Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Action Movies Out There
For all of you who say this movie isn't worth it, this movie has been in my collection for some time now, and every once and a while I pull it out and watch it over and over. It is one of the best action movies out there...and its a break from the same old predictible movie that everyone always gets tired of. It gets five stars from me because it touches you and...
Published on Feb. 1 2004 by funkie_munkie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie for the price........
I have always liked this movie. I think it's interesting, fun & it's got some really good actors in it. I would never pay more than $10 for it, and now I get it for $6.99 and for that reason, it is in my collection.
Once again we have a movie where some hunters hunt down a human instead of an animal. A bum that lives on the streets named Mason (Ice T) gets...
Published on Jan. 19 2004 by Elite14


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Action Movies Out There, Feb. 1 2004
By 
"funkie_munkie" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
For all of you who say this movie isn't worth it, this movie has been in my collection for some time now, and every once and a while I pull it out and watch it over and over. It is one of the best action movies out there...and its a break from the same old predictible movie that everyone always gets tired of. It gets five stars from me because it touches you and disgusts you because they hunt this man. It's a very exciting movie, and it leaves you at the end of your seat, which is a lot more I can say for some of the newer movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie for the price........, Jan. 19 2004
By 
Elite14 (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
I have always liked this movie. I think it's interesting, fun & it's got some really good actors in it. I would never pay more than $10 for it, and now I get it for $6.99 and for that reason, it is in my collection.
Once again we have a movie where some hunters hunt down a human instead of an animal. A bum that lives on the streets named Mason (Ice T) gets approached by a man (Charles S. Dutton) who works at a shelter about a possible job opportunity. The job is being a hunting guide for a group of hunters. The leader of the hunters is Rutger Hauer, who is once again playing the bad guy. Mason is led to believe this is just a job. He is then led to a cabin in the middle of nowhere and everyone sits down to dinner. They drink a bit, converse and you get to meet the characters. Mason soon learns, however, that he is the prey. He wakes up in the morning to Dutton holding a pistol in his face and Hauer explaining what the game is.
The game is that the hunters (Hauer, Dutton, Gary Busey, & F. Murray Abraham, John C. McGinley, & William McNamara) will eat a leasurely breakfast while Mason can run for his life. After breakfast, the hunters will then go hunt their prey.
It's kind of an interesting plotline. I know it's been done over and over in movies, but the characters are what makes this movie fun. Each one has their own personality. Hauer plays the cool bad guy. Dutton plays off him very well and tricks Ice T. Busey plays the insane role better than anyone. McGinley makes a good, big Texan. And Abraham & McNamara play a good psycho-father, good-son combo. The Ice T character is really hurt by the fact that Ice T can't act his way out of a paper sack. He has never been a good actor. He never will be a good actor. And I don't see why all these rappers think they need to be in movies. If they have talent (Ice Cube isn't too bad depending on the role), that's fine. Ice T doesn't have any acting talent.
But, you don't watch this movie to see acting talent. You watch it to be entertained for two hours. The movie definately delivers in that area. It's a testosterone filled ride that most guys should love and will purchase for the low price it is selling at.
This is a pretty bare-bones DVD. It's got a trailer and cast biographies. That's about it. Kinda disappointing, but expected from a movie like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Jan. 5 2012
This review is from: Surviving the Game (DVD)
Fast shipping, and the product was in excellent condition. Would do business with this vender again in the future. Quick and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Action Movies Ever Made, July 8 2009
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is simply a great movie of the action genre. Superb entertainment that is not only action packed, but the storyline and character development in this film is far superior to your typical action movie.

The cast in this film is also above average. Ice-T does a wonderful job displaying a decent man down on his luck that is forced to defend himself against a slew of recreational criminals and psychopaths in an isolated mountain retreat. Rutger Hauer and Charles Dutton are devilishly evil as the two psychopathic leaders of the homicidal game they organized, and Gary Busey is simply terrifying as the wacko psychiatrist. F. Murray Abraham is excellent as the arrogant "big shot" who gets in way over his head and sacrifices the life of his son in the process.

Kudos also have to go out to the director, Ernest R. Dickerson, and the screenwriter, Eric Bernt, who created a fast paced action film that nevertheless had sometimes moving or very intense dialogue, again something that you rarely find in an action film. They can both be very proud of this project.

If you are looking for a great action film that offers something special, then "Surviving the Game" is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good for about 20 minutes, Dec 5 2002
By A Customer
I can see why this movie isn't very expensive, despite all the good actors like Gary Busey, Rutger Hauer, and John C. McCinley. No, Ice-T is NOT a good actor.... But, back to the movie review. The first 20 minutes or so is pretty boring. Just Ice T's life as a homeless man. Loses his dog and is 97 year old friend.... Then he gets what he thinks might be a good job as a hunting guide in the wilderness of Oregon or Washington or somewhere up there. Then the movie gets good for a while. The whole dinner scene is great. Gary Busey is perfect here. Of course, Ice T hurts the scene with his bad acting. The next morning they sort of let him know that's he will be the prey they'll be hunting and they give him a head start. The movie is still good at this point. Unfortunately, the first person who dies is Gary Busey. He was the best part of the whole movie. I think he should have lasted longer. He could have saved the rest of this movie. After his death, the movie ...doesn't get better. It's just the rest of them chasing Ice T around, he's setting booby traps, same old stuff. If it weren't for Rutger Hauer, I probably never would have finished watching this movie. It is interesting to see Charles Dutton as a bad guy chasing a black guy. I never thought I'd see that. Bottom line: Get the dvd for under 10 dollars at most places, watch the first 45 minutes or so, then trade it in at some used cd/dvd store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome..., Dec 20 2001
By 
Kryptonium (Auxvasse, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This movie flat out rocks... And ICE T is the star!!! This is B class movie at it's finest (Minus of course Army of Darkness). Ice T rocks in this movie. I love the part when a snipes a guy from hundreds of yards away with a shotgun! This movie is great to watch with friends. Of course, if you dont have a sense of humor, and think your better than everyone else, this movie is not for you. You wouldn't be able to appreciate the quality humor involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Surviving the Lame, Nov. 1 2001
By 
J. P. Nowlin "Jape" (DC, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pity must have moved me to give this sorry movie even one star. It sucks, period. Please don't waste your time. Rehashed plots, horrible direction, script, and acting. Wow, I take the one star back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lights, Camera, Action!!, Oct. 26 2001
By A Customer
I saw this movie for the first time about a year ago, and I never get bored with it. It's full of action, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I thought Ice-T played an excellent role. If you're looking for adventure, try this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not "The Searchers," but lots of fun, Oct. 10 2001
By A Customer
Albeit in a somewhat campy vein. I think I like the dialogue of "Surviving the Game" more than any other aspect of the film. I guess I'm a dialogue kind of guy. I love Richard Crenna's speeches in "First Blood," Arnold's in "Conan"--I walk around quoting them--(how's that for honesty, folks!)--and I quote from this movie often. Rutger Hauer delivers his lines as only he can ("consume it--slowly"), Gary Busey is, well, Gary Busey ("the purity of your primal essence"), and F. Murray Abraham ("four HUNDRED dollars"), Charles Dutton ("you don't want to be slow tomorrow"), John C. McGinley ("don't take my shot") et al., put in honest performances what am I talking about here.
BASICALLY I want to buy this video because every time it's on TV they censor it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tries Too Hard...But Does the Job, Aug. 27 2001
This movie is worth seeing for Ice T alone. He's brilliant. As an actor, he's not technically skilled...but he definitely gets himself into his role and does a lot more with his natural ability than many actors could do after years and years of training. As a modern day adaptation of "The Most Dangerous Game" (which is a truly phenomenal film -- if you watched this one, you should check that earlier film out -- you will be amazed for several reasons), this film shoots itself in the foot by giving the "game" away in the opening titles. But it makes up for that by developing the story of the central character played by Ice T and using that character as a more deeply imagined hero. As Mason, a way down and out homeless man, Ice T is very convincing. He seems to have been driven nearly wild even as the film opens...living on the streets surviving like an animal. Willing to stop at little or nothing to stay alive. But then life turns dramatically sour even for Mason and he wants a way out. Ready to kill himself, he is pulled back from the brink and offered a chance to get on his feet. Mason is a fighter and he accepts the offer. Grudgingly...but with the appreciation that this could be his only chance. He is then brought to a wilderness cabin thinking he will act as a hunting guide. The crew of actors who play the hunting group are amazing -- all of them have made careers out of being wonderful sociopaths. And at times, things get a little hammy but director Ernest Dickerson -- making a very interesting choice of projects here -- keeps things from going too far over the top. In no time at all, the hunt is on and Mason realizes what his role is in it. He must survive the challenge using his wits and his will. From that point on, the movie runs at a breakneck pace -- pausing shortly to catch its breath. Toward the end, there is one major continuity goof (night in the wilderness lasts only about 10 minutes and then the sun appears again approaching midday)...but you can ignore it and pay attention to the action. That's what films like this are about afterall. Enjoy the ride and don't examine it too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews