Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars happy
A classic in the Vampire movies. The actors are noticed in more modern movies. I am glad to have it in my collection.
Published on April 1 2012 by unhappy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sucked in
I heard a lot of positive things about this movie before I saw it. In fact, I heard someone talking about it the next day. However, I can't see what seperates it from any other vampire movie. I was enthralled after the first twenty minutes. I had never seen a vampire movie where a female vampire could suffer from very human emotions. And had the movie continued to...
Published on Feb. 13 2003 by J. Gilmore


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid. horror film ........, June 27 2013
By 
JT (RIchmond, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [Import] (DVD)
Very well done, stylish and I would even say innovative, creative twist on vampire stories. What I thought was great was the idea that the vampires could actually be out during the daytime but suffered greatly in direct sunlight. Lance Henrikson and Bill Paxton were great as vampires. The movie's violence and action was well done and not too gory, and added to the suspense of the story. A refreshing, creative view of vampires as these age old beings that are super strong but at the sametime very fragile in certain ways. The hero as a young man was gullible and gets drawn into the group of vampires, and shows courage as he interacts with this evil group. All in all, a very good vampire film, which differs in a refreshing way compared to the Bela Lugosi and John Carradine portrayals of long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy, April 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [Import] (DVD)
A classic in the Vampire movies. The actors are noticed in more modern movies. I am glad to have it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Great DVD!, Sept. 16 2002
By 
Daniel V. Reilly (Upstate New York, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
Near Dark is one of those great movies that it seems no one has seen. I hope this deluxe DVD will change that.
Near Dark suffered in it's initial theatrical release due to it's resemblance to The Lost Boys. They share a storyline (Hapless young man falls for a girl who turns him into a Vampire, and he's forced to deal with her crazy running buddies.), and even a release date; Lost Boys blew Near Dark right out of theaters, but Near Dark found an appreciative audience on video, and deservedly so. The cast is uniformly great, especially Lance Henrikson and Bill Paxton as the lead Vamps. The script, by Director Kathryn and Eric Red, is perfect- we learn little tidbits about the history of the Vampires, but we're always kept at arms length from them. We see them as alien and threatening, and they see us a food. Bigelow does a great job, especially considering it was her solo directorial debut. The only gripe I had is the Vampirism "Cure" which seems like a Deus Ex Machina, but that's a small quibble. The Tangerine Dream score also made some scenes seem really cheesy...FAR from their best work. I think an orchestral score would have been much better, but budget constraints....
The 2-DVD set is beautifully packaged, with a die-cut inner package inside the box, and a great looking (and informative!) booklet. The film looks great; As usual, Anchor Bay does great work on their DVD transfers. It also has a commentary track from Director Bigelow, which is kinda dry and technical. Disc 2 has tons of storyboards, a weak deleted scene, a new 47-minute documentary, cast & crew bios (Very extensive!), still & ad galleries, and tons more.
Near Dark is one of those films that has flown under the radar for FAR too long, and I can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The price of immortality, Sept. 8 2002
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
Ah yes, Near Dark. This was the film that got buried by The Lost Boys. If you're tired of the Anne Rice school of fashionable and hip Euro vampires, then 1987's Near Dark will be a welcome surprise. The film is a refreshing take on one of horror's most over-used tales. The story is simple: Farm boy Caleb meets girl, Mae. Caleb falls for Mae. Mae (a vampire) bites Caleb. Caleb now must become a member of Mae`s nomadic vampire family, roaming the Midwest in stolen autos, hiding from the sun, and doing their murderous feeding at night. Perhaps the films standout element would be its sense realism, something most other vampire films lack. We learn of vampires and their ways through the viewpoint of Caleb as he becomes a member of the group. And the vampires themselves are re-imagined, in ways that make them real. Near Dark remains Kathryn Bigelow's best film, suffused with style and anarchy that has a true feel for the irregular pulse of a very particular place and time. It's a western in the Southern Gothic tradition in a way. The performances, often weak in horror films, are simply great, with Paxton and Henriksen shining brightest. The atmospheric score by Tangerine Dream is perfect. In the end, Near Dark stands as one of the best vampire films in the last 25 years. It's great to finally have this on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun, Feb. 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
"Near Dark" has only two flaws:
(1) Joshua Miller, the bratty kid you wanted to slap in the face in "River's Edge", plays a bratty vampire, and you want to slap him in the face in this movie, too.
(2) The soundtrack by Tangerine Dream does not hold up well. It stinks. It is almost distractingly bad at times.
That said, the rest of the movie is awesome. Using a great chunk of the cast from "Aliens" (Bill Paxton, Lance Henrickson, and Jeanette Goldstein) was a stroke of genius. Their chemistry together, which was so good in that movie, proves to be even more devilish good fun in "Near Dark", featuring the trio as a nomadic group of dustbowl vampires. Paxton fans in particular will be delighted by his goofy, scenery-chewing character. Adrian Pasdar does a great job too, as a hick named Caleb who is kidnapped by the group after one of its other members, a sweet young thang named Mae (the lovely Jenny Wright), takes a liking to him and nibbles on his neck.
The special effects are outstanding. There are some genuine spine-tingling moments that you will remember for a long time. Especially the "roadhouse massacre" scene, which gives us big laughs, gross-out gore, and some good scares as well. This scene alone rightfully earns "Near Dark" its spot (on my list, anyway) as one of the most genre-twisting, intelligent, and all-out entertaining horror flicks of all time. The DVD extras are great, too. You won't be disappointed. "Near Dark" is certainly worth buying for any serious horror film collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the night, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
Katherine Bigelow reportedly wanted to create an old-fashioned Western movie... mixed with a vampire romance. The result was something that could have been a disaster.

Instead "Near Dark" is a deeply underappreciated little cult movie, which demonstrates that talent and originality in vampire movies isn't quite gone. Bigelow smoothly intertwines eerie otherworldliness with a grimy, gritty Western flavour, and spreads the resulting atmosphere over a clever, tightly-written script and some solid acting from Adrian Pasdar and Jenny Wright.

Small-town boy Caleb (Pasdar) encounters an ethereal young woman named Mae (Wright) on the street one night. They seem to be shyly hitting it off... until she bites him and leaves.

Before Caleb knows it, the sun literally causes his skin to burn, and he's been yanked into the RV of a gang of vampire drifters -- Mae among them. They're a pretty mean bunch, and even their leader Jessie Hooker (Lance Henriksen) gives him only one week to prove himself. But Caleb refuses to give in to "instinct" by drinking blood and killing his victims, which causes some problems.

Meanwhile, Caleb's father (Tim Thomerson) and the local police are searching for the missing young man -- and when Caleb manages to save the vampires from the cops, they finally accept him. But then one of them develops a crush on Caleb's kid sister Sarah, and Caleb finds himself torn between his strange new life and his family's safety. Even if he can somehow be cured of his vampirism, can he hope to destroy an entire bloodsucker gang out to kill him?

"Near Dark" is one of those cult movies that doesn't have a big enough cult -- it gets overshadowed by other 1980s vampire movies like "Interview with the Vampire" and "The Lost Boys," despite having little in common with them. The vampires in it are dirty, amoral, trashy and casually cruel as only human beings freed from mortality and law can be ("Remember that fire we started in Chicago?") -- which is an all-too-probable result if someone were to become a vampire.

And Bigelow gives the movie a unique atmosphere, setting it in the grimy, dusty small towns of Oklahoma and filling it with blood, guns and nighttime streets -- in fact if it didn't have vampires, you'd think it was a coming-of-age tale about falling in with a bad crowd. But there are also a number of sweet romantic scenes, which are all the more striking because they don't get over-the-top or cheesy.

And there's a quiet, understated visual power to Bigelow's directing style, whether it's Caleb tottering across a field with smoke pouring from his clothes, or an erotic blood-drink against a pumping oil rig on a lightning-filled night. And her script is a pretty solid one as well, with excellent dialogue ranging from the quietly beautiful ("... I'll still be here when the light from that star gets down here to earth...") to macabrely funny ("It's finger-lickin' GOOD!").

Pasdar is intense and gutsy as a nice young country boy who has the misfortune to get turned into a vampire against his will, and Wright is wispily endearing as the only vampire who sympathizes with him. Some of the supporting vampires get kind of 2-D and over-the-top at times, but Henriksen does an outstanding job as their weary, battle-scarred leader, and Joshua John Miller does a good job as a vampire trapped in a little boy's body.

"Near Dark" is a darker, grittier brand of vampire movie, and while it's blessed with solid acting, brilliant direction and snappy script, the unique slant on vampires is one of the best parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the night, June 6 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Near Dark [Import] (DVD)
Katherine Bigelow reportedly wanted to create an old-fashioned Western movie... mixed with a vampire romance. The result was something that could have been a disaster.

Instead "Near Dark" is a deeply underappreciated little cult movie, which demonstrates that talent and originality in vampire movies isn't quite gone. Bigelow smoothly intertwines eerie otherworldliness with a grimy, gritty Western flavour, and spreads the resulting atmosphere over a clever, tightly-written script and some solid acting from Adrian Pasdar and Jenny Wright.

Small-town boy Caleb (Pasdar) encounters an ethereal young woman named Mae (Wright) on the street one night. They seem to be shyly hitting it off... until she bites him and leaves.

Before Caleb knows it, the sun literally causes his skin to burn, and he's been yanked into the RV of a gang of vampire drifters -- Mae among them. They're a pretty mean bunch, and even their leader Jessie Hooker (Lance Henriksen) gives him only one week to prove himself. But Caleb refuses to give in to "instinct" by drinking blood and killing his victims, which causes some problems.

Meanwhile, Caleb's father (Tim Thomerson) and the local police are searching for the missing young man -- and when Caleb manages to save the vampires from the cops, they finally accept him. But then one of them develops a crush on Caleb's kid sister Sarah, and Caleb finds himself torn between his strange new life and his family's safety. Even if he can somehow be cured of his vampirism, can he hope to destroy an entire bloodsucker gang out to kill him?

For some reason, the DVD edition of "Near Dark" has a cover that makes it look like a cheap knockoff of "Twilight." That's massively unjust, because it's a complete misrepresentation of what this movie is about. And the vampires in it are dirty, amoral, trashy and casually cruel as only human beings freed from mortality and law can be ("Remember that fire we started in Chicago?") -- which is an all-too-probable result if someone were to become a vampire.

And Bigelow gives the movie a unique atmosphere, setting it in the grimy, dusty small towns of Oklahoma and filling it with blood, guns and nighttime streets -- in fact if it didn't have vampires, you'd think it was a coming-of-age tale about falling in with a bad crowd. But there are also a number of sweet romantic scenes, which are all the more striking because they don't get over-the-top or cheesy.

And there's a quiet, understated visual power to Bigelow's directing style, whether it's Caleb tottering across a field with smoke pouring from his clothes, or an erotic blood-drink against a pumping oil rig on a lightning-filled night. And her script is a pretty solid one as well, with excellent dialogue ranging from the quietly beautiful ("... I'll still be here when the light from that star gets down here to earth...") to macabrely funny ("It's finger-lickin' GOOD!").

Pasdar is intense and gutsy as a nice young country boy who has the misfortune to get turned into a vampire against his will, and Wright is wispily endearing as the only vampire who sympathizes with him. Some of the supporting vampires get kind of 2-D and over-the-top at times, but Henriksen does an outstanding job as their weary, battle-scarred leader, and Joshua John Miller does a good job as a vampire trapped in a little boy's body.

"Near Dark" is a darker, grittier brand of vampire movie, and while it's blessed with solid acting, brilliant direction and snappy script, the unique slant on vampires is one of the best parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a new perspective, July 15 2004
By 
PSM/Bokor (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
I must strongly recommend this film. I can easily overlook a few minor storyline problems because the premise of this film is absolutely intriguing - the transition from humanity to the world of being a vampire.
This film is beautifully filmed and edited. The acting is strong, and the story holds you from the beginning to the end.
Certainly, the bar room scene is a classic; it, alone, makes the film worthwhile. But, don't get me wrong, the entire film is masterfully handled and should be applauded. If nothing else, it has some of the greatest one liners ever spoken in a horror film.
Near Dark deserves to be seen. I can't believe I never heard of it before. I just happened to see it in Wal Mart and picked it up. This film is definitely one of my best impulse buys ever.
You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic of the 80's!, July 13 2004
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
Somewhere in the southwestern heart of America, a young man named Caleb ( played by Adrian Pasdar) falls for a gorgeous young woman ( played by Jenny Jones) who leads her into her clan of vicious vampire outlaws where he becomes one of them looking for people to kill and blood to drink.
A shockingly original and brilliant vampire gem from 1987 which came out during the same time like " Lost Boys" but this has became a cult hit on video and on DVD now. The casting is great especially having Aliens, Titanic and Terminator stars Lance Henrikensein, Jennette Goldstein and Bill Paxton as the bloodsuckers, great acting and gore. The 2-disc DVD set is great with awesome extras like commentary by the director, interviews, documentary, poster-and-still gallery, deleted scene, and storyboard gallery.
This movie truly belongs in every horror movie lover's library.
Also recommended: " Vamp", " From Dusk Till Dawn", " The Hills Have Eyes", " Demons", " 28 Days Later", " Lifeforce", " Fright Night", " Fright Night 2", " Vampire Hunter D", "Underworld", " Van Helsing", " Interview with the Vampire", " Freddy Vs. Jason" and "Re-Animator".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a Classic, July 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Near Dark (DVD)
Man, I remember watching this movie when I was like 6 or 7 years old and I thought it was great. I Had forgotten all about it until my dad mentioned, the other day, about the "vampires that drove the motorhome." All of a sudden, I knew what he was talking about, even after all of these years. We couldn't remember what the name of it was so I did a massive search because he caught my curiosity. I can't wait until it comes in the mail!! My little brother (well, he's not so little anymore) is gonna trip hard core! Just wait until (if) I find the movie "The Dolls" on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Near Dark [Import]
Near Dark [Import] by Kathryn Bigelow (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 69.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews