Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate trilogy BD collection!
This X-Men trilogy blue ray pack is basically an updating and refreshing of the original X-Men and it's two sequels into one complete and ultimate Bluray collection. It is NOT like the three movie dvd collection which was nothing more than the original movies shoved into a cardboard sleeve; rather this is a BD redo with new packaging and a ton of extras. It is more akin...
Published on June 30 2012 by John Thomas Anderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars this is not ultraviolet its portable digital copy, which is entirly differnt.
i got this on the premise it was an ultraviolet set, their are no ultraviolet codes, for me to access via vudu or cinamanow app.
Published 4 months ago by dennis L


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate trilogy BD collection!, June 30 2012
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This X-Men trilogy blue ray pack is basically an updating and refreshing of the original X-Men and it's two sequels into one complete and ultimate Bluray collection. It is NOT like the three movie dvd collection which was nothing more than the original movies shoved into a cardboard sleeve; rather this is a BD redo with new packaging and a ton of extras. It is more akin to the Star Wars or Lord of the Rings ultimate collections in style and completeness!

Each of the three movies comes in it's own individual bluray case and each movie consists of three discs. One for the movie, one for all the extensive extras and one as a digital copy. (Nine discs in all.) Which are then housed in a standard glossy cardboard outer case. It makes for a very impressive collection.

All three movies are in a widescreen format; 2.35:1 for X-Men and 2.40:1 for United and Last Stand and all are on 50 GB dual layer discs for maximum visual clarity. All three look superb!

In audio, X-Men and X-Men United have a full English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track and X-Men The Last Stand ups this to a full DTS-HD 6.1 track! In addition all three movies have full Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese. Nobody gets short-changed on the audio. Plus there are even subtitle tracks for Korean, Cantonese and Mandarin as well. I didn't bother listening to the other tracks but the English DTS-HD tracks are very impressive. X-Men has never sounded so good.

Each movie comes with it's own separate extras discs which contain numerous documentaries on everything from the history of the X-Men to theatrical trailers. There are too many for me to list. But it's very extensive.

As for the digital copy discs, they are now expired. However, it has been reported that you can go to the main website and download new updated digital copy codes. I haven't tried this, but reports are that it does work quite well.

So bottom line, if you want the ultimate X-Men trilogy collection with nothing left out; this is the set to buy. It has everything you could possibly want, the best visuals and the best audio available and for each individual movie; doesn't cost any more than a plain bargin-bin no extra's DVD would. So if X-Men is your interest, then this is pretty much a no-brainer!

UPDATE - July 30, 2013 - There have been some reports (unconfirmed) that newer boxsets may or may not have the digital copy discs included in the package. Instead you may have to go to the studio's website and use your activation code to download them instead! Everything else appears to be the same.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars X-Men aims to please and does!, Nov. 15 2009
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It was an ambitious undertaking to do justice to this fantastical comic book franchise from the fertile mind of Stan Lee and company but I think all things considered,the producers got it pretty spot on.
Patrick Stewart is Prof.Xavier who runs a school for mutants.He has the power of super mind control and through his Cerebro chamber he can reach both humans and mutants at will,anywhere in e world.His counterpart and the running villan through all of these films is Magneto played by Ian McKellan.While Xavier prefers the non-violent solution to living with humans,Magneto prefers the path of direct confrontation and overthrow,leading to world domination(what villain doesn't?).
Each movie has its' strengths and weaknesses of course but I think the series goes from strongest to weakest in the order they were made.The first two were directed by Brian Singer and the first movie is a slam-bam winner all the way.The introduction of characters and side plots never interfere with the telling of the story.X2 slows down slightly as we get intro'd to some new characters and lose one in the end.Overall it's not as satisfying as the first but still good.The last was helmed by Brett Ratner.While some blame must go to the director for its' comparative lacklustre execution,Last Stand is just too ambitious,i.e it tried to do too much.There seems to be more plots,sub-plots,back stories and character introductions than the previous two put together.This slows the pace down as all strings endeavour to be tied and every "T" dotted,while the action has to stop or slow down to do so.
What doesn't vary throughout all these movies however are the special effects.There is no shortage of action in any of these films and the special effects are,overall,quite seemless and very effective and engaging.No complaints whatsoever.
Technically the DVDs have all been transferred beautifully and all are in their widescreen glories.Disc one has a myriad of special features such as so called "branching" scenes(extra scenes filmed but not included originally),a Charlie Rose interview,the Hugh Jackman screen test,a featurette,story boards,art gallery,animatronics,the trailer and some TV spots(phew!).Disc two has only a commentary track(which I found very odd)and it is to be found in,of all places,the "languages" section ! Disc three has director commentary,producer commentary,numerous deleted scenes and three alternate endings.
The DVD cases themselves are the newer cheaper kind snap cases that alot of the "big boys" are using now.Instead of the inner case being solid plastic,one side has a recycle sign cut into it and the side the disc sits in is spoke like,radiating out from the spindle.The spaces existing on both sides reveal the back side of the outer descriptive paper cover.
Of course there will be X-men-iacs who will find countless faults with these movies as far as characterizations and continuity from the long running comic book series.But for most casual readers and uninitiated(to X-men)Sci-Fi/action lovers,I think you will be quite pleased with the overall result produced here.Creator Stan Lee himself had his hand in this series all the way so some modicum of accuracy to his "child" had to have been extant.
As a sidebar Fox has produced a Wolverine back story recently but it remains to be seen if anymore movies will be forthcoming from them re the X-Men,as the franchise rights will revert back to the hands of its' new owners,The Disney Corp.in a few years.Marvel also has some property deals going with Paramount and Sony which will also revert back eventually.It's amazing just how much product Disney will ultimately control with its'Marvel acquistion.Who would have thought that a little comic book company called Marvel would grow that big and be bought in the future for an approximate cool $4 BILLION(!).The mind does boggle.
This set is definitely worth owning,not only as the generally good films they are,but if only for its' price as it would cost you much more to but them individually.All the special features included on them sperately are all here in this set.So if you have been hedging whether to buy I would urge you to drop your nickel now when the price is right and get yourself a VERY entertaining trio of great Sci-Fi flicks courtesy of comic writer supremo,Stan Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Edition, Jan. 14 2010
By 
Yan O'Cain "novacain" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I was amazed that it got as low as 24.99$ in the holidays and bought it without knowing what edition it was! Well.... I was even more happier when I opened it and saw that it was the 9-disc Edition! A Must for any comic book fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, Feb. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy Pack (DVD) (DVD)
I got this trilogy for 10 dollars which was awesome. I don't really care for the newer xmen movies so I am happy with only owning the first 3. Dvds arrived in great shape no package damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Blu rays!, Oct. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
High Quality Blu Rays, It is so nice to see the x-men trilogy again, there is also a great amount of special features. Pretty much what I expected. Not Disappointed.

Verdict: Buy it, Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a GO., July 9 2014
By 
Frequent Napper (Sleepytown, Cloudland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great product, Great service, Good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Trilogy - Trilogie X-Men [Blu-ray + Ultraviolet Copy], June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Le titre devrait être X-Men Trilogy - Trilogie X-Men (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Ultraviolet Copy]

Les langues suivantes sont valables pour les 3 films:

Langue originale: Anglais, Français, Espagnol et Portugais
Sous-titres: Anglais, Espagnol, Portugais, Cantonnais, Mandarin et Coréen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The title of the best value for money., June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The title of the best value for money.
Very satisfied with the shopping, respectively.
In addition, I want to buy a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars this is not ultraviolet its portable digital copy, which is entirly differnt., June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i got this on the premise it was an ultraviolet set, their are no ultraviolet codes, for me to access via vudu or cinamanow app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for the item on the daily special., April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this on the daily discount for $10. Amazing value at that, movies plus special discs. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Bryan Singer (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 89.99 CDN$ 44.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews