Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What movie have you all been watching?
Did any of you pay attention to the movie that you were watching? Or were you doing something while this was playing in the background? I am just trying to address some of the problems that people seem to have with this movie that I think are not real problems. First, one reviewer wrote that is unbelievable that the characters would be able to walk around without helmets...
Published on March 8 2008 by Andrew Howard

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come on, guys, it ain't THAT bad!
Ghosts of Mars (John Carpenter, 2001)
Man, was everyone down on this movie or what? Come on, folks. This wasn't great art, and it wasn't meant to be. It's simple turn-your-brain-off fun that follows the formula of most of John Carpenter's earlier flicks to every dotted I and crossed T. And while that seems to be exactly what had the fans howling in the aisles,...
Published on March 8 2004 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What movie have you all been watching?, March 8 2008
Did any of you pay attention to the movie that you were watching? Or were you doing something while this was playing in the background? I am just trying to address some of the problems that people seem to have with this movie that I think are not real problems. First, one reviewer wrote that is unbelievable that the characters would be able to walk around without helmets on the surface of Mars. NEWSFLASH, the characters themselves explain how this is possible, and within the first 20 minutes no less. Second, another reviewer said the aliens don't even look like aliens. That is because they are not aliens. The Ghosts that the title refer to posses the humans that are colonizing the planet. That is why they look human, cause they ARE. Third, the dialogue has been commented on in more than a few reviews and while it is cheesy it is not like this is Shakesphere. It is about a group of police officers who are going to place that none of them want to be. Of course they are going to sound irritated, wouldn't you?

I would just like to say before i finish that the next time you review a movie please watch it and at least try to pay attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B-movie fun, June 27 2004
By 
S. Harris (Spotsylvania, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's John Carpenter, so what does everyone expect? I know what I expected, and "Ghosts of Mars" pretty much delivered. Thudding sound track, B-movie dialogue, heads on stakes, "Road Warrior" like zanies with metal sticking out of their faces stalking the "good" guys. Bring on the popcorn. Then there's a humorous twist. The "guys" in this future world live in a Matriarchy. Guys make the coffee, defer to the women, but also are told to deal with mechanical problems when they arise. (Well, at least the "breeder" - Jason Statham as Jericho - does.) Carpenter works all kinds of little jokes into the script on this wrinkle alone. Natasha Henstridge as the tough cop hero, and Ice Cube, as the con hero, are serviceable - and they know when to shoot, kick, and punch. And that's all that's needed here. I don't know who the main Martian is (he looks like Marilyn Manson in Kabuki), but he's perfect! Four stars for operating well within genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come on, guys, it ain't THAT bad!, March 8 2004
Ghosts of Mars (John Carpenter, 2001)
Man, was everyone down on this movie or what? Come on, folks. This wasn't great art, and it wasn't meant to be. It's simple turn-your-brain-off fun that follows the formula of most of John Carpenter's earlier flicks to every dotted I and crossed T. And while that seems to be exactly what had the fans howling in the aisles, please, folks, help me out here.
Okay, so all the guns exist today even though it's in the future. (Escape from New York, anyone?) The bad guys look a lot more like the guys from GWAR than they do actual bad guys. (Vampires, They Live, erm, the crazies from Escape from New York.) The action runs a very taut line between not gory enough and ludicrously faked. (Escape from New York-- are you sensing a pattern here?) So what? Everyone overlooked it twenty years ago.
The basic idea is that a team of space marines has to go get a prisoner, Desolation Jones (Ice Cube of Trespass and Friday fame), from a remote outpost and take him back to HQ to stand trial. Problem is, when they get there, they found out a whole lot of crimes matching the ones he's supposed to have committed have happened while he was in his holding cell. So the team, headed up by a drug-addled Lieutenant (Natasha McElhone), her commander (Pam Grier), and their new officer, an overly cocky and wildly oversexed Sergeant (Jason Statham, best known for his Guy Ritchie films) figure there's something nasty going on, and have to figure out what it is and how to stop it before the train, which has gone on to make a few more stops, gets back.
No, you're not going to find great acting, the plot's been done before, and, well, it's about as silly as can be. But folks, that's pretty much what John Carpenter has always been about, from Dark Star till the present day. Some of his movies forget to be humorous, some of them forget to be scary, some of them are just sci-fi action pictures. That's what this one is. Things blow up, the bad guys chase the good guys, things blow up, people bond, things blow up, you get the idea. Turn your brain off and enjoy the ride. ** 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Warp, March 16 2004
Yeah, everyone's whining about Ghosts Of Mars. Everyone's pretty much given up on John Carpenter. I admire Carpenter for making the films he wants to and not succumbing to whatever trendiness is expected of horror directors. Wes may be hip wit da teens, but John does what he wants to, even if you think it's lame. Ghosts Of Mars isn't his finest hour, it's not even all that great, but it's Carpenter. This is the kind of film Carpenter has always made. He's never admitted to being more than a B film director and he chooses to be such. After Starman, he coulda been in the big time, but chose his own independent Prince Of Darkness over the Hollywood machine. Ghosts Of Mars would have had more critical and fan praise if it were released in the mid eighties. It wouldn't have seemed so cliched. Personally I admire him for making such a film, passe as it may seem. If I were you I'd check it out. Just don't be expecting some sci-fi extravaganza(which I think everyone was expecting), expect cheesy B movie thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ghosts of mars, Oct. 22 2013
By 
Leslie Best - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sorry - not much to say about this one - horrible movie - couldn't keep my attention for more than a couple of minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, Sept. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars Bilingual [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
collecting only all time favourite movies that can be watched over and over again. This is one of them. Great casting and a fun action movie that holds up over time. Bluray looks awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My review for this movie, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good buy. I enjoyed this movie very much. Id recommend it to young adults, teens and si-fi lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tres satisfait, April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
j'ai recu le produit en quelques jours et j'en suis satisfait le film etait en excellent etat tout etait ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 stars.Mediocre Carpenter., April 20 2012
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ghosts of Mars(released Aug.01)stars Natashia Henstridge,Ice Cube,Pam Grier,Joanna Cassidy and Jason Statham.It is a good cast wasted on a poor script and the actors just sleep walk their way through this been-there,done-that yawner from John Carpenter.Maybe because it was filmed mostly at night it would explain the yawn part.
The story opens on Mars which is almost fully terraformed.There has been on going exploration of the planet for some time.A remarkable discovery is made when a blasting site reveals an opening in the side of a cliff;obviously artificial.Joanna Cassidy is the person who first explores the tunnel and inadvertently opens up the door at the end of it.This unleashes a reddish cloud which contains the souls of thousands of dead Martians from ages past and they aren't up for garden parties.It is more of a possess now and kill later kind of thing.
Henstridge,Grier and Statham are three out of five cops sent to retrieve a dangerous killer in the form of Ice Cube.When they reach the settlement by train they come upon one grisly discovery after another.This leads to the ultimate discovery of hundreds of miners that have been possessed by the Martian souls and are bent on killing the "invaders"(that's us).The spirits can possess either the living or the dead so the crew has to be careful at all times.
In the end most of the original cops have gone and in fact Henstridge and Cube are alone fleeing on the train.Cube manages to get away from Henstridge who wanted to return him for trial.When she arrives back at HQ,she is interrogated by a disbelieving panel of superiors.As she sits alone in her room she suddenly hears alot of raucous outside.Who should show up but Ice Cube as the possessed beings have reached HQ and Cube and Henstridge are ready to fight but are taking no prisoners.
This movie must have certainly looked better on paper,because it doesn't look good on film.It is almost as if Carpenter had an obligation for one last film to someone,and came up with this lame duck of an idea.The cast goes through their paces barely awake;there is very little excitement or suspenseful build ups at any time.The SFX are really pedestrian at best and do not help anyone or anything about Ghosts of Mars.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 2:35:1 and looks clear and crisp.Extras include the making of GOM,commentary,a vid diary,featurettes on the making of GOM,the S/FX and the scoring and the trailer.
All in all a very mediocre Carpenter film;a real disappointment.The plot is hum drum and the lack of excitement and drama exuded by the actors on screen really shows,because of it.2 1/2 stars.Pass on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pandora, March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Ghosts of Mars (VHS Tape)
I would rate this movie 5 stars.If you like strange,scary movies you would like this movie.It takes place in the future on planet mars.It is about a mining corporation who gets taken over by ghosts.They become possessed and pchycotic.They make their own weapons and cut themselves for decoration.This is a very scary movie.I suggest that you see this movie.In my opinion I think John Carpenter should make a second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars Bilingual [Blu-ray]
John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars Bilingual [Blu-ray] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews