Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game sequel ever!
Waited for this game for 2 years since the sequel was announced, the game does not disappoint.
Most of the issues and shortcomings of the first brilliant game were addressed by the developers at Bioware.
All the missions in this game are very varied by their settings and objectives.
The side missions are better than the main mission; graphics are the best...
Published on April 4 2010 by guyfromcanada

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 2 and Windows 7/64 bit
This game is fine, but on Windows 7 64 bit, the bypass puzzle using the mouse is sped up so much that it is impossible to play, so that parts of the game become unplayable due to the fact that you are stalled at certain stages. You need to use the bypass to progress in the game. There are no known patches for this glitch, so basically, I have shelved this game.
Published on Sept. 18 2010 by Ozzie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game sequel ever!, April 4 2010
By 
guyfromcanada (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (Video Game)
Waited for this game for 2 years since the sequel was announced, the game does not disappoint.
Most of the issues and shortcomings of the first brilliant game were addressed by the developers at Bioware.
All the missions in this game are very varied by their settings and objectives.
The side missions are better than the main mission; graphics are the best seen on the 360.
The combat system is much improved and closer to Gears of Wars.
Some of the RPG aspects have been diluted; hopefully this will be addressed in the third game.
The story line was great and very compelling and set-ups the final battle with the Reapers.
For me, as a power player who goes through every possible areas of the game, it took me 35 hours to complete the game.
The game is shorter than the first game; I understand that because of the shortage issue with the DVD setup of the 360, at two discs it was already stretching the 360 glaring storage shortcomings.
My hope is that for the third game, Bioware ignores the storage capacity of the 360 and gives us much longer game with all of the ideas and improvements that they will make after creating this game.
I just cannot wait for the third game,
In the meantime, I am going through another playthrough of this fantastic game on the insanity difficulty level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2 is for twice as good, Jan. 31 2010
By 
Tom Douglas (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (Video Game)
Mass Effect 2 is a big improvement on the original, which itself was very good, although a little flawed.

Bioware have moved the game forward by tackling the flaws, and full credit to them for that.

You will notice:
- Vastly improved graphics. The overall 'look' is the same, but it has a lot more polish, and is more immersive as a result
- Smoother gameplay. The action is more fluid and more immediate. They have probably made 50 different tiny tweaks which add up to a big leap forward.
- Less customisation. This might be a downer for some, but it makes for a slicker experience. The essentials are there, it just interferes less with gameplay.

You can import your character from the original which gives the sense of it being more of a second chapter than a sequel, although as noted the graphics and gameplay have leapt forward.

More immersive, more real, slicker, faster, smoother, this is a very very worthy sequel.

Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel, Feb. 22 2010
By 
Laurent Bourgault-Roy (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ever since I finished the first Mass Effect, I had been waiting anxiously for the release of this sequel. If you ever wondered if it was worth it, let me tell you : it totally is. The story is as great as ever, the action is even more fast paced than before, and most of the annoying point of the first installement have been removed. There is no more boring side quest consisting of driving aimlessly the mako on a featureless planet (or worse, full of moutains and cliffs). And there is no more endless elevator either.

If you liked the first one, I highly recommend that you buy this game. However, if you haven't played the first one, I suggest that you buy Mass Effect 1 first, as it will allow to enjoy the story of this installement much more. The big strength of Mass Effect is in its interactive storytelling, and playing this game without playing the first one will most certainly result in a crippled experience. If you do buy the first one, I recommended that you buy the PC version, as it seem to have a better interface.

An excellent game. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very rare example of a sequel better than the original., Feb. 21 2010
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (Video Game)
Mass effect 2 is one of those games who just comes out and grabs you. The story, and voice acting are at par with the best animated sci-fi movies in existence. The game play is simple and fun, and the entire pace moves forward in a way that makes you want to play for one more minute...hours at a time.

The plot is pretty simple, you are Commander Sheppard you've been brought back to live after being dead for two years. And your former enemies are your current sponsors. You work for an organization where the ends justify the means and the ends is the survival and dominance of humanity at any cost. You may choose the path of amorality or morality, or you may choose to play a little of both.

The game's best feature to me is the fact that the choices you made in the original game come back in this one which adds to the original's replay value and the game's overall immersion factor. The second best feature is the revamped paragon and renegade system. In the previous game the paragon option was the "boyscout" route and the Renegade choices made the character appear like a brutish jerk. Now, the paragon option makes the character seem more fair minded and respectful of life while the Renegade is more of a anti-hero type character who gets the job done whatever the cost.

There are a few weak areas in the game notably the exploration and resource gathering system and the weapon which seems to be you get either a quick firing weapon with little power and high ammo or a high powered weapon with slow fire and low ammo capacity. It could be a lot worse, and these small weaknesses don't take anything away from a great game. Overall this is the best sci-fi game in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (Video Game)
One of the greatest games ever made.

The story is absolutely fantastic. This is a must-own game for any gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Came with everything that was mentioned on the description. Awesome game, best in the series, and the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 2, April 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (Video Game)
I choose the rating of 4 stars because this game definently deserves it. The gameplay was great for the year it was made, and the story was very interactive, in the way if u didnt do something with your teamates they could die in the final mission. But one of the main reasons i decided to get this was, after playing the first one, and falling in love with the story line, so continuing on with that was a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 2, March 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (DVD-ROM)
I haven't played this game yet but I know I will enjoy it that is
the reason why I bought this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 2, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (DVD-ROM)
Have'nt played it yet but it looks like it will be great if it is better than the first one. Was told by friends that the second one is better, so I went out and bought Mass Effect 3 in preparation when I finish the first 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game!, Feb. 13 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 (DVD-ROM)
The game play is brilliant. The environments are engaging, If you like the sci-fi genre than this game is perfect. The graphics are far ahead of the xbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacfb0f00)

This product

Mass Effect 2
Mass Effect 2 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews