Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars La guerre des mariées
C'est une très bonne comédie avec des actrices que j'aime beaucoup surtout Sandra Bullock.
Un bon film pour la famille.
Published 9 months ago by Paul Masson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stars outshine slight tale
After having watched this film, you get the idea that there is material for a good movie, but it just never developed. But they did have the smarts to aquire two actresses who are always interesting and they are evenly matched in all areas, not only in their craft but being able to dish out this material and never having to outperform each other, which happens sometimes...
Published 19 months ago by Anthony Marinelli


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, Sept. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
Case was broken, but the movie played alright (which is what I expected). Thank you so much and have a wonderful day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars La guerre des mariées, July 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bride Wars [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
C'est une très bonne comédie avec des actrices que j'aime beaucoup surtout Sandra Bullock.
Un bon film pour la famille.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stars outshine slight tale, Sept. 9 2012
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After having watched this film, you get the idea that there is material for a good movie, but it just never developed. But they did have the smarts to aquire two actresses who are always interesting and they are evenly matched in all areas, not only in their craft but being able to dish out this material and never having to outperform each other, which happens sometimes if the two leads are unevenly matched but their sparring throughout and Hathaway is good at physical hijinks which you dont see too much any more, and that's her doing the stunts, and i've seen her in other films also, doing similar stuff, and there is also broad humor here. A chick flick..probably..we wouldnt watch it or I wouldnt if very good leads werent in it, and there always as much fun as the film, but the scriptwriter wants to keep things light. The fashions are great, and the atmosphere we are told we're in Jersey but was it shot there, and a few times we are told things arent tacky, no, dresses and all this is upper crust, and although this is a chick flick, it is the aspiring class...just by their tastes. The men are uninteresting and the director purposely has it that way...as the concentration is of a brides story..the psychology is more of an ancient time, quaint, of a byegone era, and in a bonus piece about wedding dresses and business is an interesting facet on modern fashions...are girls all so gung ho about marriage these days..one of the few interesting pieces in the script is one of the girls talking of a guy flattering her, her hair, or some physical feature, a flattery, or is this some humor, and why these girls just arent excited about marriage but to the altar they go, and go, and....a fun film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too funny for words, Feb. 22 2012
This review is from: Bride Wars [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway getting married on the same day with hilarious results and a surprise ending. A must to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Torn between two weddings, April 4 2009
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
"If I were your wedding, I'd be sleeping with one eye open..."

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. BFFs Emma (Anne Hathaway) and Liv (Kate Hudson) dream of their dream weddings at the Plaza Hotel
2. This is the one thing that Emma has ever wanted
3. Liv always gets everything she wants
4. Oops! Both weddings get booked for the same day
5. Open warfare commences
6. For most of the movie
7. Bit over the top if you ask me
8. ... but funny anyway

This is a straight up chick flick, made watchable by Hathaway and Hudson. If I lost you at "chick flick", I apologize, but this is exactly what this is.

The sabotage scenarios are mostly funny, albeit highly improbable, but this is a good movie to rent for an afternoon giggle with the girls, over wine, cheese and chocolate.

Warning: Forcing menfolk to watch this may constitute grounds for divorce in some countries.

3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, Sept. 16 2011
although the disk was scratched and un watchable, the seller fixed the problem quickly. She asked how id like to go about my problem. Ended up getting a refund. All in all no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 1 2011
By 
BJ (Camlachie, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
I have my own salon and we play girly movies all day every day. I will eventually have 100 after 2 more and will keep going until my customers can't stand them. They even come in to my salon to make appointments and watch the movie for a bit before they leave. I will be ordering more. Bridal Parties love these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, great movie!, July 1 2010
By 
Julia Roberts (ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
I was a little worried because it was my first time making a purchase online, but the product was in perfect condition, just as if I had purchased it in a store. It was fast and easy delivery as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Off-putting, Dec 9 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Liv and Emma (Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway) are long-time best friends who have dreamed of weddings at New York's Plaza Hotel. After they both get engaged, they go to an elite wedding planner (Candice Bergen) who manages to bungle things and, wouldn't you just guess, both weddings are scheduled for the same place, date, and time. Oh, the horror!

Watching this comedy actually made me depressed. The two young ladies were so self-absorbed and shallow that their weddings - not their marriages - became the be-all and end-all of their lives and drove them to do outlandish (and possibly illegal) things. Their jealousy and drama about the Plaza, the dresses, the parties, etc. was so far-fetched that I couldn't relate. Anne Hathaway is lovely and comes off better than her co-star Hudson, but I still didn't like either one of the superficial, childish, and annoying characters.

If a fancy wedding party is your biggest goal in life, this may be the movie for you; if not, skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1123414)

This product

Bride Wars
Bride Wars (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews