Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Film
One of my favorite films of all times, The Usual Suspects is an exeptionally strong ensemble cast work. In particular Gabriel Byrne's cynical and beaten down reformed criminal gone bad role is played so ernestly that you forget you are watching a film. Kevin Spacey's Verbal Gint character is terrific to watch as well. Benicio del Toro steals scenes with his bizzare choice...
Published on Feb. 22 2003 by x_bruce

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, no extras...
What can I say about 'The Usual Suspects' that hasn't already been said? The star-heavy cast is excellent, the story is gripping and intricate and unlike other "surprise ending" tales, this one is well worth watching again.

The video and audio quality is very good on this Blu-ray version.

However, the disc is completely lacking in extras. Not even so...
Published on Jan. 28 2009 by Mark Demeny


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Film, Feb. 22 2003
By 
x_bruce (Oak Park, ILLINOIS United States) - See all my reviews
One of my favorite films of all times, The Usual Suspects is an exeptionally strong ensemble cast work. In particular Gabriel Byrne's cynical and beaten down reformed criminal gone bad role is played so ernestly that you forget you are watching a film. Kevin Spacey's Verbal Gint character is terrific to watch as well. Benicio del Toro steals scenes with his bizzare choice of character in an otherwise nothing role. Even Steven Baldwin turns in a good performance as does Kevin Pollack in a somewhat different role than he usually plays.
All the acting is terrific and more importantly, the script is nearly flawless as is the direction. The plot moves along in it's multi-threaded fashion while keeping viewers entertained and involved enough to pay attention.
The ending will either annoy or delight you depending on how you view films. I loved it and on second viewing the forshadowing of events are right in front of you like a good murder mystery although The Usual Suspects is much more than a mystery film or buddy flick or crime caper film while being a little bit of each.
It's great to see a film that isn't high budget and relies on acting and a good script to move the film along. Although embraced by hollywood this is as independent as you will find in it's easy tone and believable characters.
There is simply nothing worth complaining about. Get this DVD, it's additonal content is a lot of fun to watch and helps understanding The Usuual Suspects as more than a film but a project and labor of love that works on all fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, no extras..., Jan. 28 2009
By 
Mark Demeny - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say about 'The Usual Suspects' that hasn't already been said? The star-heavy cast is excellent, the story is gripping and intricate and unlike other "surprise ending" tales, this one is well worth watching again.

The video and audio quality is very good on this Blu-ray version.

However, the disc is completely lacking in extras. Not even so much as a directors commentary. If the studio had actually put some effort into this release (commentary, behind the scenes, discussion with the writer, etc.) , I could easily see it getting a 5-star review - the movie is good enough to deserve that kind of effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Oct. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Usual Suspects (DVD)
Many people said in the review "I guessed the trick ending almost as the movie started" but i'm pretty sure the only way one could guess the ending is knowing prior that their is some sort of plot twist present. If you are watching the movie with no prior knowledge it is far from predictable. I watched this movie totally unaware of the plot and found it very interesting. I wouldn't classify it as a boring film but their isn't a lot of action so it depends on your personal preference. I think the dialogue is interesting enough to hold attention. This is a movie that you'd probably watch 2-3 times, just to fully understand the content but aside from that this movie has no replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you guessing., May 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good movie with an excellent story line and exciting.

Starts out fast showing the end and then slows down in the middle.

The outcome is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie The Usual Suspects, April 28 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I actually had this movie on VHS and it has always been one of my favourites. On Blue Ray it is much clearer. The surprise ending
is so great. All the actors are superb but Kevin Spacey is really great. Every time I watch it, I notice something subtle that leads to the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, March 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie was as great as I remembered it and the picture quality was superb. I couldn't have been happier with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing moving, decent quality, March 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie is a classic, and a definite must see. If you have not seen it yet, it is defiantly worth the price.

The movie is from 1995, so the quality is not really Blu-ray, but just as good as a normal DVD (if not slightly better)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Usual Suspects [Blu-ray], March 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best movies of the 90's. its a movie that can be watched and watched. Awsome characters and storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always loved this movie. Kevin Bacon is incredible, the story is so twisted & complicated, you don't know what to believe at first. The ending is manificent. An altogether incredible way to spend two hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars intreaguing intricate yarn, Sept. 20 2012
By 
Rick M. Pilotte "Author, artist, and solver o... (Victoria BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Usual Suspects (VHS Tape)
This was a very interesting story right from the word go. I had to leave part way through and found myself already thinking about where it was going and couldn't wait to get back to it. I haven't had this much anticipation about a movie in a while.
I suppose it must be hard to make a crime show without violence, coarse language or gore but by and large this one did rest on it's storytelling merrits without overdoing it in these areas. But you wouldn't show this to a younger audience. But for this reason alone I had to give it a 4 star. I think a good crime yarn can have these negative aspects absent. Still like I say it was pretty tame in this department and stood very well on the story alone, and when there was this aspect it fit and wasn't gratuitous.. Frankly this aspect was virtualy a non factor, exept in the intrinsic nature of crime itself.
That said I found this a gripping yarn that was intreaguing and interesting the entire show. I can't wait to watch it again, but don't want to watch it too soon as the way it unfolded was just easy enough to follow, but quick enough to keep you one your toes trying to keep up...and wonder if your were following it as good as you needed to. I can't wait to watch it again knowing what is revealed at the end.
I suspect upon closer examimnation it's feasability might fall apart. Could the villain really be who he was, or does the story break apart upon closer examination as all too often does in this kind of intricate yarn. But the ending and the "opening of the eyes" was pretty kool. I consider this a keeper and will watch it again sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Usual Suspects
The Usual Suspects (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews