Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Romantic Comedy
Andie Anderson (Kate Hudson) has always wanted to write "hard" news stories. Instead, she's the "How to..." columnist for the trendy women's magazine, COMPOSURE. When her Editor comes up with an article idea, Andie quickly takes the job. Now she's writing a first-hand account on what it takes to drive a guy out of your life in exactly 10 days. While this new assignment...
Published on May 7 2004 by Erika Sorocco

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly funny
Have you ever watched a movie because there was nothing else on? Perhaps you have seen the trailers and thought you knew the movie already. Needless to say, you come in with little to no expectations. For this movie, I expected to get some reading done, but found myself watching the movie and getting a laugh or two.
Business agendas and love do not go together,...
Published on Feb. 11 2004 by Jeffrey Leeper


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Romantic Comedy, May 7 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Andie Anderson (Kate Hudson) has always wanted to write "hard" news stories. Instead, she's the "How to..." columnist for the trendy women's magazine, COMPOSURE. When her Editor comes up with an article idea, Andie quickly takes the job. Now she's writing a first-hand account on what it takes to drive a guy out of your life in exactly 10 days. While this new assignment for Andie is taking place, ad agency bachelor, Benjamin Barry (Matthew McConaughey) accepts an extremely high-stakes bet that he can make any woman fall entirely head-over-heels in love with him in...exactly 10 days. When the two of them end up with each other, it's a laugh-out-loud hilarious thrill ride for all.
There is only one sentence to describe Kate Hudson's performance in this film...utterly fabulous. Everything about her is amazing. Her acting skills shine bigger and better in this movie than in her past films. Matthew McConaughey is hilarious, as he takes everything that Kate's character does in stride, and puts up with all of her freakish antics throughout the entire movie. Fans of romantic comedies such as MISS CONGENIALITY and SWEET HOME ALABAMA will relish in this film about falling in love. FYI: For anyone who absolutely adores this film, check out the book FASHIONISTAS by Lynn Messina, as it has a lot in common with HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS.
Erika Sorocco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sweet Little Gem!, May 19 2004
By 
Jeffrey E Ellis (Naperville, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was prepared for a drawn out, long-road-to-nowhere story.
But I was pleasantly surprised by this funny, sweet little romatic comedy. Kate Hudson just sparkles in this little jewel. There are times, though, when you can see Goldie Hawn in her - a little unnerving.
The plot was predictable but all the sweetness lies in the byplay between Kate and Matthew as they wwork out their competing agendas toward a common end.
Light, frivolous, and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better romantic comedies..., April 21 2004
By A Customer
This is one of the better romantic comedies that has been put out in the recent years. Kate Hudson shines, and proves that not only is she a great actress, but also just as funny as her famous mother. This is your 'typical' romantic comedy, but for those of you who anjoy these types of movies, you will not be dissappointed. I'm not sure what the people who gave bad reviews expected, because this movies delivered everything you would expect from this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why Would You Want to Lose This Guy?, July 4 2004
By 
V. Marshall (North Fork, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kate Hudson and Matthew McConaughey are two people destined to end up as one in this funny and romantic comedy.
At times Kate Hudson comes across as enchanting as her mother, Goldie Hawn, her smile is absolutely contagious. Her character is a magazine writer who finds herself stuck with the writing assignment of losing a man through all the typical dating "dont's" that women fall into. She is engagingly funny as she talks baby talk, brings over a suitcase full of stuffed animals and carries around a silly toy dog during her 1 week relationship. But despite all her clingy, controlling stupidity she still gets the guy because it is a movie after all.
Matthew McConaughey is his usual gorgeous self playing an ad exec who tries to bag a deal by making a woman fall in love with him, instead of the diamonds in his ad. I imagine this would not be too hard....but the movie makes it out to be. It is one of those romantic play-hard-to-get tales and it works in its own simple way.
So watch it with the girls or on a night spent all alone and hope the man of your dreams looks like Matthew McConaughey, just don't lose him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very predictable, but also very cute, June 15 2004
By 
Joe Sherry (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A film by Donald Petrie
Here's a highly predictable, yet cute romantic comedy. I have to wonder if these sorts of situations actually occur in real life, but they seem to happen all of the time in the movies. Andie Anderson (Kate Hudson) is a columnist at Composure Magazine. She writes the "How To" column intended for a female audience (Composure is similar to Cosmo or Glamour). The column she agrees to write for the current month is "How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days". She has to find a guy and start dating him, but intentionally make all the classic mistakes that women make in relationships. These mistakes will cause the guy to dump Andie in 10 days or less, which is just in time for Andie to finish her column and get it published.
Benjamin Barry (Matthew McConaughey) works in advertising. He is very good at what he does, but he is known for working on "guy" related campaigns. Ben wants to land his company's largest client, a diamond company, but he is seen as not having the right expertise and style for it. Ben is very good at selling himself and convinces his boss that he can get any woman to fall in love with him (being able to do this is similar to being able to sell diamonds, apparently). His boss gives him ten days, until a party that his boss is throwing for the new client. Benjamin has to be able to prove to his boss that the woman he brings to the party has truly fallen in love with him.
Out of all of the people in New York City, Andie and Ben are going to meet at the perfect time to start dating and try to work out their conflicting assignments. How this happens is moderately clever, and is actually believable if convenient. Andie tries to get Ben to break up with her, though in a cute non-threatening way. Ben is trying to get Andie to fall in love with him, so is willing to put up with everything that Andie throws at him.
"How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days" is incredibly predictable, but it is still an enjoyable movie. Nothing is a surprise, but it is cute and slick and Andie and Ben are two very likable characters. Sure, the movie is not very plausible and not very realistic, but cuteness and likeability goes a long way.
-Joe Sherry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, May 12 2004
By 
Jackie Dawson (Safford, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Starring:
Benjamin Barrie: Matthew McConaughey
Andie Anderson: Kate Hudson
Benjamins Boss: Robert Klein
Team Judy:Michael Michele and Shalom Harlow
Michelle: Kathryn Hahn
Publisher: Bbe Neuwirth
MPAA Rating is a four star Rated PG-13 for some sex-related material. Running time is 100 min.
This movie is directed by Donald Petrie and written by Kristen Buckley, Brian Regan and Burr Steers.
I recently saw a "chick flick" How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days. Normally i wnjoy chick flicks and horror movies. So this one wasn't a big change for me although it is my favorite one yet. This particular movie is one of my favorite because it is halarious I laughed through out the whole movie. Kate Hudson does a wonderful job in this movie, along with Matthew McCaughy. I also think that anyone would like this movie (including guys) and I hope that you will go see it if u have not already.
This movie is loosely based on the book How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days: The Universal Don't Of Dating by Michele Alexander and Jeannie Long. How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days is about a guy named Benjamin Barrie (Matthew McCaughey) who is a mortorcycle riding, love 'em and leave 'em type personality. the hotshot copywriter is a renowned love hound at Warren A dvertising and his inability to settle down has caused his boss (Robert Klein) to assign the DeLaurer Diamonds account to his nemesis, Team Judy (Michael Michele and Shalom Harlow). swearing that he can get any woman to fall deeply in love with him in ten days until the official copyrighting assignment is announced at a lavish party, Team Judy sics him on the woman they know he can never land. this woman happens to be Andie Anderson (Kate Hudson), writer of "How To" column at Cosmo like Composer Magazine. Andie's pal Michelle (Kathryn Hahn) has been dumped yet again by another potential new boyfriend and publisher (Bebe Neuwirth) wants an article with all the nitty gritty details. ndie, deperate to do "serious" articles about politics and global warming, agrees to do the piece if she get5s kick up from the columnist ghetto, to feature writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Princes Sofia and Krull the Warrior King, April 26 2004
By 
Well, this was a pretty good movie... I rented it and watched it with my landlord last Thursday. I still have a lot of unanswered questions after seeing it, though. If the two main characters have such successful jobs as a magazine writer and advertising agent, how do they have time to play this silly dating game, plus have time to hang out with friends, get groceries, work out (as they are obviously in great shape), pick out and purchase a small dog, all in the span of 10 days? I come home after work and I'm exhausted.
After the "game" is revealed and the two characters look like they aren't going to get together, a very vulgar word is used by one character to stir up thoughts of a fun time they had together playing a game of the very same vulgar name. I felt that the use of the word probably wouldn't have convinced the second character to get back together with him, as she didn't seem particularly fond of profanity. However, this probably wouldn't have made for a good movie.
Some of the movie is shot on what is supposed to be Staten Island. Now, I have not been there, and perhaps they didn't actually shoot the house and street scenes on Staten Island, but I found it to be quite nice. I wish I knew if that was what it was really like there, what with the nice views of the city and all.
Finally, I was particular impressed at the choice the use "Follow You Down" by Gin Blossoms for the climactic motorcycle scene in the end. It was a choice that was obviously well-thought out by the director. Now, whenever I hear that song, I think about driving my motorcycle over a bridge out of Manhattan. Except that I don't own a motorcycle, nor have I ever driven on a bridge out of Manhattan.
In closing, Kate Hudson is really cute, that helps the viewer to really get attached to her and want to see if she gets her guy in the end, and Chris Robinson should hold on to her like a black crow on a carcass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth of wathcing, April 19 2004
I must say that this is one of the best movies I watched in the last time. The first time I saw the movie, I laughed so much it made me cry. Believe me, it must be a really really great movie to make ME laugh.
This film is about Andie and Benjamin. Andie is a magazine writer. She needs to write an article how you can lose a guy in 10 days, like many women do and about Benjamin is advertise executive, who bets that he can make woman fall in love with him in 10 days. For that he would get the best bussiness deal he ever imagined. The woman, who is sopossed to fall in love with him is Andie, who does nearly everything you can imagine, so that he would break up with her.
This film is for everybody who loves a good romantic comedy.
Believe me, you won't be sorry.
I believe that most of you also watched The Mighty Bruce, but once you see How to lose a guy in 10 days, you won't find The Mighty Bruce so comical.
I own this DVD, only it is in regia 2, but conntents are the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time on this one, April 18 2004
If I had to make a list of the worst movies I've ever seen, this one would top the list. Not too far into it, I started to wonder when this thing would be over. I started to just turn the thing off, but I'd paid $3.50 to rent this thing and decided to try to tough it out.
Plus I found a couple of parts of it highly offensive. Right after they start dating, one of his co-workers makes a comment that maybe she's Bipolar. I know someone who's Bipolar, and apparently the writers have no idea how something like that can totally ruin a person's life. Also, further into the movie, when she goes to meet his parents, he jokes about part of the family being "mental cases", and that they "all have Tourettes". People who have Tourettes who would have seen this movie must have been so thrilled by that comment.
Apparently the writers decided at that point that they had no other group of people to offend, so they offend us all by making a dull, boring, predictable movie that was a complete waste of time. Near the end I actually felt embarrassed for the actors for having to do this film.
Don't waste your time seeing this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical and cute, April 16 2004
By 
Kimberly Daniels "KDaniels" (Starkville, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently watched this movie and I myself absolutely loved it. Romantic comedy all the way! I laughed throughout the entire movie. Kate Hudson played the part of a magazine writer given the task of dating a guy, picked at random, and trying to make as many mistakes possible to drive him crazy, to the point of calling the relationship off. Just so happens that Matthew McConaughey is an advertising exec who just made a bet that he can get any woman to fall head over heels for him in a matter of 10 days. Kate Hudson does all the little things that women naturally do to aggrivate men. Some of the stunts were a bit unrealistic but funny all the same. Clingy, baby voices, a pet dog, and even putting female products all over the bathroom. The movie points out how aggrivating women can sometimes be and the things men will go through to keep us happy. The ending was a bit predictible but it still brought out the best laughs. Of course the guy always gets the girl in the end. If your a fan for sappy romantic comedys I reccomend you watch this movie at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Bilingual)
How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Bilingual) by Donald Petrie (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 35.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews