Customer Reviews


401 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only way to watch the BEST MOVIE EVER
I've probably seen Army of Darkness a hundred times and on several different formats over the years. When I watched this Blu-Ray edition it was like watching it for the first time. I found myself smiling the whole way through and noticed little details that only hi-def can provide. It's great that they can make old movies people love look brand spanking new. That being...
Published on Sept. 22 2010 by JIBAutolycus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same as the other one
description is wrong. it is not the director's cut with 15 more minutes. it is the exact same blu-ray as the Screw-Heah Edition that already exist. do not buy
Published on Aug. 3 2011 by eric m


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only way to watch the BEST MOVIE EVER, Sept. 22 2010
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've probably seen Army of Darkness a hundred times and on several different formats over the years. When I watched this Blu-Ray edition it was like watching it for the first time. I found myself smiling the whole way through and noticed little details that only hi-def can provide. It's great that they can make old movies people love look brand spanking new. That being said, the disc doesn't contain much else, but none of the other Army of Darkness releases did either. It has the theatrical cut only, which I actually prefer as the directors cut changed some key one-liners. You can watch the Alternate ending seperately, and there is the featurette on creating the deadites which we've seen before. Oh, and the audio commentary.So nothing new except the quality, but thats enough reason to pick this up. Plus it sounds amazing. If you want a bunch of Evil Dead special features then pick up the Evil Dead blu-ray or ultimate edition DVD. It has tons of stuff, but sadly I don't see many AOD extras coming anytime soon, as I dont think much behind the scenes stuff exists. But don't let that get you down you primitive screwheads. This is still one to pick up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hey ugly!, Sept. 21 2004
By 
Trauma (Gotham City) - See all my reviews
Over the past few years ive introduce my spouse to The Evil Dead films mainly the first two since ive been waiting for them to stop releasing numerous versions of the third one.
So I bought The BoomStick Edition and her and I watched it and she was in tears from start to finish.
She finally agreed with me that yes Bruce is the man.
Army of Darkness is so stupid yet totally watchable even if it does fail to live up to the franchise expectations.
Bruce has allready proven his chops recently with Bubba Ho Tep so im hoping that an allout final big boy finale for the Evil Dead series will follow.
As much as I would like see Freddy vs Jason vs Ash that will not count no matter how good it may turn out to be as the big finale im craving to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing release. Find the definitive version!, Aug. 2 2004
By A Customer
I don't need to ramble on about how great this film is, but I strongly recommend purchasing the Region 3 version by MGM. Unfortunately it cannot be purchased via Amazon.com, but try Amazon Japan or even better HKflix.com! They have the ultimate edition of this classic film. The picture on the Anchor Bay edition(s) has average picture quality, often pixelated and zoomed and cropped. The 5.1 Sound is also lacking. The region 3 edition overcomes these problems, it looks and sounds fantastic! Furthermore, the Director's Cut in the Boomstick edition inserts deleted scenes in VHS quality (even worse), it is almost unwatchable and detracts from the rest of the film. I always bow down to Anchor Bay with their releases, but even though they did a commendable job with this one, they have fallen short as opposed to the Region 3 MGM edition. The Region 3 version has the full director's cut, but the deleted scenes have been restored to match those of the theatrical footage, so it is a more seameless and hence, enjoyable viewing experience. It also contains all the special features except the documentary from the Anchor Bay Edition. These include Audio Commentary, Deleted Scenes, Trailer, Alternate Ending, Picture Gallery etc...If you're a real fan of the film, buy both versions, because the theatrical cut on disc 1 of the Anchor Bay Edition is still a classic in its own right. But if anyone is not aware of the Region 3 version, do yourself a favour and track it down ASAP. I just received mine and it is the definitive edition. It's also worth buying the theatrical edition from Amazon.com too. "Hail to the King baby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Army Of Darkness DVD, Jan. 4 2004
Army Of Darkness is the third part of the Evil Dead trilogy, of which I love since I was 4 years old. Just as Book Of The Dead Edition is the definitive one for the first film and the THX Mastered version is the definitive DVD for the second film, this Boomstick Edition is the definitive DVD version of Army of Darkness.
Army Of Darkness Boomstick Edition is a 2-DVD Set. The first disc includes the U.S. Theatrical Version of Army Of Darkness (the one with the S-Mart/She-B**** ending) with both 5.1 and 2.0 sound, awesome video quality, and you can choose between Widescreen and Fullscreen to watch the Theatrical version of the movie. The first disc also includes the Theatrical Trailer and a featurette called "The Men Behind The Army", which is basically a docummentary about the movie's make-up effects; Talent Bios and the Original Ending of the movie, the one really meant to be, but separately from the original movie.
The second DVD includes the Director's Cut version of Army Of Darkness, the one Sam Raimi first showed to Universal Pictures, and was refused because it was too long (it's 15 minutes longer then the Theatrical Version) and had a depressing ending (yes, this "depressive ending" is the original ending also presented in Disc 1, but this time it's presented together with the movie, not separately). This time you can only watch it Widescreen and 2.0 sound, there aren't any more audio or video options avaliable for the Director's Cut. The second disc has some extras too, like the hilarious audio commentary by Sam Raimi, Bruce Campbell and Ivan Raimi; 4 deleted scenes, not presented in any of the movie's versions (there are also audio commentaries for the deleted scenes) and a very nice feature that, like a subtitle, as you watch the movie, storyboards of that scene you're watching just pop up in the lower part of your screen, so you can see what the director meant for that scene to be, and that's highly enjoyable.
Overall, this edition is very worth your money. There are some things I didn't like, though: the fact that the DVD has a paper case, not a plastic case; there are no subtitles or Close Captions for either versions of the movie; and the lack of audio/video options in the Director's Cut version. But those are not very important and they won't let me rate this DVD less than five stars. You must also know that there is a booklet inside the case, which is basically the part where Bruce Campbell talks about Army of Darkness in his book "If Chins Could Kill" (which I highly recommend). No need to say the movie itself rocks, and no need to say you must buy this DVD. Come get some (fun), and hail to the king (Bruce Campbell)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same as the other one, Aug. 3 2011
By 
description is wrong. it is not the director's cut with 15 more minutes. it is the exact same blu-ray as the Screw-Heah Edition that already exist. do not buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the King, Baby!, March 22 2012
By 
Omnes - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Being the final installment to the Evil Dead series, this movie stands up to its precedent stories, although the treatment is different here. Indeed, Raimi, known for his genre-mixing movies, has opted for a comedic and adventurous story in Army of Darkness, as we find Ash fighting his way across hordes of demonic entities while trying to find his way back to the twentieth century.

Although I was surprised to see that the story wasn't set in the Middle-East like in the original ending of Evil Dead 2, but in England instead, the plot really kept me into my seat. Even better, it foreshadowed what Robert Tapert and Sam Raimi would do on Xena and Hercules, mixing dramatic action scenes with comedic situations, and an excellent soundtrack from Joseph LoDuca. If there were times when I felt the comedy was more evident in this movie, there are still some scary situations to endure, like when the Dead spirits, through Sam Raimi's camera, harass Ash and force him to hide in a windmill.

If I had one criticism to the story, it is that the Sheila character was a bit too stereotypical in the damsel-in-distress way that she and Ash interacted. Not only that, I felt their romance was a bit forced upon us and I don't think it would have hurt the story if there hadn't been any romance for us to see.

Technically, the fights and special effects were well done and more impressive. They also included a great use of the stop-motion animation, most notably with the Deadmites army. But my favorite effects were the mini-versions of Ash who torture him in the windmill. Their actions towards Ash were funny and add to Bruce's talent as a comedy actor.

Again on the technical aspect, although there are some shots in the movie that are still grainy and dirty (like a view of the castle at night, or during the fight with the "She-bitch" (says Ash!)), this movie's High Definition is amazing. Indeed, the image is so clear that you can even see the sweat and the pores on the actors' faces. And even though you can see the dirt on the camera for one shot, this Blu-Ray's images make it worth buying this movie. Especially when the excellent Dolby sound effect makes this movie experience great to listen to.

As for the bonuses, I was glad to see the first ending that they wanted to use, and I'm happy that they reshot it and gave the official, and better, finale because it worked better in the comedic tone of this movie, unlike Evil Dead 2 which had a more dramatic tension than Army of Darkness.

In the end, this movie is a treat for those who are ready to kick back from the week's work, and enjoy a good adventure. One that, once again, foreshadows what would be done on Xena and Hercules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 stars for the third in this Bruce Campbell-fest!, Nov. 11 2011
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Army of Darkness(released in Oct/92)finds our hero Ash back,played by Bruce don't-call-me-Ash Campbell.It's his film all the way through,as he chews the scenery up,right,left and centre stage.The co stars are really just incidental to the proceedings.
This film finds us about where the last left off.A passage read in the Necronomicon in the last film mentioned a man from the sky that would arrive in 1300 A.D. to help the people fend off the deadites.Well,Ash is THE man of legend,much to his chagrin.He takes care of the initial deadite onslaught and goes into the castle grounds.There he is forced to take care of a deadite down a large well.After this he finds that in order for the wizard to send him back to his own time,he must obtain the Necronomicon from a local cemetery.The wizard gives him the words to speak to get the book safely away:Klaatu,Barada,Nickto(words every film fan worth their salt knows as the self same ones Patricia Neal had to speak to Klaatu in the 1951 film,The Day the Earth Stood Still....and Ash obviously hadn't seen it!).
He arrives at the cemetery,after a brief encounter with deadites in a windmill,only to find not one but three Books of the Dead.He opens the first and gets sucked into it.After he gets out the second bites him and continually flies at him until he is able to subdue it.Of course the last one would be the real one.He starts to chant the sacred words:Klaatu,Barada...Necktie... Neckturn... Nickel... It's an "N" word, it's definitely an "N" word!...".In final desperation he says the first two and substitutes a drawn out cough for the last one.He looks around,nothing seemingly happens,but as he starts to return to his horse skeletal hands begin to rise up through the ground and trip him and try to grab the book.He gets away and returns to the castle.
He tells everyone that everything is alright,he has the book and now it's time he got returned to his own time.By now the people have thought he would stick around to fight the deadites and they are very disappointed.In the meantime the deadites have risen up from their graves and are marching on the castle.When a girl who had become infatuated with Ash is possessed by the deadites,he vows to stay and fight.It is a pitched battle but in the end good wins the day over evil and Ash is finally returned to his own time.
In the finale we find Ash back at work as he is explaining his exploits to some disbelieving fellow employees.Suddenly a deadite appears and Ash is forced to take action,as he grabs his weapon of choice,a boomstick(a shotgun to you Evil Dead noobs),and blasts the thing back to where it came.The film ends as Ash has a lovely lass bent over,ready for a kiss,as he utters the immortal words"Hail to the King,baby".
So ends the Evil Dead trilogy that really made a star out of Bruce Campbell;and rightfully so.Campbell has got to be the hardest B picture character actor in the business,along with being a very prudent and smart business man.He has written books,along with his movie work and has also directed.A man of many talents our Bruce is,and it shows that you don't have to be a Hollywood suck up to make it in films.We need more Campbells out there.
Technically speaking the print here is beautiful and is shown in its original a/r of 1:85:1.Extras include a featurette on the S/Fx and the alternate ending to the film.
All in all a recommended picture.This is the last of the Evil Dead series and shows Bruce Campbell off in his element as Ash.It is not GREAT film per se',but just a fun,fun romp in the horror genre that will have you laughing as much as jumping scared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cheesy cult horror film - choose the edition wisely, June 7 2004
This review is from: Army of Darkness (DVD)
I've seen the U.S. theatrical cut of this film a number of times, so I bought the Director's cut (ASIN B00005QW4K) when it first came out. I finally got around to watching it recently, and I've got to say, I'm pretty disappointed with this particular edition. If you want to see the director's cut, I'd recommend you go with the "Boomstick Edition", which also includes the U.S. theatrical release.
There were a number of flaws in this particular DVD. The first thing I noticed was really bad pixellation in many scenes. They did a great job in many cases of cleaning up any scratches or flaws in the source film, but then they did a really bad job of DVD compression. I'm sure the other editions aren't any worse on that score, and hope that they're better.
Also, this cut is actually missing some of my favorite scened and lines. The worst offense is that the line "Good, bad - I'm the guy with the gun" (which for me has always epitomized Ash) was replaced by "I'm not that good". In the commentary, Campbell and Raimi actually note that they prefer the "Good, bad" line... So why not include it in the "director's cut"?
They also deleted an early fight scene, just after Campbell's arrival, and went back to what was apparently the original ending. I really liked the ending in S-Mart, though. I also found the editing on the windmill scene in this edition less cohesive than the theatrical release.
The commentary by Campbell and Raimi was very good, since those two have a long history together, and really seem to have loved making this movie. Still, though, it was clear that they could see some of the same issues I mentioned above, leaving me baffled as to why they didn't work together to make this edition a true reflection of what they think the "best" version of "Army of Darkness" would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fistful of Boomstick, March 23 2004
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Army of Darkness" is the third film in Sam Raimi's legendary "Evil Dead" trilogy. Surprisingly, while it was the least popular of the series in theaters, it's arguably now the biggest cult hit in the series!
Picking up where ED2 left off, Ash (Bruce Campbell) finds himself in 1400 A.D., taken prisoner by Arthur's knights. Soon, he finds that the only way he can return to his own time is to retrieve the Necronomicon (a.k.a. Book of the Dead). Of course, there are some complications: he'll also have to save his girlfriend, blow up his evil clone, and destroy an army of the dead. Armed with those ever-so-trusty weapons, the double-barreled shotgun and chainsaw, Ash sets out on his quest to return home.
"Army of Darkness" is one of the few films that successfully blends comedy with horror. AOD is, in fact, much more comedy than horror. Ash is outrageous, albeit a little more pissy than in the previous films.
One of the interesting things to do with this film is to look back at the other two films and see how far along the ED crew came. Bruce Campbell's acting improved by ED2, Sam Raimi became a more experienced director, the scripts changed from gore-filled horror to laugh-out-loud comedy, Joseph LoDuca went from creepy 70's horror score to booming medieval soundtrack...
There are two versions of the film: the original theatrical version (nicely remastered on this DVD) as well as the Director's Cut (horridly "mastered" on this DVD). I would highly recommend the D.C. to the T.C., but with the quality of the D.C. on this DVD, I can understand it if you stick with the T.C. (Woah, that was a mouthful!)
All in all, "Army of Darkness" is even more rockin' now then it was ten years ago. Filled with bone-rattling action and groovy comedy, AOD is a film only Sam Raimi could make.
"Shop smart, shop S-Mart!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Evil Dead meets Xena/Hercules!, March 19 2004
Proving you can't keep a good deadite slayer down, Army of Darkness marks the return of Ash in the third film of the highly popular Evil Dead trilogy. Ash (Bruce Campbell) is no longer confined to the isolated cabin in the woods, now that he's been transported to the 14th century (don't ask), apparently somewhere in England. He's seen as an enemy by the local Lord Arthur, but quickly becomes hero and savior to the people when he kills a couple of deadites. Consequently, and in order to return to his time, he's sent on a quest to retrieve the Necronomicon, the Book of the Dead. What should be a simple task results in the creation of the army of darkness, which Ash must battle to keep evil from spreading throughout the land.
Army of Darkness' plot is pure nonsense, sort of a mix of Monty Python and just about every fantasy movie you may have seen. The entire movie's success is based on humor, and it delivers with consistent comic ingenuity. All traces of horror its predecessors had is all but gone here, those expecting to experience terror with their mirth will be sorely disappointed. Army of Darkness is a silly comedy from beginning to end, and it revels in its silliness.
Easily the movie's anchor and probably the only reason I couldn't stop giggling for all 81 minutes is cult fave and comic genius Bruce Campbell. Roles of this kind are perfectly suited for him, and he doesn't disappoint. Whether it's his sharp one-liners, priceless facial reactions, or general good-nature about making a complete fool of himself, Campbell is hilarious as Ash. This is undoubtedly my favorite performance of his, period.
Director Sam Raimi shows off his usual kinetic style, delivering plenty of zooms and swirling camera movements. Most of the action sequences (and there are a LOT of them) are played equally for laughs and thrills, but probably succeed at the former slightly more successfully than the latter. The only movie I can think of that managed to keep its action completely thrilling while consistently mingled with silly physical humor is Stephen Sommers' The Mummy (which obviously gained inspiration from this movie)(Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade also accomplished the task, but boasted better and less silly physical gags).
As much as I enjoyed Army of Darkness, it's not as if though the movie couldn't have been improved. Some jokes fall flat and the concept of Ash fighting his evil twin hardly lives up to its full potential. While the intentionally cheesy and fun special effects and make-up effects are perfectly suited for the film, I would have preferred more sets. Most of the movie is based around one castle (albeit a very large one), without even a small village surrounding it; kind of gives off that low-budget vibe (though it's easily the most expensive of the Evil Dead series).
The director's cut attaches another fifteen minutes to the movie, most of which neither hampers the movie nor enhances its enjoyment. In fact, I would have welcomed this 96-minute cut if not for the alternate ending, which may be more in tone with the trilogy, but doesn't measure up to the hilarious S-Mart finale of the theatrical cut. As far as comparison with its predecessors, it's different enough in tone to not warrant any comparisons, but what the hell, I'll give one, anyway. Army of Darkness is more consistently enjoyable than Evil Dead 2 (which wasn't scary and only sporadically funny), but not up to par with the original The Evil Dead (which remains one of the most frightening films I've ever seen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray]
Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] by Sam Raimi (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews