Customer Reviews


395 Reviews
5 star:
 (259)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only way to watch the BEST MOVIE EVER
I've probably seen Army of Darkness a hundred times and on several different formats over the years. When I watched this Blu-Ray edition it was like watching it for the first time. I found myself smiling the whole way through and noticed little details that only hi-def can provide. It's great that they can make old movies people love look brand spanking new. That being...
Published on Sept. 22 2010 by JIBAutolycus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same as the other one
description is wrong. it is not the director's cut with 15 more minutes. it is the exact same blu-ray as the Screw-Heah Edition that already exist. do not buy
Published on Aug. 3 2011 by eric m


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only way to watch the BEST MOVIE EVER, Sept. 22 2010
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've probably seen Army of Darkness a hundred times and on several different formats over the years. When I watched this Blu-Ray edition it was like watching it for the first time. I found myself smiling the whole way through and noticed little details that only hi-def can provide. It's great that they can make old movies people love look brand spanking new. That being said, the disc doesn't contain much else, but none of the other Army of Darkness releases did either. It has the theatrical cut only, which I actually prefer as the directors cut changed some key one-liners. You can watch the Alternate ending seperately, and there is the featurette on creating the deadites which we've seen before. Oh, and the audio commentary.So nothing new except the quality, but thats enough reason to pick this up. Plus it sounds amazing. If you want a bunch of Evil Dead special features then pick up the Evil Dead blu-ray or ultimate edition DVD. It has tons of stuff, but sadly I don't see many AOD extras coming anytime soon, as I dont think much behind the scenes stuff exists. But don't let that get you down you primitive screwheads. This is still one to pick up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hey ugly!, Sept. 21 2004
By 
Trauma (Gotham City) - See all my reviews
Over the past few years ive introduce my spouse to The Evil Dead films mainly the first two since ive been waiting for them to stop releasing numerous versions of the third one.
So I bought The BoomStick Edition and her and I watched it and she was in tears from start to finish.
She finally agreed with me that yes Bruce is the man.
Army of Darkness is so stupid yet totally watchable even if it does fail to live up to the franchise expectations.
Bruce has allready proven his chops recently with Bubba Ho Tep so im hoping that an allout final big boy finale for the Evil Dead series will follow.
As much as I would like see Freddy vs Jason vs Ash that will not count no matter how good it may turn out to be as the big finale im craving to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same as the other one, Aug. 3 2011
By 
description is wrong. it is not the director's cut with 15 more minutes. it is the exact same blu-ray as the Screw-Heah Edition that already exist. do not buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing release. Find the definitive version!, Aug. 2 2004
By A Customer
I don't need to ramble on about how great this film is, but I strongly recommend purchasing the Region 3 version by MGM. Unfortunately it cannot be purchased via Amazon.com, but try Amazon Japan or even better HKflix.com! They have the ultimate edition of this classic film. The picture on the Anchor Bay edition(s) has average picture quality, often pixelated and zoomed and cropped. The 5.1 Sound is also lacking. The region 3 edition overcomes these problems, it looks and sounds fantastic! Furthermore, the Director's Cut in the Boomstick edition inserts deleted scenes in VHS quality (even worse), it is almost unwatchable and detracts from the rest of the film. I always bow down to Anchor Bay with their releases, but even though they did a commendable job with this one, they have fallen short as opposed to the Region 3 MGM edition. The Region 3 version has the full director's cut, but the deleted scenes have been restored to match those of the theatrical footage, so it is a more seameless and hence, enjoyable viewing experience. It also contains all the special features except the documentary from the Anchor Bay Edition. These include Audio Commentary, Deleted Scenes, Trailer, Alternate Ending, Picture Gallery etc...If you're a real fan of the film, buy both versions, because the theatrical cut on disc 1 of the Anchor Bay Edition is still a classic in its own right. But if anyone is not aware of the Region 3 version, do yourself a favour and track it down ASAP. I just received mine and it is the definitive edition. It's also worth buying the theatrical edition from Amazon.com too. "Hail to the King baby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Army Of Darkness DVD, Jan. 4 2004
Army Of Darkness is the third part of the Evil Dead trilogy, of which I love since I was 4 years old. Just as Book Of The Dead Edition is the definitive one for the first film and the THX Mastered version is the definitive DVD for the second film, this Boomstick Edition is the definitive DVD version of Army of Darkness.
Army Of Darkness Boomstick Edition is a 2-DVD Set. The first disc includes the U.S. Theatrical Version of Army Of Darkness (the one with the S-Mart/She-B**** ending) with both 5.1 and 2.0 sound, awesome video quality, and you can choose between Widescreen and Fullscreen to watch the Theatrical version of the movie. The first disc also includes the Theatrical Trailer and a featurette called "The Men Behind The Army", which is basically a docummentary about the movie's make-up effects; Talent Bios and the Original Ending of the movie, the one really meant to be, but separately from the original movie.
The second DVD includes the Director's Cut version of Army Of Darkness, the one Sam Raimi first showed to Universal Pictures, and was refused because it was too long (it's 15 minutes longer then the Theatrical Version) and had a depressing ending (yes, this "depressive ending" is the original ending also presented in Disc 1, but this time it's presented together with the movie, not separately). This time you can only watch it Widescreen and 2.0 sound, there aren't any more audio or video options avaliable for the Director's Cut. The second disc has some extras too, like the hilarious audio commentary by Sam Raimi, Bruce Campbell and Ivan Raimi; 4 deleted scenes, not presented in any of the movie's versions (there are also audio commentaries for the deleted scenes) and a very nice feature that, like a subtitle, as you watch the movie, storyboards of that scene you're watching just pop up in the lower part of your screen, so you can see what the director meant for that scene to be, and that's highly enjoyable.
Overall, this edition is very worth your money. There are some things I didn't like, though: the fact that the DVD has a paper case, not a plastic case; there are no subtitles or Close Captions for either versions of the movie; and the lack of audio/video options in the Director's Cut version. But those are not very important and they won't let me rate this DVD less than five stars. You must also know that there is a booklet inside the case, which is basically the part where Bruce Campbell talks about Army of Darkness in his book "If Chins Could Kill" (which I highly recommend). No need to say the movie itself rocks, and no need to say you must buy this DVD. Come get some (fun), and hail to the king (Bruce Campbell)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very,very funny!!!, Oct. 26 2005
Anyone who's going try and take this movie serious and say that the acting is bad and the specialfx are poor are not the people they had in mind to watch this film.This is the movie they wanted to make and those of us with a true sense of humour will agree that it's genius.It's over the top,funny,witty and very entertaining.Just lastnight I played this movie for a buddy of mine for the first time and he was in stitches and kicked himself for not seeing it sooner.I'm not a big horror movie nerd, but this movie along with evil dead II are in my top 50 list for sure.And as far as the special fx go,I find they give this movie it's own dreamscape and make it very twisted and creepy and the same goes for evil dead I and II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kaboom!!!, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have to say this is the version you want if you love this movie. Oh boy what a great DVD blu-ray conversion. Two thumbs up and the right price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars culte!, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ce film a marqué mon adolescence c'est toujours un plaisir de le revoir j'adore ce film avec ses qualités et quelques défauts ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell are a brilliant team, Nov. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie had great dialogue. It was funny, campy and in the style that only Sam Raimi has the ability to master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Omg what to say about this movie .... it's a classic if you dont have it you're missing out on so much. I like the story, Bruce Campbell is amazing in this, he only could've pulled it off. A bit like Jim Carrey in the mask loll.OK you have to like that kind of movie but hell it's a good one
Good,Bad,i'm the guy with the gun ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray]
Army of Darkness: Screwhead Edition [Blu-ray] by Sam Raimi (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews