Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonraker movie review
One can never go wrong ordering a James Bond movie. The movie is great, the product arrived within a few days of the predicted date, and I'm very pleased with the movie and the service from Amazon.
Published 16 months ago by Gary

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but I liked the 1956 one better
The one directed by Orson Welles and produced by Dayton Mace. It had Dirk Bogarde as 007 and Welles as Drax. Trust me, with the exception of some slip-ups that kept it from being released, the release is going to knock people's socks off. Sure, it doesn't compare with the current Bond series, but it's the quintessential original. It's also the first Bond film on record...
Published on June 18 2004


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonraker movie review, Dec 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moonraker (DVD)
One can never go wrong ordering a James Bond movie. The movie is great, the product arrived within a few days of the predicted date, and I'm very pleased with the movie and the service from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous Bond blu-ray scenery, April 15 2011
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moonraker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Moonraker is one of the most scenically breathtaking Bond films (Rio, Venice, Space etc.), which helps make this film a visual feast on blu-ray. (For anyone who might confuse Bond titles and plots, remember the return of favourite steel-toothed villain, Jaws.) The blu-ray contains many extras (commentary, featurettes etc.), but must compromise with compressed audio (loud sound effects, soft dialogue) - my consistent complaint of the Bond blu-ray series. It's a fun film and though some special effects hold up better than others, Moonraker is definitely worth it for the visuals alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars got it in time - thanks!, Dec 26 2011
Yes I would buy from this seller again. Got it in time and there were no problems. I haven't watched it yet but I sure it will be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Agent Spaceman!, June 7 2010
This review is from: Moonraker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love Bond's determination in MOONRAKER; there are so many opportunities for him to just give up and go home, but he sticks with it and eventually saves the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but I liked the 1956 one better, June 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Moonraker (DVD)
The one directed by Orson Welles and produced by Dayton Mace. It had Dirk Bogarde as 007 and Welles as Drax. Trust me, with the exception of some slip-ups that kept it from being released, the release is going to knock people's socks off. Sure, it doesn't compare with the current Bond series, but it's the quintessential original. It's also the first Bond film on record ("Casino Royale" on TV was a big mistake). With some small things being cleared up, the forgotten "Moonraker" will rightly see the light of day again, where it should and will belong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look after Mr. Bond, see that some harm comes to him!, March 11 2004
By 
Michael J. Chrush (Kent, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonraker (DVD)
The 11th James Bond movie. In the closing credits to THE SPY WHO LOVED ME, filmmakers had announced FOR YOUR EYES ONLY to be the next James Bond film adventure. Several months later, producer Albert R. Broccoli had announced MOONRAKER to be the next film instead. Part of this would be due no doubt to the phenomenal success of such recent science-fiction space epics as STAR WARS and CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE THIRD KIND. Therefore this was bound to be one of the most heavily produced 007 epics since THUNDERBALL. Only instead of the ocean, Bond would be transported into a more elaborate setting for action - outer space! With a very sizable budget, and beautiful locations around the world ranging from France, England, Italy, Brazil, Guatemala, and the United States, Broccoli once again demonstrates the key to success in ongoing film series is to adapt to changes in time. Roger Moore gives a usual excellent performance with the help of a tough and gorgeous Bond girl in Lois Chiles as Dr. Holly Goodhead. The real treat is Richard Kiel back as Jaws! This would also be Bernard Lee's last appearance as M, as he passed away in January 1981.
THE ASSIGNMENT: The MOONRAKER Space Shuttle, transported from the U.S. to Britain on the back of a Boeing 747, has been hijacked in mid-air and the Jumbo destroyed. As the shuttle was on loan from the Americans, the matter is serious and Bond is sent off to discover who stole the shuttle and why. Drax Industries, in California, is where the shuttle was built and this is the starting point. Inquiries produce serious misgivings about Hugo Drax himself, suspicions leading 007 to Venice. There he learns Drax has developed a deadly nerve gas which kills people, but not other wildlife. The gas comes from a rare orchid found in Brazil - the next destination. When Bond finally locates Drax's headquarters, it seems he is up to something even more sinister. He has built a city in space which he intends to populate with beautiful people who will become the progenitors of a new super-race. At the same time, he intends to kill off Earth's entire population with the nerve gas, leaving his perfect super-race to construct a new order of civilization on Earth in the future. As stated, for 007 the situation is critical!
THE VILLAINS: Michael Lonsdale as Hugo Drax, Richard Kiel as Jaws, and Toshiro Suga as Chang.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Liked This Movie!, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Moonraker (VHS Tape)
So far I have only seen two James Bond movies, they were Never Say Never Again with Sean Connery and Moonraker with Roger Moore. I know that a lot of fans of the James Bond movies don't like Moonraker but I actually enjoyed watching it and I think Roger Moore was good as James Bond but I think Richard Kiel steals the movie with his great performance as Jaws and I recommend this movie especially for Richard Kiel's performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep in Context, Jan. 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Moonraker (DVD)
This was an Excellent Bond movie for its time and is still a pleasure to view it today. While viewing it now may look a bit hokie, for those of us who were old enough when it came out, remember the context in which it was released (i.e., Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, and Buck Rogers). The special effects were pretty good for its time. For those born in the 80's or later, I would recommend sticking with the latest Star Wars, Matrix, or Adam Sandler movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 007 follows the crowd, Jan. 10 2004
This review is from: Moonraker (DVD)
In the 60's, the James Bond team were innovators who inspired a slew of imitations, everything from Dean Martin's Matt Helm movies and TV's "Man from U.N.C.L.E" to Richard Burton's anti-Bond in "The Spy Who Came In From the Cold." But as the 70's dawned, Bond was showing signs of fatigue. With 1979's "Moonraker," 007 admitted defeat to the science-fiction boom led by "Star Wars," a film whose special-effects team included John Stears who won an Oscar for "Thunderball," and became an imitator himself.
Sending her majesty's top secret service agent into space wasn't necessarily a bad idea, but it indicated that the series was repeating itself, exhuming ideas leftover from "You Only Live Twice" (in which Bond almost became Buck Rogers). Worst of all, it acknowledged that the cutting edge in the cinema of the fantastic no longer belonged to 007 but to "Star Wars," a film that would lead to a series that rivaled Bond at the ticket windows. (The Bond team had already acknowledged the emergence of Steven Spielberg by naming one of "The Spy Who Loved Me"'s villains after the killer shark blockbuster of 1975, and Richard Kiel's reappearance here is another example of the series cannibalizing itself.)
What really sinks "Moonraker" is the humor. No longer merely tongue-in-cheek, it was now pie-in-face, a mistake the producers acknowledged themselves by returning to a more sober thriller mode for the next film ("For Your Eyes Only") despite the fact that "Moonraker" became the first film in the series to surpass the record box-office take of 1965's "Thunderball" (which remains, as its ad campaign claimed, "The Biggest Bond of All" when inflation is taken into account). In addition to the dopie love interest for "Jaws," the film pays humorous homage to "The Magnificent 7" and Clint Eastwood's spaghetti westerns, and the result is a Bond film that seems to be imitating Bond's own imitators, especially the Matt Helm series.
Even though this is one of the worst Bond films, it can't be dismissed out of hand. As usual, the production values are top-flight, Roger Moore's skin was still tight (the fall became noticeable in "Octopussy"), and John Barry's score is memorably haunting. For 007, this is the pits, but it still makes for good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Weak after the Previous Bond, Jan. 3 2004
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonraker (DVD)
Roger Moore had his ups and downs as James Bond. After an excellent entry in the series with "The Spy Who Loved Me," "Moonraker" was another weak entry. The fault this time lies with the far too science fiction outer space shootout that finishes the movie, a reprise of the underwater battle from "Thunderball" in combination with a bit of "Star Wars" Death Star destruction.
The basic concept is similar to many of the previous Bond films that have worked so well. Hugo Drax, effectively played by Michael Lonsdale, has a plan for (what else) conquering the world. Lonsdale is one of the most superb Bond villains ever, easily surpassing Ernst Stavro Blofeld and in the same league as Christopher Lee. Lonsdale is one of the most coldly calculating megalomaniacs to ever menace the world in the Bond series, and his only error is to dismiss Bond too readily.
Lonsdale's plan is quite complex, and involves choosing "perfect" human specimens to transport into space, and then cleverly eliminating the rest of mankind. How does he do all this? You must watch and see. Obviously space shuttles are involved and a clever plan for killing all the humans remaining on Earth.
One thing I've wondered about in some of Roger Moore's Bond movies is why the bad guys are good at what they do and the good guys are not all that good, or perhaps effective. This time Hugo Drax is supported by Richard Kiel as Jaws, Corinne Clery as Corinne Dufour and Toshirô Suga as Chang. All these actors and actresses are competent and intelligent. Bond, on the other hand, seems to get people who appear to be amateurs or think he is bumbling. Makes you want to be on the side of the bad guys. Admittedly, two of Drax' key personnel end up helping Bond, but I still wonder why the good guys can't get better help.
As I mentioned before, the final portion of the movie takes place in space, so you can guess that this film is loaded with technology and gadgets. In another reprise we see Bond in a boat chase through the canals of Venice, a chase that includes a gondola being cut in half similar to the boat chase in "The Man with the Golden Gun." Bond's gondola turns out to be loaded with nifty extras, of course. Later Bond gets another cool boat in South America. This boat includes torpedoes, mines, and a built-in hang glider. The boat itself looks very high tech. We also see lasers quite a bit in this film. Similar to the science fantasy movie "Star Wars," the laser beams are visible. One of these days someone will make a realistic movie where the laser beams are not visible; admittedly more boring, but also more factual.
Bond movies have always had great locations, and this one meets the standard; Venice, Guatemala, Brazil, among others, and the credits list outer space. I believe I recognized the Lancaster-Palmdale area of southern California as part of Drax' facilities for building the Moonraker shuttles.
The theme song for this movie was sung by Shirley Bassey, who also sang the theme to "Goldfinger" and "From Russia with Love," and appeared as a lounge singer in the movie "Live and Let Die."
Even though this movie had a bit too much hokum and a wooden performance by Bond, who appeared to be bored much of the time, there is still a lot to like about this movie. Richard Kiel is a super-villain worthy of a super-spy. Admittedly the jokes associated with Jaws' appearances are often corny, but Jaws is a cool, bizarre villain. I also enjoyed Bond's escape from the cable car in Brazil. Jaws' outfit in Carnivale was interesting and unique, and fitted his personality well. I really enjoyed the fight between Chang and Bond in the glass shop in Venice. The fight between Chang and Bond in the warehouse is an (inadvertent?) homage to Bruce Lee's "Game of Death." There are quite a few other worthwhile scenes.
It's hard to rate this movie higher than three stars because of the flaws and Moore's rather weak performance. However, it is a Bond movie, and always worth a bowl of popcorn. I recommend this movie for fans of Bond and for those who like cheesy science fiction or science fantasy films. Movies like these typically do not win many awards, but they sure are fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbffc0810)

This product

Moonraker [Blu-ray]
Moonraker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 37.99 CDN$ 20.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews