Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just another Bond
James (this time Daniel Craig) is pretending not to be upset by the demise of his girl by an unscrupulous person, finds that that person is a part of a cabal of unknown origin or purpose. Now he must get revenge and dismantle the cabal before it dismantles the British secret service. On the way he comes across a girl, Camille (Olga Kurylenko) that may or may not be on his...
Published 10 months ago by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bond-able bond.
no shortage of action or great vistas. The revenge factor was a bit too strong, but you can't help but be on side with it as villains get their just rewards.
Published 19 months ago by Henry Schregardus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just another Bond, Dec 23 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
James (this time Daniel Craig) is pretending not to be upset by the demise of his girl by an unscrupulous person, finds that that person is a part of a cabal of unknown origin or purpose. Now he must get revenge and dismantle the cabal before it dismantles the British secret service. On the way he comes across a girl, Camille (Olga Kurylenko) that may or may not be on his side but may also hold a secret of her own.

The film as all the reasons one watches Bond movies. There is action and story and girls and global plots. Yet this film harkens back to the original Bond's where we had more acting and personal interaction. Not the snide attitude and out of this world gadgets taking front stage. There are no gimmicks or weird bad guys, just a mystery with a twist and people just trying to do their job. Most of the cast may be different from the other Bond movies, but you will recognize the characters. When it is over you feel that you watched a real Bond movie, and you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Craig is a good Bond, March 18 2010
By 
Russ Crossley "Rusty by the Sea" (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally a Bond that harkens back to the days of Sean Connery. Craig is tough, tender and ruthless. This is what Bond is supposed to be. The 007 designation doesn't mean license to joke, it means license to kill or be killed.

Craig does a fine job and the plot is big enough to carry the suspense and the action. Good stuff. Can't wait until the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the best Bond yet., Dec 27 2013
By 
Johnny Boy "Ivan" (Sudbury, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I'm really disappointed by so many Canadians panning this movie.Not as good as the two other Bond movies featuring Daniel Craig perhaps but entertaining never the less.D.Craig may not be as beautiful as Mr.Connery but certainly has his good points and his acting in most cases is excellent and I suspect his future Bond movies will be out standing.May go down as the greatest James Bond ever.That is the opinion of this Canadian reviewer.Jon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Dec 12 2013
By 
Gunter Jacksch (Innisfil, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A typical James Bond and I been collecting all of them. Waiting for the first Bond 3D film in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Craig and Judi Dench do it again...., Oct. 12 2013
By 
zen4ever (New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Daniel Craig as James Bond. Best BOND since Sean Connery. And Dame Judi Dench gives a stunning performance as M. Especially when you take into consideration her health issues. Watching her in this latest 007 movie you would never know she was going blind. This latest installment of the 007 series will not leave you disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent 2nd outing....................., Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With all the anticipation and hype in the press after "Casino Royale" this one was a little bit of a let down. Still after a few more viewings - I'm liking it more and more. Still an excellent Bond!
Greg B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bond-able bond., March 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
no shortage of action or great vistas. The revenge factor was a bit too strong, but you can't help but be on side with it as villains get their just rewards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond, March 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not my favorite James Bond but also not my least favorite. Some action not as much as I like in a James Bond movie and the story line was dragging at some points. Overall I enjoyed it but not as much as other James Bond Movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Bond flick..., April 14 2009
By 
Paul Hundal (West Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The main disappointment was that it seemed shorter than most Bond films. I miss the days of the long Bond films like Diamonds Are Forever. Also it didn't have any truly amazing action scenes like the opening chase scene in Casino Royale or the opening ski scene in the Spy Who Loved Me. Only a few films hold that kind of treasure so it is forgivable and the opening car chase was pretty cool. The musical theme was not a hit like so many other Bond films such as Live and Let Die. But inspite of these shortcomings it was still a great Bond film with its fair share of beautiful woman and world adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of Danial Craiga as 007, April 8 2009
By 
Marcia (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rented DVD, but will buy it. This one loosely follows the first 007 with Danial Craig. I first saw him in a british film the Ice House and it's interesting to see how his acting skills have improved. This film is an ACTION flick. It's a little exhausting at first, but then turns into a decent movie. Don't want to spoil ending, but Craig is resentful at his lost love for betraying him and receives excellent advice from M and his female partner in crime who's also seeking revenge on the man who killed her father. Craig seeks revenge on the man who killed his lost love in previous story. One of the killers again suggest he forgive her and himself. That the underlying sub plot -- will Craig let his lost love go or will he seek revenge?

The movie calls into question his loyalty to the crown and M cuts him off at the knees, by curtailing his expense account, asking "Can I trust you?"
She's concerned he's after revenge. Craig replies: I'm only doing my duty ma'am. Is he doing his duty or a rogue agent bent on revenge?
M and Craig have interesting little challenges with each other -- can she trust him? The CIA accuse Craig of being a traitor. Who will M believe?

When he talks of financial problems with his Russian partner in crime, she determines it's not his lost love and sagely says "Oh, it was your mother". Craig answers, "She thinks she's my mother". More tension - is Craig loyal to mom. Isn't it interesting his boss is called M.
Trus is a big issue does M trust the CIA? Craig as Bond? Another sub plot.

The plot and movie are straigforward action. Watch Craig carefully he has a black belt in Marshall arts and does his own stunt, but he's lightnig fast, not like Segal or Connors. As usual this movie's action is subtle in the British fashion while being in your face at the same time. How can this be ... car chases, airplane/helicoptor chases, cross the desent in four wheel drive chases. It starts out with action, action, action. Luckily there's a story under all that.

This is a stand alone movie, but if you haven't seen the first movie with Craig as 007 you may miss some of the romantic references. If you're an action fan it won't matter. To me, it matters. I like a story with my action. I also like the softer Bond who likes woman, but as he says, "I have no friends". Sean Connery in the 60's (movies I loathed) used women as sex toys ... I mean really a co-star called Pussy Galore. In the new Bond there's room for compassion and caring shown to his Russian partner, while keeping his distance as a well-trained spy. He gives her great advice. "When you see {your enemy} you'r adrenelen will pump. Your training will tell you to compensate, but you'll ignore it. You can kill him. Take a deep breath, take aim and fire. You've only got one shot, but you can get him". The voice of experience and undestanding.

There's so much more I could say, it's a complicated movie under the action. She's afraid of fire from her past and gets trapped in a burning building, Craig risks his life -- can he save her? The traitor deserves to die, but Craig promises -- no revenge. Does he kill him?

What role do the CIA play in British politics? Their role is clearly political and powerful. After all they're American. Will M sacrifice Bond, who she states clearly in the first movie, she doesn't like, for the sake of political alliances? Dame Judy Dench {and she deserves the honour) is a superlative actress, and despite her lesser role, she's a powerful actress and a force to be reconned with.

Needless to say, I own he first Bond movie 'Casino Roayle' and will buy this one when the blu ray price drops. If you're a Bond fan, and or a Danial Craig fan. This movie is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum of Solace [Blu-ray]
Quantum of Solace [Blu-ray] by Marc Forster (Blu-ray - 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews