaries (by Whedon, Greenwalt, and Noxon) are entertaining and insightful. The three featurettes are of the 'take it or leave it' variety, but their made up for by some great interviews with Whedon.

Presentation
HD is no friend to a series this old, but I'm far more willing to forgive that than the atrocious animated menus. Seriously, these are among the most obtrusive I've ever seen.

Bottom Line
While things would grow more polished in later years, this is still a good season of a great series and the perfect place for newbies to start watching. Fans wanting only the best Buffy has to offer should probably get seasons three and five first, but no collection can be complete without these seminal episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The World of the Scooby-Gang, June 28 2004
By A Customer
Buffy's second season is an exceptional one! If you love the Buffy/Angel relationship then this is the season for you. We've seen over the past yaer the connection between Buffy and Angel strenghten, but never like this. Buffy comes back to Sunnydale, from a much needed vacation, with a much NOT needed attitude problem. Who can blame her, though? After facing the Master and having an untimely death Buffy has the right to be a little pissy. This attitude plays off of the doomed relationship of our blonde heroine and her handsome vampire love. However they continue on their path of endearing, finally climaxing in the act of a night of sex. After that we learn that the one moment that Angel needed to have his soul taken away was found when he and Buffy proclaimed their undieing love for one another. Perhaps though, love isn't enough. Without a soul, Angel becomes an cold-hearted killer, out to exact revenge on the thing that mae him feel most human, Buffy. We see an entirly different side of Angel and are just as shocked as the characters. This season is a real tear-jerker, especially the end, when Buffy is forced to send her lover to Hell, even though his lovable personality has been magically restored. If it's Angel you want, it's Angel you get, but beware...love alone isn't enough in this doomed relationship...But who cares?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's overrated - but still a great season, June 24 2004
By 
Mitch Weaver (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the first season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, fans knew that the show could only get better, and season two definately brought the show to a whole new level. Season two had so many things working for it, from the introduction of my favorite character Spike and Buffy's relationship with Angel heating up, to the introduction of Angel's darkside Angelus who turned out to be one of the show's greatest villans. Now season two is very good and I definately enjoyed it. However, I also feel that the season is overrated because many fans of the show think that season two is the show's best season, when seasons three, five, and six were much better overall. I mean, let's be honest here. There were some really bad episodes in this season like - "Some Assembly Required", "Ted", "Reptile Boy", "Inca Mummy Girl", "Bad Eggs", and "Go Fish". In order for a season to be worthy of a five star rating, it needs to be great from start to finish, with a minimum number of bad episodes.
The second season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer does feature some wonderful episodes however that manage to make up for season two's shortcomings. "School Hard" is one of my all time favorite episodes because it introduced my favorite character Spike. The bad ass leather clad vampire proved to be so popular, that the writers ended up keeping him around for the rest of the show. The classic episode "Halloween" has everyone turn into whatever they dressed up as for Halloween. "Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered" is another one of my all time favorites and is definately a candidate for funniest episode ever. When Cordelia dumps Xander on Valentine's Day, he seeks help in a witch at Suunydale High named Amy to cast a spell on Cordelia to make her fall in love with him. Unfortunately, Xander ends up becoming the object of every woman's affection in Sunnydale. The two best Buffy/Angel episodes of the entire show are "Suprise" and "Innocence" in which their relationship ascends to a new level, and we are introduced to Angel's darkside Angelus who turns out to be one of the best villans ever. Season two comes to an amazing conclusion in "Becoming" parts 1&2. Other episodes worth mentioning are "What's My Line" parts 1&2, "Passion", "Phases", and "I Only Have Eyes of You".
Even though season two is not quite as good as a lot of people claim, it is still a highly enjoyable and definately worth owning. What really makes the season two DVD set special is the bonus features. The set has many featurettes and interviews, as well as commentary on several episodes.
A solid 4 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons, June 12 2004
By 
Kerry A. Walsh "lilgracie346" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Season 2 is one of the best seasons of Buffy not only because of the Buffy-Angel romance (which, I would imagine, is what draws most of this season's interest), but also because of Joss Whedon's examination of the nature of good and evil during this season. The arrival of Spike (at this point, the antithesis of Angel) to Sunnydale signals the arrival of the "big bad". While Spike and Drusilla plot the elimination of the entire world, Buffy has no clue that the biggest bad is right beside her... in Angel.
Outside of the obligatory running vampire arc, the other episodes this season all really deal with the nature of good and evil and identity, shadowing the arc with the vampires. The Halloween episode (where the characters become their costumes) is nothing short of hillarious with Buffy prancing around as a helpless ladylike debutante. Its interesting to see what each character would be like if just one thing about them was changed - if Buffy didn't have strength, if Xander was confident and "manly," etc. Another interesting episode is the Dark Age when the consequences of Giles' past come back to haunt him... and those he loves. Hillarious and harrowing is Ted, the episode with guest star John Ritter as Joyce's boyfriend/robot serial killer. The most interesting part of the episode is the few minutes when both Buffy and Joyce think that Buffy has killed Ted and how they handle it.
Finally, of course, is Buffy's now consumated romance with Angel which ultimately causes him to lose his soul and become his former murderous self. The pain that Buffy goes through is intense and many girls can relate to it at a romantic level. When Buffy is ultimately forced to kill Angel (with his soul returned to him), both Buffy and the audience is grief-striken.
The season works well as a whole - possibly the best of all the seasons. Each episode, though whole onto itself, moves the characters and stories toward the ultimate goal of examining the good and evil in each of them and what each of their identities entail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buffys best season!, June 9 2004
This is my favorite season out of all 7 seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but seasons 3 and 5 are right behind it! This is the season that really got me hooked on the show, I had watched season 1 on and off but wasn't really totally obsessed with it till this season. I don't like most tv but this show is so smart, so funny, the characters are so endearing and the actors are just fantastic. Season 2 is where we really get into some heavy storytelling and mythology. You get the Buffy and Angel romance, we meet Spike and Drusilla which are the cool new vampires in town and Oz meets Willow! What I still feel is the best storyline ever is in this season, Buffy's love Angel losing his soul and turning evil after she sleeps with him. To me Angelus was the best villain because besides the fact that he's a really evil and strong vampire, there's this huge emotional connection that the gang didn't have with Adam or The First or other villains, and it's that this was their friend and the love of Buffy's life. If the rest of the season doesn't hook you check out Becoming 1 and 2, the season finale. I think it's the best season finale I've ever seen, I never knew tv could be so good! If you've already watched this season you already know you want to buy it so I'll go over the extra's. There's some great commentary by Joss Whedon you'll want to listen to and some interesting featurettes. I love the trailers especially because they usually don't put those on US dvds and this is the only season that has so many on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of Buffy, June 9 2004
By 
DONNA J. MILLER (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you thought that it couldn't get any better than the first season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer", they you were 'dead' wrong. Now, with the show fully in motion and a hard core audience viewing, "Buffy" is for sure becoming a classic and great television show. Not to mention, this second season is the best season of "Buffy" over all- without a doubt. It builds on the relationships, has a great story once again, and has a perfectly assembled cast. Don't stop your collection with season one, be sure to get the 'Best of "Buffy"'- season two.
First, the tangled web of relationships from season one gets even more tangled in this season. Season two starts out with the same love story- Willow (Alyson Hannigan) loves Xander (Nicholas Brendan), Xander loves Buffy (Sarah Michelle Gellar), Buffy loves Angel (David Boreanaz), Angel is a vampire. But as the story moves on, the characters begin to split and find other people to fall in love with. Willow, for one, falls in love with a socially strange guy named Oz (Seth Green), who is also a lead guitarist in a band titled "Dingoes Ate My Baby". Besides that, Willow discovers that her first boyfriend is more than just a cool quiet guy, but he's also something dark underneith. Xander finds his first girlfriend to be the one person he truly does not like, the self-centered Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter). As the two try to hide their feelings for each other, they are drawn out, and eventually, have to reaveal themselves to their friends, creating tension between Willow and Xander. Buffy lives her life dieing to be with Angel, and when the two finally do connect, serious and heartbreaking consequences occur. Meanwhile, Giles (Anthony Stewart Head) and Jenny (Robia LaMorte) have a budding romance that also ends in tears. Also, the villains have a great relationship. They are the punk vampire Spike (James Marsters) and the insane vampire Dru (Juliet Landau). Their relationship also has challenges and makes the couple even more appealing and fun to watch knowing that they care for each other as Buffy cares for Angel. Without question, the relationships of this season could make a show in themselves, and add so much more to anticipate.
Second, the story follows as a great work of art that only Joss Wheadon, the creator, could have thought of. Besides the disasterous soap opera going on within the relationships, the story arc for the season is just amazing. Spike and Dru are perfect villains, but when tradgedy strikes and Angel's soul is taken, he turns into the killer and monsterous vampire Angelus, who teams up with Spike and Dru to end the world in several ways. From battling the Master's last minions to fighting Angelus, from fighting a demon that steals the humanity from people to stopping a demon from sucking the world into hell, Buffy's second season is a perfect mix of grief, joy, chills, thrills, laughs, romance, sci-fi, and mythology.
Finally, the cast is once again unbeatable. Sarah Michelle Gellar plays Buffy with such emotion that truly deserves an award for all she puts into it. Alyson Hannigan steps up and makes Willow more interesting and complex from season one's dull Willow. Nicholas Brendan does a great job as some humer with Xander. Anthony Stewart Head is even better this time around as he gets to interact more with his slayer and begins to develope a fatherly relationship with her. David Boreanaz does a wonderful job changing from a good hero to an all out evil villain. James Marsters and Juliet Landau are a lovable yet hateful couple, which is exactly what they are meant to be. You just won't be able to get enough of them. Charisma Carpenter plays the loud mouthed Cordelia as a funny and likable girl, while Seth Green plays the quiet Oz as a mysterious and great guy. Kristine Sutherland once again plays Joyce, who gets even more screen time as Buffy's mother who just doesn't know what to do with her daughter. The guest stars are still great, and John Ritter tops it off as a step dad who's just a tad evil. Joss Wheadon created the best television show and his ideas are just so unpredictable and fun.
To conclude, this is a great show with great relationships that could have an show on their own, a great story with pure heartbreak, and a great cast and crew that puts the show where it all is. Although it is just the beginning, it's still the best of the series. Season Two is a must for anyone who is even interested in buying this DVD, and be sure to continue your collection and complete it with all seven seasons of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 2
CDN$ 21.98 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews