Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, but Digital Copy not iTunes compatible
I was pleased with this movie. The animation was mostly excellent (with a few brief moments of really bad animation), the voice acting was superb, especially Victor Garber as Sinestro. The plot was a little over the top, but that's par for the course in a superhero movie.

One thing that prospective buyers should beware is that the digital copy is Windows...
Published on July 29 2009 by Luke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A run of the mill origin story
The title I gave this review - "A run of the mill origin story" - pretty much sums up my take.

Our tale begins with an alien green lantern crash-landing on Earth. He dies shortly thereafter, but not before giving his power-ring to Hal Jordan: the hero of the piece, and the character all true fanboys will recognize as THE definitive green lantern...
Published 18 months ago by Theo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, but Digital Copy not iTunes compatible, July 29 2009
I was pleased with this movie. The animation was mostly excellent (with a few brief moments of really bad animation), the voice acting was superb, especially Victor Garber as Sinestro. The plot was a little over the top, but that's par for the course in a superhero movie.

One thing that prospective buyers should beware is that the digital copy is Windows Media format only. It will not work on iPods or iTunes. I bought the DVD (at a brick and mortar store) and I did read the fine print before buying it. However, I'm sure some iTunes/iPod users may balk at the idea of paying extra for the special edition, which contains an essentially useless (to iPod/iTunes users) digital copy. It seems especially silly since the iTunes ecosystem is much larger than the Windows Media ecosystem.

The special features are also compelling. There's a two-part episode of the Justice League, some documentaries, a first look at the Superman-Batman animated movie, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A run of the mill origin story, Feb. 16 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The title I gave this review - "A run of the mill origin story" - pretty much sums up my take.

Our tale begins with an alien green lantern crash-landing on Earth. He dies shortly thereafter, but not before giving his power-ring to Hal Jordan: the hero of the piece, and the character all true fanboys will recognize as THE definitive green lantern.

This movie does differ from most other superhero origin stories in that the part where the hero actually gains superpowers is dispensed with very quickly. The focus is on the hero's first adventure - the one where he earns his spurs as a superhero. Hence the title "First Flight". But in all other respects this piece is pretty formulaic. There are a couple of twists here and there, but nothing major. The production values and the voice acting are all up to the exceptionally high standards that we've come to expect from DC's animated offerings. Otherwise...

Meh.

A lot of the animated DC stuff Bruce Timm has released over the years - in particular I'm thinking of Justice League Unlimited and Batman - Mask of the Phantasm - has had real depth; far beyond what most people expect from the superhero genre. This one just doesn't. Don't get me wrong: there's nothing especially bad about this movie. It's more that there's nothing that really stands out as especially good about it either.

The up side is, if you're after a rocket-fueled, high powered action flick, this movie delivers in spades. What you see is what you get, and what we get is a grand, galactic-scale adventure. Space opera with superpowers in the best tradition of the green lantern corps. It's only if you were hoping for anything more than that... well...

Meh.

And the extras? To be honest, after watching the actual feature I just didn't care enough to bother looking.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm big GL fan and this movie is good. Voice acting is awesome and the animation is ..., July 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: First Flight [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Decent origin story of Hal and his first interaction with Sinestro. Also origin of the Yellow power battery and the Sinestro Corps. I'm big GL fan and this movie is good. Voice acting is awesome and the animation is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good little movie from the DC Universe but not a great one!, Dec 15 2012
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: First Flight [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Green Lantern First Flight is yet another in a very long line of animated mini-movies from both the DC and Marvel universes. This one centering on the origins of Hal Jordan as the Green Lantern.

The plot is simple. Hal Jordan, a cocky test pilot gets picked by a dying Green Lantern to take his place; begins his training with the Green Lantern Corps, faces distrust and eventually betrayal and ultimately saves the day. In other words; it's your typical origin storyline.

Now it's not my favourite of these animated movies out there. Frankly I find the plot in the Green Lantern tv series more compelling and the Superman/Batman Apocalypse and Wonder Woman movies have much better and more moving storylines. But it is a reasonably solid piece of work; has a good if not outstanding dub and does have it's moments.

As for this blu ray itself, it's your typical 1080P, l.78:1 widescreen presentation and comes with either a Dolby True HD 5.1 or a Dolby Digital 5.1 sound track. On this particular edition, there are no other audio options. It's also a BD only edition, no Combo Pak here and came without a slip cover so it doesn't quite match with my other DC BD movies. So once again, satisfactory but could have been better.

However, like all of these small animated movies from either DC or Marvel; the Bluray does come loaded with a huge rash of extras! Among them being an 8 min. documentary on the revival of the Green Lantern franchise, a 22 min. documentary on the rings as possible mythological talismans, two 4 min. shorts on the origins of both Sinestro and the Guardians and most interesting of all, a 10 min. documentary on the Blackest Night DC comic franchise!

In addition, there are four extended documentaries of approximately 10 min. each on other DC movies from Superman/Batman Public Enemies right through to Wonder Woman. They also throw in three full episodes centering on Green Lantern from the Justice League series, two episodes from the Justice League Unlimited series and even a parody episode from the Duck Dodgers comedy series.

Overall, a good movie but not a great one. I'd rate it at 3-1/2.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling Story, Aug. 18 2009
By 
I am a moderate Green Lantern fan who found this movie very good. The voice acting was superb, especially by Sinestro and the music was perfectly selected to give each scene a mesmerizingly dramatic effect. The tension continuously builds throughout the story leaving the viewer enthralled in the intensity. The main villian in this story is very cynical and interesting to watch on screen. I would recommend this movie to any comics fan, and to anyone who enjoys a tightly packed and intense story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well done, March 5 2010
i thought this was a very well done animated movie.it's the origin story of how Hal Jordan became a Green Lantern.i have no idea how close it is to the original comic book origin.but i do knew,i loved the story.i thought it flowed very well,with a good mixture of action and drama.i thought the voice acting was terrific.plus,they seemed to have a good script to work with.i found the dialogue to be really good,as well.none of the usual cheese we tend to see in many animated or even live action movies.i think this particular animated film is as good as any of the recent spate of releases by both Marvel and DC,and it's certainly as entertaining.for me,Green Lantern:First Flight is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Green lantern's ligjht, Aug. 26 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
I wasn't thrilled by the recent live-action Green Lantern movie. So it's something of a relief that "Green Lantern: First Flight" gives a more cohesive origin story for Roy Harper that DOESN'T involve cosmic diarrhea. It would have benefited from another half hour, but it's a vibrant, action-packed adventures with plenty of epic battles.

Ace pilot Hal Jordan (Christopher Meloni) is in a flight simulator when he's suddenly dragged deep into the desert, where a dying alien gives him a green ring and the title of "Green Lantern." That evening, the Green Lantern Corps arrives to take Hal off to the planet of Oa, where he finds that the ancient Guardians -- and several of the Lanterns -- are not happy about a human joining their ranks.

And with the guidance of Sinestro (Victor Garber), Hal discovers more about the Green Lantern powers -- it turns out that their only vulnerability is the "yellow element." He also learns that his predecessor, Abin Sur, was killed by galactic warlord Kanjar Ro (Kurtwood Smith), who has also stolen the yellow element. When Kanjar Ro is found dead, Hal is the main suspect -- but he begins to suspect that Sinestro is up to something sinestrer!

I wish the live-action Green Lantern movie had been more like this one. It's a fast-paced, straightforward introduction to Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps, without much clutter or filler. I have no idea how faithful it is to any of the Green Lantern comics, but even non-comic-book-fans should be able to understand what the heck is going on.

So we get a lot of colorful alien worlds, expansive space stations and strange looking creatures, climaxing in a giant floating yellow battery blasting through Oa. It's also not a very kid-friendly cartoon, since it has scenes of torture, many Green Lanterns are killed, and there's even a fun scene where Sinestro reanimates a dead guy who has a GIANT HOLE punched through his abdomen. It's not very graphic, but punches aren't pulled.

However, there are a few problems. The pace sometimes goes too quickly (Hal masters his ring in LITERALLY a few minutes) and the finale centers around an unexplained deus ex machina. It's as if they went, "Nobody can beat Sinestro! Uh... here's a green crystal thingy."

But they do a pretty good job with the characters. Hal Jordan is a solid if slightly generic hero with a good, kind heart (he stops to help up a random alien up after he trips), and there's some nice development for the various Green Lanterns like gruff Kilowog and Abin Sur, and even for Kanjar Ro. Sinestro's development is especially good -- he's determined to establish his "new order," which fuels his ambition and hatred of the Guardians.

"Green Lantern: First Flight" is a solid introduction to the world of the Green Lantern Corps, and it doesn't have Blake Lively either. So, win-win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Flight? Let's Hope There's a Second!, May 18 2010
This review is from: Green Lantern: First Flight (DVD)
4.5 out of 5

Pilot Hal Jordan goes for the ride of his life when his test pod is mysteriously transported from the safety of an airforce hanger to a rocky desert only to encounter a bizarre dying alien named Abin Sur, who had summoned Jordan via his powerful. Abin Sur dies and Hal's world is turned upside down and he is introduced to the Green Lantern Corps, guardians of the galaxy. Under the tutelage of Sinestro, Hal learns to use his newfound power and witness, thanks to Sinestro's words and actions, that the Guardians of Oa--those who created the Green Lantern Corps and the green lantern power battery--have grown soft in their approach to intergalactic crime. Sinestro believes a more stern approach is needed and so takes Hal under his wing to show him that might makes right.

The Corps faces a crisis as the Yellow Element--the only force capable of weakening the Green Element, which powers the Corps's green battery on Oa--has been stolen. Should it be used against them, the Green Lantern Corps will crumble and the galaxy as we know it will no longer be protected and chaos and evil will reign.

Green Lantern, to me, has always been a cool character, yet he's also always been an overlooked character outside the realm of us hardcore superhero guys. Batman? Sure. Superman? We know him even better. Spider-Man? Yeah, good movies on the big screen. But Green Lantern? Wasn't he that green guy from that old Super Friends show, the one with that ring that does stuff and, um, well . . .

Green Lantern is an outside character. He's known and he's unknown. I think of him like Superman, the difference being is he takes the ring off and he's a guy like you and me. Superman doesn't have that option because no matter what kind of clothes he's wearing, he'll always be a Kryptonian. Green Lantern: First Flight reminds us of that: that beneath the cool power ring Hal Jordan is just your average guy.

I really appreciated the origin tone of this movie and even more so that 99% of it didn't take place on Earth. Here we got to get a solid look at the world of Green Lantern, which is an intergalactic one and not confined to a bustling Metropolis or an eerie Gotham.

To see the Green Lantern Corps--all those aliens with varied green uniforms--really added to the scope of what the Corps is all about and a visual reminder that humanity's protection is only a small part of what they do. According to this movie, there are 3600 green lanterns, each with their own sector to watch over. Solid.

I had only a couple minor quibbles with this movie. I thought Hal Jordan dove into the Green Lantern thing rather quickly. He gets the ring and suddenly--BAM--he's all green and knows what to do. He also seemed too casual and calm about all these alien encounters he suddenly finds himself having. If that was you or me, we'd be freaking out the second Abin Sur showed up, green ring or otherwise.

Likewise, Hal Jordan seemed to be the only guy who got back to wearing regular clothes when the ring came off, whereas everyone else still retained their uniform. I thought the uniform came with the ring. Take the ring off and you're back to wearing whatever it was when you put it on.

Again, minor, but something I would have liked to have seen handled better.

I know that comic books and comic book movies are not as much for kids as they used to be. Once again this DC film has some foul language in it. Not impressed because it's kids asking their moms for these flicks. It's not like the old days where superhero cartoons were clean language-wise.

The action is great. The fights are cool.

If Green Lantern: First Flight is meant as a primer for the upcoming live action film, man, we're in for a real treat and an awe-inspiring experience coming 2011.

This flick is solid, enjoyable and fun. Check it out.

A.P. Fuchs
Canister X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good dc universe flick, Aug. 19 2009
By 
Paolo C. Sales (Westbank, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Lantern: First Flight (DVD)
This is one of the better DC universe flicks. I myself am not a fan of the Green Lantern Universe but this film though has good story and a well executed plot.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, Sept. 1 2009
By 
vhoorin (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed this animated feature. The plot and story moved along well but overall I was not blown away. I never really felt anything for Hal. Sinestro on the other hand was very well played and voiced. I liked the reinterpretation of some of the secondary characters, like the Weaponers for instance. Overall though I was left a little disappointed at the end and was hoping for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Lantern: First Flight [Blu-ray]
Green Lantern: First Flight [Blu-ray] by Lauren Montgomery (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews