Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity. Just pure bloody creativity
From what I can tell, this is Charlie Kaufman's take on the philosophy of Love and Memory. Kaufman handles it with an incredible level of creativity and Michael Gondry (the director) renders his words with equally incredible beauty.
This is a smart love story. It isn't just about two people getting together under some strange circumstances and falling for each other...
Published on April 17 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Kaufman -- the actors -- 1 for Chemistry
Does anyone else think that this film was excellently written and crafted -- and even acted by both stars, but that the chemistry was just off? Either lead could have made this work without the other -- but they would have been very different -- and better -- films. Together? Not the best. Enjoyable, but overall a letdown.
Published on June 25 2004 by Limelight Books


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity. Just pure bloody creativity, April 17 2005
From what I can tell, this is Charlie Kaufman's take on the philosophy of Love and Memory. Kaufman handles it with an incredible level of creativity and Michael Gondry (the director) renders his words with equally incredible beauty.
This is a smart love story. It isn't just about two people getting together under some strange circumstances and falling for each other and some string of conflicts tests their relationshop and it all works out at the end. No, this is Charlie's Kaufman's love story, of course it's nothing like that.
It's brings up so many different ideas concerning relationships and memory, and how Kaufman ties it all together is, can't say this enough, incredible.
The cast also does a fine job with their respective roles.
If you've ever seen any of Michael Gondry's work, you'll know what to expect here. If you haven't, it's deliciously clever stuff.
The extras are okay. I would've loved to know more about Kaufman's and Gondry's creative process, you know, see them discuss their ideas more in-depth, but as it is, it's not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic Comedy + Hallucinogenic Mind Candy, Jan. 22 2005
By 
"blessed_forgetful" (GTA, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is true indie material by a truly talented director (Gondrey) and a legendary writer (Kauffman.) It's something Hollywood has never seen before. Something that many don't understand as well, sadly...
The aura and ambience of the film are blinding and emotional, and the storyline tests the hearts and souls of the audience. The main premise of the movie (having been stated before) is very striking even though it sounds like some sort of sci-fi flick.
Twsting realities and rediscovering your memories isn't as easy as Carrey's character thought. Jim Carrey's and Kate Winslet's roles seem to have been switched and their love is so belivable on-screen. It's the most unlikely pairing I could think of, mostly because Carrey is used as a sensationalistic comedy-actor, while Kate is usually the lacy, lady-like, 19th century English woman.
The soul-ride through the blurry and incomplete memories, coupled with a serious comedic undertone and human intervention, makes this film shine fantastically among the greatest love stories ever told on film. I recommend picking it up today if you liked Lost In Translation or any other indie movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, June 26 2004
This film was one of the best ones that I have seen this year.
The unlikely pair that is Kate Winslet and Jim Carrey illuminate the screen with unexpected chemistry.
The idea that a person can be completely eliminated from one's memories is startling. But this idea truly comes full circle with the 'moral,' if you will, of the story: Don't act irrationally! Beware of what you wish for!
The film also seems to employ the use of magical realism, in creating the absurd memories of Carrey. Suspended disbelief is a must in watching this movie, and the plot must be looked at more as an allegory than truth.
But overall, 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' was heartwarming and meaningful. Kate Winslet is a gem, and I hope to see Carrey in more serious roles like this one in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique film, Oct. 20 2009
By 
Joost (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
I use this film in high school and it gets a great response from students. Upon first viewing I liked this film, but after watching it a second time and catching more of the abundant detail I think I liked it even more. Kate Winslet is truly a phenomenal actress who can realistically convey the emotions of her character, while Jim Carrey, surprisingly (at least to me), is perfect for the role of Joel. A movie for anyone who has thought about past relationships and, after having dug through the complicated discussions and arguments and ugliness of the breakup, has discovered that there were gems in there worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaufman's version of a romance, April 19 2009
By 
Travis J. Clark (Miniota, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Charlie Kaufman is one of the best contemporary writers in Hollywood, as he is amazingly original, yet his movies don't really have holes. This is no exception as he tackles a romance, in a movie that is probably as main stream as a Charlie Kaufman written movie will get. The cast is great as you see the always great Kate Winslet, and Tom Wilkinson, along with Mark Ruffalo, Kirsten Dunst, and a career best performance by Jim Carrey who is always best when he isn't trying to be funny. Definitely one of the best, most original romance you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying and Heartbreaking, May 2 2009
By 
S. Avery "Heretic227" (Ontario CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone with a soul should love this movie. Take away all the mind-blowing Special Effects, take away the star power, and take away all pre-conceptions of a "typical" Rom-Com. This is one hell of a ride.

This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are perfect opposites in this flick. It's a "fragment" film, as the scenes you witness all add up to the overall picture. Anyone with past relationships can relate to what "Joel" and "Clementine" are going through. Imagine any GF/BF relationship you've been in, and what it has meant to your life. This is what it's all about.

The film focusses on Joel's feelings for a girl that he F'ed up with. He literally spends the entire film in his head, searching for answers to why it didn't work out. A company provides a service in which you can forget the past, and Joel goes through with it, only to realize that he may not want to get rid of "all" the memories that made up his life with a girl that broke his heart.

Recommended to all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of exquisite in both story and execution, Feb. 18 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I really have to get out more because I wasn't even familiar with this film until one of my friends told me how good it was and said it was probably the type of film I would like. I can't imagine how this incredible motion picture experience escaped my attention for so long. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is just incredible, the kind of film that renews one's faith in motion pictures. Every time I think Hollywood's last glowing embers of originality and intellectual beauty have been snuffed out by an endless rehashing of uninspired sequels and re-makes, a film like this comes out and blows me away. Let me be perfectly clear: I absolutely love this movie.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind isn't your typical Hollywood faire. It's a complex film that some will undoubtedly find confusing, and that's okay. For those who love a deep, multi-layered, challenging motion picture presented in an ingenious, somewhat risky manner, though, this film is something to shout about. This is a romance, a drama, a comedy, and a marginal science fiction (concept-wise, anyway) film all rolled into one exquisite ball that can leave you laughing one minute, crying the next, and tossing and turning all night trying to push the story out of your mind long enough for you to fall asleep.

To succeed, this film had to have great performances by all of the main characters - and it did. Jim Carrey was amazing; I'm not a big fan of his over-the-top comedic films, and I wasn't sure he could pull off a role such as that of the shy, quiet, introspective Joel Barish - he definitely surprised me here. Kate Winslet made the movie for me, though; she is simply enchanting as the quirky and delightfully spontaneous Clementine Kruczynksi. Kirsten Dunst, Elijah Wood, and others turned in solid performances in the form of secondary characters, but this film is really all about Joel and Clementine.

The plot revolves around the unusual but definitely heart-warming romance of our two charmingly unique lovers and their subsequent decisions to have each other erased from their memories. Joel wakes up one day and finds Clem gone from his life; she truly doesn't even know him anymore. Naturally, this would devastate and confuse any man; when he finds out she had him erased from her memories, he naturally decides to do the same thing rather than live with the pain of losing her. As he begins reliving the memories as they are erased, though, he realizes that a lot of wonderful memories are being taken away from him. Helpless to stop the procedure, he fights as hard as he can to keep Clem in his heart and mind.

I've just described the movie, but I really haven't described it at all - not by a long shot. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is the kind of film that defies description. You really have to experience it for yourself - and I would encourage you to do so. This is truly one of the most memorable, exquisite, touching films to come along in a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eternally, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Charlie Kaufman and Michel Gondry have both created some mind-bending films -- "Being John Malkovich," "Adaptation," "Human Nature."

But this brilliant writer and director take a slightly different turn on in "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," a romantic comedy with a dark, melancholy streak. With brilliant acting and wonderfully quirky, funny twists, this is a minor gem.

Uptight Joel (Jim Carrey) runs into his ex-girlfriend Celementine (Kate Winslet) at a bookstore, and is shocked that not only does she not remember him, but she has a new boyfriend. Turns out that she had him erased from her memory, courtesy of a new memory-erasing technique. When he learns why she broke up with him (she thought he was boring), he gets mad and decides to have the same thing done to himself.

A group of offbeat technicians (Mark Ruffalo, Elijah Wood and Kirsten Dunst) arrive at his house, and put Joel into a deep sleep as they erase his memories. But as he relives his experiences with Clementine, Joel realizes that while their relationship ended badly, the good times he had with her are precious to him. So he tries to put her into other parts of his memory, so that she will never be totally forgotten...

"Dark romantic comedy" is the closest thing that "Eternal Sunshine" has to a description. Like Kaufman's other films, it's funny in a subtle way, and more obviously sweet and romantic. Not to mention thought-provoking -- if you could erase unpleasant memories, would you do it, if it changed the person you were? If we get rid of the pain, do we also get rid of the joy that came with it?

Michel Gondry is best known for his work on surreal, entrancing music videos, so he fits perfectly into directing "Eternal Sunshine." It takes a brilliant director to give us a convincing trip through a person's brain, and he does it well -- surreal imagery (a teeny Carrey getting bathed in a sink?), bright colours, and the sight of entire experiences vanishing.

But Gondry also spins up some truly beautiful romantic scenes (Carrey and Winslet lying on the ice), in a way that seems realistic, yet leaves the viewer with hope for Joel and Clementine's erased love. It's a pretty stark contrast to that creepy subplot about Wood using the erased memories to seduce Winslet -- just get a girlfriend the normal way!

A serious Carrey and punky-haired Winslet are amazing in these roles, as the lovelorn, repressed Joel and the free-spirited, wacky Clementine. They're a flawed couple, but you want to see them get back together. Kirsten Dunst has a bittersweet subplot about the memory erasure, while Wood takes what could have been a 2-D creep and makes him a rather pitiful, lonely figure,

Charlie Kaufman's fertile brain and Gondry's amazing direction produced a beautiful, romantic movie that doesn't resemble any other. A melancholy, prismatic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those in love, out of love, on the verge of break up or just broken up and philosophers, Sept. 27 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When I first heard of this film it didn't interest me that much but after a number of recommendations I dove into it. Thankfully enough I found "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" an excellent romantic and intriguing comedy-drama about two people who don't truly realize they are in love until one loses the other. Joel Barish (Jim Carrey) is a lonely yet sweet man who is looking for true love and the ideal woman. His search ends when he meets Clementine Krucynksi (Kate Winslet), an energetic and wild young woman. Clementine is everything Joel isn't... at least not the Joel the world sees. The feelings locked up inside of him are released through Clementine. They prove you do not have to make love or kiss all the time to be in love. This couple can play music, in the snow, go shopping, or just lounge around at home and the audience can tell they are in love. But as time goes by, their relationship begins to shatter and really goes to the extreme when Joel discovers Clementine erased him from her mind, thanks to a brilliant doctor's invention. Joel contacts the agency, Lacuna Inc., and its main doctor, Dr. Howard Mierzwiak (Tom Wilkinson), for Joel to receive the same operation. During the evening Dr. Mierzwiak and his team: another doctor/technician (Mark Ruffalo), a lovestruck receptionist/assistant (Kirsten Dunst), and naive (Elijah Wood) perform the operation, Joel evaluates his relationship with Clementine and realizes he is still in love with her and wishes to keep the memories of her.

"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" is an incredible film and one of the greatest modern romantic comedies of our time. It is smart, clever, and charming with an exceptional cast and an intelligent crew. This movie received many excellent reviews and anyone that I've known that has seen it agrees. A movie like that is superb. This movie is unique and makes the audience think and comprehend of what is happening. Carrey delivers a superb performance that made him avoid the "Oscar". His humor mixed with sadness and all the complexity of the character made me understand that he is a great actor (before, Truman Show made the audience give a serious look at this actor) and performer. Kate Winslet, again, delivers a full featured character, a "girl" from town, this "Shakespeare" actress can do it all and likely see the wild and funny side of her, what you would think would be vice versa. The supporting cast consisting of Kirsten Dunst, Mark Ruffalo, Elijah Wood, and Tom Wilkinson is does a great job. Charlie Kaufman, as always, writes a phenomenal script with such creativity and intellect. Speaking of intellect, director Michel Gondry uses his own intellect to make this film a spectacle. The shots are captivating and exciting.

"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" is a romantic motion picture unlike any other. It is definitely not one of those typical romantic comedies when they both love each other without realizing it. This film captures beauty and the true quality of a great film. This film is one of the better films out there and anyone else who has will agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, when you're in the mood, Aug. 31 2007
By 
Virus (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
I had to take two runs at this movie. You really have to be in the mood for a dark, plodding movie that hits hard if you give it time to set up the opportunity.

The film touches upon themes like "be careful what you wish for" and "the easy way out may not be the best". Winslet and Carrey are good in their roles. Clementine (Winslet) is spontaneous, flakey, and Carrey is dark, brooding...but they match. There are some very emotional scenes, but not in the typical romantic comedy sense. As whimsical as the premise of the movie is, there's some very real heartbreak and dark reality built in.

Characters are various shades of grey. You'll see hints of selfishness from the main characters, and supporting roles turn out to be just as flawed if not dispicable. There's subtle and sometimes ludicrous humour to be found as well.

All in all this is an excellent film, but I recognize it's not for everyone. If you're looking for a laugh-out-loud comedy, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a romance story to score brownie points, or to make yourself feel better...also look elsewhere. This is a film for when you're looking for something odd, dark, deep, and takes time to let you appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.99
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews