Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game sequel ever!
Waited for this game for 2 years since the sequel was announced, the game does not disappoint.
Most of the issues and shortcomings of the first brilliant game were addressed by the developers at Bioware.
All the missions in this game are very varied by their settings and objectives.
The side missions are better than the main mission; graphics are the best...
Published on April 4 2010 by guyfromcanada

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Bioware
I am sorry, but it doesn't matter how good your graphics are, the story was lame, the game was easy, and everything was formulaic. Bioware just takes the same old game, re-skins it, changes the abilities, and repackages it.

The gaming industry is becoming entirely lame. Are we really so lazy that we prefer games that are "Press A and you win!"?

Sorry...
Published on Nov. 18 2010 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game sequel ever!, April 4 2010
By 
guyfromcanada (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Waited for this game for 2 years since the sequel was announced, the game does not disappoint.
Most of the issues and shortcomings of the first brilliant game were addressed by the developers at Bioware.
All the missions in this game are very varied by their settings and objectives.
The side missions are better than the main mission; graphics are the best seen on the 360.
The combat system is much improved and closer to Gears of Wars.
Some of the RPG aspects have been diluted; hopefully this will be addressed in the third game.
The story line was great and very compelling and set-ups the final battle with the Reapers.
For me, as a power player who goes through every possible areas of the game, it took me 35 hours to complete the game.
The game is shorter than the first game; I understand that because of the shortage issue with the DVD setup of the 360, at two discs it was already stretching the 360 glaring storage shortcomings.
My hope is that for the third game, Bioware ignores the storage capacity of the 360 and gives us much longer game with all of the ideas and improvements that they will make after creating this game.
I just cannot wait for the third game,
In the meantime, I am going through another playthrough of this fantastic game on the insanity difficulty level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2 is for twice as good, Jan. 31 2010
By 
Tom Douglas "TD" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Mass Effect 2 is a big improvement on the original, which itself was very good, although a little flawed.

Bioware have moved the game forward by tackling the flaws, and full credit to them for that.

You will notice:
- Vastly improved graphics. The overall 'look' is the same, but it has a lot more polish, and is more immersive as a result
- Smoother gameplay. The action is more fluid and more immediate. They have probably made 50 different tiny tweaks which add up to a big leap forward.
- Less customisation. This might be a downer for some, but it makes for a slicker experience. The essentials are there, it just interferes less with gameplay.

You can import your character from the original which gives the sense of it being more of a second chapter than a sequel, although as noted the graphics and gameplay have leapt forward.

More immersive, more real, slicker, faster, smoother, this is a very very worthy sequel.

Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very rare example of a sequel better than the original., Feb. 21 2010
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Mass effect 2 is one of those games who just comes out and grabs you. The story, and voice acting are at par with the best animated sci-fi movies in existence. The game play is simple and fun, and the entire pace moves forward in a way that makes you want to play for one more minute...hours at a time.

The plot is pretty simple, you are Commander Sheppard you've been brought back to live after being dead for two years. And your former enemies are your current sponsors. You work for an organization where the ends justify the means and the ends is the survival and dominance of humanity at any cost. You may choose the path of amorality or morality, or you may choose to play a little of both.

The game's best feature to me is the fact that the choices you made in the original game come back in this one which adds to the original's replay value and the game's overall immersion factor. The second best feature is the revamped paragon and renegade system. In the previous game the paragon option was the "boyscout" route and the Renegade choices made the character appear like a brutish jerk. Now, the paragon option makes the character seem more fair minded and respectful of life while the Renegade is more of a anti-hero type character who gets the job done whatever the cost.

There are a few weak areas in the game notably the exploration and resource gathering system and the weapon which seems to be you get either a quick firing weapon with little power and high ammo or a high powered weapon with slow fire and low ammo capacity. It could be a lot worse, and these small weaknesses don't take anything away from a great game. Overall this is the best sci-fi game in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest game ever, May 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
That about sums it up. But the Mass Effects are a trilogy and i strongly recommend doing Mass Effect 1 before this one.

It is a Space Opera, it has story and fighting. You can put it on casual fighter (easy mode) and enjoy the superb story unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
One of the greatest games ever made.

The story is absolutely fantastic. This is a must-own game for any gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect 2, April 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I choose the rating of 4 stars because this game definently deserves it. The gameplay was great for the year it was made, and the story was very interactive, in the way if u didnt do something with your teamates they could die in the final mission. But one of the main reasons i decided to get this was, after playing the first one, and falling in love with the story line, so continuing on with that was a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost good at the first game, Jan. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of the bioware series, however I was a little torn when EA acquired the company. The ending of the third game was so bad I was emotionally injured by it. However the second game still had some of the spirit of the first game and for that I give it a 5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Commander “Bess” Shepard and this is the second part of my war with the Reapers, Oct. 18 2012
By 
Omnes - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
After Mass Effect 1's success, Bioware had a tough task in making a second part that would follow every actions that the players took, but also a convincing story that still had believable characters, awesome acting, excellent production design values, and an improvement over some of the first game gameplay weaknesses.

So after two and a quarter years of work, they released their work and I think it is a great job.

In this second part of the Shepard story, my Commander “Bess” Shepard dies at the hand of the Collectors, until Cerberus, a pro-human rights organization, resuscitates her, giving her a stronger and more dangerous body tn she did, and offers her a position among their crew. So as she fights the Collectors on a new and stronger space ship, while still trying to prove the Reapers' existence, Commander Shepard has to recruit her former and new comrades for her mission, rekindle or have a new romance, and reconsider life after being dead for two years.

Visually the game is sharper than ever. The character designs are awesome, and the models look closer to reality than before. As usual, you can either play a male of female Shepard,, use your Mass Effect 1 saved game to import your Shepard's actions into the second game, but you can also customize your character's face, since Shepard has died, and either give his former or new powers (ex: going from Soldier to Engineer). Even though you can decide to keep your former powers, what's awesome is that you can decide to add an extra power that one of your teammates employs, even if his work has nothing to do with yours. You just have to complete his personal quest and you can get his powers if you succeed in getting his loyalty. And you better consider it an important asset because the more loyalty you receive from your mates, the more chance you will have to find them still alive after the final mission.

About your crew, I was glad to get my former mates back like Garrus, Joker, Tali, along with new people like Thane, Samara, Mordin, Jack, Jacob, Miranda and Wrex. Of the non-playable crew, I was glad to have Joker back, but also of having EDI, an artificial intelligence in control of the ship, but whose relation with Joker gives out hilarious situations. And of the new additions, I can say that each character, whether I used one more than the other, brings out richer scenes and incidents than in the precedent game. Not only on the field, but also on the Normandy's deck. For my romance, I was happy that they finally consider other alien relationships with humans. That gave me the occasion to have a romance with Garrus, whose reactions to this new way of life makes him say funny quotes. Among some of the characters you get to interact with, you have scenes with Cerberus's boss, the Illusive Man, voiced by Martin Sheen, who gives a perfect performance. As usual, Jennifer Hale, Mark Meer, Steve Blum, Seth Green, and all the other actors give excellent performances.

The gameplay follows the RPG-adventure part of the game, although this time it is more action oriented. As such, no more rides for you on the Mako. You get to the location the action happens on the planet right after a loading time, and you dive right into the action and story scenes. As of your character interactions, your level explorations still allow you to find new content about the places you visit, or weapons to help you fight, but your characters now move as they speak, giving them more life to their scenes. Not only that, you can also do Paragon or Renegade actions during your dialogues. For instance, if a crew member is telling you that he wants to use a dangerous weapon on the enemy, you can, if the paragon command appears on the screen, convince him to not rely on that tactic. Of course, if the opposite happens and you want a certain rag journalist to shut up, you can do so if the Renegade symbol appears. Of your spaceship explorations, you can still find resources thanks to a probe that you launch on a specific position on the planet. But be aware that it is also useful if you need to find a proper location to a side-quest if EDI catches weird signals on the planet.

For the music and sound effects, they are still as top notch as in the first game. Playing the game with a Dolby 5.1 system is essential if you want to fully experience the game's effects. For the Dowloadable Content, it is interesting enough to use it since one of them offers you to use a Bounty Hunter, while others offer you extra quests whose consequences will follow up to the start of the final game. Whose story brought a polarizing reaction from the fans this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites!, Jan. 11 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Mass Effect 2 improves on it's predecessor in almost every way. Although it's more of an action game than an rpg, it's story is much more intriguing than the first. The gameplay is so much more fun, tactical and player friendly than the first as well. Hopefully Mass Effect 3 will be just as amazing! While maintaining an interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, July 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Freakin amazing game. I have all three and can't say enough good things about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition
Mass Effect 2 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
CDN$ 20.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews