Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first season, June 16 2009
By 
This show just keeps getting better. This second season builds on the strengths of the first season the chemistry of the cast is obvious from the beginning. This show has an incredible mix of action, comedy and drama. As far as I'm concerned its probably the best show nobody knows about north of the border.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Want Characters? You Got 'Em!, Aug. 12 2009
By 
Sheldon A. Wiebe "captainaverage" (Calgary, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Burn Notice is the USA Netowrk's top-rated series. Under the tagline, "Characters wanted," USA has put together a lineup of shows that put oddball variations on classic characters [Burn Notice's Michael Westen is MacGyver as a spy] in interesting locales and/or situations.

Westen has been "burned" - essentially, fired, and stuck in Miami, where his mother and brother live. Not his first choice.

For the first season, Michael was working to figure out why he was burned and who burned him so that he could attempt to get back into field. He was aided by his off/on lover, Fiona, and Sam Axe, a former Navy Seal with whom he'd worked in the past. He also began helping people out with their problems [like being scammed, threatened, or blackmailed, just or exampes] as a sidelinem hopefully to make a few bucks.

For season two, Michael was co-opted by a woman named Carla, whose timing frequently interfered with his helping others, but gave him someone to investigate in the hopes that her involvement woud lead him to the person[s] responsible for his burn notice - someone/thing she referred as Management.

Bruce Campbell [Sam], Gabrielle Anwar [Fiona] and Sharon Gless [Madeline Westen] are all in top form as Michael's "associates" and mother. Jeffrey Donovan gives Michael the heart and the indomitable spirit that keeps him focused on getting his burn notice lifted, while helping others [sometimes one of Sam's friends, or Maddy's, or even Fiona's - but usually strangers].

Throughout, Michael's highly entertaining voiceovers are a clinic in spycraft [though the instructions for creating his many improvised devices are, like MacGyver, again, missing a few essential details so the viewer won't blow himself up trying to build them at home].

The DVD set collects the twelve episodes of the show's second season and combines them with a number special features: three audio commentaries [informative and entertaining - these guys, like Joss Whedon, know how to give commentaries], a host of deleted scenes, Nixin' It Up [a featurette on creator Matt Nix's first ep as director for Do No Harm], and a funnier than average Gag Reel.

Grade: Season Two - A
Grade: Features - A-

Final Grade: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome show, good service, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got the show in just a week. Love the show, it is for everyone who likes action, humor and friendship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, Dec 30 2013
I love this series. Every season the writers and performers keep up the high standards. Season Two has one episode called "Bad Breaks" which is worth the price of the whole season. If you like action, drama, comedy and originality, this is the series for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT, June 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
we love this
it is in excellent condition - like new
I would recommend it to anyone who likes detective movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Drama Series, April 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like this series and plan on getting the other seasons. I have watched both season one and two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and leaves the viewer wanting more., Dec 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The amazing chemistry between the charactors from season one keeps developping and transpires on screen. Gifted actors working well together. Keep up the great work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, Nov. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not many people know about this show but all I can say is once I watched the first season....I was hooked! I love the humor and Jeffrey Donovan's skill in narrating his parts. That and I love guns and explosions....it's good to see a show like this with a somewhat cult following!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, Nov. 4 2011
If you like James Bond, you'll love this show. Plus it's a great blend of drama, comedy with a bit of romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for show 1 star for Blu Ray quality, Jan. 16 2011
By 
This review is from: Burn Notice: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am new to Burn Notice and was lucky enough to start watching season one this past fall. It was only available on the pay cable channels in Canada. However, Showcase channel has finally starting airing the seasons. It is addictive!

Burn Notice is the perfect blend of action and comedy. I had never seen Jeffrey Donovan in anything before Burn Notice, but he is terribly charismatic. You are going to love him. And the other members of his team, "Fi" played by Gabrielle Anwar and "Sam" played by the extremely funny Bruce Campbell (Xena/Hercules fans!), are magnificent as well.

After watching the 13 episodes of the first season, I couldn't wait for Showcase channel to slowly dole out the 16 episodes of the second season, and decided to buy the season on Blu Ray. BIG MISTAKE. The second season is fantastic. The episodes are tight, action packed and full of humour. Somehow, they have surpassed what they did in the first season.

The problem with the second season on Blu Ray, is that it is the worst quality Blu Ray I have ever seen produced. I have watched Burn Notice on a High Def channel, so I know that it can look like. Blu Ray should surpass it, but this edition does not. The film is grainy and the volume is spotty. It may possibly look worse than the SD edition.

Sadly, I did not know about the poor quality until I had opened the package and watched them. Since them, I surfed the 'net and found out that this is a known problem. In fact, Amazon US has stopped selling the BD version of Burn Notice. Additionally, 20th Century Fox did not produce the third season in Blu Ray -- and this is why.

This is a fantastic show and you will enjoy it immensely! Just save your pennies and buy the SD version. Don't waste your additional $$ on BD. It tanks. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf432e34)

This product

Burn Notice: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray]
Burn Notice: The Complete Second Season [Blu-ray] by Jeffrey Donovan (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 59.99 CDN$ 34.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews