Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series!!
I'm not going to say a great deal. The series is well written, well acted and keeps you wanting more!! For those that have never seen it - it is Hamlet set in the world of a motorcycle gang! Can't get better than that!
Published on Dec 2 2009 by J. Fiala

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Je prends la peine de commander l'article qui inclus la ...
Je prends la peine de commander l'article qui inclus la version française et lorsque je le reçoit, la version française n'est pas incluse, très déçu
Published 25 days ago by Patrick Légaré


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series!!, Dec 2 2009
By 
J. Fiala "vidiot" (Port Credit, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy: The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to say a great deal. The series is well written, well acted and keeps you wanting more!! For those that have never seen it - it is Hamlet set in the world of a motorcycle gang! Can't get better than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bikes, brotherhood and berettas - not necessarily in that order, Aug. 9 2010
By 
Torval Mork (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After climbing to the top of the executive ranks of the team behind The Shield, Kurt Sutter has landed squarely on his feet with the creation of Sons of Anarchy. A product of the FX channel (which is not available to us Canadians), the DVD and Blu Ray releases of Season 1 provide the perfect viewing opportunity for this stellar series.

The series revolves around a gang of motorcycle riding outlaws who operate out of the fictional town of Charming, California, a quiet venue in close proximity to Oakland. Their chapter is known as SAMCRO for The Sons of Anarchy Mortorcycle Club, Redwood Original. The central character is Jackson "Jax" Teller (Charlie Hunnam), the club's vice-president, who is finds his heart split between his ex-wife Wendy (Drea de Matteo) who has just given birth to his son, and his high-school sweetheart, Tara (Maggie Siff) a doctor who has just returned to town to work in the local hospital. The cast runs deep with amazing personalities including Ron Perlman, playing the club's president Clay Morrow, Katy Segal (who is also Kurt Sutter's real-life wife) playing Gemma Teller Morrow, Clay's wife and Jax's mom, Kim Coates as Tig Trager, the club's ruthless seargeant-at-arms, and Mitch Pilleggi as Ernest Darby, the boss of a rival gang called the Nords.

A no-holds barred storytelling approach similar to The Wire, The Sopranos and The Shield is immediately noticeable in the series pilot. The gory details are laid bare, with graphic illustrations exhibited of the extent to which the gang is willing to go to protect the club, their business and their families. The clubhouse is located in Clay's auto garage, but the gang's main source of income is running guns to the big city gangs in the East Bay, San Francisco region. Despite having the local sherriff, Wayne Unser (Dayton Callie), on their payroll, their operation ends up on the radar of the ATF, who sends in the devious Agent Stahl (Ally Walker), who goes to work trying to tear the gang apart from the inside out. The season ends with the gang in flux after a tragedy in the second to last episode gives all the members cause for a re-evaluation on their place in SAMCRO.

Special features for the first season include documentaries on the bikes, the tattoos and the casting, as well as a making-of.

A superb series, with a great first season under it's belt - let's hope these guys ride out a few more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing show!, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was bought as a present for my husband for christmas after many friends had recommended it to me. It is amazing and I am hooked. Just ordered the fourth season as we have been watching the series non-stop! Will not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting Series!, Sept. 6 2010
By 
Shepherdess Extraordinaire (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show isn't on TV in Canada but I heard about it through a motorcycle forum and then noticed our video store had it. I found myself saying during the first 3 episodes, "why are you watching this trailer trash?" (I didn't need more shows to be addicted to), but being a rider myself and interested in the life of MCs, I gave it the first disc. Well I am now hooked. This is one amazing series with well know actors, great acting, and lots of action. I suppose one of the reasons I love this show is that I feel like a voyeur looking into the life of an MC. It has a way of making you feel like you are one of the family looking in. I can see the attraction to joining an MC as the show does a fine job of portraying the sense of belonging and family that so many long for. On the other hand, some of the things this family does is hard to watch - it still is a criminal gang that engages in gun running, murders, torture, and the porn industry (thankfully tho that is short lived). This is a gritty show like The Shield was. If you liked The Shield, you'll love SOA.

I just finished re-watching Season 1 which made more sense to me this time - all the relationships, business deals, and gang rivalries. The DVD set is worth getting for the Special Features - the bikes, the ink, the set, etc. This is a unique show that will be a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Collar Shakespeare, Aug. 29 2010
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy: The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Sons of Anarchy creator Kurt Sutter adapted Shakespeare's Hamlet and set it the world of a blue collar California biker gang, who are called the "Sons of Anarchy." The always wonderful Ron Perlman plays Clay Morrow, the Claudius figure and the leader of the gang and Charlie Hannum is Jackson Teller, his stepson and the Hamlet figure. It seems that Jackson's mother, Gemma, married Clay after her first husband, John Teller, the former gang leader and Jackson's father died under suspicious circumstances. There is no ghost of Hamlet's father except for the hidden manuscript authored by Jackson's father and voiced by Nicolas Guest. The Ophelia figure is Tara, a local doctor and Jackson's high school sweetheart who finds herself involved in the gang.

While this premise is simple, Sons of Anarchy is actually quite complex. We follow the Sons in their often violent criminal activities, rivalries with other gangs and confrontations with the law. There are also domestic dramas -- troubles with women -- their "old ladies" The cast is universally good. Standouts are Katie Sagal (Mrs. Kurt Sutter) as Gemma, the psychologically manipulative mother and Kim Coates as Tig, the gang's psychopathic sargeant of arms.

This excellent show is not broadcast in Canada and I discovered it on blu ray at my local rental place. I found the show so compelling that I purchased it and spend the entire weekend watching it. I just could not stop, it is that compelling. Unfortunately, it has been overlooked by the awards people but it is as good as any show on television. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy Season one, Jan. 10 2010
By 
The show is awesome!!!! I am impatiently waiting for season 2 to come on sale so I can order it. Amazon was awesome got the DVD in about 4 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the $$, Sept. 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We are not biker gang people but this was recomended by friends of ours. We are a stay home early 40s couple.
The story line in season one of this show is very interesting. A story! What a concept!
I am purchasing other seasons tonight. I watched for a sale when a kid at a local dept store told me to just go to Amazon and purchase it. Much less expensive on Amazon and we got it in 3 days I think. We live north of Toronto, ON. Canada shipping is usually worse than a snail pace. Amazon has something figured out. I know where I am doing my Christmas shopping:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons Of Anarchy Rocks!, Oct. 8 2010
By 
Willow3171 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
When my husband first brought this home I didn't even think I would watch the first 5 minutes. Even as he started it, I was doing something else. As it played in the background I was drawn in bit by bit. Then we watched the first season in a week. This show is so much more than motorcycle clubs. It's about family, friends, loyalty and trust. The cast is amazing! We were hooked right away! It's a show that keeps on giving.. humor, drama, sex..all of it! Thanks FX!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy - season 1, March 6 2010
By 
Better than Sopranos! Thank goodness for the DVD's. I don't think i could wait a week between watching shows. Greatest show EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wanting more, Jan. 10 2011
I would have to say that Sons of Anarchy season 1 was great. I had to watch episode after episode to find out what was going to happen next. It was one of those series that sucks you in and leaves you wanting to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons of Anarchy: The Complete First Season [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 59.99 CDN$ 19.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews