Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plaisir de revoir
Je remplace tranquillement mes VHS par des DVD et Blue Rays quand je ne trouve plus la version DVD. Revoir ce bon vieux film avec Bill Murray, et tous les autres acteurs tenir compte de ce qu'ils ont réussi à faire sans toutes les technologies d'aujourd'hui, bravo. C'est drole c'est vivant et distrayant. Dommage que la version 2 ne soit quand en anglais.
Published on Feb. 28 2012 by Jean

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie, marred by poor conversion
3 stars doesn't apply to the movie, which is a 5-star rating
any day of the week, but to the poor translation of this movie
to video.
While the digital remaster greatly improves the quality of the
film, the panning is totally obvious and wholly unacceptable.
There is some bad panning in GB2, but not as much as here and it
really is very...
Published on Sept. 13 2001


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plaisir de revoir, Feb. 28 2012
Je remplace tranquillement mes VHS par des DVD et Blue Rays quand je ne trouve plus la version DVD. Revoir ce bon vieux film avec Bill Murray, et tous les autres acteurs tenir compte de ce qu'ils ont réussi à faire sans toutes les technologies d'aujourd'hui, bravo. C'est drole c'est vivant et distrayant. Dommage que la version 2 ne soit quand en anglais.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Price is great, but needs MORE special features... and a remaster., March 7 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Blu-ray)
What hasn't been said about this film in the last 30 years? (already??? Geez I'm getting old!!!)

2014 being the film's 30th anniversary, Sony SHOULD make sure to please fans with LOADS and LOADS of speciale features like behind-the-scenes featurettes, music videos, interviews from the time, trailers, never-before-seen deleted scenes, the WHOLE NINE YARDS. Make it a "Blade Runner" run for our money instead of giving us few bits and pieces at a time. A retrospective documentary about why this franchise lasts even with only two films, etc.

Plus, the film now has a new 35mm print that's been running around the US theaters, so there's no excuse for the next inevitable dip not to include a new master this time around AND keep the old features while adding loads of new ones. Sony, we're in 2013, it's more than time to give the fans their rightful due. We've been more than patient and I for one could do without a third movie if that means we're to get a REAL 30th anniversary edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
A great movie where high definition helps the kid that brews inside. Excuse me while I go find my Ghostbusters toys from 20 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Region Free !, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Qualité exceptionnelle et surtout logo Region ABC au dos du boitier, confirmé à la lecture sur une platine française Region B.
Que du bon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, July 12 2013
By 
Speanut (Fergus, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
A true classic from the 80s. Great movie and always fun to watch. It is a perfect addition for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue-Ray Ghostbusters DVD, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Fantastic quality for a very hilarious, nostalgic movie! Lots of cool "extras" to view regarding film production, including cast and props used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GHOSTBUSTERS its cool, July 31 2012
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
the movie was made in 1984 it the great prats like were they fight goser [ sorry if i did not say that right] it had great music i have the souldtack its just a great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Yes it's true; this man has no dick.", Sept. 23 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
Academic parapsychologists (Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, and Harold Ramis) find themselves out of work due to budget constraints. They ban together to form a company that to form a badly needed service. They become ghost busters. We follow them from their humble beginnings to their meteoric rise to new heights.

On the way we see what may be a blooming love story staring a possessed Sigourney Weaver (of "Alien" 1979 fame). There is also a token appearance by the Staypuff man. And who is the key master.

Lost of fun classic that was a first of its kind. There have been many stories similar but the combination of characters and actors is unique.

Even today you hear "Who ya gonna call?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghostbusters are still well worth a call, Sept. 10 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ghostbusters was a huge hit back in 1984, and the ubiquitous presence of Ray Parker, Jr.'s theme song was a seemingly nonstop presence on the radio for months and months - I'm still trying to get that silly song, which seemed awfully cool at the time, out of my head. I was a kid when the film was released, so it's no surprise the film was funnier to me then than it is now, but Ghostbusters has actually aged fairly well. Typified by Bill Murray's deadpan manner, the humor here is all about delivery and timing and atmosphere. It appears as if Bill Murray is making up at least half of his lines as he goes along, which means he is in top form. Dan Aykroyd plays second fiddle in the lineup, but Aykroyd has always played a mean second fiddle. I wouldn't be able to identify Harold Ramis by name just by watching him perform, but he's definitely a full-fledged member of the Ghostbusters comedy tri-fecta (not to mention co-writer with Aykroyd), which actually becomes a foursome midway through the film with the addition of Ernie Hudson. I still can't say I care for Sigourney Weaver all that much, but she certainly adds something to the film as the guys' first customer, the object of Dr. Venkman's (Murray) affections, and eventually the conduit for Zuul's incarnation into the world of man. Supporting actors? Ghostbusters has you covered with Annie Potts as the Ghostbusters receptionist and Rick Moranis as the rather hapless Louis Tully. Up until his possession by a demonic dog, Moranis still seems to exude a little of his Bob McKenzie persona (although he does not imbibe copious amounts of beer or utter the word "hoser" a single time).

As far as I know, Ghostbusters is the only film in which the Environmental Protection Agency comes very close to causing the end of the world. Everything's going great until EPA agent Walter Peck (William Atherton) shows up at Ghostbusters HQ and accuses the guys of storing hazardous waste on the premises - which eventually results in the shutdown of the ghost storage system and, in short order, ghostly anarchy all across New York City. Things had looked gloomy early on when Dr. Venkman (Murray), Stantz (Aykroyd), and Spengler (Ramis) lost their university positions and research grants, but three mortgages later they had landed on their feet with the formation of their unique ghostbusting business. Sure, one could question the legality of atomic-powered backpacks and untested laser-like weapons that could theoretically give time and space the mother of all hiccoughs, but there's no question that they did get the job done. Even if it means getting slimed by some pesky green monsters, the guys soon gain national exposure by effectively putting poltergeists and disagreeable spirits out of business. Then the EPA comes along, releases of all the trapped troublemakers into an atmosphere already saturated with very bad vibes, and the next thing you know ancient Sumerian demons are moving into penthouse apartments and laying plans for hell on earth.

Obviously, the entire story is played for laughs, from the silly sliming hijinx of the ghosts to Murray's indubitably subtle style of non-serious intellectualism. You can't even take Dr. Veckman seriously as a scientist, as he's more concerned with picking up chicks than actually learning anything - until his newest love interest starts hovering four feet above her bed. That's sort of a wake-up call.

Admittedly, all of this craziness was funnier when I was twenty years younger than I am now, but Ghostbusters has actually aged extremely well - even in terms of the special effects. Vintage comedy never goes out of style, and that's why most of us, for decades to come, will be incapable of thinking anything other than "Ghostbusters" whenever we hear the words "Who you gonna call?" and cannot help but laugh whenever anyone happens to utter the phrase, "Yes, it's true."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic from the SNL crew, Dec 18 2004
By 
Tara Handford "marigold157" (Sudbury, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a great movie that came from the minds of the SNL crew. Just like the reviews says, it's Poltergiest meets the Exorcist. I'm proud to say that this movie was apart of my generation. If you haven't check this out, please do so. It is so worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab7bad2c)

This product

Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Ghostbusters [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Ivan Reitman (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews