Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Falling down
This is also a gift to my sister and her husband. He loves this , and again it arrived in very good condition.
THank you
Published 27 days ago by Helene Makowiec

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but Flawed by a Substandard Director
Joel Schumacher, the director best known for putting nipples on the Batsuit, and thus ruining a perfectly good franchise, is an expert at taking something good and turning it into trash. He is, in fact, the prime example of a moviemaker who could've been, but isn't ... in all aspects of the phrase.
"Falling Down" could've been an gripping drama with tons of...
Published on June 28 2004 by Brennon A. Slattery


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but Flawed by a Substandard Director, June 28 2004
By 
Brennon A. Slattery (Somerville, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling Down (DVD)
Joel Schumacher, the director best known for putting nipples on the Batsuit, and thus ruining a perfectly good franchise, is an expert at taking something good and turning it into trash. He is, in fact, the prime example of a moviemaker who could've been, but isn't ... in all aspects of the phrase.
"Falling Down" could've been an gripping drama with tons of social commentary tossed in. And for more than half of the film, Schumacher, with the help of an incredible performance by Michael Douglas, achieves this. Douglas's comments on the price of a can of soda reflect the frustration of the poor in rising inflation. His attack on the golf course, again, is a fist in the air for the needy in the United States. Not until Schumacher has Douglas shoot apart a telephone booth for the sake of shooting something to shreds does he lose the integrity of a good film. He is now out for bang and bucks, and from there, the whole movie goes somewhat downhill.
Yet not entirely. Michael Douglas still keeps this film afloat. His performance, as mentioned before, is one of the actor's greatest, and will be remembered alongside his reptilian turn in "Wall Street." Robert Duvall is great as the cop on the brink of retirement - a film cliche, but workable here - and when the pair finally meet, the sparks fly.
Yet in the meantime, Douglas's "comments" on society become more vague, or else they strike the viewer on the head with their obviousness. To mention the golf course scene again - Schumacher could've executed the comment beautifully without having Douglas burst into preachy prose. Subtlety is a skill Hollywood hasn't possessed since the birth of special effects. Everything is a hammer over the head. Moviemakers have no faith in their audience. They think we're stupid.
While "Falling Down" is a vastly entertaining film that has a great re-watch value, it still leaves you feeling dissatisfied in the end. You want something more. And that something is exactly what Schumacher, as long as he keeps making films, cannot give you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Falling down, March 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Falling Down (DVD)
This is also a gift to my sister and her husband. He loves this , and again it arrived in very good condition.
THank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Oldie, Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this is one of Michael Douglas best i wanted to get it for some times and i just did it's great
Loved the fast food store bit that's what made me miss it so much. Think of this movie everytime i go to McD lol
They could've made the story so he's a regular guy going home and just blows a gasket personally i think the problem in him could've been skipped it would've made a diffrent ending but peoples would've relate to the role a bit more
But all in all i love it. It's cheap get it it's a good oldie to have in your collection :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just What I Wanted., Aug. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this movie, it well acted by all and Michael Douglas makes the character come alive. There is enough comic moments in the plot to give the viewer a break from what is a dangerous story. I highly recommend this book if you are a Michael Douglas fan, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie with solid performances, April 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Michael Douglas and Robert Duvall nailed it with their performances. Beautiful atmospheric camera shots of the sweltering urban sprawl. The plot shows how quickly someone's life can unravel if they take their problems out on everyone else around them. It plays out like a slow motion nightmare trainwreck ride to sheer rock bottom. Lots of life's little first world problems prove unacceptable to Michael Douglas' character as he descends further and further into his personal urban hell. As serious and gloomy as this movie can be at times, it definitely has some laugh-out-loud black comedy moments as well. Although it may be too wild and over-the-top for some, I would still highly recommend it. It's a gritty ride through urban chaos. I loved this movie and you might too. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bon film, March 11 2013
By 
Patrice Gagné "cable guy" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ce film est très bon michael douglas y est vraiment génial , je vous le conseille si vous aimé ces films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Falling Down, March 2 2013
By 
Steve S. Morris (North Vancouver BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Falling Down (DVD)
Oh...wouldn't we all want to do what Michael Douglas has done when we have finally had enough! He stands up to what is wrong, but alas pays the ultimate price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who is the bad guy here?, Nov. 5 2011
This review is from: Falling Down (DVD)
Falling Down is one of those stories that split my sympathies with every scene. The film begins by portraying the sensation of a very hot Los Angeles day where everyone has reached their limits and many have surpassed it. The only real good guys in the story are Prendergast and Sandra but I couldn't help but sympathize with Bill Foster's plight as he desperately tried to be there for his daughter's birthday. This is a well written, well cast, and well acted story that held my interest to the very end. It's a movie that makes it very difficult to take a pause for a bathroom break because you really want to see what goes down next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy!, Sept. 6 2011
This review is from: Falling Down (DVD)
Very satisfied... was posted as used `like new' and it is > like new. Shipping was quick ... no complains... good Buy!
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stress test, Aug. 18 2009
By 
G. E. Dell (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling Down (DVD)
Excellent entertainment - comedic and poignant. Good performance by Douglas. Glimpse into the stress of modern-day America and the mental challenges that some people and their families face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab0150f0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews