Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My impressions of the blu-ray release of Outlander (A 3.5 star release)
OUTLANDER

****UPDATE**** Since Outlander was first released on blu-ray by Alliance, it has been reported that Alliance has re-released this movie with it's correct original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. All other specifications of the blu-ray have pretty much remained the same apparently (the special features are now written on the back of the packaging now...
Published on June 1 2009 by C. Denison

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vikings and dragons ... from outer space! Pretty predictable, but still an entertaining medieval science fiction flick
This manly medieval sci-fi and swords thriller hits most of the cliches you'd expect but manages still to feel fairly fresh.

An alien astronaut - who looks just like James Caviezel - crash lands on a strange planet, that turns out to be medieval Norway, on Earth. Luckily he has a gadget that can teach him the local Norse dialect in moments (and luckily for us...
Published on June 16 2010 by N. Andersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My impressions of the blu-ray release of Outlander (A 3.5 star release), June 1 2009
By 
C. Denison (Hamilton, Ont.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OUTLANDER

****UPDATE**** Since Outlander was first released on blu-ray by Alliance, it has been reported that Alliance has re-released this movie with it's correct original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. All other specifications of the blu-ray have pretty much remained the same apparently (the special features are now written on the back of the packaging now though).****UPDATE****

A 2009 Alliance release

Video: 1080p, 1.78:1 aspect ratio, 1H 55min
Audio: English 5.1 DTS HD-MA, English and French 5.1 Dolby Digital

I found the movie to be just okay. It had some pretty good action scenes, good dialogue, decent visual effects (for the most part), good acting (I'm a big Jim Cazievel fan), but the story was kinda hit-and-miss. I liked the idea that this "future man" crash lands in this Viking colony and I like the way he interacts with them, but I thought the monster/alien aspect could've been handled better (it just came off as being too campy to me). I expected Outlander to be a bit better, but for what it is, it's still a pretty fun movie.
3.5 out of 5

Video quality (like the movie) was just okay. Some parts looked really good, some looked okay, and some could have looked better.
-The exposure of the print was a little too over-blown at times, making the picture quality just a little too bright here and there.
-A lot of blacks were too light. It was as if the movie's lighting was too dark at times, and then when they were mastering the print they lightened it up making darker scenes more visible now, however it now turns the blacks into a darkish grey, so the picture quality looks sort of un-natural now.
-Detail was pretty good for the majority of the movie, although there were a couple of parts that seemed too flat in detail and could've had more of a pop to the image. Detail wise, outdoor daytime scenes looked the best; they usually looked really nice.
-One odd thing that heppened on my blu-ray disc was at 1:16:53 into the movie a glitch of at least 40 to 50 small yellow boxes appeared at the bottom half of the screen for a few seconds. Hopefully this doesn't happen to anyone else's copy. This was just one of those odd, annoying glitches.
In the end, I'd give the picture quality a 3.5 out of 5.

Audio quality was fantastic. Surround sound, bass, dailogue, all audio levels; it was great. One minor complaint would be a couple of dull sound effects, but really...this is a small nitpicking complaint. This was a stellar audio track.
4.5 out of 5

Special features include an audio commentary from select crew members, 40 minutes of deleted scenes, visual effects tests, animatics, art galleries, and the theatrical trailer.

Other info:
50 gb dual layer blu-ray disc
Region A locked
No subtitles
The film's original aspect ratio is 2.35:1, however this version has been opened up to 1.78:1

Packaging mistakes:
It says English 5.1 TrueHD on the back, but it's actually English 5.1 DTS HD-MA.
The special features are not listed on the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a pleasant surprise, July 5 2012
By 
James Field "jamesfield10" (New Westminster, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I ordered this dvd because it was cheap and I needed to add a couple dollars to another order to get free shipping. I thought, why not? I'm glad I did. The premise sounded interesting, but I have seen other movies attempt similar premises and make a hash of it. Not this one. It held together the two genres of science fiction fantasy and historical action and didn't stumble with the ball once. It made the story believable and in the process added an interesting twist to the old Beowulf tale. I recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great flick!, Nov. 13 2009
By 
gerics (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I just finished watching this movie and loved it. I hadn't heard of the movie but based on reviews I gave it a try and was suprised at how good it was. If you like "13th warrior", "Beowulf and Grendel"(the one with Gerard Butler), you should enjoy this movie. Good action, music, costumes, and a nifty creature. 4 1/2 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE!, July 1 2012
By 
Shirley Ann (Ste-Sabine, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I had never heard of this movie, until last evening when it played on TV on Space. Wow!! I absolutely loved it! Vikings, monsters, real good looking Alien, what more do you need? I have got to own it, got to watch it again. Ron Perlman is as nastly as ever! Why have we never heard of this movie that is so good? Was it in theatres or not? Two thumbs up from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid entertainment... vikings and dragons...great, Aug. 7 2009
By 
Andre Villemaire (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
Expecting the regular low budget stuff, i was pleasently surprise by
the movie, the action, the music, and the cast.
So , forget your daily routines, sit down and enjoy this tale that has
vikings, dragons, good costumes and great scenery if you like this kind
of movie.
A Keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 13th Warrior notched up, Dec 23 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
A displaced warrior type outlander from another world is in pursuit of his nemesis, a dragon type creature called a Moorwen. The outlander is captured and later befriended by local Vikings after proving himself. The Vikings are confronted by the same creature. So Vikings and outlander team combine resources to squelch the dragon before becoming dragon-chow.

As viewers we have fun saying stay in the car or fort. Kibitzing is allowed.

Of course we have the standard upstart pretender to the throne rivaled by a stranger of unknown origins both interacting with the king's daughter. So a sort of watered down love story parallels the fighting action.

This is a crossover genre of Beowulf and aliens. Each doing a fair job of integration. For other viewers it is still tolerable. Defiantly worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 13th Warrior notched up, Dec 23 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
A displaced warrior type outlander from another world is in pursuit of his nemesis, a dragon type creature called a Moorwen. The outlander is captured and later befriended by local Vikings after proving himself. The Vikings are confronted by the same creature. So Vikings and outlander team combine resources to squelch the dragon before becoming dragon-chow.

As viewers we have fun saying stay in the car or fort. Kibitzing is allowed.

Of course we have the standard upstart pretender to the throne rivaled by a stranger of unknown origins both interacting with the king's daughter. So a sort of watered down love story parallels the fighting action.

This is a crossover genre of Beowulf and aliens. Each doing a fair job of integration. For other viewers it is still tolerable. Defiantly worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outlander, May 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I love history and science fiction, so this movie gives me the best of both worlds. The acting was quite good and Jim Caviezel is outstanding as usual. I sat through it without picking it apart and overall I would definitely recommend this movie for its entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars outlander, March 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
outlander

this movie was awesome and very insane at the same time....
very violent. But a touching movie thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mix of the old and new!, March 17 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
Outlander(released July/08) stars,among others Jim Caviezel as Kainan,Sophia Myles as Freya,Jack Huston as Wulfric,John Hurt as Hrothgar,Cliff Saunders as Boromir,and Ron Perlman as Gunnar.This is a story set in Nordic lands long ago,and it successfully combines a futuristic flavour to the mix to create a surprisingly good and solid film.
The story finds us in the early part of the 8th century in Norway.A spaceship,from parts unknown,crashes into a remote lake there.Out comes two of its passengers and one perishes.It seems their world tried to colonize another planet that was inhabited by creatures called Morwen's,that looked like dragons of our folklore.They tried to exterminate them,but they were unsuccessful in getting them all and one got on board Caviezel's ship which wreaked havoc,causing his abrupt crash landing on Earth.Caviezel is the one who remains alive,and after a quick update on his location and the history of the Earth and its language(they obviously had been here before),Caviezel sets off to explore his surroundings.He comes upon a village that has been recently razed to the ground,but he is soon taken prisoner.The head of a local Viking tribe(Hurt)accuses him of killing the entire village.Caviezel claims he is hunting for a dragon but is laughed at.
Since the village that was razed,was under the auspices of another local tribe king(Perlman),Hurt is afraid that he will blame their tribe for killing his.However before he can send word Perlman and his minions come a-calling,with a raid on Hurt's village.The attack is repelled but Perlman and his men are set for another attack not far away.Before they can carry it out the Morwen jumps them and they flee towards Hurts village.Only a handful manage to make it inside and all get to see first hand that the Morwen is now the real culprit in the village razing and the deaths of the people.Caviezel is slowly welcomed into Hurts tribe and with his help they will try to capture and kill the Morwen.
A large trench is dug out,surrounded by a wooden pen filled with flammable whale oil.They lure the creature into it and set it ablaze.For the moment it looks like the creature is finally dead,but the women,all huddled in large hut,are being attacked by a younger and smaller Morwen.As the men rush to save them the big/mother Morwen leaps from the fire,wreaks havoc and flees,killing Perlman and taking the kings daughter.Caviezel realizes their metal swords aren't strong enough and he dives to his sunken ship to retrieve stronger material.They use it to forge new weapons and they drop down into the village well which leads them into a vast cavernous area.They follow their noses which leads them to the Morwen's lair.They first encounter the smaller Morwen whom they eventually dispatch.The final battle comes down to Caviezel hanging on for dear life over the edge of a precipice,with the Morwen holding onto his one arm.With a final swipe of his sword,the Morwen falls to its death.
Caviezel returns to a homing beacon he had originally set up.As a search and rescue ship comes within viewing range he destroys the beacon,which leaves him deliberately stranded.He returns to the village and becomes its king.Unbeknownst to Caviezel,the kings daughter had followed and witnessed his destroying of the beacon and the spacecraft over head.This secret she will take to her grave.
The story has just enough of a unique twist on things as to keep one interested throughout.The acting is solid all around,especially with John Hurt and Ron Perlman.Mr.Perlman's appearance as the rival Norse king is all too short,but being the good actor he is,he makes the most of it.Caviezel doesn't make the most charismatic of leading men,but his shortcomings are covered rather well by the supporting cast.The special effects were particularly well done and the scenery is to die for.It was shot in Canada's maritimes,with Gros Morne Provincial Park(a UNESCO heritage site)in Newfoundland,front and center.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 1:78:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras abound here with 27(!)deleted and alternate scenes,commentary,animatics,visual effects tests and production design galleries.
All in all a surprisingly good film.The premise at first glance sounded a bit hokey,but the interesting plot along with the great cast elevated it above the average.3 1/2-4 stars.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb43f4e94)

This product

Outlander
Outlander by Jim Caviezel (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews