Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity. Just pure bloody creativity
From what I can tell, this is Charlie Kaufman's take on the philosophy of Love and Memory. Kaufman handles it with an incredible level of creativity and Michael Gondry (the director) renders his words with equally incredible beauty.
This is a smart love story. It isn't just about two people getting together under some strange circumstances and falling for each other...
Published on April 17 2005 by superkhy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Kaufman -- the actors -- 1 for Chemistry
Does anyone else think that this film was excellently written and crafted -- and even acted by both stars, but that the chemistry was just off? Either lead could have made this work without the other -- but they would have been very different -- and better -- films. Together? Not the best. Enjoyable, but overall a letdown.
Published on June 25 2004 by Limelight Books


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity. Just pure bloody creativity, April 17 2005
By 
"superkhy" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
From what I can tell, this is Charlie Kaufman's take on the philosophy of Love and Memory. Kaufman handles it with an incredible level of creativity and Michael Gondry (the director) renders his words with equally incredible beauty.
This is a smart love story. It isn't just about two people getting together under some strange circumstances and falling for each other and some string of conflicts tests their relationshop and it all works out at the end. No, this is Charlie's Kaufman's love story, of course it's nothing like that.
It's brings up so many different ideas concerning relationships and memory, and how Kaufman ties it all together is, can't say this enough, incredible.
The cast also does a fine job with their respective roles.
If you've ever seen any of Michael Gondry's work, you'll know what to expect here. If you haven't, it's deliciously clever stuff.
The extras are okay. I would've loved to know more about Kaufman's and Gondry's creative process, you know, see them discuss their ideas more in-depth, but as it is, it's not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic Comedy + Hallucinogenic Mind Candy, Jan. 22 2005
By 
"blessed_forgetful" (GTA, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is true indie material by a truly talented director (Gondrey) and a legendary writer (Kauffman.) It's something Hollywood has never seen before. Something that many don't understand as well, sadly...
The aura and ambience of the film are blinding and emotional, and the storyline tests the hearts and souls of the audience. The main premise of the movie (having been stated before) is very striking even though it sounds like some sort of sci-fi flick.
Twsting realities and rediscovering your memories isn't as easy as Carrey's character thought. Jim Carrey's and Kate Winslet's roles seem to have been switched and their love is so belivable on-screen. It's the most unlikely pairing I could think of, mostly because Carrey is used as a sensationalistic comedy-actor, while Kate is usually the lacy, lady-like, 19th century English woman.
The soul-ride through the blurry and incomplete memories, coupled with a serious comedic undertone and human intervention, makes this film shine fantastically among the greatest love stories ever told on film. I recommend picking it up today if you liked Lost In Translation or any other indie movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, June 26 2004
This film was one of the best ones that I have seen this year.
The unlikely pair that is Kate Winslet and Jim Carrey illuminate the screen with unexpected chemistry.
The idea that a person can be completely eliminated from one's memories is startling. But this idea truly comes full circle with the 'moral,' if you will, of the story: Don't act irrationally! Beware of what you wish for!
The film also seems to employ the use of magical realism, in creating the absurd memories of Carrey. Suspended disbelief is a must in watching this movie, and the plot must be looked at more as an allegory than truth.
But overall, 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' was heartwarming and meaningful. Kate Winslet is a gem, and I hope to see Carrey in more serious roles like this one in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaufman's version of a romance, April 19 2009
By 
Travis J. Clark (Miniota, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Charlie Kaufman is one of the best contemporary writers in Hollywood, as he is amazingly original, yet his movies don't really have holes. This is no exception as he tackles a romance, in a movie that is probably as main stream as a Charlie Kaufman written movie will get. The cast is great as you see the always great Kate Winslet, and Tom Wilkinson, along with Mark Ruffalo, Kirsten Dunst, and a career best performance by Jim Carrey who is always best when he isn't trying to be funny. Definitely one of the best, most original romance you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of exquisite in both story and execution, Feb. 18 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I really have to get out more because I wasn't even familiar with this film until one of my friends told me how good it was and said it was probably the type of film I would like. I can't imagine how this incredible motion picture experience escaped my attention for so long. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is just incredible, the kind of film that renews one's faith in motion pictures. Every time I think Hollywood's last glowing embers of originality and intellectual beauty have been snuffed out by an endless rehashing of uninspired sequels and re-makes, a film like this comes out and blows me away. Let me be perfectly clear: I absolutely love this movie.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind isn't your typical Hollywood faire. It's a complex film that some will undoubtedly find confusing, and that's okay. For those who love a deep, multi-layered, challenging motion picture presented in an ingenious, somewhat risky manner, though, this film is something to shout about. This is a romance, a drama, a comedy, and a marginal science fiction (concept-wise, anyway) film all rolled into one exquisite ball that can leave you laughing one minute, crying the next, and tossing and turning all night trying to push the story out of your mind long enough for you to fall asleep.

To succeed, this film had to have great performances by all of the main characters - and it did. Jim Carrey was amazing; I'm not a big fan of his over-the-top comedic films, and I wasn't sure he could pull off a role such as that of the shy, quiet, introspective Joel Barish - he definitely surprised me here. Kate Winslet made the movie for me, though; she is simply enchanting as the quirky and delightfully spontaneous Clementine Kruczynksi. Kirsten Dunst, Elijah Wood, and others turned in solid performances in the form of secondary characters, but this film is really all about Joel and Clementine.

The plot revolves around the unusual but definitely heart-warming romance of our two charmingly unique lovers and their subsequent decisions to have each other erased from their memories. Joel wakes up one day and finds Clem gone from his life; she truly doesn't even know him anymore. Naturally, this would devastate and confuse any man; when he finds out she had him erased from her memories, he naturally decides to do the same thing rather than live with the pain of losing her. As he begins reliving the memories as they are erased, though, he realizes that a lot of wonderful memories are being taken away from him. Helpless to stop the procedure, he fights as hard as he can to keep Clem in his heart and mind.

I've just described the movie, but I really haven't described it at all - not by a long shot. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is the kind of film that defies description. You really have to experience it for yourself - and I would encourage you to do so. This is truly one of the most memorable, exquisite, touching films to come along in a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique film, Oct. 20 2009
By 
Joost (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
I use this film in high school and it gets a great response from students. Upon first viewing I liked this film, but after watching it a second time and catching more of the abundant detail I think I liked it even more. Kate Winslet is truly a phenomenal actress who can realistically convey the emotions of her character, while Jim Carrey, surprisingly (at least to me), is perfect for the role of Joel. A movie for anyone who has thought about past relationships and, after having dug through the complicated discussions and arguments and ugliness of the breakup, has discovered that there were gems in there worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eternally, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Charlie Kaufman and Michel Gondry have both created some mind-bending films -- "Being John Malkovich," "Adaptation," "Human Nature."

But this brilliant writer and director take a slightly different turn on in "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," a romantic comedy with a dark, melancholy streak. With brilliant acting and wonderfully quirky, funny twists, this is a minor gem.

Uptight Joel (Jim Carrey) runs into his ex-girlfriend Celementine (Kate Winslet) at a bookstore, and is shocked that not only does she not remember him, but she has a new boyfriend. Turns out that she had him erased from her memory, courtesy of a new memory-erasing technique. When he learns why she broke up with him (she thought he was boring), he gets mad and decides to have the same thing done to himself.

A group of offbeat technicians (Mark Ruffalo, Elijah Wood and Kirsten Dunst) arrive at his house, and put Joel into a deep sleep as they erase his memories. But as he relives his experiences with Clementine, Joel realizes that while their relationship ended badly, the good times he had with her are precious to him. So he tries to put her into other parts of his memory, so that she will never be totally forgotten...

"Dark romantic comedy" is the closest thing that "Eternal Sunshine" has to a description. Like Kaufman's other films, it's funny in a subtle way, and more obviously sweet and romantic. Not to mention thought-provoking -- if you could erase unpleasant memories, would you do it, if it changed the person you were? If we get rid of the pain, do we also get rid of the joy that came with it?

Michel Gondry is best known for his work on surreal, entrancing music videos, so he fits perfectly into directing "Eternal Sunshine." It takes a brilliant director to give us a convincing trip through a person's brain, and he does it well -- surreal imagery (a teeny Carrey getting bathed in a sink?), bright colours, and the sight of entire experiences vanishing.

But Gondry also spins up some truly beautiful romantic scenes (Carrey and Winslet lying on the ice), in a way that seems realistic, yet leaves the viewer with hope for Joel and Clementine's erased love. It's a pretty stark contrast to that creepy subplot about Wood using the erased memories to seduce Winslet -- just get a girlfriend the normal way!

A serious Carrey and punky-haired Winslet are amazing in these roles, as the lovelorn, repressed Joel and the free-spirited, wacky Clementine. They're a flawed couple, but you want to see them get back together. Kirsten Dunst has a bittersweet subplot about the memory erasure, while Wood takes what could have been a 2-D creep and makes him a rather pitiful, lonely figure,

Charlie Kaufman's fertile brain and Gondry's amazing direction produced a beautiful, romantic movie that doesn't resemble any other. A melancholy, prismatic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying and Heartbreaking, May 2 2009
By 
S. Avery "Heretic227" (Ontario CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone with a soul should love this movie. Take away all the mind-blowing Special Effects, take away the star power, and take away all pre-conceptions of a "typical" Rom-Com. This is one hell of a ride.

This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are perfect opposites in this flick. It's a "fragment" film, as the scenes you witness all add up to the overall picture. Anyone with past relationships can relate to what "Joel" and "Clementine" are going through. Imagine any GF/BF relationship you've been in, and what it has meant to your life. This is what it's all about.

The film focusses on Joel's feelings for a girl that he F'ed up with. He literally spends the entire film in his head, searching for answers to why it didn't work out. A company provides a service in which you can forget the past, and Joel goes through with it, only to realize that he may not want to get rid of "all" the memories that made up his life with a girl that broke his heart.

Recommended to all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starting anew, and not in a metaphorical sense ...., Jan. 10 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"How happy is the blameless vestal's lot! The world forgetting, by the world forgot. Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!", says a poem. But how much truth can we find there?. What if we could erase our bad memories of a romance gone sour?. Would we be happier, or would we just lose the benefit of experience, and the good memories along with the bad ones?. Of course, posing these questions seems far-fetched, so strange that many people wouldn't even think about it if it weren't for the fact that "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" brings to the fore the possibility of starting anew, and not in a metaphorical sense :)

That is as a matter of fact exactly what Clementine (Kate Winslet) does on an impulse, after a particularly awful fight with her boyfriend, Joel (Jim Carrey). Afterwards, Joel doesn't understand why Clementine pretends not to know him, until he discovers she has had an operation to "erase" him. When he confronts the doctor who performed the operation, he decides to undergo the same procedure. But as the operation begins, and his memories start to fade, Joel begins to realize that he wants to remember his good moments with Clementine, even if that means keeping the bad ones too. As a result, he endeavors to hide his memories with her in parts of his brain that weren`t supposed to be wiped by the machine that the doctor manipulates. But will he succeed?.

There are some secondary characters that are quite interesting, for example the unethical technician (Elijah Wood) that helps to wipe memories, and that starts dating Clementine after her operation. However, the best thing this movie offers is the great performances given by Carrey as an introspective and shy Joel, and Winslet as a loveable yet really eccentric woman who changes the colour of her hair to suit her whims. The director (Michel Gondry) and the scriptwriter (Charlie Kaufman) also made a wonderful job of showing us the dynamics of Joel and Clementine's relationship, and of making the spectator believe that what was happening was real...

On the whole, I can say that I loved this movie. The central themes are easy to relate to, because they have to do with feelings we all have experienced at some point in our lives: love, loss, anger, disappointment, the need to start all over again... "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" entertains you, but it also makes you think. It isn't a comedy, and it isn't a drama, but it is certainly the kind of film I can strongly recommend you to see....

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunts the memory, July 6 2004
I honestly don't know where to begin when describing this movie. Is it a comedy? Is it a drama? A love story? A strange trip? Quite simply yes it is. And at the same time it's one of the most original movies of the past five years that aren't obscure fare that 10 people see and declare it life changing.
The story is an everyman/everywoman story of love, loss, redemption, and memory. We've all had relationships we say we want to forget forever when they're finished, forget all the bad times that led to the loss of the relationship. This movie perfectly captures that you may want to forget all the bad things but then you'd lose everything else you found along the way.
Usually when I see a movie, even a good one, I walk out of the theatre and within half an hour I remember the basics of it, the funny lines, the epic battle scenes. But when I walked away from this movie it stayed with me for days. I would hear a song and equate it to the movie (btw "I Am Trying To Break Your Heart" by Wilco is dead on to the movie), watch something on television and find something from the movie. The last line of the memory erase gave me chills. I've rambled enough. If you like great movies buy this the day it comes out, I know I will, it comes out the day before my birthday so a birthday present for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews