Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique film
I use this film in high school and it gets a great response from students. Upon first viewing I liked this film, but after watching it a second time and catching more of the abundant detail I think I liked it even more. Kate Winslet is truly a phenomenal actress who can realistically convey the emotions of her character, while Jim Carrey, surprisingly (at least to me),...
Published on Oct. 20 2009 by Joost

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Kaufman -- the actors -- 1 for Chemistry
Does anyone else think that this film was excellently written and crafted -- and even acted by both stars, but that the chemistry was just off? Either lead could have made this work without the other -- but they would have been very different -- and better -- films. Together? Not the best. Enjoyable, but overall a letdown.
Published on June 26 2004 by Limelight Books


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique film, Oct. 20 2009
By 
Joost (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
I use this film in high school and it gets a great response from students. Upon first viewing I liked this film, but after watching it a second time and catching more of the abundant detail I think I liked it even more. Kate Winslet is truly a phenomenal actress who can realistically convey the emotions of her character, while Jim Carrey, surprisingly (at least to me), is perfect for the role of Joel. A movie for anyone who has thought about past relationships and, after having dug through the complicated discussions and arguments and ugliness of the breakup, has discovered that there were gems in there worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying and Heartbreaking, May 2 2009
By 
S. Avery "Heretic227" (Ontario CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone with a soul should love this movie. Take away all the mind-blowing Special Effects, take away the star power, and take away all pre-conceptions of a "typical" Rom-Com. This is one hell of a ride.

This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are perfect opposites in this flick. It's a "fragment" film, as the scenes you witness all add up to the overall picture. Anyone with past relationships can relate to what "Joel" and "Clementine" are going through. Imagine any GF/BF relationship you've been in, and what it has meant to your life. This is what it's all about.

The film focusses on Joel's feelings for a girl that he F'ed up with. He literally spends the entire film in his head, searching for answers to why it didn't work out. A company provides a service in which you can forget the past, and Joel goes through with it, only to realize that he may not want to get rid of "all" the memories that made up his life with a girl that broke his heart.

Recommended to all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaufman's version of a romance, April 19 2009
By 
Travis J. Clark (Miniota, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Charlie Kaufman is one of the best contemporary writers in Hollywood, as he is amazingly original, yet his movies don't really have holes. This is no exception as he tackles a romance, in a movie that is probably as main stream as a Charlie Kaufman written movie will get. The cast is great as you see the always great Kate Winslet, and Tom Wilkinson, along with Mark Ruffalo, Kirsten Dunst, and a career best performance by Jim Carrey who is always best when he isn't trying to be funny. Definitely one of the best, most original romance you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is a heart felt thinking persons movie. it odd and quirky and funny and sad. one of my all time favourite films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut, April 10 2013
By 
F. Marra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those in love, out of love, on the verge of break up or just broken up and philosophers, Sept. 27 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When I first heard of this film it didn't interest me that much but after a number of recommendations I dove into it. Thankfully enough I found "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" an excellent romantic and intriguing comedy-drama about two people who don't truly realize they are in love until one loses the other. Joel Barish (Jim Carrey) is a lonely yet sweet man who is looking for true love and the ideal woman. His search ends when he meets Clementine Krucynksi (Kate Winslet), an energetic and wild young woman. Clementine is everything Joel isn't... at least not the Joel the world sees. The feelings locked up inside of him are released through Clementine. They prove you do not have to make love or kiss all the time to be in love. This couple can play music, in the snow, go shopping, or just lounge around at home and the audience can tell they are in love. But as time goes by, their relationship begins to shatter and really goes to the extreme when Joel discovers Clementine erased him from her mind, thanks to a brilliant doctor's invention. Joel contacts the agency, Lacuna Inc., and its main doctor, Dr. Howard Mierzwiak (Tom Wilkinson), for Joel to receive the same operation. During the evening Dr. Mierzwiak and his team: another doctor/technician (Mark Ruffalo), a lovestruck receptionist/assistant (Kirsten Dunst), and naive (Elijah Wood) perform the operation, Joel evaluates his relationship with Clementine and realizes he is still in love with her and wishes to keep the memories of her.

"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" is an incredible film and one of the greatest modern romantic comedies of our time. It is smart, clever, and charming with an exceptional cast and an intelligent crew. This movie received many excellent reviews and anyone that I've known that has seen it agrees. A movie like that is superb. This movie is unique and makes the audience think and comprehend of what is happening. Carrey delivers a superb performance that made him avoid the "Oscar". His humor mixed with sadness and all the complexity of the character made me understand that he is a great actor (before, Truman Show made the audience give a serious look at this actor) and performer. Kate Winslet, again, delivers a full featured character, a "girl" from town, this "Shakespeare" actress can do it all and likely see the wild and funny side of her, what you would think would be vice versa. The supporting cast consisting of Kirsten Dunst, Mark Ruffalo, Elijah Wood, and Tom Wilkinson is does a great job. Charlie Kaufman, as always, writes a phenomenal script with such creativity and intellect. Speaking of intellect, director Michel Gondry uses his own intellect to make this film a spectacle. The shots are captivating and exciting.

"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" is a romantic motion picture unlike any other. It is definitely not one of those typical romantic comedies when they both love each other without realizing it. This film captures beauty and the true quality of a great film. This film is one of the better films out there and anyone else who has will agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, when you're in the mood, Aug. 31 2007
By 
Virus (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
I had to take two runs at this movie. You really have to be in the mood for a dark, plodding movie that hits hard if you give it time to set up the opportunity.

The film touches upon themes like "be careful what you wish for" and "the easy way out may not be the best". Winslet and Carrey are good in their roles. Clementine (Winslet) is spontaneous, flakey, and Carrey is dark, brooding...but they match. There are some very emotional scenes, but not in the typical romantic comedy sense. As whimsical as the premise of the movie is, there's some very real heartbreak and dark reality built in.

Characters are various shades of grey. You'll see hints of selfishness from the main characters, and supporting roles turn out to be just as flawed if not dispicable. There's subtle and sometimes ludicrous humour to be found as well.

All in all this is an excellent film, but I recognize it's not for everyone. If you're looking for a laugh-out-loud comedy, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a romance story to score brownie points, or to make yourself feel better...also look elsewhere. This is a film for when you're looking for something odd, dark, deep, and takes time to let you appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starting anew, and not in a metaphorical sense ...., Jan. 10 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"How happy is the blameless vestal's lot! The world forgetting, by the world forgot. Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!", says a poem. But how much truth can we find there?. What if we could erase our bad memories of a romance gone sour?. Would we be happier, or would we just lose the benefit of experience, and the good memories along with the bad ones?. Of course, posing these questions seems far-fetched, so strange that many people wouldn't even think about it if it weren't for the fact that "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" brings to the fore the possibility of starting anew, and not in a metaphorical sense :)

That is as a matter of fact exactly what Clementine (Kate Winslet) does on an impulse, after a particularly awful fight with her boyfriend, Joel (Jim Carrey). Afterwards, Joel doesn't understand why Clementine pretends not to know him, until he discovers she has had an operation to "erase" him. When he confronts the doctor who performed the operation, he decides to undergo the same procedure. But as the operation begins, and his memories start to fade, Joel begins to realize that he wants to remember his good moments with Clementine, even if that means keeping the bad ones too. As a result, he endeavors to hide his memories with her in parts of his brain that weren`t supposed to be wiped by the machine that the doctor manipulates. But will he succeed?.

There are some secondary characters that are quite interesting, for example the unethical technician (Elijah Wood) that helps to wipe memories, and that starts dating Clementine after her operation. However, the best thing this movie offers is the great performances given by Carrey as an introspective and shy Joel, and Winslet as a loveable yet really eccentric woman who changes the colour of her hair to suit her whims. The director (Michel Gondry) and the scriptwriter (Charlie Kaufman) also made a wonderful job of showing us the dynamics of Joel and Clementine's relationship, and of making the spectator believe that what was happening was real...

On the whole, I can say that I loved this movie. The central themes are easy to relate to, because they have to do with feelings we all have experienced at some point in our lives: love, loss, anger, disappointment, the need to start all over again... "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" entertains you, but it also makes you think. It isn't a comedy, and it isn't a drama, but it is certainly the kind of film I can strongly recommend you to see....

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity. Just pure bloody creativity, April 17 2005
By 
"superkhy" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
From what I can tell, this is Charlie Kaufman's take on the philosophy of Love and Memory. Kaufman handles it with an incredible level of creativity and Michael Gondry (the director) renders his words with equally incredible beauty.
This is a smart love story. It isn't just about two people getting together under some strange circumstances and falling for each other and some string of conflicts tests their relationshop and it all works out at the end. No, this is Charlie's Kaufman's love story, of course it's nothing like that.
It's brings up so many different ideas concerning relationships and memory, and how Kaufman ties it all together is, can't say this enough, incredible.
The cast also does a fine job with their respective roles.
If you've ever seen any of Michael Gondry's work, you'll know what to expect here. If you haven't, it's deliciously clever stuff.
The extras are okay. I would've loved to know more about Kaufman's and Gondry's creative process, you know, see them discuss their ideas more in-depth, but as it is, it's not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic Comedy + Hallucinogenic Mind Candy, Jan. 22 2005
By 
"blessed_forgetful" (GTA, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is true indie material by a truly talented director (Gondrey) and a legendary writer (Kauffman.) It's something Hollywood has never seen before. Something that many don't understand as well, sadly...
The aura and ambience of the film are blinding and emotional, and the storyline tests the hearts and souls of the audience. The main premise of the movie (having been stated before) is very striking even though it sounds like some sort of sci-fi flick.
Twsting realities and rediscovering your memories isn't as easy as Carrey's character thought. Jim Carrey's and Kate Winslet's roles seem to have been switched and their love is so belivable on-screen. It's the most unlikely pairing I could think of, mostly because Carrey is used as a sensationalistic comedy-actor, while Kate is usually the lacy, lady-like, 19th century English woman.
The soul-ride through the blurry and incomplete memories, coupled with a serious comedic undertone and human intervention, makes this film shine fantastically among the greatest love stories ever told on film. I recommend picking it up today if you liked Lost In Translation or any other indie movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab921198)

This product

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews