Customer Reviews


396 Reviews
5 star:
 (259)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only way to watch the BEST MOVIE EVER
I've probably seen Army of Darkness a hundred times and on several different formats over the years. When I watched this Blu-Ray edition it was like watching it for the first time. I found myself smiling the whole way through and noticed little details that only hi-def can provide. It's great that they can make old movies people love look brand spanking new. That being...
Published on Sept. 22 2010 by JIBAutolycus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same as the other one
description is wrong. it is not the director's cut with 15 more minutes. it is the exact same blu-ray as the Screw-Heah Edition that already exist. do not buy
Published on Aug. 3 2011 by eric m


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only way to watch the BEST MOVIE EVER, Sept. 22 2010
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've probably seen Army of Darkness a hundred times and on several different formats over the years. When I watched this Blu-Ray edition it was like watching it for the first time. I found myself smiling the whole way through and noticed little details that only hi-def can provide. It's great that they can make old movies people love look brand spanking new. That being said, the disc doesn't contain much else, but none of the other Army of Darkness releases did either. It has the theatrical cut only, which I actually prefer as the directors cut changed some key one-liners. You can watch the Alternate ending seperately, and there is the featurette on creating the deadites which we've seen before. Oh, and the audio commentary.So nothing new except the quality, but thats enough reason to pick this up. Plus it sounds amazing. If you want a bunch of Evil Dead special features then pick up the Evil Dead blu-ray or ultimate edition DVD. It has tons of stuff, but sadly I don't see many AOD extras coming anytime soon, as I dont think much behind the scenes stuff exists. But don't let that get you down you primitive screwheads. This is still one to pick up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hey ugly!, Sept. 21 2004
By 
Trauma (Gotham City) - See all my reviews
Over the past few years ive introduce my spouse to The Evil Dead films mainly the first two since ive been waiting for them to stop releasing numerous versions of the third one.
So I bought The BoomStick Edition and her and I watched it and she was in tears from start to finish.
She finally agreed with me that yes Bruce is the man.
Army of Darkness is so stupid yet totally watchable even if it does fail to live up to the franchise expectations.
Bruce has allready proven his chops recently with Bubba Ho Tep so im hoping that an allout final big boy finale for the Evil Dead series will follow.
As much as I would like see Freddy vs Jason vs Ash that will not count no matter how good it may turn out to be as the big finale im craving to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing release. Find the definitive version!, Aug. 2 2004
By A Customer
I don't need to ramble on about how great this film is, but I strongly recommend purchasing the Region 3 version by MGM. Unfortunately it cannot be purchased via Amazon.com, but try Amazon Japan or even better HKflix.com! They have the ultimate edition of this classic film. The picture on the Anchor Bay edition(s) has average picture quality, often pixelated and zoomed and cropped. The 5.1 Sound is also lacking. The region 3 edition overcomes these problems, it looks and sounds fantastic! Furthermore, the Director's Cut in the Boomstick edition inserts deleted scenes in VHS quality (even worse), it is almost unwatchable and detracts from the rest of the film. I always bow down to Anchor Bay with their releases, but even though they did a commendable job with this one, they have fallen short as opposed to the Region 3 MGM edition. The Region 3 version has the full director's cut, but the deleted scenes have been restored to match those of the theatrical footage, so it is a more seameless and hence, enjoyable viewing experience. It also contains all the special features except the documentary from the Anchor Bay Edition. These include Audio Commentary, Deleted Scenes, Trailer, Alternate Ending, Picture Gallery etc...If you're a real fan of the film, buy both versions, because the theatrical cut on disc 1 of the Anchor Bay Edition is still a classic in its own right. But if anyone is not aware of the Region 3 version, do yourself a favour and track it down ASAP. I just received mine and it is the definitive edition. It's also worth buying the theatrical edition from Amazon.com too. "Hail to the King baby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Army Of Darkness DVD, Jan. 4 2004
Army Of Darkness is the third part of the Evil Dead trilogy, of which I love since I was 4 years old. Just as Book Of The Dead Edition is the definitive one for the first film and the THX Mastered version is the definitive DVD for the second film, this Boomstick Edition is the definitive DVD version of Army of Darkness.
Army Of Darkness Boomstick Edition is a 2-DVD Set. The first disc includes the U.S. Theatrical Version of Army Of Darkness (the one with the S-Mart/She-B**** ending) with both 5.1 and 2.0 sound, awesome video quality, and you can choose between Widescreen and Fullscreen to watch the Theatrical version of the movie. The first disc also includes the Theatrical Trailer and a featurette called "The Men Behind The Army", which is basically a docummentary about the movie's make-up effects; Talent Bios and the Original Ending of the movie, the one really meant to be, but separately from the original movie.
The second DVD includes the Director's Cut version of Army Of Darkness, the one Sam Raimi first showed to Universal Pictures, and was refused because it was too long (it's 15 minutes longer then the Theatrical Version) and had a depressing ending (yes, this "depressive ending" is the original ending also presented in Disc 1, but this time it's presented together with the movie, not separately). This time you can only watch it Widescreen and 2.0 sound, there aren't any more audio or video options avaliable for the Director's Cut. The second disc has some extras too, like the hilarious audio commentary by Sam Raimi, Bruce Campbell and Ivan Raimi; 4 deleted scenes, not presented in any of the movie's versions (there are also audio commentaries for the deleted scenes) and a very nice feature that, like a subtitle, as you watch the movie, storyboards of that scene you're watching just pop up in the lower part of your screen, so you can see what the director meant for that scene to be, and that's highly enjoyable.
Overall, this edition is very worth your money. There are some things I didn't like, though: the fact that the DVD has a paper case, not a plastic case; there are no subtitles or Close Captions for either versions of the movie; and the lack of audio/video options in the Director's Cut version. But those are not very important and they won't let me rate this DVD less than five stars. You must also know that there is a booklet inside the case, which is basically the part where Bruce Campbell talks about Army of Darkness in his book "If Chins Could Kill" (which I highly recommend). No need to say the movie itself rocks, and no need to say you must buy this DVD. Come get some (fun), and hail to the king (Bruce Campbell)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same as the other one, Aug. 3 2011
By 
description is wrong. it is not the director's cut with 15 more minutes. it is the exact same blu-ray as the Screw-Heah Edition that already exist. do not buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cheesy cult horror film - choose the edition wisely, June 7 2004
This review is from: Army of Darkness (DVD)
I've seen the U.S. theatrical cut of this film a number of times, so I bought the Director's cut (ASIN B00005QW4K) when it first came out. I finally got around to watching it recently, and I've got to say, I'm pretty disappointed with this particular edition. If you want to see the director's cut, I'd recommend you go with the "Boomstick Edition", which also includes the U.S. theatrical release.
There were a number of flaws in this particular DVD. The first thing I noticed was really bad pixellation in many scenes. They did a great job in many cases of cleaning up any scratches or flaws in the source film, but then they did a really bad job of DVD compression. I'm sure the other editions aren't any worse on that score, and hope that they're better.
Also, this cut is actually missing some of my favorite scened and lines. The worst offense is that the line "Good, bad - I'm the guy with the gun" (which for me has always epitomized Ash) was replaced by "I'm not that good". In the commentary, Campbell and Raimi actually note that they prefer the "Good, bad" line... So why not include it in the "director's cut"?
They also deleted an early fight scene, just after Campbell's arrival, and went back to what was apparently the original ending. I really liked the ending in S-Mart, though. I also found the editing on the windmill scene in this edition less cohesive than the theatrical release.
The commentary by Campbell and Raimi was very good, since those two have a long history together, and really seem to have loved making this movie. Still, though, it was clear that they could see some of the same issues I mentioned above, leaving me baffled as to why they didn't work together to make this edition a true reflection of what they think the "best" version of "Army of Darkness" would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fistful of Boomstick, March 23 2004
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Army of Darkness" is the third film in Sam Raimi's legendary "Evil Dead" trilogy. Surprisingly, while it was the least popular of the series in theaters, it's arguably now the biggest cult hit in the series!
Picking up where ED2 left off, Ash (Bruce Campbell) finds himself in 1400 A.D., taken prisoner by Arthur's knights. Soon, he finds that the only way he can return to his own time is to retrieve the Necronomicon (a.k.a. Book of the Dead). Of course, there are some complications: he'll also have to save his girlfriend, blow up his evil clone, and destroy an army of the dead. Armed with those ever-so-trusty weapons, the double-barreled shotgun and chainsaw, Ash sets out on his quest to return home.
"Army of Darkness" is one of the few films that successfully blends comedy with horror. AOD is, in fact, much more comedy than horror. Ash is outrageous, albeit a little more pissy than in the previous films.
One of the interesting things to do with this film is to look back at the other two films and see how far along the ED crew came. Bruce Campbell's acting improved by ED2, Sam Raimi became a more experienced director, the scripts changed from gore-filled horror to laugh-out-loud comedy, Joseph LoDuca went from creepy 70's horror score to booming medieval soundtrack...
There are two versions of the film: the original theatrical version (nicely remastered on this DVD) as well as the Director's Cut (horridly "mastered" on this DVD). I would highly recommend the D.C. to the T.C., but with the quality of the D.C. on this DVD, I can understand it if you stick with the T.C. (Woah, that was a mouthful!)
All in all, "Army of Darkness" is even more rockin' now then it was ten years ago. Filled with bone-rattling action and groovy comedy, AOD is a film only Sam Raimi could make.
"Shop smart, shop S-Mart!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Evil Dead meets Xena/Hercules!, March 19 2004
Proving you can't keep a good deadite slayer down, Army of Darkness marks the return of Ash in the third film of the highly popular Evil Dead trilogy. Ash (Bruce Campbell) is no longer confined to the isolated cabin in the woods, now that he's been transported to the 14th century (don't ask), apparently somewhere in England. He's seen as an enemy by the local Lord Arthur, but quickly becomes hero and savior to the people when he kills a couple of deadites. Consequently, and in order to return to his time, he's sent on a quest to retrieve the Necronomicon, the Book of the Dead. What should be a simple task results in the creation of the army of darkness, which Ash must battle to keep evil from spreading throughout the land.
Army of Darkness' plot is pure nonsense, sort of a mix of Monty Python and just about every fantasy movie you may have seen. The entire movie's success is based on humor, and it delivers with consistent comic ingenuity. All traces of horror its predecessors had is all but gone here, those expecting to experience terror with their mirth will be sorely disappointed. Army of Darkness is a silly comedy from beginning to end, and it revels in its silliness.
Easily the movie's anchor and probably the only reason I couldn't stop giggling for all 81 minutes is cult fave and comic genius Bruce Campbell. Roles of this kind are perfectly suited for him, and he doesn't disappoint. Whether it's his sharp one-liners, priceless facial reactions, or general good-nature about making a complete fool of himself, Campbell is hilarious as Ash. This is undoubtedly my favorite performance of his, period.
Director Sam Raimi shows off his usual kinetic style, delivering plenty of zooms and swirling camera movements. Most of the action sequences (and there are a LOT of them) are played equally for laughs and thrills, but probably succeed at the former slightly more successfully than the latter. The only movie I can think of that managed to keep its action completely thrilling while consistently mingled with silly physical humor is Stephen Sommers' The Mummy (which obviously gained inspiration from this movie)(Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade also accomplished the task, but boasted better and less silly physical gags).
As much as I enjoyed Army of Darkness, it's not as if though the movie couldn't have been improved. Some jokes fall flat and the concept of Ash fighting his evil twin hardly lives up to its full potential. While the intentionally cheesy and fun special effects and make-up effects are perfectly suited for the film, I would have preferred more sets. Most of the movie is based around one castle (albeit a very large one), without even a small village surrounding it; kind of gives off that low-budget vibe (though it's easily the most expensive of the Evil Dead series).
The director's cut attaches another fifteen minutes to the movie, most of which neither hampers the movie nor enhances its enjoyment. In fact, I would have welcomed this 96-minute cut if not for the alternate ending, which may be more in tone with the trilogy, but doesn't measure up to the hilarious S-Mart finale of the theatrical cut. As far as comparison with its predecessors, it's different enough in tone to not warrant any comparisons, but what the hell, I'll give one, anyway. Army of Darkness is more consistently enjoyable than Evil Dead 2 (which wasn't scary and only sporadically funny), but not up to par with the original The Evil Dead (which remains one of the most frightening films I've ever seen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well hello Mr. Fancy Pants!, Jan. 15 2004
By 
This movie takes place after the last one with Ash attempting to send the evil back in time, but a portal opens up and Ash is sent, car, shotgun, chainsaw, and all back to the 13th century. He is then captured by Arthur's clan, his his believed to be in league with Henry's clan (two waring groups). After a heroic escape from the well, Ash shows those "primitive screwheads"
what's up with his shotgun (and a hilarious quote!).
Eventually Ash is sent on a quest to find the Necromonicon. This book, while keeping the Deadites away forever, will also send Ash home. Ash ventures out, and encounters some great scenes (bad ash, and the mini ash's). He eventually finds the book, but screws up a vital part of taking it and unleashes the deadites. Ash then brings Arthur and Henry together and they fight the deadites using modern science (provided by ash) and wonderful low budget goodness!
This movie, one of the most popular horror-comedies out there is also one of the most quoteable. There are classics throughout the whole movie that everyone will love! The special features are decent. There's a couple of commentaries and some deleted scenes as well as story boards. All good here!
Do yourself a favour and pick this classic up! No longer a cult classic, but a real classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Be Confused, Jan. 12 2004
By 
MonsterJam (North Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
I'd like to preface my short review by saying that this is one of my top 5 movies of all time, and that the "4 star" rating does not reflect the movie (5 stars), simply the DVD.
On to the DVD....
I own 2 of the 400 different Army of Darkness releases: the Original Army of Darkness DVD, and the Bruce Campbell vs. Army Of Darkness - The Director's Cut (Official Bootleg Edition) [Whew! Thats a long title!] I DO NOT own the "Boomstick" version of the film, and this review is not for that DVD release....Do Not Be Confused with the version you are buying.
Each DVD release has their own quirks. Having a 57" Hitachi Projection HDTV and a Harmon Kardon DVD player, I was stunned to see that the image quality of the Bootleg Edition was exceptionally poor. It is so poor in fact, that I prefer to watch the original DVD release. It is, however, formatted to fit 16:9 widescreen format.
The original DVD release of course does not include additional footage the "way the Director intended", and although it is "widescreen", is not formatted for 16:9 monitor's.
Like I said, I do not own the "Boomstick" version, so I can't speak to that. I hope they fixed all the aforementioned problems in it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray]
Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] by Sam Raimi (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews