Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Major Improvement Over the Original!
Assassin's Creed II was released among a bevy of blockbusters during the holiday season of 2009 and managed to carve it's place among them as a stellar action/ adventure game that surpasses the original in every way possible.

The story takes place during Renaissance Italy as you take control of Ezio Auditore Di Firenze, a young man who watches as his family is...
Published on Dec 30 2009 by J. P. Noonan

versus
3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a-me! Ezio, a-long a-lost relative of-a Mario!
After a while the Italian accent in the voice acting gets a-nnoying.
I really wanted to love this game, after the underwhelming Assassin's Creed prequel. At least the gaming press seems to love it. I myself don't get it. I'm still in the "origins" part of the story, with Ezio just getting the proper assassin attire, and trying to piece together what's happening with...
Published on Nov. 20 2009 by Meagol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Major Improvement Over the Original!, Dec 30 2009
By 
J. P. Noonan (PE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed II was released among a bevy of blockbusters during the holiday season of 2009 and managed to carve it's place among them as a stellar action/ adventure game that surpasses the original in every way possible.

The story takes place during Renaissance Italy as you take control of Ezio Auditore Di Firenze, a young man who watches as his family is wrongfully accused of a crime they did not commit. Ezio dons the mantle of the Assassin and swears vengeance upon those who betrayed his family. He soon unravels a conspiracy that is plagued with deceit, betrayal, and entrenched in blood.

Assassin's Creed II is centered around free running. Virtually every structure can be scaled with ease by the agile protagonist. The controls take a short time to get used to and soon you will find yourself campusing up a giant tower and leaping between buildings alluding guards. It is a rewarding experience to navigate a daunting steeple that is seemingly hanging from the sky. Then to leap without fear from its apex and plummet towards earth in a free fall to simply land unscathed in a strategically placed wagon of hay.

Your character is also well equipped to fight with a variety of weapons. Stealth is the preferred method of assassination, however at certain times a more straightforward approach is called for and you may find yourself surrounded by numerous guards. The combat is almost as fluid as the free running with Ezio disarming and dodging his foes with style and grace. The lock on technique is cumbersome to use at times and the defensive and offensive maneuvers can be difficult to conduct.

Ubisoft Montreal performed admirably recreating Renaissance Italy with intricate detail and populating it with a plethora of characters. Venice and Florence feel more alive than Liberty City and the music and chatter that accompanies each new area adds to the overall atmosphere of the experience. While the historical accuracy can certainly be questioned it is apparent that Ubisoft sought to infuse the genuine flavour of Renaissance Italy into the game.

Unfortunately the vast virtual world does not run without a hitch. I have played the PS3 version extensively and have noticed screen tearing, pop up, and texture pop-in. While this isn't anything major it is important to note. The game runs almost identical to the 360 version unlike some previous (and future) multi-platform games (*cough* Bayonetta *cough*). With that in mind do not expect pristine Uncharted 2 type graphics.

The primary experience takes approximately 10-15 hours to complete. Navigating Ezio through his quest for vengeance is a sometimes confusing, albeit rewarding journey. Intertwined within the adventure are sub-quests that include; managing a villa, searching for mysterious glyphs, collecting feathers, deciphering codecs, and racing against thieves that can add considerable length to the overall playtime.

It was gaudy of Ubisoft to announce Assassin's Creed as a trilogy prior to the original hitting stores' shelves, but if Assassin's Creed II is any indication, the trilogy will end on an extremely high note.

Conclusion: Well worth the price of admission 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My personal game of the year 2009!, Jan. 8 2010
By 
Tim Tomahawk (Kitchener, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game has almost everything you could ask for in a game: compelling story, great control, plenty of replayability , great voice acting especially in Italian which only adds to the authenticity of this truly wonderful recreation of Italy. The game has improved in virtually every way compared to Assassin's Creed 1, the combat is much more refined and the extent of the customization and collectibles is unmatched. The first game had it's flaws as does this but you can't complain about it because it's just too much fun. The variation of the mission types is the greatest achievement in my mind, you rarely play the same mission over again and if you do the challenge is always heightened. The overall package is well worth the money and if your not in to that it's one hell of a rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game of the series., June 1 2010
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Hello,

Well Assassins Creed 2 is a big change from the first game Assassins Creed.
The game has so much more content as well as many great improvements, such as being able to buy armor, weapons and building shops in the main town.
For me the game has added so much more content and play ability I find it hard to walk away from the game.
You also have a much better button controller layout and the new menu system, which make finding weapons or other items very easy.

In short this game gets 5 stars for all the great enhancements and the total game design.
I would suggest people try this game, and i am sure you will love it.
But this game has so much killing I would not suggest it for people younger than 14 in my view.

Have a great day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Aug. 5 2010
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Its a great sequel to the original game. They improved almost every aspect of the original Assassin's Creed. Its a bit repetitive even if they added lots of variety than before.. but its fun. Enjoyed playing the game a good story too. Overall I recommend it to those who liked Assassin's Creed, you'll surely love Assassin's Creed II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Great, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
It's at a great price the game is great an once you get into the story you will want the other Assassin's creed games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, July 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
every thing is good
I enjoyed every part of this game
it is a very nice game.
I am planing to get brotherhood which is a continuation of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, May 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This was the only one i didnt have in the series, and finally with the full collection, i have started playing the series starting with number 1. For all the fans out there i dont have to explain its unique storylines, awesome stealth, kills, and missions to maintain that ninja code. Love it. See you in Black Flag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good game, Feb. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game have a very good story line that follow the first game.
The graphic is beautiful and game play experience is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1, Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
good mix of play = = =- = =-= =- = -=- = =-= -= -=-= -= =- + ++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Aug. 11 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Fun, active, new moves, great story line, can't wait to get the next one as i finished this one in one week, that's how hooked up i was!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed II Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews