Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Mark me well - I will tell you, sir!"
Yes, 'Camelot' is a flawed movie, but a MAGICAL one, nonetheless. It is too long, and Franco Nero's dubbed singing voice as 'Lancelot' is laughable, and YET! Yet, we have RICHARD HARRIS, so perfect as the failing King Arthur, Vanessa Redgrave, never lovelier than in her role as the torn Guinavere, and David Hemmings, a dastardly 'mod' Mordred reeking havoc on the...
Published on July 13 2000 by Amanda HALE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch Out - The CA is Misleading
I bought this from a firm called **^^*-CA. To me, that suggested the firm was located in Canada and that the DVD would work in my machine. As it turns out, however, the firm is actually *****-UK and the DVD will not work on a North American machine. To be fair, it does say Region 2 in the detailed listing but I confess that when I saw 'CA' as the firm's name, I did not...
Published 5 months ago by Frank T


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Mark me well - I will tell you, sir!", July 13 2000
This review is from: Camelot (VHS Tape)
Yes, 'Camelot' is a flawed movie, but a MAGICAL one, nonetheless. It is too long, and Franco Nero's dubbed singing voice as 'Lancelot' is laughable, and YET! Yet, we have RICHARD HARRIS, so perfect as the failing King Arthur, Vanessa Redgrave, never lovelier than in her role as the torn Guinavere, and David Hemmings, a dastardly 'mod' Mordred reeking havoc on the troubled Kingdom. Franco Nero (dubbing notwithstanding) brings a wonderful comedic touch to Lancelot, and with the sumptious sets and costumes, 'Camelot' really is a BEAUTIFUL film. It has been critisized for having a 'Sixties' feel to it, but the somewhat hippy-ish design just adds to the pleasure; and it REALLY doesn't matter that Richard Harris is wearing WAY to much blue eye-shadow - we're in CAMELOT, for goodness sake! There may very well be a 'legal limit to the snow' there, but when it comes to make-up, no holds are barred! Oh, one can pick a MILLION holes in 'Camelot' - but why bother? It's better just to pour yourself a glass of mead, light some candles, put 'Camelot' in your VCR and let Lerner and Loewes wonderful score sweep you into a magical time which never existed. 'Camelot' is pure escapism, but it's escapism with 'heart', and that heart belongs to Richard Harris. This movie is HIS, and years after first seeing this movie, when I imagine the face of King Arthur, the face that I see is Richard Harris'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camelot: 45th Anniversary Edition (blu ray)...great audio/video in a gorgeous book case!, May 6 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camelot: 45th Anniversary Blu-ray Book (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

This 45th Anniversary Edition of Camelot arrives at blu ray with AVC MPEG-4 1080p 2.40:1 encode. This transfer is impressive with sometimes great details and depth, showing off all the tiny details in the lavish costumes and sets. Individual links of chainmail armor and intricate textures on Vanessa Redgraves's dresses are all resolved in sharp clarity. However, the first part of the film is relentlessly dark, with images looking quite soft. At around the 30 minute mark, things perk up dramatically, at which point fine detail also increases exponentially. There is also the strange preference for browns and oranges in the colour scheme of the film. Grain is intact, and the image is perfectly filmic. (4/5)

AUDIO:

The glories of this soundtrack! Camelot is presented with a lush and lovely lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track that springs elegantly to life in the film's many musical sequences. Fidelity is superb. Dialogue is very cleanly and clearly presented, and dynamic range is superb throughout the film. There are many memorable songs, like If Ever I Would Leave You, that will keep you humming for a while. (4/5)

PACKAGING:

This 45th Anniversary Edition comes in a gorgeous digibook case with many pages of beautiful pictures...very well done indeed. There is also a 4 track soundtrack sampler CD.

AWARDS:

This movie won 3 Oscars: Best Art Direction-Set Decoration, Best Costume Design and most impressive of all, Best Music Score for the great Alfred Newman and Ken Darby.

FINAL THOUGHT:

This 45th Anniversary Edition of Camelot is presented handsomely in a digibook case with many gorgeous memorable pictures, plus great video and audio. The cast is solid with Richard Harris (King Arthur), Vanessa Redgrave (Guenevere) and Franco Nero (Lancelot Du Lac). A very enjoyable film, and this edition is the definitive version. After listening to Richard Harris's singing in the film, I just could not help to play his very popular single "MacArthur Park". This set is highly recommended.

Lastly, I notice that Amazon.ca tends to put reviews of the movie in standard edition, done many years ago, into the high definition column. So, please read the date of review before wasting valuable time reading outdated materials.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Movie for the Pure of Heart..., Dec 29 2003
By 
Arthur F. McVarish (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
CAMELOT is a Time Machine taking the willing viewer back to a Once-and-Future of love, goodness, heroism and possibility of Justice. Only the most heartless cynic (overwhelmed by today's PM lust disguised-as-Love; violence disguised-as-valor; and PC treachery disguised-as-tolerance over Truth) can fail to be beguiled by this wondrous fairy-tale. Richard Harris is perfect as be-more-than-YOU-can-be,KING ARTHUR. Vanessa Redgrave is enchanting as Never Never Land-Eden's Eve,Guenevere. Franco Nero is superlative as Round Table SUPERMAN,Sir Lancelot. Recently deceased David Hemmings(once bad boy,super-hippy of Michaelangelo Antonioni's BLOW-UP)is ingratiatingly obnoxious as Arthur's ill-conceived Mephistopheles,MORDRED. Joshua Logan's screen adaptaion of Lerner & Loewes' stage musical triumph, deliberately and beautifully affects artificial glamour. It evokes child-like memories of The Impossible First Love and invincible GOOD GUYS unfailingly defeating the BAD. CAMELOT is Wonderland story about "happily-ever-aftering". Winnie-the-Pooh and his Hundred Acre Wood buddies no doubt live there, and helped Merlin train Wart to become wielder of EXCALIBUR.
John Boorman produced the definitve adventure of King Arthur and The Knights of the Round Table. His EXCALIBUR is mythical, mystical saga of heroes in unending battle of Good against Evil. Its themes are courage, forgiveness and hope. CAMELOT is pure/impure love story. Herein--as Boorman--a lesson on consequences of SIN reveals."Inappropriate behaviour"is not what brings down CAMELOT. Complex human frailty does: humanity denying limits.Despite laughter,and pre-Post Modern,untainted "gaity",the MORDRED within has to be confronted if "Magic" is to survive and the Good prevail. EXCALIBUR presented Tragic dimensions of The QUEST.CAMELOT is reminder of the golden Eden to be sought and preserved in history; Myth;and the Pure of heart...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch Out - The CA is Misleading, Oct. 24 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camelot (DVD)
I bought this from a firm called **^^*-CA. To me, that suggested the firm was located in Canada and that the DVD would work in my machine. As it turns out, however, the firm is actually *****-UK and the DVD will not work on a North American machine. To be fair, it does say Region 2 in the detailed listing but I confess that when I saw 'CA' as the firm's name, I did not read the detailed listing. Lesson learned and money wasted. Sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Twas beauty killed the dream of Camelot, June 17 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
With its lavish sets, beautiful music, and undeniable star quality, Camelot is a wonderful motion picture built upon the successful Lerner-Loewe Broadway musical, which in turn was based on T.H. White's The Once and Future King. It is in no way a definitive account of King Arthur's story, as it concentrates on the fateful lovers' triangle of Arthur, Guinevere, and Lancelot. I probably have a different take on the legendary romance of Arthur's two closest companions than most, for I look upon this story not as a love story at all, but as a true tragedy. Franco Nero is wonderful as Lancelot (despite the fact that Nero is Italian, not French), and Vanessa Redgrave makes for a most enchanting Queen Guinevere, but my opinion of these illicit lovers is set in stone and could hardly be pulled out even by the likes of Arthur. To me, Lancelot is one of the biggest cads in literature. Granted, he had no intention of falling in love with Guinevere, but his actions made a mockery of all his numerous, rather obnoxious claims to purity, nobility, and chivalry. Chivalry does not start by betraying your king and closest friend to engage in an adulterous affair that could not but lead to disastrous consequences on an epic scale. This just goes to show how one lone Frenchman can bring about the ruin of the noblest of kingdoms.

I initially had a little trouble with Richard Harris as King Arthur, as he certainly doesn't conform to my image of the legendary hero (my King Arthur, for example, doesn't wear copious amounts of eye shadow), but his nobility and sense of purpose soon won me over. Still, I'm not overly fond of the film's characterization of the man, for it creates for us the image of a weak, ineffective ruler who shames himself over his unfaithful wife and basically allows his kingdom to fall into ruin all around him. I don't see many glimpses of "the future king" in this movie. It would not be right for me to describe this as a fault with the film, however; it's just part of the filmmakers' designs, as their intention was to show us Arthur the man rather than the mythic Arthur of legend. This version of King Arthur is exceedingly human, and that makes for some powerful scenes, particularly his passionate soliloquies as he ponders the loss of everything he cares about. One cannot help but despair alongside Arthur as Camelot begins to crumble, particularly since, in this version of the tale, Merlin never warned against marrying Guinevere. The one weak character in the film is Mordred (David Hemmings), who - despite his late-arrived scheming - seems almost tangential to the tragedy that unfolds.

While the film runs almost a full three hours, it never really succeeds in revealing the true magic of Camelot. The hopes and dreams of Arthur for his Round Table of noble knights dedicated to pursuing justice and right doesn't get enough emphasis, and his attempt to create a criminal justice system feels like little more than a plot device for Mordred to orchestrate his downfall. The loss of the Arthurian ideal is the true tragedy of this story, but too much of the film's emotion is dedicated to the illicit lovers, ignoring the fact that their sins would have basically pushed England into the Dark Ages.

It's a real shame that the musical has all but disappeared as a cinematic art form these days, as Camelot shows just how much depth and meaning an impassioned score and exquisite songs can add to a story. When you think of Camelot, you think of the characters and the story only after your mind replays such songs as the title theme and the award-winning love song If Ever I Would Leave You.

The DVD's special features are good but not great. Alongside comparably short descriptions of important Arthurian topics, short bios and filmographies of prominent players in the drama, and five different movie trailers, you get a 10-minute contemporary documentary about the filming of Camelot and a thirty-minute look at the movie's opening (with Vanessa Redgrave rather conspicuous in her absence).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT MUSICAL AND LOVE STORY, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camelot: 45th Anniversary Blu-ray Book (Blu-ray)
WHAT A GREAT MOVIE. THE MUSIC, THE STORY AND THE ACTING IS VERY MEMORABLE. THEY DON'T MAKE MOVIES LIKE THIS ANYMORE AND THAT IS A SHAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Musical About The Arthurian Legend, Oct. 19 2002
By 
Rudy Avila "Saint Seiya" (Lennox, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
The Lerner and Lowe musical seems to be a variation from the T.H. Lawrence novel, "The Once and Future King," from which the animated Dysney film was taken. Richard Harris, Vanessa Redgrave and Franco Nero effectively carry out the movie, their voices superb in every song and their dramatic performances making an excellent and enjoyable film. The story is the age-old Arthur myth. King Arthur, the idealist, tutored by his all-knowing wizard Merlin, creates Camelot, a peaceful realm supported by the mighty Round Table, whose aim is "Might for Right". But things begin to fall apart for Arthur and his dream. Guenevere, whose marriage to Arthur had all been arranged, falls for the dashing French-born champion Knight, Lancelot. Their affair sparks the suspicion of Mordred who reveals it to the public, just when it was ending (the parting scene between Guenevere and Lancelot.."And I shall never come to you again" and their duet is very emotional and heartrendering). As we know, Mordred and Arthur battle, the Round Table is dissolved and Camelot becomes a dream remembered. This musical was appropriate to its milieu. It was the 60's when this film was made, and peace rallies were manifested over America. The idealism of peace and brotherly harmony (as in the Round Table) is effectively similar to the idealism of American government. The allegory of the musical is quite transparent. I hope you give this musical a chance, and it has a special place in my heart. Along with The Sound of Music and The King and I, this musical stands out in the great tradition. Five stars well deserved. Songs that stand out in this musical are "I wonder what the King is doing tonight" "Where are the Sweet Joys of Maidenhood ?", "Camelot" "How to handle a woman" and "If I ever Would Leave You."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but pleasing melodrama, July 16 2003
By 
Tyro (Brooklyn, New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
Reviewers pick on the film's weaknesses, but overall, I think it is winning. Here are my top disagreements with fellow viewers:
1) Blue eyeshadow. This adds to the exoticism of the medieval setting, in which courtiers were often dandy types, and strange fashions came and went.
2) Stage cast vs. film cast. Overall, I'd say the film audience got the best of it. Most of all, Richard Harris, who campaigned for the part, plays Arthur with such puckish enthusiasm, dramatizing the conflict between the human boy/man and the beloved king. Famous and drunk, Richard Burton would never have brought so much charm to the role. (Later Harris became famous and drunk.) Vanessa Redgrave's ethereal yet sensual charmisma convinces us that she is the fickle queen who dismantled Camelot; Julie Andrews' girl next door quality would never have had the same magic.
3) Franco Nero was no Olivier, but his handsome doll-like appearance and stiffness actually drive the humor home in the hilarious "C'est Moi." He comes across as a slick and shallow narcissist, making us feel worse for the all-too-human Arthur.
4) Singing voices. In most musicals the singing voices are dubbed. Here they sang as they acted, giving the songs a rough but natural quality. Harris is a good singer. Redgrave's voice is delicate but this emphasizes her charm. Nero? Oh well.
5) The film could have benefited from some editing. It does get a little pompous. The score relies too heavily on the songs, sometimes forecasting them before they have actually been performed, which bugs me.
6) The highly detailed set is wonderful and has aged well.
Humor and sweet, manipulative emotion win the day. You have to be willing to go along with this film, as its original audience was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Aug. 2 2009
By 
Musical Fan (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
Beautiful movie - great music - great color photography - great scenery and re-creation of the period - great story! Wonderful experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Musical Falls Flat, June 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Camelot (Special Edition) (DVD)
This is a magnificent musical. It SHOULD HAVE been made with Julie Andrews, Richard Harris and Robert Goulet. Vanessa Redgrave looks wonderful, but her character seems depressed most of the time and the woman can't sing a note to save her life. Franco Nero was handsome, but looks Italian, not English... fortunately they found a very English voice to dub his songs. The other problem with this film, which bothered me when I first saw it was that it has the most cardboard looking stage sets for some scenes I have ever seen, and worse, the cameras move about exposing the painted backdrops even more. I do believe in the late 60s when this movie came out they had cameras that could be transported to real locations. My hope is that this beautiful musical will eventually be re-made with a SINGING cast using real outdoor locations.... please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4fb9b94)

This product

Camelot: 45th Anniversary Blu-ray Book
Camelot: 45th Anniversary Blu-ray Book by Joshua Logan (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews