Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "So, what were you gonna be when you grew up?"
After Friday the 13th, Part 5: A New Beginning (Widescreen) [1985], this once-proud franchise was in dire need of an even newer beginning, and writer/director Tom McLoughlin really came through, basically, as far as I'm concerned, saving the series. Not only do we get the real Jason back, he's bigger and badder than ever. We also return to Camp Crystal Lake (now renamed...
Published on Nov. 3 2008 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars he's back
int this 6th installment of the series,Jason once again stalks,
campers,counselors and any one else foolish enough to get in his
way.there is not much new in this installment,although there are some
exciting moments,particularly the climatic ending.and there is a clue(a
small clue,but a clue)about why he is so unstoppable and never seems to
stay...
Published on May 30 2009 by falcon


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars he's back, May 30 2009
int this 6th installment of the series,Jason once again stalks,
campers,counselors and any one else foolish enough to get in his
way.there is not much new in this installment,although there are some
exciting moments,particularly the climatic ending.and there is a clue(a
small clue,but a clue)about why he is so unstoppable and never seems to
stay dead,and why he kills.unlike a lot of people,i don't hate these
Friday the 13th movies.sure they are redundant for the most part,but i
still get a kick out of seeing Jason in the mask dispatching his
victims.i think it's because the character is so iconic,like
Freddy,from the Nightmare on Elm Street series,or Michael Myers from
the Halloween franchise.i thought this movie was as good as part 5:A
new Beginning,but then what do i know.for me,Friday the 13th Part
VI:Jason Lives is a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "So, what were you gonna be when you grew up?", Nov. 3 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After Friday the 13th, Part 5: A New Beginning (Widescreen) [1985], this once-proud franchise was in dire need of an even newer beginning, and writer/director Tom McLoughlin really came through, basically, as far as I'm concerned, saving the series. Not only do we get the real Jason back, he's bigger and badder than ever. We also return to Camp Crystal Lake (now renamed Forest Green in a rather transparent attempt to excise the whole Jason "legend" from the area), where we not only have camp counselors but - for the first and only time in the series - actual campers. Naturally, there's no way to resurrect Jason without resorting to some kind of hokey miracle - after all, the dude's been rotting in his grave for several years now. Apart from that, though, the script is surprisingly good, and the kills are very good indeed (even though the best parts of many of them were once again toned down and edited in order to secure the film an R rating). On top of all that, McLoughlin was able to sprinkle in some scattered bits of humor in ways that actually worked - which is no small feat in and of itself.

It's best just to pretend that Friday the 13th Part V - A New Beginning never happened - and the fact that Tommy Jarvis is now played by Thom Matthews (the third Tommy in as many movies) makes that a little easier to do. It seems that our boy Tommy has been released from whatever mental hospital he had been living in over the last few years - but he still has nightmares about Jason (quite understandable). Well, he's sick of all that and returns to the scene of Jason's crimes to dig the monster up and make sure he's thoroughly destroyed. Unfortunately, his little plan backfires and he accidentally brings Jason back to life. Not surprisingly, no one - least of all Sheriff Garris (David Kagen) - believes his "Jason's coming" song and dance. No one, that is, except the Sheriff's daughter Megan (Jennifer Cooke) - and that's only because she thinks Tommy's cute. Well, people start dying in gruesome ways as Jason makes his way back "home," and Tommy takes it upon himself to stop Jason once and for all, a feat which requires a little something extra since Jason is now super-strong and sort of dead and alive at the same time.

Boy, psycho killer-murdering guys fresh out of mental institutions really get the chicks. Who knew? Megan may well be the best-looking girl in the whole series, and she's willing to disobey her sheriff father (and who knows how many laws) just to go Jason-hunting alongside Tommy; heck, she even risks her life for the guy. Looking at the larger picture, though, you can't help wondering why Green Forest (nee Crystal Lake) keeps reopening its camp sites. How many dozens of innocent lives must be snuffed out in that area before people start thinking it might not be safe to send little Johnny to camp there?

On a final note, I have to say that this film features some of the best moments in the entire series. I love the James Bond-inspired opening credits, which come after a surprise appearance by Welcome Back, Kotter's very own Horshack (Ron "Don't Call Me Ronald" Palillo). Then there's the manner in which Jason rearms himself with a machete - that's probably my favorite part of the entire movie. Of course, there are more subtle moments, as well, such as the sight of one little girl camper sitting up in bed reading Jean-Paul Sartre's No Exit. And who could forget the great deadpan line delivered by one of the two "dead meat" boys as they wait to see if anyone can stop Jason from coming in and slaughtering them and everyone else in the room. It's pretty easy to see why many a Jason fan considers this the best Friday the 13th film of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great start & cool final credit song but no meat in between, Oct. 15 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Okay, let's just jump into the deep end of the pool right away with this one. I have always wondered why so many people attacked "The Last Temptation of Christ" in 1988 when "Friday the 13th, Part VI: Jason Lives" was sitting on the shelf of their local video store (or, more accurately, was not sitting there because teenagers were sitting in dark rooms watching it). The Martin Scorsese film based on the provocative novel by Nikos Kazantzakis offended many Christians because of the sequences in which Satan tempts Jesus with a vision of the normal human life he could have if he got down off the cross and walked away from his divine mission. However, at the beginning of "Jason Lives," when Jason is dead, his corpse is dug up by Tommy Jarvis (Thom Mathews), the boy who killed him in the previous film. Tommy sticks a pole in Jason's rotting corpse and when lightning strikes it, Jason rises from his grave, gets his hockey mask, and sets off for Camp Forrest Green a.k.a. Camp Crystal Lake a.k.a Camp Blood. There is also a urinating dog involved in the resurrection as well, but the fact that a film would suggest that some power other than the divine could bring back somebody from the dead to slaughter brainless teenagers strikes me as being much more offensive than reaffirming that Jesus knew exactly what he was doing by sacrificing his life for humanity.
Anyhow, the opening sequences is not only the best one in the series it is also the best part of this 1986 installment in the series. Remember, this is a world in which Bobby Ewing shows up in a shower in "Dallas" a year after he died, so it is hard to fault the producers of this film for resurrecting Jason for another festival of slicing and dicing. Besides, you can see Tommy's insane need to make sure Jason is dead as an acceptable enough rationale to justify the mistake of digging up the corpse and a nameless evil being responsible for his reanimation is as good of an explanation for what motivates our killer zombie as anything else (Okay, so the best explanation is that Paramount wanted to make more money on this franchise since clearly they have the formula down pat by this point).
But after the sizzling opening to get Jason back in the ballgame we are back to the standard routine of see the obnoxious teenager, kill the obnoxious teenager, until the final credits role and Alice Cooper belts out "The Man Behind the Mask." None of the killings stand out and the same can be said for the actors and actresses making up Jason's buffet. I do not ascribe to the insult being added to injury in "Jason Lives" because you have Arnold Horshack from "Welcome Back Kotter" but no gratuitous nudity for the simple reason that splatter flicks have to be judged by the creativity and/or gore of the deaths ("Final Destination" was the last movie that impressed me in that regard). By episode six in the "Friday the 13th" series you just do not get beyond the feeling you have seen it all before. I swear that you could mix and match the murders in these movies and most viewers would not be able to tell the difference. The bottom line is that "Friday the 13th, Part VI: Jason Lives" is an average entry in the series at best and the value of that assessment is totally dependent on how much you like the series overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better than you'd think...(** 1/2 stars...)., June 22 2004
By 
Xanadu (New Lenox, ILL) - See all my reviews
I skipped part 5 and went right to this one after hearing good things. "Jason Lives" is actually pretty good for a "Friday the 13th" sequel. It's "bulky", meaning that thier was substance to it, and not just kill, kill, kill from begining to end. The "main girl", traditional to slasher pics, was more interesting than most in other movies of this sort. And we actually get to see kids at the camp this time; If you recall, in parts 1 and 2 we only get to see people preparing for kids to go to the camp. And it didn't seem to fly right by like others in the series did. Reccomended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th, Part VI - Jason Lives, June 3 2004
I thought this was one of the best sequels in the series.The plot is that Tommy Jarvis wants to make sure Jason's dead so he escapes and goes to the cemetary to dig up Jason's body.When he digs his grave up Jason is revived and starts out again on a killing spree.I enjoyed the old feeling of the first one.The dialogue was good too.I was hooked the entire movie.Alot of the characters were memorable unlike some characters from the other sequels.The only thing I thought was stupid was the paint ball fight in the beginning.The ending was predictible but I liked it. Make sure to check this one out.Tommy Jarvis (Thom Matthews), the boy who killed Crystal Lake murderer Jason Vorhees, is now grown. Jason is still dead, but Tommy, recently released from a mental health facility, needs to see proof. When he exhumes Jasons body to get a closer look, a series of events causes the masked killer to be reanimated, only to go on the rampage again! (7/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What A Slash Film Ought To Be, May 28 2004
By 
Daniel McInnis (Toledo, OH United States) - See all my reviews
I'm guessing that you all know, or have met, someone like me before. I'm your classic film snob, if a movie doesn't cost under a million dollars or have subtitles, I'm probably not interested. That being said, though, we all have our guilty pleasures, and mine is the slasher film. I know, I know, there's nothing you can tell me that I haven't already heard, and I know that you're right about everything. But the simple fact of the matter is this, I don't care. These are the movies of my youth. More than cartoons, more than wrestling, more even than Arnold Schwarzenegger, it's these movies that make me the most nostalgic, and just hearing that "cha-cha-cha, ha-ha-ha" sends chills down my spine. And if I had to pick a favorite from this era, "Jason Lives" would probably be it.
That's not to say that this is the scariest film to come out of the 1980's, see the original "Nightmare on Elm Street" for that, or even the best of it's genre, "Fright Night" holds that distinction, it's just that this is the most entertaining (along with "Return of the Living Dead"). And, like that movie,
it's also laugh-out-loud funny. I mean, this is a better comedy than "Scary Movie" or either of it's two sequels, and actually predates those films by about fifteen years. What makes it so hysterical is that it never tips it hat or winks at the camera. Oh, sure there's a moment here or there, like when the gravedigger looks into the camera, breaking the forth wall of filmmaking, and says, "Some people have a funny idea of entertainment." But aside from that it's comedy is very subtle and restrained. In fact, some people might not even pick up on it, which is what makes it so great.
In a way it reminds me of "Cobra" in that way. You remember "Cobra," don't you? That Sylvester Stallone dud from the mid-80's that seems to be running on a constant loop on cable channels. It's another great example of a movie that's hugely funny, but has no right to be. Sure, there are some distinctions, the largest of which being that I sometimes wonder if the makers of "Cobra" were in on the joke, but here there's no mistaking director Tom McLoughlin's intentions. This is an out-and-out spoof, but one with a reverence for the genre it's spoofing (something that can't be said for movies like "Scream").
Another great thing "Part VI" has going for it is it's soundtrack, thanks in large part to Alice Cooper. It's very upbeat and period, but I wouldn't want it any other way.
Also, I'm becoming a fast fan of Thom Matthews who, if Jamie Lee Curtis was horror's "scream queen," could easily be considered her king. He has a natural charm that few actors of his generation can match and a pretty good nose for material, having starred in the aforementioned "Return of the Living Dead" and it's first sequel. Aside from him, though, you're never likely to hear from any of these actors again, and that's part of the fun. Bad acting is a hallmark of these movies, something that modern filmmaker's seem reluctant to embrace. They don't understand that the audience rooting for the villain in these movies and that's why they can never be scary, because we don't want the protagonists to survive, just to die in an unusual and entertaining way.
Today, though, too often audiences allow movies to dictate to them how they're supposed to be feeling. For example, these Kevin Williamson pictures that became so popular for a couple years. They weren't scary, they just shamed their audiences into pretending to care for their character's. And if you didn't care, then there was something wrong with you. To those people, I suggest going back to check out this movie and be reminded of what slasher films are supposed to be all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, May 24 2004
By 
N. Fares (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A movie in which I found was done well for a Friday the 13th sequal. IT was entertaining enough to watch all of the way through. Acting was actually pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JASON IS EVIL!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 18 2004
By 
RJ ST.thomas (bunea park,CA USA) - See all my reviews
this movie i tell you it's great great, and jason is like another SATAN, jason be choppin' people's heads off,stabbing them with hunter knifes,ripping people's body parts off and stuff and causing chaos and more thrdr movies keep gettin' better and better each time i'm gunna make these films if people don;t make these films anymore, ill try to make them my self cuz these are the greatest horror movies ever Friday the 13th series are much much better than halloween and nightmare one elm street so i perfer u get all jason movies but not JASON X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Horror Movie!, March 28 2004
By 
M. Tennis "Yayo G" (West Terre Haute, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives is one of the best Fridays. There isn't really anything wrong with this movie. It has lots of gore and lots of kills. Anyone who likes Friday the 13th should definetly buy this DVD. The only special feature is the original trailer, but the quality of the picture is so great that you should pick it up as soon as possible. You can also get it for $9.99 at your local Circuit City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 6th time around wasn't too bad, March 18 2004
By 
Mr. Bey (Riverside, CT United States) - See all my reviews
When I first started watching these movies I really didn't like Jason. Tommy Jarvis has been in more Friday movies than any other character and he's only in 4 of them. He was put in a mental home after brutally slaughtering Jason Voorhees. His sister who was with him in part 4 was never seen or mentioned again. Tommy in part 5 was really crazy but now he was pretty sane. Another thing about the Friday movies is that there is never an actor who consistingly plays Jason. There have been four or five of them and Kirk Kizenger is the most recent after Kane Hodder did four of them. This movie had the typical plot of all of them and I'm glad they got rid of that annoying music that was in the first couple of them. The acting is better in this one then in any other before it but it was just an ok movie. None of these are great but this one wasn't too terribly bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday the 13th, Part VI: Jason Lives (Deluxe Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 16.08 CDN$ 6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews