Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plaisir de revoir
Je remplace tranquillement mes VHS par des DVD et Blue Rays quand je ne trouve plus la version DVD. Revoir ce bon vieux film avec Bill Murray, et tous les autres acteurs tenir compte de ce qu'ils ont réussi à faire sans toutes les technologies d'aujourd'hui, bravo. C'est drole c'est vivant et distrayant. Dommage que la version 2 ne soit quand en anglais.
Published on Feb. 28 2012 by Jean

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! - many production-flawed "Collector's Series" units!
Ghostbusters is a great flick, but Columbia-TriStar Home Video has apparently sent-out production-flawed units titled - "Ghostbusters Collector's Series DVD". After purchasing one at a [local] store in my area, I went straight home and inserted it in my player and popped some corn. All was fine until the movie got to Chapter-15 whereby the video portion of the movie...
Published on March 23 2002 by Bill Hendricks Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plaisir de revoir, Feb. 28 2012
Je remplace tranquillement mes VHS par des DVD et Blue Rays quand je ne trouve plus la version DVD. Revoir ce bon vieux film avec Bill Murray, et tous les autres acteurs tenir compte de ce qu'ils ont réussi à faire sans toutes les technologies d'aujourd'hui, bravo. C'est drole c'est vivant et distrayant. Dommage que la version 2 ne soit quand en anglais.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghostbusters are still well worth a call, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ghostbusters was a huge hit back in 1984, and the ubiquitous presence of Ray Parker, Jr.'s theme song was a seemingly nonstop presence on the radio for months and months - I'm still trying to get that silly song, which seemed awfully cool at the time, out of my head. I was a kid when the film was released, so it's no surprise the film was funnier to me then than it is now, but Ghostbusters has actually aged fairly well. Typified by Bill Murray's deadpan manner, the humor here is all about delivery and timing and atmosphere. It appears as if Bill Murray is making up at least half of his lines as he goes along, which means he is in top form. Dan Aykroyd plays second fiddle in the lineup, but Aykroyd has always played a mean second fiddle. I wouldn't be able to identify Harold Ramis by name just by watching him perform, but he's definitely a full-fledged member of the Ghostbusters comedy tri-fecta (not to mention co-writer with Aykroyd), which actually becomes a foursome midway through the film with the addition of Ernie Hudson. I still can't say I care for Sigourney Weaver all that much, but she certainly adds something to the film as the guys' first customer, the object of Dr. Venkman's (Murray) affections, and eventually the conduit for Zuul's incarnation into the world of man. Supporting actors? Ghostbusters has you covered with Annie Potts as the Ghostbusters receptionist and Rick Moranis as the rather hapless Louis Tully. Up until his possession by a demonic dog, Moranis still seems to exude a little of his Bob McKenzie persona (although he does not imbibe copious amounts of beer or utter the word "hoser" a single time).

As far as I know, Ghostbusters is the only film in which the Environmental Protection Agency comes very close to causing the end of the world. Everything's going great until EPA agent Walter Peck (William Atherton) shows up at Ghostbusters HQ and accuses the guys of storing hazardous waste on the premises - which eventually results in the shutdown of the ghost storage system and, in short order, ghostly anarchy all across New York City. Things had looked gloomy early on when Dr. Venkman (Murray), Stantz (Aykroyd), and Spengler (Ramis) lost their university positions and research grants, but three mortgages later they had landed on their feet with the formation of their unique ghostbusting business. Sure, one could question the legality of atomic-powered backpacks and untested laser-like weapons that could theoretically give time and space the mother of all hiccoughs, but there's no question that they did get the job done. Even if it means getting slimed by some pesky green monsters, the guys soon gain national exposure by effectively putting poltergeists and disagreeable spirits out of business. Then the EPA comes along, releases of all the trapped troublemakers into an atmosphere already saturated with very bad vibes, and the next thing you know ancient Sumerian demons are moving into penthouse apartments and laying plans for hell on earth.

Obviously, the entire story is played for laughs, from the silly sliming hijinx of the ghosts to Murray's indubitably subtle style of non-serious intellectualism. You can't even take Dr. Veckman seriously as a scientist, as he's more concerned with picking up chicks than actually learning anything - until his newest love interest starts hovering four feet above her bed. That's sort of a wake-up call.

Admittedly, all of this craziness was funnier when I was twenty years younger than I am now, but Ghostbusters has actually aged extremely well - even in terms of the special effects. Vintage comedy never goes out of style, and that's why most of us, for decades to come, will be incapable of thinking anything other than "Ghostbusters" whenever we hear the words "Who you gonna call?" and cannot help but laugh whenever anyone happens to utter the phrase, "Yes, it's true."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray at his comedic best, June 26 2004
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is said that the role of Peter Venkman was originally written for John Belushi, but we'll never know how he would have performed in the role. Fellow "Saturday Night Live" alum Bill Murray stepped into the role and ran away with the movie. Harold Ramis and Dan Aykroyd fit into the story like a glove in Ivan Reitman's masterpiece, but Bill Murray steals his every scene - which means most of the movie - with a performance full of dead-pan, ironic, world-weary, been-there-done-that hilariousness.
He has a sarcastic remark for every occasion, and the audience is the only one in on the joke every time.
When prospective girlfriend Dana Barrett (played by Sigourney Weaver, who gets a plum opportunity to show off her comedic skills) gets possessed by an evil demon, she is transformed into a slinky seductress. Bill Murray has come over to her apartment and in his hilarious dead-pan manner lets the audience know that he recognizes all is not normal with Ms. Barrett. As hilarious and sarcastic as Venkman is, he's at least a gentleman of sorts and doesn't take advantage of the situation when the demon tries to seduce him.
"Do you want this body?" Sigourney-demon asks him.
He pauses for a perfect beat before replying:
"Is this a trick question?"
The special effects don't look like the CGI visions that have been on screen for a couple of years (this was 1984) yet they're part of the fun. Even so, the special effects serve the story rather than up-staging it, and when the movie was initially released I remember howling with the audience after the first special-effect ghost "attacks" Bill Murray and leaves him on the floor in a glistening mess.
"He SLIMED me!" Venkman yelled, and we laughed our heads off.
This disc is not dated by contemporary references - it's just as hilarious today as it was in 1984, and it'll probably be just as funny 100 years from now. The DVD comes with extras that add to the fun, and in the commentary tracks Ivan Reitman and Harold Ramis show that "Ghostbusters" was an absolute highlight in all of their lives.
Mine too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars After 20 Years, "Ghostbusters" Is Still Saving The World, June 8 2004
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
"We've been going about this all wrong. This Mr. Stay-Puft is o.k. He's a sailor. He's in New York. We get this guy layed we won't have any trouble." - Pimpin' ain't easy in "Ghostbusters"
After 20 years since its 6/8/84 release, "Ghostbusters" became the biggest surprise hit of the summer of '84 and has generated a hit sequel, a popular cartoon series, a #1 hit single, by Ray Parker Jr., thats an ode to parapsychology, the world over (I ain't 'fraid of no ghost!) and has mass produced legions of no ghost t-shirts. The film showcases the best talent from its principal cast and "Ghostbusters" is one of Ivan Reitman's best films to date.
After being kicked out of NYU, three Parapsychologists decide to go into business for themselves, becoming an elite team of paranormal investigators & iliminators known, thru out the New York tri-state area, as the "Ghostbusters". There first case is a big one, as an ancient evil, known as Gozer, the Gozarian, awakens and is hellbent on ruling Earth, starting with the great state of New York.
The cast is great, with Bill Murray giving one of his best performances to date. Writer, Dan Aykroyd wrote "Ghostbusters" with John Belushi, Eddie Murphy and John Candy in mind. But, with the tragic death of Belushi, the meteoric popularity of Murphy (and his salary), & Candy not coming to grips with his character (he wanted Louis Tully to speak in a German accent with him owning, like, five Rottwielers for some unknown reason) Aykroyd retooled "Ghostbusters" with Murray, himself, Harold Ramis, and Ernie Hudson as the team and Rick Moranis as the accountant geek who has a diehard crush on Dana Barrett (Sigourney Weaver). The film is loaded with one-liners that would fit right at home emblazoned on a t-shirt. The effects hold up well over the twenty years and I only spotted two or three effects that actually look cheesy.
After the film became a success, in late summer'84 & as a test, the producers decided to take the commercial the "Ghostbusters" use in the film (Are you troubled by strange noises in the middle of the night?), taking the 555 number and exchanging it with an operating toll free 800 number. The results were 1,000 calls an hour, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, over a six week test. The total of all calls is approx. 1,008,000 calls!!
The word Gozer comes from an actual haunting in New England, that, oddly enough, is also the film "Poltergeist" is loosely based on. Thru out the haunting the word Gozer would appear, mysteriously, on walls and belongings all thru the house with no essential meaning of the word.
The 1999, 15th anniversary DVD release of "Ghostbusters" is the best format to watch the film (rumor has it that Columbia/Sony may release a 20th anniversary edition in late '04 early '05). The DVD features deleted scenes, trailers, a great trivia track that runs at the bottom of the screen while the movie is being shown, and commentary by Harold Ramis (co-writer), Ivan Reitman (director), and Michael C. Gross (co-producer).
"Ghostbusters" is still a great film that deserves shelf space in any great DVD collection.
After 20 years, they still are ready to believe you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghostbusters-Great Movie and DVD, But Something Is Missing!, April 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
After 20 years GHOSTBUSTERS holds up even with the pre-digital special effects, etc. The film works because it is just plain funny, inventive (the E.P.A. are the baddies in the film...How inventive is that?!), and original. Also it has a great cast (with Sigourney Weaver, Rick Moranis, and Annie Potts) and great New York City locations (even though the Ghostbusters headquarters, the abandoned fire house, is actually a Las Angeles location). The DVD has all the "bells and whistles", but there is something missing and that the producers of the disc did not include the music video for Ray Parker's theme song. This was a top-ten video back in 1984 and was played constantly on MTV and all other music video shows way back when. It was just as funny as the film as all four Ghostbusters (Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis, and Ernie Hudson) appear with singer Ray Parker Jr. near the end of the video dancing down Times Square. If the music video had been included, the DVD would have been complete. Otherwise the film itself is a classic that has stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'That's the bedroom, but nothing ever happened in there', April 4 2004
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
This has to be THE film of the 80s! And I only watched it for the first time a couple of days ago. People seem to disbelieve that I haven't seen this movie before, and thought maybe I'd seen it, but just didn't remember it. I definitely would have remembered seeing this! I did know some stuff about it, and I've seen the green ghost about, and I always thought the big white guy was the Michelin Man for some reason? Apart from the fact it was so funny and there are some great actors: Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Sigourney Weaver, Rick Moranis and Ernie Hudson.
There are some terrific looking extras on this, will certainly keep me busy one day when I go to look through them all.
Obviously, the ghosts and whatever aren't up to the standards of today, but that makes it all the more better. You can tell there's guys dressed up in suits, but it makes you laugh all the more. Nothing is disguised here.
There are some absolutely brilliant quotes too! Some of my faves include:
Winston Zeddemore: Ray. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes.
Dr. Peter Venkman: No, we're exterminators. Someone saw a cockroach up on twelve.
Dr. Peter Venkman: Mother pus bucket.
Dr. Peter Venkman: Somebody blows their nose and you want to keep it?
Dr. Raymond Stantz: Where do these stairs go?
Dr. Peter Venkman: They go up.
Dana Barrett: That's the bedroom, but nothing ever happened in there.
Dr. Peter Venkman: What a crime.
Dana Barrett: Do you want this body?
Dr. Peter Venkman: Is this a trick question?
Dr. Raymond Stantz: He's an ugly little spud, isn't he?
Dr. Peter Venkman: [quickly] I think he can hear you, Ray.
If you read some of those quotes carefully, you'll probably figure out who my fave Ghostbuster was - Bill Murray was pure genius in this and he cracked me up!
Of course, everyone knows the Ghostbusters theme tune. Frankly I love it! I love that song! I've even seen it done in concert by Steps a couple of years ago, and they did a fantastic version of it!
This is a terrific film. I beg you, if you haven't seen it, go and see it. You will not regret it.
Who you gonna call?! :) GHOSTBUSTERS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie!, Jan. 20 2004
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Ghostbusters" is one of the most memorable sci-fi comedy hybrid films of the early 1980s and for really good reason, it was a very witty, hilarious and highly original plot with awesome directing and amazing special effects which while somewhat dated in appearance, were very innovative back in it's time in 1984, before CGI effects would take the driver's seat not too long afterwards. The story and plot are really funny yet smart at the same time. The second Ghostbusters movie succeeds in going in a much more dramatic direction but the first one though compliments that sequel with a light-hearted and comedic style that few sci-fi films have matched over the years since this movie came out.
The movie is a story of four oddball scientists at a university who are kicked out because of their excessive studying of the occult. They find themselves go into a different career by means of becoming a 'ghost fighting' team called the Ghostbusters and station themselves at an old firehouse. Their mission is to fight off bad spirits, poltergeists and spirits wreaking havoc on New York's population. A woman named Dana Barrett, a resident of a large apartment building also discovers that her residency is the doorway to a dimension of an ancient demonic goddess named Gozer the Gozerian who threatens to unleash havoc on New York and ultimately the world and now the Ghostbusters are called to action to save The Big Apple from meeting it's possible annihilation from the evil forces that the dimension in Barrett's apartment threatens to unleash.
This movie truly breaks some new grounds with amazing special effects which while look extremely dated by 2004 standards, are still a visual feast to look at especially when the various bad vibes were unleashed when the Environmental agency leader shut down the containment system. The special effects look even more dated than those on the "Terminator" movie which came out around the same time. At the same time though, they give the movie a unique appeal that is found in few if any other movie since then because speciall effects while remaining awesome to watch, have gotten overused in some movies to where they overshadow the story and are CGI'd excessively. The second Ghostbusters movie took what was great about this one and built on it to create an even better sequel in my opinion but this 1984 original is not a moive that you should ever pass up the opportunity of getting your hands on and is among the greatest movies ever made during the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If there's something strange..., Dec 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ghostbusters is a bona fide classic movie. It has aged spectacularly well and definitely deserves re-watching. I'm sure everyone knows the story by now. Three University professors in parapsychology in New York City get kicked out for being too weird, set up a private ghost-catching company and happily save the world while becoming rich and famous and getting the girl. What a perfect piece of capitalist propaganda from the heart of the Yuppie world, NYC in the eighties! Still, the basic "American Dream" story is easily recognizable and appreciable through any number of leftfield distortions, and the vitality of the script and the brilliance of the lead performances prevent the movie from being too cloying or schmaltz-y. The humor retains a wicked, cutting edge, and certain set pieces are brilliant- Witness, for example, the opening scene of the movie, as Murray turns a psychology experiment into a pick-up scenario. These scenes are still as funny now as they were then, unlike certain other Eighties movies that seem to have lost their cutting edge over time, for example, Teen Wolf or Ferris Beuller's Day Off.
The supernatural side to the movie (and this was the movie that paved the way for the X-Files, Harry Potter and Crossing Over) is incredibly well set out, as the prophesies begin to come true (just like "The Omen"...) and the group struggle to make sense of what's going on. The science, while pure hokum, is also right-enough to be convincing, and the worlds of religion and politics also get gently mocked too.
The special effects don't really stand up against the stuff we're used to these days - the hell hound seems particularly lame - but Slimer and Stay Puft exude a certain charm missing from modern CGI.
My only quibble with this movie is the very end, where the evil god trying to destroy the world seems content to rely on...Mr Stay-Puft. ("No I'm not personally going to kill him - I'm going to put him in an overly elaborate easily escapable death situation and then just assume everything went to plan, what's wrong with that?") One would assume that an evil being intent on destroying the world after so many centuries of waiting would have a Plan B.
Anyway, go watch Ghostbusters today, and thank god this is one movie they never defiled by making a sequel! Oh no - wait a minute....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who ya gonna call?, Dec 20 2003
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
I have a small posse of favorite comedians. Somewhere towards the top of that list, along with Steve Martin, is Bill Murray. He's been around since the early 80s, getting his start on NBC's "Saturday Night Live" after Chevy Chase left for his own career in Hollywood. Murray worked live for a few years before -- like those prior to him him -- gradually making his way into the film world.
I like all of the comedians in "Ghostbusters," come to think of it. Dan Aykroyd is another great subtle comedian, with a great knack for writing as well as acting. It was Aykroyd, after all, who is primarily responsible for "The Blues Brothers." And Harold Ramis, who later became a director, with an impressive resume of such films as "Vacation," "Groundhog Day," and "Analyze This."
Then there's also Rick Moranis, a meek nerd character who is very underrated and very funny, a sort of Woody Allen Lite. He was Dark Helmet in "Spaceballs," Barney Coopersmith in "My Blue Heaven," and that wacky inventor in "Honey I Shrunk the Kids."
Yes, one could say that "Ghostbusters" is built on a firm base, scripted by Aykroyd, Ramis and Moranis (who is uncredited) and directed by Ivan Reitman ("Kindergarten Cop"). It's a clever little story with a simple premise and lots of laughs -- a band of failing friends unite to make a hoax ghost-busting company, but soon real ghosts do show up and they're in over their heads.
It starts in New York City. Peter Venkman (Murray), Raymond Stanz (Aykroyd), and Egon Spengler (Ramis) are three Columbia University scientists laid off after their grant expires with no results from the trio in return. Down to nothing, they cook up the brilliant (or crazy) idea to create a "ghost-busting" company.
But they immediately realize that it won't be as easy as it seems to get a little extra cash, because Dana Barrett (Sigourney Weaver) comes to the men looking for help. Her apartment is infested with strange happenings, and her next-door neighbor, Louis Tully (Rick Moranis), is having problems of his own.
They pretend to solve the situation and the men suddenly become a citywide phenomenon, attracting media attention and constant customers at their front door. They become so popular, in fact, that they are joined by Winston Zeddmore (Ernie Hudson), another down-on-his-luck city guy looking for a good-paying job.
However, Walter Peck, EPA (William Atherton) doesn't believe that the Ghostbusters are really ridding any ghosts at all, so he has them thrown in jail. But an ethreal baddie named Gozer (Slavitza Jovan) soon appears in Dana's apartment complex, and weird happenings occur, forcing Peck to free the Ghostbusters once and for all so that they can bust the ghost and send it back to where it came from.
Sounds corny, huh? It's meant to be. Everything about this movie is campy and goofy, and that is exactly what Ramis, Aykroyd and Moranis wanted when they collaborated. And it is very funny.
I don't know, there's something in me that loves "Saturday Night Live" humor. Sure, the show has its dry spots, but I love it. Many people I know don't find it all that funny, and not as consistent as something such as "The Simpsons," but I love to watch it, I love the humor, and I love the actors.
Part of that love, I suppose, is what makes me enjoy "Ghostbusters" (1984) so much. However, believe it or not, "Ghostbusters" is not quite as laugh-out-loud funny as you might expect. It is very funny, but it isn't always a howler. It's more of an intelligent comedy, which is odd, since it is made by a band of guys from "Saturday Night Live" and such backgrounds.
Murray steals every scene he is in. This, along with "Groundhog Day," is the perfect vehicle for his comedic talents, ranging from the constant wise cracks to the constant dry ironic humor that I love so much. They key to his humor is not that he comes up with it, but the way he does it. Any comedian can use the blank glares, but the way he expressionlessly glares at fellow actors is a joke in itself. When Stanz admits that his one fear has always been the Stay Puff'd man, check out Murray's face. This is classic stuff.
As much a scene-stealer as Murray may be, he is nearly upstaged by Aykroyd and Ramis, who both provide a sort of counter-balance of lunatics and reason to Murray's flippant characteristics. The scene that everyone remembers it the finale involving the giant marshmallow Stay Puff'd Man, and whenever I think of Aykroyd's performance in this film, I think of that scene.
"Ghostbusters" is a very famous comedy, and for good reason. It's light, good-hearted, funny, and actually pretty intelligent, built upon a firm cast and script, which -- considering the majority of the actors' and writers' backgrounds of "Saturday Night Live" -- is almost as surprising as the film itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray for Sigourney Weaver!, Dec 13 2003
By 
Levviathan (Brooklyn, NY/Portland, ME) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
Upon a recommendation from my father, who, like me, is a big Sigourney Weaver fan, I took my allowance one Saturday, walked to Blockbuster with a friend and bought the Ghostbusters DVD. I watched it at my friend's house and once I started I yelled at her about not putting on subtitles. But I loved the movie. By the middle of the movie, my friend's dad and little sister were watching with us.
Ghostbusters is the hilariously clever, brilliantly designed, interestingly casted movie. They plot was a little strange, but that just added to the enjoyment of the movie. With Sigourney Weaver starring as Dana Barrett, Dr. Peter Venkman's (Bill Murray) 'would-be-girlfriend' and Rick Moranis as the lovestruck, nerdy, neighbor of Dana Barrett's, Louis Tully.
After Dana encounters a strange creature in her refrigerator, she calls on the Ghostbusters, a business dealing with the removal of paranormal pests for help. When one of them, Venkman, sees Dana, he immediately falls in love with her. But when he is unable to locate the ghost in Dana's house, she shuns him with a 'You son't act like a scientist. You're more like a game show host.' Venkman leaves, still thinking about her. Later on, when Dana is possesed by the creature from her refrigerator it's up to the Venkman, along with his coworkers, Ray Stantz and Egon Spengler (and Winston Zeddeman)to stop the evil Gozer from destroying the world.
This is a very interesting DVD. It's absolutely HILARIOUS! I was laughing nearly the whole time. If you need some laughs, buy/rent this DVD. You won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Ivan Reitman (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews