countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store Tools sports Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
131
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 29, 2014
I had seen this movie years ago but never sat glued to the set so I missed many of the scenes intricacies.
When I saw this Mastered in 4k and the price was only $7.99 I decide to buy it.
The on line reviews about the quality of the picture for such an old movie were great.
I wasn't disappointed;the picture quality on a HD lcd tv was superb.
The movie effects were wonderful.
Seeing a young Sigourney Weaver along with Bill Murray,the late Harold Ramis,Dan Akroyd and Rick Moranis rounding out this great cast.
I even loved the music;a catchy tune if there ever was one.
It's a movie that can and will be watched again.
With a PG rating the whole family can watch this one.
Now to get Ghostbusters II to add to my movie collection when the price drops a little.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2003
"Do you believe in UFOs, astral projection, mental telepathy, ESP, spirit photography, telekinetic movement, full-trans medium, the Loch Ness Monster, and the theory of Atlantis?" Well, it doesn't take any of these to enjoy Ghostbusters, but it would help to say yes to Janine's question, which she poses to Winston Zeddermore, who applies for the position of backup ghostbuster.
After getting the boot from the university, Peter Venkman, Ray Stantz, and Egon Spengler go to business for themselves. After all, they are "on the threshold of establishing the indispensable defense science of the decade--professional paranormal investigation and elimination."
They get their first experience in using their unlicensed nuclear accelerators and other hi-tech equipment at the Sedgwick Hotel, where they hunt down a Class 5 full-roaming vapour. Yes, this is the gluttonous green ghost whose initial encounter with Venkman yields the memorable line from the latter: "He slimed me." Venkman laters gets his own back by saying, "Never slime a guy with a positron glider."
Enter Dana Barrett, whose refrigerator contains something more extraordinary than month-old yogurt that's turned into a science project. "You don't generally see that kind of behaviour in a major appliance," cracks Venkman, who taken to her, later allows a Freudian slip to his colleagues, "I'll take Ms. Barrett back to her apartment and check her out." As expected, nothing's there, but the scene contains a brief exchange I still remember. Dana: "That's the bedroom, but nothing ever happened in there." Venkman: "What a crime!"
Yes, the snappy dialogue is what really carries this movie, which once again reteams director Ivan Reitman with Bill Murray--q.v. Stripes, as does Billy Murray's wacky Venkman, full of goofy optimism, funny facial expressions, and who is described as more of a gameshow host than a scientist by Sigourney Weaver (Dana). She, Dan Aykroyd (Ray), and Harold Ramis (Egon) are great foils for his comical schtick. However, Annie Potts as the bookish Janine, their put-upon office assistant, complete with Cyndi Lauper-like Bronx accent, provides more solid support. Her emotions range from excitement they get their first call "WE GOT ONE!" and her disgruntled "Ghostbusters, whaddya want?" after Venkman insults her, to her concern for Egon, to whom she gets attached. William Atherton as the contemptible Peck from the EPA, becomes the butt of the funniest line in the movie. "Yes it's true. This man has no ...."
But the action is engaging, as is the 80's rock soundtrack, and the special effects may not be the digital stuff we see in today's movies, but for the time, I was impressed with them the same way 50's moviegoers might have been for Ray Harryhausen's special effects.
After enjoying this movie three times at the theatre, I kind of forgot about it. However, I remember hearing how Harvey Comics sued Columbia Pictures for copyright infringement, thinking that the white ghost inside the red banned circle and slash resembled Fatso from Casper a bit too much. Nearly 20 years after seeing this, I still enjoy this. So, who you gonna call?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2002
I kept trying to figure out the appeal this zany movie has for so many people and it finally hit me: deep down, isn't there a part of each of us and all of us that believes in ghosts, goblins and things that go bump in the night? "Ghostbusters" is part action, part adventure, part horror, and an all-around joyride. We meet three loony professors, Dr. Ray Stantz (Dan Aykroyd), Dr. Egon Spengler (Harold Ramis), and Dr. Peter Venkman (Bill Murray), about to get kicked off the faculty of Columbia University, who specialize in the occult and the paranormal. (These guys remind me of Larry, Moe and Curly in more ways than one.) They get an urgent call from the main branch of the New York Public Library; seems there's something funny going on in the fusty archives belowstairs. Next thing you know, ghosts of all descriptions are popping up all over the place, and Peter, Ray and Egon are in business up to their ears. Who ya gonna call? Their phone is ringing off the hook. They're chasing and capturing ghosts of all descriptions (who doesn't fall in love with Slimer, that fat green hotdog-chomping blob of protoplasm?). But when the ghosts invade a great old Central Park West co-op and take over the mind and body of a young lady named Dana Barrett (Sigourney Weaver is great in this role) and her geeky neighbor Louis Tully, hilariously played by Rick Moranis, things get serious. Screwing everything up at this critical juncture is a dipped-in-starch nitwit from the Environmental Protection Agency (William Atherton) who demands that the Ghostbusters shut down and has a court order to back it up. Hoo-boy, when the switch is pulled, look out... it's Armageddon on Central Park West, as Zuul the Gate Keeper, Vince Clortho the Keymaster, and the Stay-Puft Marshmellow Man battle the Ghostbusters for the souls of Dana and Louis. The movie is too crazy for anyone to take seriously but it's a howler from beginning to end, and Ray Parker Jr. singing the title song (There's something straaaaaaaaaaaange in the neighborhood...) helps keep the fun moving right along. Anyone from 5 to 95 in need of some good laughs will love this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2002
I was 5 years old when I first saw Ghostbusters. It instantly became one of those films that sort of defined your childhood. You look back on it and are remembered of that specific time in your life. It's always a magical feeling. I still get that feeling every time I see this 1984 classic. I saw it 4 or 5 times in the theaters and watched it religiously on video. It's still a great movie 18 years later. Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramis wrote the creative and hilarious script, and also co-star in the film as well. Those two, plus Bill Murray , and Ernie Hudson soon after, become the Ghostbusters. Busting ghouls, goblins, and spirits all over New York City. They take special interest in Dana Barrett(Sigourney Weaver), whose apartment seems to be ground zero in a demonic building. Dr. Venkman(Murray)instantly falls for her. This was 1984, and the effects are pretty solid and incredible for point in time. There are some rather cheesy and not so impressive effects(the demon animal, for one), but on the whole, the effects are outstanding. Especially the stay puft marshmellow man. Aykroyd and Ramis seem to have all the paranormnal talk and gadgets down pat in their script. By now, everyoone must know that Aykroyd is a huge paranormal believer, so he knows his stuff. The film, however, entirely belongs to the great Bill Murray. He brings instant charm to his role as Dr. Peter Venkman, and, of course, gets all the best lines. Rick Moranis is also on hand as a nerdy neighbor of Sigourney's, and former "Designing Woman" star Annie Potts plays the guys' secretary. All the ghosts are done with effective spookiness, and there are ones just for laughs. They all succeed. And, how can we forget the music?. I had to lick the bottom of my sister's shoe to get her Ghostbusters album she just bought for herself. Yes, I was a true fan. The movie was solidly directed by Ivan Reitman. A less impressive, but still fun, sequel arrived five years later in 1989. Ghostbusters is a genuine film classic. A winner on all fronts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2001
When this movie came out it became an instant classic and while I am not sure if todays' sophisticated kids would enjoy it as much as I and my younger brothers did, it is a good solid comedy with a well written script and is very entertaining. Murray is just plain funny and enjoyable to watch, and here he has an on screen romance budding with Sigourney Weaver. I've noticed that any film with the name "Ramis" attached to it is good, and here he co writes and acts and the result is fun.
My favorite scene is when Murray shows up at Weaver's apartment to check it out for any "paranormal" indicators and he plays the part as if he doesn't really believe what it is he is doing, but the gig is a gig and he plays along. He goes to the piano and taps the keys playing some classic black and white horror movie notes and then looks seriously at Weaver saying "They hate it when you do that". Somehow he can play the part of playing the part and does it convincingly. Later in "The Man Who Knew Too Little", Murray takes this kind of role to an art form, playing a character playing a character well enough to pull off some serious laughs.
Ghostbusters is a strong recommendation and is sure to entertain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2001
Early 80s comedies always seemed to have those great one-liners you could recite ad nauseum among your friends like they were scripture. From "Blues Brothers" to "Fast Times" to "16 Candles" and the "Breakfast Club", there were no shortage of flicks to choose from.
From "I was slimed" to "So she's a dog" to "Yes, its true. This man has no ****.", Ghostbusters was certainly one of the best. And Bill Murray (like he did in "Stripes", "Caddeyshack" and "Groundhog Day") steals the best of them (as well as the movie). There's just not an off-moment when he's on screen. His chemistry with Dan Akroyd and Harold Ramis, who play competent straight men while adding a few memorable lines of their own, is also excellent. (Akroyd: "Class 5 free roaming vapor. A real nasty one, too!" Ramis (when asked if he has any hobbies):"I collect spores, molds and fungus.")
The pre-computer age special effects hold up fairly well with a few exceptions (the cartoonish 'slimer', the beams from the positron packs and the moving shots of Zuuls killer dogs). And there are even cool cameos in a humorous montage of the Ghostbusters on the cover of USA Today, Omni, The Atlantic, plus Larry King and Casey Casem. Less sophormic than "Stripes", more coherent than "Caddyshack" though not as smart as "Groundhog Day" it still holds its place well. Or as Murray proclaims, "We came, we saw, we kicked its ass!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2000
Ghostbusters (1984)
Ghostbusters is a classic film that'struly one of the best movies ever made.
The story is extremely original and has been copied,but never touched.
The story is like this: three college friends open a business called "Ghostbusters",which are a group of exterminators who eliminate Ghosts.
They use a unique weapon called a "Proton Pack" that shoots a radioactive beam of energy that captures a Ghost,giving the Ghostbuster an advantage to trap it.
They capture one Ghost in a Hotel and are extremely sucessful. However,a man who works for the Environmental Institute feels that their Ghostbusting equipment is hazardous to the city of New York.One day,he drops by forcing them to shut of the compound that contains the captured Ghosts.This is when all Hell breaks loose.Ghosts roam the city of New York,and a Guardian is planning on taking over the World.Only the Ghostbusters can save Humanity.
This film is simply incredible.It has a very tight script,very solid and strong direction from Reitman,a splendid cast, wonderful special effects,and a great script full of excellent dialog and one-liners.
The film very effectively balances comedy and horror and never overdoes it.It managed to be funny and scary all at once,never in any area overdone.
Ghostbusters is simply one of the greatest movies of all time. Buy it now,because if it's not in your video collection,your not a movie buff like you think you are.
On a side note,...although Ghostbusters is marketed as Family fun,it's quite a scary movie.There are plenty of scary moments and there's even some profanity (a REAL big no-no in a kid's movie).However,the 9 and up crowd will absolutely love it and will probably want to see it over and over and over. END
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2000
There's only a few movies that are still famous and that people still talk about after almost twenty years, and "Ghostbusters" is one of them. I don't know anybody who hasn't ever seen the movie, but I know one thing, if you haven't seen it yet, you got to. After you see it, you'll see what all the fuss is about.
What makes "Ghostbusters" so great is that there's not any other movie that's anything like it. Some scientists who study paranormal effects on people are kicked out of the university that they work for and live at. They decide to start a business where they call themselves the Ghostbusters. They must find a way to rid the city of a bunch of ghouls and ghosts before the creatures put an end to the world.
If you like ghost movies that aren't really considered horror movies, but more of an adventure/comedy, you'll probably like "Ghostbusters." It has some good special effects and all the ghosts and the monsters look cool. It also has a good storyline and some good performances from the Ghostbusters and the supporting cast. It's a classic you don't want to miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2000
Ghostbusters is surely one of the best films of all time.Ever since I was a kid I've been a huge Ghostbusters fan.It's been two decades since this gem was released and it still manages to be entertaining,funny,and scary.The story is extremely creative and for it's time was completely original.Four guys are Ghost Exterminators and rid New York of lots of nasty supernatural baddies.The movie's quotes are quite possibly the best and most memorable quotes in movie history.Is there a more quotable movie than this? The performances are excellent.Murray steals the show as Peter Venkman,who has the best lines and is easily the funniest of the four Ghostbusters.The special F/X are great,and even though this was released way way way back in 1984,their still good enough for competition against the usual CGI monsters we get Today.The finale is also really cool and the music score is terrific.Overall,Ghostbusters is an excellent movie that's truly one of the best films of all time.The most memorable quotes,funniest moments,coolest monster bustin' scenes, best theme music.On a side note,although it's deemed as a Family film,it's a little scary for young kids,despite being more of a comedy than horror.I was really scared when I first saw this (when I was about 3 or 4),but don't let that put you off by watching it with older kids (9+).There are two things that kept me from giving this a perfect five star rating.1,the plot at times moved a little slow and 2,although lots of people will probably disagree with me on this,but in my honest opinion,I thought the sequel, Ghostbusters II,was a lot better.Still,I liked Ghostbusters 1 very very much.Now,where's Ghostbusters III?
Rated PG for some horror/comedy violence and some salty language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2000
Unlike a lot of other movies being pushed as family fare today, this movie actually had a lot of plot and was enjoyable for all ages. 3 unconventional scientists (and one mechanic/all purpose man) go into business for themselves and face all kinds of wacky legal and social mishaps before saving New York City and the world from a major demon.
Although Akroyd is shown smoking (something that is unlikely to surface in today's family movies) in buildings, the superb acting and special effects negate it's presence. The infamous Stay Puff climax is still really awe inspiring even after the introduction of computer animation. New special effects does not always mean better.
The only reason why the movie dates itself is the inference of EPA officials as mean-spirited and reckless bureaucrats (even if the actual equipment used by the men could constitute an environmental hazard) . That this particular agency is selected is signifigant, because in real life, then-president Ronald Reagan won election promising to free businesses from real and perceived overregulation by EPA officials. The EPA as villan is quintesential 80's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse