Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor and Integrity in War!
I would classify this movie as blockbuster material, more for what it attempts to say about how human nature copes with adversity than how it says it. The film covers the wartime adventures of a Polish-Jewish family, the Bielskis, as it rallies a group of Jews in the southeastern mountainous part of the country against the Nazi occupiers. There are a number of obstacles...
Published on Sept. 9 2009 by Ian Gordon Malcomson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre but not terrible
I'm doing a review of this movie mainly because I felt that the one-star rating given to the regular DVD version is pretty cruel. If you look at the Rotten Tomatoes film rating site, Defiance gets about a 56% rating over there, and I think that's fairly accurate.

The problem with Defiance is that there isn't really any story, or at least any story arc. All...
Published on July 7 2009 by Tommy Tom Tom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor and Integrity in War!, Sept. 9 2009
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Defiance [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I would classify this movie as blockbuster material, more for what it attempts to say about how human nature copes with adversity than how it says it. The film covers the wartime adventures of a Polish-Jewish family, the Bielskis, as it rallies a group of Jews in the southeastern mountainous part of the country against the Nazi occupiers. There are a number of obstacles facing the brothers as they doggedly lead their little band of terrified Jews made up of escapees from the ghettos: infighting, intimidation, treachery, anti-semitism and limited resources all threaten to do them in at various times in the story. For the first two years of the movement, the chief problem centers on the diverging views of the two older brothers who are leading the movement: one wants to embark on a campaign of retribution while the other wants to build a zionistic organization that stresses cooperation and peaceful co-existence. While these internal conflicts are eventually resolved, they take a terrible toll on the structure of the community on the run. Life for these fledgling Jews is one of constantly being alert to very real danger around their encampments. The main attraction of this dramatization is this very palpable tension and fear mixed with hope that seem to drive the film to a very powerful climax. It is only through this very tangible playing out of anxiety in the story does the viewer get to appreciate its defining moments of deliverance. Daniel Craig plays a superb role as one of the brothers in providing both resolute and intelligent leadership to an often disorganized and unappreciative band of rag-tag Jews lost in their own despair. It is no coincidence that this story is meant to mirror the ancient exodus from Egypt, with the two brothers representing Aaron and Moses. Overall, a worthwhile watch for the fact that its draws from both modern and ancient times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defiance, Sept. 28 2009
By 
D. Olson "Movie buff" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Defiance [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
This is an incredible movie. Daniel Craig and his fellow actors are so thoroughly convincing. World War 2 was hell for so many people and for once a movie shows what ordinary people are willing to do in order to live, exist and carry on even though things seem to be at the lowest ebb. The movie is gritty, heartbreaking and totally believable. The burtality of WW2 is brutally portrayed but undoubtedly not as bad as it really was at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well told story, July 19 2009
By 
S. A. Loney (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Defiance [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I had great anticipation for this movie after seeing the trailer for it. And the full feature didn't disappoint.

The story flows along nicely, keeping to key events while allowing the viewer to keep focus on what is going on.
Subplots added greatly to the story, while managing to not impede upon the main story at hand.

The performances in the movie from all actors were top notch. They were believable, which made it easy to dive into the film and forget that it was a movie.

Defiance has great dialogue, well balanced action, timely suspense, and the proper dose of humanity all swirled together.

I highly recommend this movie to anyone who appreciates the great re-telling of true events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie at an awesome price. Great quality and bonus features. Really glad I own this on blu ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre but not terrible, July 7 2009
By 
I'm doing a review of this movie mainly because I felt that the one-star rating given to the regular DVD version is pretty cruel. If you look at the Rotten Tomatoes film rating site, Defiance gets about a 56% rating over there, and I think that's fairly accurate.

The problem with Defiance is that there isn't really any story, or at least any story arc. All these people go into hiding in the forest, they have very minimal adventures there, and at the end... at the climax after the big battle scene... they're still hiding in the forest. There's no "escape from alcatraz" moment when everything comes to a head... although I guess the final battle scene was meant to be that type of moment (if so it doesn't work).

So Craig and Schreiber are fine in the lead roles, but despite the intended tension and rivalry between their characters, their relationship seems kind of flat as well.

All in all... this movie is weak, but it isn't as terrible as the one star rating mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Feb. 7 2014
By 
Chrissie W (Amherstview, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Was a really great movie that my son enjoyed as a Christmas gift. He has watched it over a dozen times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, Dec 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Defiance [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
movie is good, the packaging was good and arrival time decent. enjoyed it and glad to own this movie for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Craig Is Good As Always, Nov. 12 2013
By 
Peter M (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good movie about a true story. Worth seeing, I can recommend this one highly. There are interesting extras too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent transaction, May 20 2013
By 
Carlo (Alberta,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Defiance (Blu-ray)
Bluray was a good purchase, Excellent price and Very Good movie. Very Happy with this transaction. I will comeback again for sure....Thank very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Dec 22 2012
By 
Marigold (Caistor Ont.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Defiance [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
This movie is a depiction of the suffering endured by the people of these regions. It opens a window on WW11 that is seldom seen. don't miss this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Defiance [DVD] (2009)
CDN$ 14.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews