Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My impressions of the blu-ray release of Outlander (A 3.5 star release)
OUTLANDER

****UPDATE**** Since Outlander was first released on blu-ray by Alliance, it has been reported that Alliance has re-released this movie with it's correct original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. All other specifications of the blu-ray have pretty much remained the same apparently (the special features are now written on the back of the packaging now...
Published on June 1 2009 by C. Denison

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vikings and dragons ... from outer space! Pretty predictable, but still an entertaining medieval science fiction flick
This manly medieval sci-fi and swords thriller hits most of the cliches you'd expect but manages still to feel fairly fresh.

An alien astronaut - who looks just like James Caviezel - crash lands on a strange planet, that turns out to be medieval Norway, on Earth. Luckily he has a gadget that can teach him the local Norse dialect in moments (and luckily for us...
Published on June 16 2010 by Nathan Andersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My impressions of the blu-ray release of Outlander (A 3.5 star release), June 1 2009
By 
C. Denison "C. Denison" (Hamilton, Ont.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OUTLANDER

****UPDATE**** Since Outlander was first released on blu-ray by Alliance, it has been reported that Alliance has re-released this movie with it's correct original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. All other specifications of the blu-ray have pretty much remained the same apparently (the special features are now written on the back of the packaging now though).****UPDATE****

A 2009 Alliance release

Video: 1080p, 1.78:1 aspect ratio, 1H 55min
Audio: English 5.1 DTS HD-MA, English and French 5.1 Dolby Digital

I found the movie to be just okay. It had some pretty good action scenes, good dialogue, decent visual effects (for the most part), good acting (I'm a big Jim Cazievel fan), but the story was kinda hit-and-miss. I liked the idea that this "future man" crash lands in this Viking colony and I like the way he interacts with them, but I thought the monster/alien aspect could've been handled better (it just came off as being too campy to me). I expected Outlander to be a bit better, but for what it is, it's still a pretty fun movie.
3.5 out of 5

Video quality (like the movie) was just okay. Some parts looked really good, some looked okay, and some could have looked better.
-The exposure of the print was a little too over-blown at times, making the picture quality just a little too bright here and there.
-A lot of blacks were too light. It was as if the movie's lighting was too dark at times, and then when they were mastering the print they lightened it up making darker scenes more visible now, however it now turns the blacks into a darkish grey, so the picture quality looks sort of un-natural now.
-Detail was pretty good for the majority of the movie, although there were a couple of parts that seemed too flat in detail and could've had more of a pop to the image. Detail wise, outdoor daytime scenes looked the best; they usually looked really nice.
-One odd thing that heppened on my blu-ray disc was at 1:16:53 into the movie a glitch of at least 40 to 50 small yellow boxes appeared at the bottom half of the screen for a few seconds. Hopefully this doesn't happen to anyone else's copy. This was just one of those odd, annoying glitches.
In the end, I'd give the picture quality a 3.5 out of 5.

Audio quality was fantastic. Surround sound, bass, dailogue, all audio levels; it was great. One minor complaint would be a couple of dull sound effects, but really...this is a small nitpicking complaint. This was a stellar audio track.
4.5 out of 5

Special features include an audio commentary from select crew members, 40 minutes of deleted scenes, visual effects tests, animatics, art galleries, and the theatrical trailer.

Other info:
50 gb dual layer blu-ray disc
Region A locked
No subtitles
The film's original aspect ratio is 2.35:1, however this version has been opened up to 1.78:1

Packaging mistakes:
It says English 5.1 TrueHD on the back, but it's actually English 5.1 DTS HD-MA.
The special features are not listed on the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a pleasant surprise, July 5 2012
By 
James Field "jamesfield10" (New Westminster, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I ordered this dvd because it was cheap and I needed to add a couple dollars to another order to get free shipping. I thought, why not? I'm glad I did. The premise sounded interesting, but I have seen other movies attempt similar premises and make a hash of it. Not this one. It held together the two genres of science fiction fantasy and historical action and didn't stumble with the ball once. It made the story believable and in the process added an interesting twist to the old Beowulf tale. I recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alliance has now issued a corrected Blu-ray version, Nov. 1 2009
By 
John Charles (Guelph, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The new disc is the proper 2.35:1 ratio and carries over the extras from the old release. Front cover is the same, but the grid on the back cover now says 2.35:1 and the extras are now included on the back (they were not listed previously). As of this writing, there are no plans for a US Blu-ray release.

OUTLANDER is a derivative, but entertaining picture that is well worth seeing and deserved a proper theatrical release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great flick!, Nov. 13 2009
By 
gerics (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I just finished watching this movie and loved it. I hadn't heard of the movie but based on reviews I gave it a try and was suprised at how good it was. If you like "13th warrior", "Beowulf and Grendel"(the one with Gerard Butler), you should enjoy this movie. Good action, music, costumes, and a nifty creature. 4 1/2 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE!, July 1 2012
By 
Shirley Ann (Ste-Sabine, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I had never heard of this movie, until last evening when it played on TV on Space. Wow!! I absolutely loved it! Vikings, monsters, real good looking Alien, what more do you need? I have got to own it, got to watch it again. Ron Perlman is as nastly as ever! Why have we never heard of this movie that is so good? Was it in theatres or not? Two thumbs up from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid entertainment... vikings and dragons...great, Aug. 7 2009
By 
Andre Villemaire (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
Expecting the regular low budget stuff, i was pleasently surprise by
the movie, the action, the music, and the cast.
So , forget your daily routines, sit down and enjoy this tale that has
vikings, dragons, good costumes and great scenery if you like this kind
of movie.
A Keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Feb. 11 2011
By 
Valerie Sharp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
I first rented this movie and was blown away by it, I bought it the very next day, if you like 13th Warrior, you will like this movie, It went under the xmas tree an was given to all my family and I have yet to find one that didn't like it.

Its got a good plot, a amazing monster, and lots of action..an a little love story added in, if you like a good mix of horror, viking like humor and action, it won't disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vikings and dragons ... from outer space! Pretty predictable, but still an entertaining medieval science fiction flick, June 16 2010
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
This manly medieval sci-fi and swords thriller hits most of the cliches you'd expect but manages still to feel fairly fresh.

An alien astronaut - who looks just like James Caviezel - crash lands on a strange planet, that turns out to be medieval Norway, on Earth. Luckily he has a gadget that can teach him the local Norse dialect in moments (and luckily for us the local dialect sounds just like English). Unluckily for lots of the locals, he's also unwittingly brought something with him on his ship, a predatory monster who quickly decimates a local village. As an outlander with strange clothing, the alien guy is immediately suspect in the plunder, and nearby warriors capture and torture him for answers. Before long, though, you just know he'll be hitting it big with the local beauty, and leading the Vikings on their quest to destroy the beast.

It's entertaining enough, though the characters are straight out of nearly every film of this kind you've ever seen. The wise king, the ambitious warrior who wants to live up to his own dead father's legacy, the warrior princess, lots of grunting fighters, the drunken comic relief, the romance that begins with a slap. Still, they deliver their lines well, and in spite of lines like "may Odin's blessings be upon you," John Hurt plays a convincing king, Caviezel plays a plausible space warrior pilgrim, and Ron Perlman steals every spare moment he's in as a raging rival warlord. The monster itself is pretty neat, designed to seem something like a hybrid of medieval dragon, alien and predator, with a tinge of the overgrown shrimp from the brilliant (and much more fun) Korean flick The Host.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 13th Warrior notched up, Dec 23 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
A displaced warrior type outlander from another world is in pursuit of his nemesis, a dragon type creature called a Moorwen. The outlander is captured and later befriended by local Vikings after proving himself. The Vikings are confronted by the same creature. So Vikings and outlander team combine resources to squelch the dragon before becoming dragon-chow.

As viewers we have fun saying stay in the car or fort. Kibitzing is allowed.

Of course we have the standard upstart pretender to the throne rivaled by a stranger of unknown origins both interacting with the king's daughter. So a sort of watered down love story parallels the fighting action.

This is a crossover genre of Beowulf and aliens. Each doing a fair job of integration. For other viewers it is still tolerable. Defiantly worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 13th Warrior notched up, Dec 23 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outlander (DVD)
A displaced warrior type outlander from another world is in pursuit of his nemesis, a dragon type creature called a Moorwen. The outlander is captured and later befriended by local Vikings after proving himself. The Vikings are confronted by the same creature. So Vikings and outlander team combine resources to squelch the dragon before becoming dragon-chow.

As viewers we have fun saying stay in the car or fort. Kibitzing is allowed.

Of course we have the standard upstart pretender to the throne rivaled by a stranger of unknown origins both interacting with the king's daughter. So a sort of watered down love story parallels the fighting action.

This is a crossover genre of Beowulf and aliens. Each doing a fair job of integration. For other viewers it is still tolerable. Defiantly worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outlander
Outlander by Jim Caviezel (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews