Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my wedding ring?
Let's face it: we're guys. Wandering eyes. A perceptive inclination to gander at a short skirt, a hint of cleavage, a heart-pounding hip wiggle. I ran smack dab into a door the last time I gawked, but consider myself darn lucky compared to Michael Douglas' character in FATAL ATTRACTION--a white-knuckled "don't-let-this-happen-to-you" thriller that vividly...
Published on Nov. 30 2003 by D. Mikels

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Damn Gory Movie - Flashy & Stupid
Very typical of movies from the 1980's. Materialism, Sex, Violence, Gore, really dull dialogue lines (which means they have to make up for it with all the gore and sex and violence), and to top it all off, a strong woman character villain (typical of the genre of feminist backlash prevelant in the 1980's - thank you Susan Fauldi, author of Backlash). I had heard about...
Published on Aug. 21 2003 by Maria Scott


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my wedding ring?, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
Let's face it: we're guys. Wandering eyes. A perceptive inclination to gander at a short skirt, a hint of cleavage, a heart-pounding hip wiggle. I ran smack dab into a door the last time I gawked, but consider myself darn lucky compared to Michael Douglas' character in FATAL ATTRACTION--a white-knuckled "don't-let-this-happen-to-you" thriller that vividly demonstrates what can happen to a guy when he lets other parts of his anatomy do his thinking for him.
Manhattan lawyer Dan Gallagher (Douglas) has it all: successful career, attractive wife, loving daughter. So why not have an extramarital fling with a woman he met at a party while the family is out of town? Sure. Just a one-night stand. No harm, no foul. But there's something very "foul" about Dan's partner in crime, because blonde Alex Forrest (Glenn Close) may have all the right moves in the sack, but she also has an elevator that doesn't go all the way to the top. So when Dan wants to shake hands and part company, Alex will have none of it, and the table is set for a one-way ticket to Looney Land.
Let the stalking. . .the suspense. . .the thrills and chills. . .begin. The bathroom scene, in which Dan's frazzled wife Beth (Anne Archer) wipes the steam off the mirror, is worth the price of purchase of this video alone.
Director Adrian Lyne (as usual) delivers a gripping, antacid-popping story. The only positive in FATAL ATTRACTION was the fact all this bad stuff happened to an attorney. Like, how sad. I'd like to write more, but I hear the wife calling--something about all the hair in the sink. Don't want to get her riled.
--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspensful and intense, but..., April 19 2003
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
"Fatal Attraction" is a great movie to watch if you enjoy suspensful, intense films about compulsive psychos that totally freak you out. It's a really fun movie to watch, but there is one major, major problem. The film is too much like "Play Misty For Me", a popular movie from 1971 about similar subjects (a man with a girlfriend sleeps with another woman who is actually a total psychotic who believes she "loves" him). This film even has a scene that is either homage to "Play Misty For Me" or down-right copying it (when Glenn Close slits her wrist). Correct me if I'm wrong, but Close DID cut her wrist in this film, right? And that same thing happened in "Play Misty For Me". Close's character is almost exactly the same as the woman psycho in the 71 film. There are just enough differences to make it a slightly different movie, and I believe it is pure entertainment to watch. Very suspenseful, very intense, great acting, and pretty darn scary. I think we all can learn a valuable lesson from this film about the consequences of infidelities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Discreet. Yeah right., July 5 2002
By 
B. Erickson "boycorrupted" (Overland Park, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
I must've been 6 when this came out. It's one of those things you remember adults talking about. Actually it's funny, until I watched this DVD, I'd only seen the chopped-up TV version of the film, and I don't think I'd ever laid eyes on the (evidently) notorious kitchen sink scene at all. I bet there's still a VHS tape in my parent's basement with the lame G-rated "Fatal Attraction" on it complete with vintage commercials.
Well here you get the whole thing complete with F-words and nipples and no commercials, plus the fabled original ending. This, by the way, is impossibly anticlimactic in comparison with the ending they ended up with, and it's easy to see why test audiences found it unsatisfying in the first place. The "Madame Butterfly" scene with Glenn Close is dramatic and gruesome, but in a sombre, distant, emotionally detached way - and the way that Michael Douglas and family hear about what happened, you feel like you must've dozed off and missed something. (I'm trying to be cryptic so as not to give it away totally.) The ending we all knew and loved is way more Hollywood balls-out teeth-bared eyes-popping insane, so if you were expecting another scenario with that kind of energy, forget it. But Close apparently fought hard for the original ending, probably because it's such an iconographic, immortalizing shot, Whistler-picturesque yet Goya-gory.
So, the film itself. It's funny how movies from 15 or 20 years ago seem sort of transparent and obvious cuz you've seen the same stuff rehashed the same way so many times. We get the set-up of Douglas as an enviable example of "everyman" with his perfect American-dream homelife, his little girl with the haircut like a boy, his perpetually bleary-eyed, stuffy-nosed soccer mom of a wife (Anne Archer in typical form). He's a lawyer earning a comfortable living and essentially has no reason to mess around.
So of course he does. Classic Noir. He meets Close - who certainly does look fatal with that ludicrous blond electric-socket afro - at a business party, then later at work. Then wifey goes out of town with the kid for a weekend; Close closes in; and next thing you know they're doing the dirty dishes. Then they go down in the elevator. Then...etc. By the end of the weekend Douglas is coming to his senses after repeated head-shrinkings, and starts to pull away from Close.
But she won't be ignored.
The performances are theatrical and over-the-top across the board. It looks like everybody was trying to scream and flail their way to an Oscar. People were worried about whether Close could play "sexy" - I think this was a couple years before "Dangerous Liasons" - and while she's not exactly my cup of tea, she's convincing in her charisma with Douglas. For his part, the great son of Kirk just does his shtick, which is playing the neo-noir hero who lets his lust carry him away. Anne Archer, see above, bleary-eyed stuffy-nosed soccer mom. Add em all together and you have a decent movie, certainly pretty entertaining even if laughable in parts. And the special features on the DVD ought to answer all your trivia questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girlfriend Ain't RIGHT!!, June 17 2002
By 
F. Gentile (Lake Worth, Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal Attraction (VHS Tape)
This film did more for a return to monogomy than any social diseases! I've just re-watched this flick, and it's just as effective as when I first viewed it. Picture a younger Baby Jane Hudson combined with Jaws, and that's pretty much "Alex", Glenn Closes' woman scorned. Michael Douglas, as the typical, successful, arrogant, mid-'80's Yuppie, who, though perfectly nested in a seemingly great marriage to gorgeous, giving, Anne Archer, has to prove he's still a desirable stud by having a "casual" (WRONG!!) fling with Closes' "Alex", a sexy, also seemingly sophisticated associate of his. She initially gives the impression she wants the same thing as he, a "no strings attached" sex-fest, but, after a 24 hour marathon, while wifey is out of town, it begins to become apparent that Alex is becoming just a teensy bit possessive, and when Douglas, as diplomatically as possible, tries to explain to her that he's happily married, and it's dumpster time, Miss Alex IS NOT buying it. The ensuing harassment of he and his family, which starts with pranks from Alex to express her displeasure, turns into a horror-ride that will have your emotions tap dancing faster than Ann Miller!! Some people feel the need to rationalize the entirety of a film, "why'd she do that", that wouldn't happen", etc... not me. With a film like this, it either entertained me, or didn't. Well, this one certainly did. I found all the acting excellant, and the situation not all that unbelievable. Though "over the top", it is a non-stop ride of suspense as Douglas' nightmare (and life) un-folds. I recall there were some copy-cat flicks made shortly after this came out, trying to duplicate what this film has. Well, they didn't succeed, and were soon forgotten. I feel that this film, with its great cast , production, intelligent script, and direction, will not be topped for films of it's kind, and will stand the test of time. It pushes ALL the buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - long time no DVD!!, May 8 2002
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
I first caught glimpse of this film in 1995 - I don't think I was really a Glenn Close fan at the time. I soon was. She is mesmerising as the scorned woman, making the character real and the tragedy harrowing. It leaves Dan being a tortured rat, but you can have little sympathy for him, I sympathise with Alex.
The film was excellent, but the DVD has given it new life and new impetus. The picture is not DVD perfect quality, but it does well enough, and the extras are good. The alternate ending, which was shown once on terrestrial telly, is not better than the one chosen for airing. I would have liked to have had interviews with Glenn Close and deleted scenes etc, and even out-takes...........after all, they must have cracked up a few times during the sink and lift scenes!! That would have made good viewing.
This DVD has only succeeded in bringing out in greater quality the brilliance of this movie, the scintillatingly hot sex scenes, and the remembrance for me of the one and only time I fell hook line and sinker for Glenn Close. There's not a great deal new here, but it works, and for fans of the film, it's a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Movies Hollywood has EVER made., May 1 2002
By 
"wackytobaccee" (Coral Springs, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
I first saw "Fatal Attraction" when it opened in 1987. It literally changed my perception of what a movie could be: in particular, what type of film Hollywood could produce. Up until that point, I was under the impression that movies removed you from reality (at least those produced in Hollywood.) "Fatal Attraction" is all the more thrilling because the world it shows is identifiable, recognizable and real. "Fatal Attraction" is set on land we tread on, not a shiny, polished version of said land, and in showing the truth, it keeps the thrills at a fever pitch.
The plot is fairly straight-forward: man cheats on wife with other woman; other woman won't go away. It's the details that make "Fatal Attraction" stand out. Unlike many of it's imitators (including "Basic Instinct," another Mike Douglas psycho-female thriller,) "Fatal Attraction" is based in our reality. Alex isn't a crazed, unfeeling Uber-woman: Glenn Close makes her a real person, which, in effect, makes her all the more scary. ...Anne Archer, who vanished into the abyss after this film, delivers another "real" portrayal as the jilted wife. And Michael Douglas is superb as Dan, the cheatin' man. The performances are all first-rate: they raised the bar for what to expect from actors in sex/thrillers ... The direction is also top-notch. Lyne took all of his style sense and infused it with a sence of truth. You see the grit. His camera is your fly-on-the-wall perspective: a perfect match for this flick.
The original ending is where they pulled a punch. While it is "good," in that the audience feels better and the movie is wrapped up tightly, it definetely feels like you've taken another path in the final act...almost like it's two separate films.
Thankfully, the DVD has the alternate ending (which is an audience downer, but a "better" ending, in terms of plot.) It also has some great documentaries, rehearsal footage (Glenn Close is AMAZING...even then, BEFORE she landed the role) and some other goodies.
Don't miss this one. It's rare that a 13-year old film still has people talking (that doesn't involve Jar-Jar and SFX.) This is one of them. There have been many imitators, genre-followers...including Lyne's own "Indecent Proposal," but there is only one original. It's Fatal Attraction. And it's is, quite simply, the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, bad picture quality, April 24 2002
By 
Emma Mitchell (Hye, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
I had never seen this movie because I was about 8 or 9 at the time it came out and was not allowed to watch it. My mom told what a great movie it was and It is a big part of moderen culture so I bought the dvd without having ever seen the movie. The movie is a great thriller that is wonderfully acted by close,douglas and anne archer as the wife. The ending was a real nailbiter reminded me of the scene at the end of what lies beneath. The dvd picture qauilty is terrible, only the godfather one was this bad, lines and specks, horrible color contrast, grain and areas where the color has faded. Parmount why did'nt you remaster this. I bought Bull Durham earlier this month it is about as old as this and the transfer was very good. This is not vhs parmount it supposed to be dvd. People with digtal and large tvs will probally notice this problem even more then I did since I watched it on regular 36 inch tv. The bonus features are good though you have a 28 documentry with current intrveiws with cast and crew, A 7 minute behind thes scenes montage, the other ending to the film that was a lot darker then this, and a couple of other featurettes as well as the trailer which has a better picture then the movie. I would reccomend the dvd, But if you want dvd qauilty picture you getting the wrong dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High Infidelity, April 20 2002
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
The movie that had every married couple second guessing their spouse's actions and reactions...Dan Gallagher (Michael Douglas) is a loving family man and attorney, who has a one night stand while his wife (Anne Archer) is out of town. Alex Forrest (Glenn Close) is the other woman, who can't get Dan out of her system, even after he ends the affair. Director Adrian Lyne examines the subject of marriage and fidelity with candor and intensity. The performances from all of the lead actors in the movie are very well done. Even though the film was made in the 80s, because of its everyday subject matter, and the fact that 50% of all U.S. marriages still end in divorce, its story remains topical. The tension that builds as the film unfolds, is very real, and almost palpable.
The Collector's Edition DVD has a retrospective documentary that offers some nice tid-bits about what went into making the film. There is a pretty good production featurette, a rather so so commentary with Lyne, and of course the controversial alternate ending. I had seen this other ending once before on a prior VHS release of the film and my opinion hasn't changed since that time.. I think they both work well for different reasons. However, if I had to pick a favorite of the two, I would say that the alternate ending works a bit better than the theatrical version. Paramount has produced a good DVD for one of the most memorable thrillers of the last 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY ON DVD... But What About the Quality?, April 18 2002
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
I waited for a couple of months for the DVD edition of FATAL ATTRACTION to be released and bought it the day after it's official release. As a fan of this movie, I immediately looked through the "Special Features" section to see what I could find. The interactive menu features several stills from the movie dissolving in and out of a white background while your option choices stay immobile on the screen. When the menu first come son, you hear a phone ring and see a telephone while music from the score plays. Preferably, a standard Paramount DVD, it was nothing I had really seen before. The features are listed as follows:
-Widescreen enhanced
- Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
- Scene Selections
- Interactive Menus
- FOREVER FATAL: Remembering Fatal Attraction
- SOCIAL ATTRACTION: The Cultural Phenomenon of Fatal Attraction
- VISUAL ATTRACTION: Behind-the-Scenes Production Feature
- Rehearsal Footage
- Alternate Ending
- Commentary by Director Adian Lyne
- Theatrical Trailer
The three featurettes are well coordinated but I would have like to have seen more production pics and behind-the-scenes within them. The trailer seems to have been restored because it is pretty sharp for a trailer on a DVD (normally, the production company just throws them on without considering the image and sound quality reproduction.) Now, for the overall image and sound quality for the DVD edition; basically, the colors are washed-out, it seems, in many cases. I would have liked to see fleshtones made slightly deeper and, in many areas, would have preferred the colors been restored to a richer, warmer correction. The grain is pretty poor. Because of the poor contrast in the reproduction, you can see small, tiny white contrast dots all over light areas. The images are solid but the detail could have been better. Scratch that...the detail/grain is probably the only decent part of the image quality. The sound quality is preferably well managed and the 5.1 channeling does the film well. Going back to image solidity, there are instances where you can see hairs and black-marks quickly flashing all over the screen - a big annoyance when the film's supposed to have been "digitally restored." They're lucky I love this movie! Adrian Lyne's commentary is interesting and informative, although many will probably disagree with me. Over all, I would give this DVD about four stars for content but three stars for image quality. Seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best suspense films of all time! Well acted!, March 19 2002
By 
Dennis F. Towle (Hayward, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NEW Fatal Attraction (DVD) (DVD)
Michael Douglas and Glenn Close give the performance of their careers, in this classic! The story is very convincing, as this kind of nerve racking situation could very well happen to a man or woman, who cheats on his/her spouse....by sleeping with a psycho, who would do anything to threaten the couple's marriage, if that person couldn't be indulged! This can happen! Douglas plays the husband, who discovers this intriging woman, Close, at a book social - they meet and, soon, become attracted with each other! His wife goes away for a weekend to her parent's house - and Douglas begins a brief and secretive affair with Close. After that weekend, Douglas goes on with his work and life, as if nothing ever happened. His wife returns with their young daughter, and the family lives happily ever after....that soon changes when Close begins harassing him with phone calls at work and at home; the blood begins to boil as her harassment begins to put him over the edge! The secret between them could be leaked out by her....so he has to do everything in his power to keep a lid on this liaison....the tension between the two gets more heated as the film goes on! It will keep you glued to the screen and on the edge of your seat....it's that good of a film!!!! The infamous boiling bunny scene is effective, in showing just how crazed Close's character is in getting back at Douglas! This is one roller coaster of a ride....you'll see!!!! I highly recommend that you purchase this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews