Customer Reviews


766 Reviews
5 star:
 (564)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album of all time.
I cannot put into words some aspects of the perfection of this disc. Don't let those whining over "drugs" being a problem - If you consider anything "unlistenable" on this disc, you haven't heard any avant-garde industrial (Which isn't bad either). Keep in mind a good percentage of the world finds most popular music unlistenable to begin with. One of...
Published on July 15 2004 by Matt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from the US pressing. Buy UK 's for a clean sound.
I bought and returned the US version of this and "Revolver". Both were scratchy and dull sounding. The UK pressings sounded MUCH cleaner, though still on the dull side. If this record means a lot to you, buy used (60's, 70's or even 80's).
Published 5 months ago by T. E. Hermance


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album of all time., July 15 2004
I cannot put into words some aspects of the perfection of this disc. Don't let those whining over "drugs" being a problem - If you consider anything "unlistenable" on this disc, you haven't heard any avant-garde industrial (Which isn't bad either). Keep in mind a good percentage of the world finds most popular music unlistenable to begin with. One of the greatest collections of songs ever put out, the creativity within the beatles is purely amazing considering they were more popular than Britney Spears (Who is completely fake). Their originality, style, and performance shines through as something truly beautiful. If you can't appreciate at least one song on this disc, there has to be something wrong with you. One for the ages, file it besides Mozart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Summary of the 60's music expression, June 7 2001
By 
Edy Gibert (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
1968 was a very significant year in pop & rock's music growth and development. The psychedelic mood that started in 1967 together with the experimentation concepts were evolving into a heavier and more aggressive sound that eventually lead into progressive and hard rock during the 70's. The Beatles contributed to the process of change with this album that consists of a combination of solo and group efforts, and a large variety of different music styles.
Regardless of the different music preferences and the like or dislike for the Beatles' music, the "double white" adds value based on the following concepts. First, it offered a summary of almost every style played during the 60's. (1) Rock'n Roll ("Back To the USSR", "Every Body's Got Something To Hide"...), (2) Heavy Rock ("Helter Skelter", "Birthday"), (3) Electric Blues ("Yer Blues"), (4) Jazz ("Honey Pie"), (5) Folk-Rock (the album's version of "Revolution"), (6) Folk ("Blackbird", "I Will" "Julia", "Rocky Raccoon"), (7) Experimental ("Revolution No 9"), (8) Baroque ("Piggies"), (9) Raw expressions ("Wild Honey Pie", "Why Don't We Do It..."), (10) Heavy Ballads ("Happiness is a Warm Gun", "Dear Prudence", "Sexy Sadie") and, (11) Typical 60's pop (from "Ob-la-di-Ob-la-da", "While My Guitar..." through "Don't Pass Me By"). Second, the sound of the instruments evolved significantly as bass was given a protagonic role ("Dear Prudence" or "Birthday") as opposed to being kept in the back of the tracks. Guitars were used to create a forceful atmosphere ("Helter Skelter", "Every body's Got.."... "Yer Blues"). Third, the Beatles' grew as individual musicians and as a result the instrument switching during the recordings increased, thus George gets to play bass and to invite Clapton into one of his sessions, while Paul plays drums and guitars on more than one track. Many of the tracks reflect the work of a "soloist" or of a soloist with a backing group, and the White Album included more of these solo efforts than any of the Beatles previous material. However, I don't find that these characteristics diminish the quality of the album. "Blackbird" and "I Will" relate more to McCartney's solo music than to the Beatles, but so did "Yesterday", "For No One", and "Fool On the Hill". In addition, "Julia", "Cry Baby Cry" and "Sexy Sadie" were totally Lennon and distant from the Beatles music, but also were tunes like "You've Got To Hide Your...", and "Tomorrow Never Knows". The same cold be said for Harrison's compositions, were "Within You and Without You", "The Inner Light", or "Love You To", reflected more George's mood than the Beatles 60's music.
If you have doubts on the value of the "double white" and its subtleties, let me humbly recommend that you "only" compare this material with the sound of the albums issued during 1967 and 1968. Please abstain from comparing the "Double White Album" with 70's rock groups, contemporary artists, or any other group that emerged and developed after this material was released. I've received comments of listeners who argue that many of the tracks sounded raw, unfinished and disconnected from each other. As a result, some seem to think the "White Album" should have been a one record album instead of a double. Analysing the material I find that there are at least 21 songs that have the same quality standard as the material considered as the group's best. Only 9 tunes out of 30 contained in the album could be questionable. Probably the album should have been a "shorter double album".
My final comment is that the "Double White" was an innovative concept at the time it was released and I remind music lovers that most of the Beatles' music was "perfectly simple", which made it "simply perfect".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a soundtrack, Sept. 3 2009
By 
Jacques Rioux "Jacques" (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dear Mrs Amazon,

Even if The White Album is the Soundtrack of many lives, it is not a soundtrack. So, take out the word soundtrack please.

About the white album, if you are an average Beatles fan who was rise with the Blue(67-70) album. You will discover great songs rarely play on the radio (I will, Dear Prudence, Julia...).

Hope my english is understandable!

Jacques
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erratic, uneven, sloppy...yet somehow brilliant, Dec 25 2005
By 
Allan Tong (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ironically The Beatles entitled their Sgt. Pepper follow-up "The Beatles" when it was really a solo effort by four musicians. There are few harmonies on this album, and minmial songwriting collaboration. Also, a good third of the songs are disposable (by Beatle standards) such as Honey Pie and Piggies.
Yet despite the dips in quality, The White Album is an album I play regularly from start to finish. I suppose that a lot of the White Album's charm comes from the sequencing of songs that juxtapose rock with country with folk with experimental; that four composers are at work; Paul excels with Back in the USSR and Blackbird; that George's songwriting takes a big step forward (White My Guitar Gently Weeps just may be the best cut); that John returns to the forefront of the band with outstanding work (Dear Prudence, Julia and Yer Blues; and the album creates its own universe by sheer size and variety.
Though not my favourite Beatles album, and not a masterpiece along the lines of Revolver and Pepper, The White Album is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beatles (Audio CD)
This a great record. The price is hard to beat and it took a little longer to receive it but well worth the wait which really was not that long.it was in excellent shape.so I would order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Beatles experience, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beatles (Audio CD)
This is the first Beatles' album I've listened to, and it is FANTASTIC!!! I'm no Beatles' expert but if you're a fan of music, you are gonna love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shipped very quickly, Nov. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This item arrived the day after I had ordered it, and I had only requested standard shipping. It will be a Christmas Gift for someone and I am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from the US pressing. Buy UK 's for a clean sound., Oct. 26 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought and returned the US version of this and "Revolver". Both were scratchy and dull sounding. The UK pressings sounded MUCH cleaner, though still on the dull side. If this record means a lot to you, buy used (60's, 70's or even 80's).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good songs, wish they were all on one disk, Oct. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beatles (Audio CD)
We purchased this CD for my daughter who loves to listen to the beatles in the car. It had good songs and good sound, but I wish the two disks were combined and all on the one disk. Much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What I expected, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beatles (Audio CD)
Seems to me that for remastered should have improved bass but doesn't seem to be the case. Otherwise quite all right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfb98018)

This product

The Beatles
The Beatles by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews