Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Fun
I can't get enough Punch-Out! I've played it regularly since the first version came out on the NES and this is a perfect send up to the original game. It's enjoyable and challenging.

There could have been more new boxers, but overall it's still a great way to enjoy a nice arcade boxer.
Published on June 15 2009 by Hank

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same fun, but same game and bad wii controls...
As an amateur of punch-out since the very first arcade days of the original game, and since I played and beated every game of the series since, I was expecting a lot out of this game, thinking it would be great to play it on the wii.

I had a lot of fun to play against old enemies, but discovered very soon, that apart from the nice animations, this game plays...
Published on Jan. 6 2010 by The 4 String Paradox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same fun, but same game and bad wii controls..., Jan. 6 2010
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
As an amateur of punch-out since the very first arcade days of the original game, and since I played and beated every game of the series since, I was expecting a lot out of this game, thinking it would be great to play it on the wii.

I had a lot of fun to play against old enemies, but discovered very soon, that apart from the nice animations, this game plays the same as the super nintendo version, and i mean THE SAME. The same boxers make a comeback and use exactly the same moves, at the same tempo. So it is very easy for a long time fan to beat the first half of the game and become champion. It took me 3 hrs. And because of that, surprisingly, Soda popinski, super macho man, bald bull, and mr sandman were among the easiest.

It's a lot harder to beat the second half where you have to learn the new moves, and it was a lot of fun to play against Glass job wearing a head protector or hippo king strapping a steel plate on his weak belly, but then again, not enough boxers change that much and some are still very easy to beat.

Punch out for wii would have been a lot better if it had more new boxers and had an option to adjust the difficulty degree for old timers.

Last but not least, the wii controls are ackward. While you have to punch with the remote and the nunchuk, you still have to press "up" to aim at the face (which is not precise and tough on the fingers) or just swing in any direction to deliver a bodyblow. You can even cheat by holding the remote on your hips and move it a little to punch... no thrills that way. I would prefer, as i imagined it would be, if i had to swing up or down as in real life to do so. It's also often slow to react. it's that bad, it makes the game more enjoyable to play with the remote sideways as an old nintendo controller.

Still worth a visit since the old game they copied was great, but not for 60$. Fight night (Round 1 to 4) were a much better upgrade for the Punch Out series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Fun, June 15 2009
By 
Hank (SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
I can't get enough Punch-Out! I've played it regularly since the first version came out on the NES and this is a perfect send up to the original game. It's enjoyable and challenging.

There could have been more new boxers, but overall it's still a great way to enjoy a nice arcade boxer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I got the item in PAL format., June 27 2014
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
I got the item in PAL format, I live in Canada, the game don't work, I'm very upset, it wasn't noticed in the game details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Feb. 5 2013
By 
Gino Olivieri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Great game, easy to play, the graphics are clean and easy to see. the game is straight forward and an easy play too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed. My husband who is blind lovesthis game, Jan. 21 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Extremely disappointed. My husband who is blind lovesthis game, one of the few he can play. It came in PAL format, I live in Canada and would not have purchased if I had known. And I can't find a copy in NSTC to replace it cheap enough. It should be stated in the description or title would be better what format the game is in. This really sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sent PAL version., Jan. 20 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Sent me the PAL version of the game.
No where in the listing did it specify it was PAL version. Even the box art used was the NA version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punch out, May 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
My son says it's exactly what he wanted. So he's happy and satisfied with it. Thank you for your help in getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Speedy Delivery, Nov. 9 2014
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Got here so fast it was like they brought it right over. Kids absolutely loved it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PAL COPY ITS FUKD, Jan. 12 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Got PAL, good thing I have a modded Wii N word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, Dec 18 2014
By 
Michele Hardy (Smithville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition (Video Game)
Doesn't work on North American consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition
Punch-Out!! - Wii Standard Edition by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
CDN$ 59.99 CDN$ 54.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews