Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is the picture of Old Man Kangaroo..."
At the close of WWI, a baby is born with a decrepit, aged body. His horrified father abandons him and little Benjamin grows up - and grows younger - in the boarding house of his loving foster mother. Over the next 85 years, he experiences life and love and grief, all while continuing to grow younger.

I liked this movie and thought it was very well made. It's...
Published on March 10 2009 by Kona

versus
9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Prententious copy cat of Forrest Gump
Never has a movie tried harder or was groomed for Oscar glory more than the Curious Case of Benjamin Button. It tried so hard, yet failed so miserably.

The movie isn't exactly a copy cat of Forrest Gump but it borrows heavily from the sense of time and place of its predecessor and other than a few scenes (namely the fire fight in the Atlantic), falls flat...
Published on May 13 2009 by D. Los


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is the picture of Old Man Kangaroo...", March 10 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
At the close of WWI, a baby is born with a decrepit, aged body. His horrified father abandons him and little Benjamin grows up - and grows younger - in the boarding house of his loving foster mother. Over the next 85 years, he experiences life and love and grief, all while continuing to grow younger.

I liked this movie and thought it was very well made. It's long and meanders slowly through Benjamin's life, which is really pretty much like anyone else's life except that he was born old and then gets younger - a stretch of the imagination, but the aging is so well done that I could accept it. The episodic nature of the film made it seem like one of those movie trailers that shows a peek at an exciting scene then fades to black, shows another bit of excitement and fades to black, and it went on like that for 160 minutes. Since Brad Pitt's make-up is so convincing at many stages of life, I really only felt like it was him in one or two short vignettes when he appeared as his actual age (and then he was so handsome!). He gives a very touching and understated performance.

Cate Blanchett plays the young girl who meets him when he's old; their paths cross often over the years and they both meet in the middle at one point. She's very good and also ages convincingly to her eighties. The movie is a bit like "Forrest Gump" in that it shows America changing during one naive and vulnerable man's life. The theme is love enduring over the years and the inevitable losses we all face; I sobbed several times. It's a very thoughtful and gentle movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, June 6 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always loved this movie. Interesting and I see stuff I missed each time I watch it. A must for any Brad Pitt fan and I'm super happy it's now a part of my collection. I could watch this over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Benjamin, some thoughts, Aug. 13 2012
By 
John Tatley "enjoyer" (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
excellent service, I got it as a replacement. Reverse aging idea is unique and well done. Watch it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars have towatch it again before I, July 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
have to watch it again before I decide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good movie worth a watch but i replaced it cause my dog ate it, it was a borrowed movie. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable Facsimile, Nov. 14 2009
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
While this movie, for the purists in our midst, probably doesn't do justice to the original story - they rarely do - it does succeed in making the point that drove Fitzgerald to write the story in the first place. As a fantasy, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" speaks to the terrible insecurity he felt in his life being trapped in a loveless, sottish marriage to the mentally-deranged Zelda. This movie captures that elusive essence of believing that somewhere out there in fantasyland there is a chance that circumstances will conspire to give you another chance of getting it right. Like "Forest Gump" before it, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is one such fairy tale that lends itself well to a Hollywood script where certain liberties can be taken in modernizing the story. With a little cinematic magic, a lot that is seemingly cruel and wrong in this old world gets put right in a way that is both entertaining and thought-provoking. The storyline is creative, the characters interact well, and there are some good one-liners. I was also taken with the notion that this production subtly promotes the notion that callow, immature men often seek the embrace of older women who remind them of their mothers. Overall, a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Curious Case of Benjamin Button: What an amazing film!, Aug. 1 2009
By 
Aaron B. (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
When I first heard about this movie it seemed interesting. Being old and being a baby are so similar in so many ways that I never really noticed until I saw this movie. The acting was amazing, Brad Pitts performance of his career (next to Job Blakc). Cate Blanchett did another amazing acting job (see her in the Elizabeth movies and you will love her!) The story line and the histroy the can be seen unfolded in the movie was great too. And this one part where they show how every little thing is connected in some way was amazing! One of the number of best moments of the film. Yes it seemed a bit long and dragged a little but over all its one of my new favorites. A great message in it about love, living and even when faced with age and even youth you can make dreams happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in makeup effects, June 7 2009
By 
Matthew King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film follows the sensational and improbable case of Benjamin Button, a freak baby who is born aged and gets younger with time. We follow Benjamin as he struggles to understand who he is and what's his place in this world.

This film is a very moving and emotional portrait of life as an outsider and as someone who doesn't belong. Brad Pitt delivers perhaps his best performance ever. There's some great interaction scenes and emotional portraits of people who seem to suffer in their own way just as much as Pitt's character does. It's painfully long at 2hrs40mns but otherwise a fine film well worth a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Movie!!!, June 27 2009
By 
This is without a doubt one of the best movie of 2008. It is about life and how it feels to be different from others. I enjoy it as much as Milk, Doubt and The Reader. It is a wonderful story even if it is a long movie. I enjoyed it so much, but it is not for the hyperactive people or the ones who are suffering of attention defenciency syndrome. Brad Pitt seems to be getting better and better at his craft. Cate Blanchet once again proves she is one of the best actress. If you like to relax and have time to think of what is going on in a movie... this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benjamine Button Great, Oct. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I almost think life should be like this. I have seen it twice and will watch it again. \great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Curious Case Of Benjamin Butto (DVD)
CDN$ 12.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews