Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Achievement
I just finished watching Mickey Rourke in The Wrestler. Wow. This is about as realistic a movie as I've seen. There were times when it felt like I was invading this guy's privacy. The story is about a man with a tragic flaw. All the best protagonists have a tragic flaw - Macbeth and Hamlet both sought vengeance. With Rourke's character Randy "The Ram" it is only being...
Published on May 6 2009 by Peter Cantelon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Raging Bull
I can see parallels between this and Raging Bull, but it's kind of like a prequel to Black Swan. Mickey Rourke sets the stage on fire, and I love that Brice Springsteen song in it. It's probably not essential to watch, but it's pretty good.
Published 15 months ago by Jesse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Achievement, May 6 2009
By 
Peter Cantelon (Morden, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I just finished watching Mickey Rourke in The Wrestler. Wow. This is about as realistic a movie as I've seen. There were times when it felt like I was invading this guy's privacy. The story is about a man with a tragic flaw. All the best protagonists have a tragic flaw - Macbeth and Hamlet both sought vengeance. With Rourke's character Randy "The Ram" it is only being able to feel valued when he's getting the crap kicked out of him in the ring.

The Ram has no inner sense of value. His complete and utter lack of self-worth drives him to make absolutly terrible relational decisions. He feels completely alone and he knows the world only cares for him when he bleeds for them - otherwise he's invisible to them. The Ram has become cynical and no longer cares whether he lives or dies. His story intersects with that of Marisa Tomei whose character is an older stripper nearing the end of her days. She is similar to Randy except that she has an outer source of value - a nine year old son to live for and sacrifice for. Tomei does easily as good a job as Rourke in the film but Rourke's character pushes into excellence on a few occassions - especially when he is attempting to renew a relationship with his daughter played by Evan Rachel Wood.

The film is incredibly sad. It is the portrayal of a man whose life is empty and meaningless except when he's doing that which will ultimately kill him. There is an early scene when Tomei's character quotes Isaiah 53 "He was wounded for our transgressions, pierced for our iniquities..." She is reminded of the verse by Randy's experience as an aging wrestler...she calls him a sacrificial Ram jokingly playing on his wrestling name. The film picks up this theme and runs with it till the end when it looks as though Randy will ultimately offer himself on the altar of public popularity.

I cannot recommend the film to those under 18. There is nudity and foul language although the director Daron Aronofsky ensures that whenever it occurs it is appropriate to the story and not gratuitous in any sense. The final credits roll to the fantastic new Bruce Springsteen song by the same name as the movie - The Wrestler...very poignant. It is easy to see why Rourke won best actor at the Golden Globes for this film. He really shines in an honest and pained portrayal of a washed up star...something he probably related to when the film was first made.

For another movie that showcases Rourke's hidden talents look for Barfly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mickey Rourke Returns to Retire?, Jan. 14 2014
By 
Brandon Kern - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a big fan of professional wrestling so to have a hollywood rendition of that world I was quite excited. *Spoiler* In short Rourke plays a once larger than life wrestler that is now a washed up wrestler working at a grocery store and wrestling in school gyms.
The story line is pretty straight forward without much complexity in it don't expect a whole bunch of twists and turns or huge elaborate WWE matches/storylines but do expect some amazing acting by almost all the characters/actors in this film. Mickey Rourke becomes so emotionally involved in his character that it left me in tears. It's clear from his performance that the movie is not just about wrestling
*Spoiler* its about a man reaching the end of his time and trying to hold onto everything he once had, fearful of being alone, and in a struggle to make up for lost time between himself and his daughter.
If your debating on whether or not to get this film I say definitely pick it up, even if you're not a fan of wrestling. This is definitely not a flick for kids but it for the adults it has some amazing relatable events and it will definitely touch that emotional side of you.

The Steelbook for this movie looks amazing and has some beautiful artwork, inside it comes with 2 disc the blu-ray and dvd that are stacked ontop of each other (they do not interfere with each other too much) definitely worth adding to your collection if you collect steelbooks or you just want to have this movie in a special format !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Raging Bull, Jan. 5 2013
I can see parallels between this and Raging Bull, but it's kind of like a prequel to Black Swan. Mickey Rourke sets the stage on fire, and I love that Brice Springsteen song in it. It's probably not essential to watch, but it's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Decline and Fall After Fame., May 29 2009
In a world obsessed with following the famous or notorious through television, the web, or print media, only the prime of a "star's" life seems to be examined and pursued. There is even a reality show about the paparazzi and their boss as they discuss and giggle over images they have captured of the notorious.

Few films have dealt with the life lived by the mediocre or unwise star who did not provide for his old age. "Requiem for a Heavyweight", with an outstanding cast, is a black and white version of this sad tale.

"The Wrestler", takes gritty look at the decline of a man whose career was fueled by steroids, alcohol and painkillers. The pain and abuse damage his heart. Recovering, he reaches out to an estranged daughter and a stripper who is having her own age related problems. His efforts start to bear fruit when the old, high living behavior reinforces bad, old memories. He is still loved and respected by his fellow wrestlers. So, like a gladiator in Roman times, his return to the arena becomes his destiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fighter still remains, Jan. 20 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Wrestler [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Randy 'The Ram' Robinson fought the Ayatollah in Madison Square Garden back in the 80s, and still battles today. Ill met by fate, bruised and battered, his sinewy muscles scarred, his bones creaking in protest he still has the fight, and like a One Trick Pony he sticks to what he knows. It's a desperate life.

As you may recall in Raging Bull, Robert De Niro put on about 40 pounds to play fighter Jake La Motta as he got older, and he won an Oscar for his dedication to the role.

Mickey Rourke does something no less astounding here, putting on huge bulk to assume the persona and convincing physique of a professional wrestler. It's an amazing acting performance. The lines between actor and character blur and disappear. The kind of pain you see on Randy's face cannot be pretended. It can only be relived from the actor's parallel experience, which is what makes Rourke's performance so compelling.

For female companionship, he goes to a local bar, where a fetching stripper played by Marisa Tomei, Academy Award winner for My Cousin Vinny, gives him a lap dance for a fee. He can barely make rent, yet he has priorities.

Marisa gives an incredibly authentic performance, and it's a welcome surprise see her take it off in the name of art. I applaud her courage in doing so. Her physique is simply amazing, her body art very intriguing.

Evan Rachel Wood plays his estranged daughter. Previously, she played the female lead part in Across The Universe, and already has a quite impressive filmography under her belt. Here she sports a different look, and gives a perfect performance.

Some of the wrestling sequences are truly outrageous, and not a little disturbing. Having cut my finger on a ham slicer early in life, seeing people operating ham slicers gives me the heebie jeebies. If you have a problem with the sight of blood, I caution you that there are some disturbing sequences in the movie.

The Academy's actor awards tend to go to actors in two types of role:

1.Psychopath- No Country for Old Men, The Usual Suspects, There Will Be Blood, Training Day, Silence of the Lambs.

2.Mentally Disabled, Social or Physical Handicap, overcomes great adversity or discrimination- Shine, As Good as It Gets, A Beautiful Mind, Ray, Scent of a Woman, Capote, Philadelphia, The Pianist, A Beautiful Life.

Randy definitely has a handicap, and last year was the year of the psychopath, with both Daniel Day Lewis, and Javier Bardem winning Oscar.

I think you will enjoy it and I hope this review was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm in the minority in not being completely blown away..., June 1 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wrestler (DVD)
Rourke is indeed very good as a aging wrestler disintegrating before
our eyes. And there are some beautifully shot sequences.

But there's also a lot of hokum, especially in the failed relationship
with his daughter, and the stripper played by Marisa Tomei, who is
trapped in a similar downward spiral to Rourke, and may be his only
hope, simply doesn't have the depth to balance him.

For me, a good, solid movie, but not the masterpiece a lot of critics
claimed, at least on first viewing.

I'm a fan of Aronofsky's, but I found this the least compelling of his
films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Sept. 28 2009
By 
D. Traynor (Montreal, Qc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How good is Mickey Rourke in this movie ? I had trouble convincing my son that he isn't actually an old wrestler in real life. (And Marisa Tomei nails her part as well.)I highly recommend this movie - terrific character study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll cry because it's real, July 3 2009
By 
Jeffrey Clark "macfysto" (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been a fan of professional wrestling since I was a little kid. As you get older, you start to hear the non "kayfabe" stuff that goes on and what life is like for theses guys as they drop down the ladder. This movie is those stories come to life in vivid detail. It was said that this was the story of a comeback of Mickey Rourke as much as it was of "Randy the Ram" and that is 100% right on the nose. If you want to see a movie that "Beyond the Mat" could only pretend to be, this is the one. Definitely a getter from the word go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, May 22 2009
By 
Paloma (London, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wrestler [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
My husband and I LOVE this movie...Mickey Rourke is incredible in this...for all of you who ever watched 80's wrestlers do their thing...this movie is gritty and fantastic as we watch an aged wrestler struggle with life after the money and fame runs out. Please don't think you have to be a wrestling fan to enjoy this....i don't love wrestling but i do love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wrestling to save Mickey Rourke's career., Dec 31 2009
By 
Harold K. Errington ""the old referee"" (Qualicum Beach, B.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wrestler [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
After all the hype and award nominations, you'd think it would be an academy performance; Rourke still couldn't act his way outta' a paper bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb07b942c)

This product

The Wrestler [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
The Wrestler [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Darren Aronofsky (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 15.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews