Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last, the Director's Cut comes to the US
For some reason, the 2-disc set released in the states on June 1 features the same artwork as the previous US release - yet all the animated menus still read "Definitive Edition" as in the U.K. release. Oh well... For those of us who've been waiting since 1997 for a comprehensive, worthy DVD of Trainspotting will finally get what they've been waiting for. All...
Published on June 1 2004 by Martin Birdwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book Is Better Than the Film! Trust Me!
Some film adaptations of great novels can stand by themselves and, if the director is talented enough, can take on an importance completely apart from the film. Stanley Kubrick did this with almost every single one of his films--ranging from Lolita up until Eyes Wide Shut--making film adaptations that make the books, as good as they were, seem more intelligent and even...
Published on Dec 16 2003 by Nobody!


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On my short list of favorite films, Aug. 25 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Wildly inventive, extremely funny (often sickly, disturbingly so), filmed with an insane sense of energy and pace,
and an eye for truly inventive surreal images, and a soundtrack full of great songs that all fit perfectly. Not to
mention a bevy of superb, brave performances.

This study of 4 young mates in Scotland, 3 drug addicts, and one addicted to violence reminds me in some ways
of Paul Thomas Anderson’s “Boogie Nights”. Both take us behind the scenes of dark, dysfunctional works (drugs,
porn), but do so with a sense of humor and humanity that transcends clichés and makes us relate to these
characters as human beings, not just porn stars or drug addicts. These are both films full of ideas about choices
and morality, without ever feeling moralistic or judgmental, and both use their central world as metaphors for the
bigger worlds around them. You might escape porn, or drugs, but you can’t escape the forces that push people into
them,

(spoilers ahead!)

I’m surprised to read so many reviews claiming Trainspotting’s ending is optimistic. Yes Renton is walking away
from drugs, but he’s also stabbing his mates in the back, and joining a world that’s just as obsessive about money,
success, drink, sex, material things, as an addict is about drugs. To me, that’s what the whole, chillingly ironic
‘choose life’ monologue that bookends the film is all about. Truly ‘choosing life’ is about a lot more than just
saying ‘no’ to drugs.

Not to mention the title ‘Trainspotting’ which refers to the innocent, but still obsessive, humanity-disconnected
hobby of noting down types and times of trains that go by. Perhaps a slower death than drugs, but a turning away
from living life just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, May 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
took no time at all to arrive and was of excellent quality which i was pleased about since it was a gift for bf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars crazy movie!, Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay so my brother told me to see this, so naturally I bought it ;) this movie is crazy! Definitely worth the watch, but man there are some sick parts in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no thanks, Nov. 7 2001
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
after hearing about how 'great' this movie was and seeing all the good reviews, i finally rented it. and i HATED it. i hate this movie more than any other movie i've ever seen. i can't exactly tell you why...the characters were boring, and worthless, I didn't feel any sympathy for them at all. This movie just glorified drug use. bleh. i'll give it 1 star for ewan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Baby, Dec 30 2002
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It was...uh, different. The effects were bad on the baby on the ceiling scence, but what are you going to do about it? Ewan did play his role well but I must say his charactor was the most not the most likable. I suggest you skip this one..and maybe the 2nd on the is soon to be filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why wait so long?, June 1 2004
By 
Ryan Pritchard "thor_oakenfelder" (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trainspotting [Import] (DVD)
The laserdisc version of this film with all of these bonus features was released before DVD became a format. Why did they wait so long for this? I wound up ordering a Canadian version of the movie to get the deleted scenes, and now suddenly they release all of the same stuff that should have been on the original release? Is there a good reason why the studios release junk versions of a film, and then five years later release a special edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars prepare to be bored and depressed, Aug. 28 2001
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is about a bunch of addicts who kill their baby and are totally sociopathic. Gee what a vision of a film. I watched it because of great reviews. I must not have gotten it.
If you need to see a movie find anything else. This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Movie, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trainspotting [Import] (DVD)
Trainspotting as you know stands for Heroine. With that said, the movie is about a group of young people are are hooked on it and the things that happen to them.
The movie is set in Ireland- you may have a hard time in the beginning understanding the heavy accents, so put you captions on, but after awhile things get better.
The movie talks about some very controversial topics: HIV, drugs, and overdosing. It would even be a good educational movie for youth to look it because the movie really takes you inside the mind and body of someone hooked on the drug.
And the music is spectacular. I would recommend you buying the CD soundtrack- just awesome.
Rent the movie and if you like buy it. This is an independent international movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drowning in the mainstream..., Oct. 22 2002
By 
Not my cup of tea, but being open-minded I can find it a good movie if your looking for a documentary on the unrepentant evils of heroin junkies. I would recommend it to addicts to watch, perhaps they would then realize how they are wasting away. For entertainment purposes, I found it truthful yet dreary, disturbing, violent and pretty boring. Basically that is all it is about is a junkie trying to go straight in the ghettos of Scotland. Not too much more content then that. I am certainly not going to say I liked it just because the mainstream said it is brilliant or something. I couldn't wait for this movie just to be over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trainspotting, March 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainspotting [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When I put this DVD into my player it did not work or register at all. A message saying "no disc" appeared unlike all of my other videos. I don't know whether to try and return it to you for a refund or not. I would appreciate a reply. Thank you.

David Saltsman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trainspotting [Blu-ray]
Trainspotting [Blu-ray] by Danny Boyle (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews