Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Attraction same great movie now as when it came out!
Loved it when tt came out. Heard two women talking about Fatal Attraction immediately after its theatrical release back in 1987. The comment was "Every guy should see this who has ever thought about cheating!" Pretty good incentive to see it, for not being a 'tag line'! It delivered the punch. Message received. It hasn't got stale or trite in the years since. It's...
Published 8 months ago by P. B. Ewart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars He didn't mean to turn her on
Husband and father has an affair with a co-worker but as he expects to keep it as just an affair and dump her off when his family comes back, she won't let him. She then proceeds to make threats until she turns to murder to get her point across. Very realistic and very frightening sex thriller that opens eyes to the dangers of dramatic emmotions. Close is excellent as...
Published on Dec 24 1999 by thecynicalcritic


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Attraction same great movie now as when it came out!, Nov. 20 2013
By 
P. B. Ewart "Kingscrib" (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (DVD)
Loved it when tt came out. Heard two women talking about Fatal Attraction immediately after its theatrical release back in 1987. The comment was "Every guy should see this who has ever thought about cheating!" Pretty good incentive to see it, for not being a 'tag line'! It delivered the punch. Message received. It hasn't got stale or trite in the years since. It's still a great 'what if' thriller, for the guy who thinks he's got it all covered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Attraction: Be careful who you sleep with!, Aug. 10 2009
By 
Aaron B. (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (DVD)
What a movie. Who knew the this movie would be a blockbuster hit. Well it deservied it. It made ever man in America think twice before having an affair! If you liked Obsessed (2009) which I personaly think is a huge rip off of this you will love this 100 times more. Thrills, chills and if you wanna see a crazy women Glenn Close is just amazing and Michael Douglas seems like ever normal married man who gets caught up in this crazy bitches obsession. This is a movie I still enjoy, and will always enjoy one of my favorites! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Attraction (1987), Jan. 6 2004
By 
Clob Lane (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
Superb suspense flick has Michael Douglas as a man whose one night stand with a woman (Glenn Close) turns into a deadly nightmare when he wants to end the relationship with her and go back to his wife and daughter. Close begins a deadly rampage and will stop at nothing to get Douglas to herself...even if it means murder or suicide to herself. Excellent performances from Close, Douglas and Anne Archer, and wonderfully creative direction and photography. The script is real and believable, which makes the movie all the more frightening. Some very steamy scenes like the kitchen scene and the elevator scene also make this film a wildly enjoyable experience. "Fatal Attraction" definitly deserves its fame and acceptance into film history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my wedding ring?, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
Let's face it: we're guys. Wandering eyes. A perceptive inclination to gander at a short skirt, a hint of cleavage, a heart-pounding hip wiggle. I ran smack dab into a door the last time I gawked, but consider myself darn lucky compared to Michael Douglas' character in FATAL ATTRACTION--a white-knuckled "don't-let-this-happen-to-you" thriller that vividly demonstrates what can happen to a guy when he lets other parts of his anatomy do his thinking for him.
Manhattan lawyer Dan Gallagher (Douglas) has it all: successful career, attractive wife, loving daughter. So why not have an extramarital fling with a woman he met at a party while the family is out of town? Sure. Just a one-night stand. No harm, no foul. But there's something very "foul" about Dan's partner in crime, because blonde Alex Forrest (Glenn Close) may have all the right moves in the sack, but she also has an elevator that doesn't go all the way to the top. So when Dan wants to shake hands and part company, Alex will have none of it, and the table is set for a one-way ticket to Looney Land.
Let the stalking. . .the suspense. . .the thrills and chills. . .begin. The bathroom scene, in which Dan's frazzled wife Beth (Anne Archer) wipes the steam off the mirror, is worth the price of purchase of this video alone.
Director Adrian Lyne (as usual) delivers a gripping, antacid-popping story. The only positive in FATAL ATTRACTION was the fact all this bad stuff happened to an attorney. Like, how sad. I'd like to write more, but I hear the wife calling--something about all the hair in the sink. Don't want to get her riled.
--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Oct. 4 2003
By 
KB (Fishers, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
This movie makes you realize the importance of staying with your mate because you might just end up with some quack who's idea of revenge is cooking your pet bunny. Michael Douglas plays Dan Gallagher, a married lawyer who sends his family on a vacation. He stays home and at a party, meets Alex Forest, wonderfully played by Glenn Close, a young lawyer who immediatly falls in love with him after a one night stand. He breaks the affair and soon Alex is lovesick and angry. He refuses to see her and take her phone calls so she starts taking more inteligent matters by kidnapping their son and cooking their pet bunny. Its a great movie and if you watch it, dont have affairs. You might end up with Alex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Attraction, Sept. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
"Fatal Attraction" was a box office smash in 1987. It is an intense psychological thriller with excellent performances by Michael Douglas, Glenn Close, and Anne Archer. Douglas plays the role of a man (Dan Gallagher) who's uneventful married life with Anne Archer leaves him vulnerable to an intense affair with business colleague, Alex (Close).
Initially, Alex comes across as an independent woman looking for no more than a brief affair with no strings attached. Once the reality sets in that the affair is over, she becomes jealous and angry. Gradually her anger drives her into madness as she stalks her lover and his family. Viewers may disagree as to whether Dan deserves his fate or not, but most would agree that this film will keep you on the edge of your seat!
Nominated for six Academy Awards, "Fatal Attraction" is worth watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Movie!, Sept. 1 2003
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
This turned out to be a movie that would scare you to death.I
watched this movie on LifeLine the other night and I double
checked all of the locks in the house.Michael Douglas in the lead
role plays a husband who has an affair with a business colleague
played by Glen Close.After Douglas attempts to break off the affair Close becomes psychotic and homicidial.Douglas' wife who is played by Anne Archer becomes the target of the spurned lover's wrath.Close makes several attempts to kill the character played by Archer. The character played by Close is absolutely
frightening.The ending of the movie is prize winning.Watch this movie and you will be looking over your shoulder.A fantastic
film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Damn Gory Movie - Flashy & Stupid, Aug. 22 2003
By 
Maria Scott (New Iberia, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
Very typical of movies from the 1980's. Materialism, Sex, Violence, Gore, really dull dialogue lines (which means they have to make up for it with all the gore and sex and violence), and to top it all off, a strong woman character villain (typical of the genre of feminist backlash prevelant in the 1980's - thank you Susan Fauldi, author of Backlash). I had heard about the rabit scene from the two people who recommended it but was not impressed when I did see it. The wrist slashing scene was pretty good; the ending, with her bloated choked body floating in the water and that fako bullet hole in the end was also tasteless. I just don't see someone going that far. No good probing on the questions of love or adultury or marriage as social contract vs passion. THis is truly for audiences of the 1980's; I'll stick with more stuff out of the 1970's - at least we saw some degree of taste and plot and character dev. back then. None of that in this flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A good character study of the Masculine Dandy, July 30 2003
By 
Kaiden Fox (www.lylyth.org) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
Glen Close plays a character that is strangely masculine. Combined with her rather unusual appearance, this makes the movie an interesting study for what Robert Greene calls the "Masculine Dandy." However, as a movie, it's a simple morality warning about extra-marital affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspensful and intense, but..., April 19 2003
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
"Fatal Attraction" is a great movie to watch if you enjoy suspensful, intense films about compulsive psychos that totally freak you out. It's a really fun movie to watch, but there is one major, major problem. The film is too much like "Play Misty For Me", a popular movie from 1971 about similar subjects (a man with a girlfriend sleeps with another woman who is actually a total psychotic who believes she "loves" him). This film even has a scene that is either homage to "Play Misty For Me" or down-right copying it (when Glenn Close slits her wrist). Correct me if I'm wrong, but Close DID cut her wrist in this film, right? And that same thing happened in "Play Misty For Me". Close's character is almost exactly the same as the woman psycho in the 71 film. There are just enough differences to make it a slightly different movie, and I believe it is pure entertainment to watch. Very suspenseful, very intense, great acting, and pretty darn scary. I think we all can learn a valuable lesson from this film about the consequences of infidelities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews