Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just to Clarify..........
Just read around 5 or 6 of the reviews below, as somebody else noted: this film IS SET IN EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND! Not Ireland and most definatley not England. Somebody else had written "...in its homeland of England....". This would completeley misrepresent the film. Also, Trainspotting does not mean Heroin, Trainspotting is the title as it represents the pointlessness of...
Published on Aug. 17 2007 by acstewart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great by any measure
This is a well-executed film with lots of great images, especially using the dead baby. But it's pretty flashy in a TV commercial or music video way & after a while I found the gimmicks wearing thin. I've read a lot of excellent junky lit over the years - one in particular that stands out is Trocchi's brilliant Cain's Book from the 1960s (another Scots junkie, yet)...
Published on June 30 2004 by inframan


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leave it in the gutter, Dec 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I thought this film was way overrated. Too trendy a look into the heroin culture with a strong dose of fatalism. Provides a great existential backdrop for rationalizing escapism but not very much entertainment value (unless the viewer enjoys watching people trash their lives).
Decent enough music kept me watching the whole movie...wish I hadn't wasted my time renting it, though. My $.02
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Realistic? I don't EVEN think so, July 27 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Realistic drug addicts... who look like movie stars!! Yeah right! The Jonny Lee Miller character was always so doped up he had no time for anything else (letting his baby die of neglect) yet he somehow found the time to keep his baby-blonde hair perfectly bleached and coiffed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst and most disgusting and disturging movie I've seen, Jan. 1 1999
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Disgusting, repulsive, and absolutely disturbing stuff in this movie. Feces, heroine, dead babys with twisted heads, swimming in sewers, what more needs to be said. Warped and twisted and absolutely aweful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Baby, Dec 30 2002
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It was...uh, different. The effects were bad on the baby on the ceiling scence, but what are you going to do about it? Ewan did play his role well but I must say his charactor was the most not the most likable. I suggest you skip this one..and maybe the 2nd on the is soon to be filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no thanks, Nov. 7 2001
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
after hearing about how 'great' this movie was and seeing all the good reviews, i finally rented it. and i HATED it. i hate this movie more than any other movie i've ever seen. i can't exactly tell you why...the characters were boring, and worthless, I didn't feel any sympathy for them at all. This movie just glorified drug use. bleh. i'll give it 1 star for ewan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars prepare to be bored and depressed, Aug. 28 2001
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is about a bunch of addicts who kill their baby and are totally sociopathic. Gee what a vision of a film. I watched it because of great reviews. I must not have gotten it.
If you need to see a movie find anything else. This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drowning in the mainstream..., Oct. 22 2002
By 
Not my cup of tea, but being open-minded I can find it a good movie if your looking for a documentary on the unrepentant evils of heroin junkies. I would recommend it to addicts to watch, perhaps they would then realize how they are wasting away. For entertainment purposes, I found it truthful yet dreary, disturbing, violent and pretty boring. Basically that is all it is about is a junkie trying to go straight in the ghettos of Scotland. Not too much more content then that. I am certainly not going to say I liked it just because the mainstream said it is brilliant or something. I couldn't wait for this movie just to be over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Movie, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trainspotting [Import] (DVD)
Trainspotting as you know stands for Heroine. With that said, the movie is about a group of young people are are hooked on it and the things that happen to them.
The movie is set in Ireland- you may have a hard time in the beginning understanding the heavy accents, so put you captions on, but after awhile things get better.
The movie talks about some very controversial topics: HIV, drugs, and overdosing. It would even be a good educational movie for youth to look it because the movie really takes you inside the mind and body of someone hooked on the drug.
And the music is spectacular. I would recommend you buying the CD soundtrack- just awesome.
Rent the movie and if you like buy it. This is an independent international movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disturbed Scots, June 16 2004
By 
R. A Rubin (Eastern, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Trainspotting glorifies heroin use while it gets preachy about friendships. It appears that the Scots of Braveheart have deteriorated in a socialist country. If these teens and young adults have nothing to live for in the public housing block grayness, then escaping into a heroin fog seems enticing. Alienation of youth has been with us for a while, but it seems to flourish only in relatively benign societies subsidized by social programs. Even in capitalist America, heroin is a favorite in the Urban Pockets of Social Welfare. Ewan McGregor is a fine looking young man and he has a choice,live or stick a needle. He chooses the needle. Special effects stretch the addicts bodies like rubber and there are hallucinations of a doomed baby, a fat baby for a heroin mother. Well it reminded me of those Acid Trip, movies from the 60s. Groovy Dude and the Blue Meanies are so hip, man. Trainspotting is ranked in top ten British movies ever made by some ranking services. I think David Lean would object.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars if you think junkies are glamorus, Dec 18 2003
I just couldn't believe the hype this movie got when it came out. I had trouble trying to follow the conversations (they were spoken in a very thick Sort of Scotch accent). The people were sooooooo ugly. What happened to all the beautiful movie stars????????????? The men were ugly and the women were even uglier if that's possible. These people where obviously extreme low end people. Unless you like junkies, baby death and ugly people pooping in their beds don't bother with this. Rent "The Full Monty" instead! It was a much better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trainspotting [Blu-ray]
Trainspotting [Blu-ray] by Danny Boyle (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews