Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Sick little girl in the movie but a great thriller and acting is great a must buy.
Published 1 month ago by BabyGirl

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Looking for love in all the wrong places
Poor Esther (Isabelle Fuhrman at 12 years). All she wanted was a little love. Unfortunately, there are a few obstacles to remove first. This takes planning, finesses, and a little collusion.

This defiantly is not "Dementia 13" but it is a want-a-be. The film is highly predictable as most of the blood is in the first scene. That is because it was supposed to be...
Published on Sept. 24 2010 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9 2014
By 
BabyGirl - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sick little girl in the movie but a great thriller and acting is great a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orphan (DVD)
i enjoyed the product a lot... pretty much like it was advised and even more... i can say im satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller!!, July 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Orphan (Blu-ray)
If you like a good scare, this movie is for you......great choice of actors for this movie! You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh esther, March 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't believe this movie has been out so long and i have not watched it i'm so slow but boy i sure did glad i bought it and watched it i was so impress with the little girl that played Esther she was one evil girl and you better don't get in her way or you are dead.I don't know if i could call it a psychologial thriller but i know she is a psychopath. hand's down this is the best horror movie i have seen i was on the edge of my seat and eathing [lays chips]the bag was done before the movie man was i mad. you have to watch this you will not regret it.The Orphan/L''orpheline [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Looking for love in all the wrong places, Sept. 24 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Orphan (Blu-ray)
Poor Esther (Isabelle Fuhrman at 12 years). All she wanted was a little love. Unfortunately, there are a few obstacles to remove first. This takes planning, finesses, and a little collusion.

This defiantly is not "Dementia 13" but it is a want-a-be. The film is highly predictable as most of the blood is in the first scene. That is because it was supposed to be a psychological thriller yet turned out to be a cheap slasher. The movie may be in a hurry to end but you do not have time to ward the unaware schnooks that they are about to be dispatched by a household utensil or the odd tool. The only spooky or over the top violence was when a poor defenseless pigeon was dispatched with force.

Only saw the Blu-ray but nothing really looked fake on the big screen TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "i think there may be something wrong with Esther", July 29 2010
saying there may be something wrong with Esther is understatement.if hell is missing one of its demons,they can call off the search.Esther isn't really a demon,but you get the idea.the main premise of the movie may not be all that original,but this movie puts its own little twist/spin on it that i thought was quite ingenious.there are a few clues that lead you toward it if you really pay attention.and for once,i actually was,and knew there something else going on,and fleetingly had the right idea of what the twist was gonna be,but then abandoned it for some reason.beyond the great twist,though,the rest of the movie is also fantastic.it moves right along,has great suspense,has some very harrowing moments.the acting was great.i love Vera Farmiga in anything she appears in.she takes a back seat here though to young Isabelle Fuhrman,who portrays Esther.if this movie is any indication she has a very bright future ahead of her.overall,one of the better made suspense/horror films i've seen in awhile. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Esther Wants To Be Part of Your Family!!, Aug. 3 2011
Orphan
------
Horror/Thriller
2009, Apporx. 123 Mins
Directed By: Jaume collet-Serra
Written By: Alex Mace & David Leslie Johnson

Starring:
---------
Vera Farmiga (The Departed)
Peter Sarsgaard (Flightplan)
Isabelle Fuhrman (Hounddog)
Karel Roden (Hellboy)

Plot:
-----

No Doubt About It. Orphan is the horror movie Horror fans MUST SEE!!

From the start, the horror comes. Through a nightmarish flashback, Kate Coleman (The lovely Vera Farmiga) and her husband John (Peter Sarsgaard)lose their 3rd child during its birth procedure. Kate and John are still grieving over their loss, with Kate being tempted to start heavily drinking again and John coveting another woman named Joyce.

Their 2 kids, their oldest son Daniel and their youngest daughter Max are both anxious at their parents new plan to help remedy their grief: Kate and John have decided that they're going to adopt a young girl from St. Marina's All Girl Orphanage.

That's when they meet the little 9 year old Russian girl named Esther (Isabelle Fuhrman), and movie history is made!!

Esther is sweet, beautiful and very smart for her age. She is very thankful to the Colemans who welcome her into their home, except for Daniel (Who instantly goes out of his way to make enemies with her) Slowly, Kate begins to detect warning signs from her new daughter and fears that her family might be in danger. Especially after Esther's last adoptive family perished in a viscous house fire, a fire Esther barely escaped.

But with that, Esther is also very, VERY disturbed. She is manipulative, cunning and deadly. Esther is the type of movie villain who has no pity, remorse or morality when it comes to getting her way across. She raises the bar for "NOT to be messed with!!"

Review:
-------
The movie itself is BRILLIANT and my personal favorite!! It's one of those movies that WILL blast you out of your seat and into the back wall of the living room!! Its rare for a movie of this caliber to come along, especially with all the horrid remakes and 3D movies coming out. This HAS to be one of the greatest horror films ever made!! Not to mention the TERRIFIC twist near the end, that you'll NEVER forget!! Ever!!

There SHOULD be a sequel to this!! They can go anywhere with such an outstanding villain they've created. There was even talk about continuing the story in graphic novel form!! (Please, Please, PLEASE!!)

DO yourself a favor and BUY this movie!! I guarantee you that by the end of it, little Esther Coleman will be burned into your memory.... Forever...

You'll See Esther Coleman in Your Nightmares, And She'll See You In HELL!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orphan
Orphan by Vera Farmiga (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 25.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews