Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$74.74+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 14, 2015
Perfect edition. Recommend while it is still at the stick
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
Hard to rate as we were sent a European copy and we could not play it on our Canadian electronics. Did not return re costs involved. My Son really wanted to have this in his collection as he loved the movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 14, 2014
I'm a big fan of professional wrestling so to have a hollywood rendition of that world I was quite excited. *Spoiler* In short Rourke plays a once larger than life wrestler that is now a washed up wrestler working at a grocery store and wrestling in school gyms.
The story line is pretty straight forward without much complexity in it don't expect a whole bunch of twists and turns or huge elaborate WWE matches/storylines but do expect some amazing acting by almost all the characters/actors in this film. Mickey Rourke becomes so emotionally involved in his character that it left me in tears. It's clear from his performance that the movie is not just about wrestling
*Spoiler* its about a man reaching the end of his time and trying to hold onto everything he once had, fearful of being alone, and in a struggle to make up for lost time between himself and his daughter.
If your debating on whether or not to get this film I say definitely pick it up, even if you're not a fan of wrestling. This is definitely not a flick for kids but it for the adults it has some amazing relatable events and it will definitely touch that emotional side of you.

The Steelbook for this movie looks amazing and has some beautiful artwork, inside it comes with 2 disc the blu-ray and dvd that are stacked ontop of each other (they do not interfere with each other too much) definitely worth adding to your collection if you collect steelbooks or you just want to have this movie in a special format !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I can see parallels between this and Raging Bull, but it's kind of like a prequel to Black Swan. Mickey Rourke sets the stage on fire, and I love that Brice Springsteen song in it. It's probably not essential to watch, but it's pretty good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Randy 'The Ram' Robinson fought the Ayatollah in Madison Square Garden back in the 80s, and still battles today. Ill met by fate, bruised and battered, his sinewy muscles scarred, his bones creaking in protest he still has the fight, and like a One Trick Pony he sticks to what he knows. It's a desperate life.

As you may recall in Raging Bull, Robert De Niro put on about 40 pounds to play fighter Jake La Motta as he got older, and he won an Oscar for his dedication to the role.

Mickey Rourke does something no less astounding here, putting on huge bulk to assume the persona and convincing physique of a professional wrestler. It's an amazing acting performance. The lines between actor and character blur and disappear. The kind of pain you see on Randy's face cannot be pretended. It can only be relived from the actor's parallel experience, which is what makes Rourke's performance so compelling.

For female companionship, he goes to a local bar, where a fetching stripper played by Marisa Tomei, Academy Award winner for My Cousin Vinny, gives him a lap dance for a fee. He can barely make rent, yet he has priorities.

Marisa gives an incredibly authentic performance, and it's a welcome surprise see her take it off in the name of art. I applaud her courage in doing so. Her physique is simply amazing, her body art very intriguing.

Evan Rachel Wood plays his estranged daughter. Previously, she played the female lead part in Across The Universe, and already has a quite impressive filmography under her belt. Here she sports a different look, and gives a perfect performance.

Some of the wrestling sequences are truly outrageous, and not a little disturbing. Having cut my finger on a ham slicer early in life, seeing people operating ham slicers gives me the heebie jeebies. If you have a problem with the sight of blood, I caution you that there are some disturbing sequences in the movie.

The Academy's actor awards tend to go to actors in two types of role:

1.Psychopath- No Country for Old Men, The Usual Suspects, There Will Be Blood, Training Day, Silence of the Lambs.

2.Mentally Disabled, Social or Physical Handicap, overcomes great adversity or discrimination- Shine, As Good as It Gets, A Beautiful Mind, Ray, Scent of a Woman, Capote, Philadelphia, The Pianist, A Beautiful Life.

Randy definitely has a handicap, and last year was the year of the psychopath, with both Daniel Day Lewis, and Javier Bardem winning Oscar.

I think you will enjoy it and I hope this review was helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon June 1, 2011
Rourke is indeed very good as a aging wrestler disintegrating before
our eyes. And there are some beautifully shot sequences.

But there's also a lot of hokum, especially in the failed relationship
with his daughter, and the stripper played by Marisa Tomei, who is
trapped in a similar downward spiral to Rourke, and may be his only
hope, simply doesn't have the depth to balance him.

For me, a good, solid movie, but not the masterpiece a lot of critics
claimed, at least on first viewing.

I'm a fan of Aronofsky's, but I found this the least compelling of his
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2009
After all the hype and award nominations, you'd think it would be an academy performance; Rourke still couldn't act his way outta' a paper bag!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 28, 2009
How good is Mickey Rourke in this movie ? I had trouble convincing my son that he isn't actually an old wrestler in real life. (And Marisa Tomei nails her part as well.)I highly recommend this movie - terrific character study.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2009
I have been a fan of professional wrestling since I was a little kid. As you get older, you start to hear the non "kayfabe" stuff that goes on and what life is like for theses guys as they drop down the ladder. This movie is those stories come to life in vivid detail. It was said that this was the story of a comeback of Mickey Rourke as much as it was of "Randy the Ram" and that is 100% right on the nose. If you want to see a movie that "Beyond the Mat" could only pretend to be, this is the one. Definitely a getter from the word go.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 29, 2009
In a world obsessed with following the famous or notorious through television, the web, or print media, only the prime of a "star's" life seems to be examined and pursued. There is even a reality show about the paparazzi and their boss as they discuss and giggle over images they have captured of the notorious.

Few films have dealt with the life lived by the mediocre or unwise star who did not provide for his old age. "Requiem for a Heavyweight", with an outstanding cast, is a black and white version of this sad tale.

"The Wrestler", takes gritty look at the decline of a man whose career was fueled by steroids, alcohol and painkillers. The pain and abuse damage his heart. Recovering, he reaches out to an estranged daughter and a stripper who is having her own age related problems. His efforts start to bear fruit when the old, high living behavior reinforces bad, old memories. He is still loved and respected by his fellow wrestlers. So, like a gladiator in Roman times, his return to the arena becomes his destiny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Wrestler / Le Lutteur (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
The Wrestler / Le Lutteur (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Mickey Rourke (Blu-ray - 2014)
CDN$ 14.96