Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goofy Fun
This is a clasdic screwball comedy and a cult classic. remember how that movie wasn't a very big hit in its release in 1986, yet all the kids knew all the best lines from it. Yes, it's silly humor, almost vaudeville in its style (that's fine with me, being the vaudeville fan that I am) but well worth a viewing. Too bad it's a barebones DVD with no hidden Easter Eggs like...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by Jamie Jeffords

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars �We Had to Pay the Rent� I guess
Well below minor cult classic status, the Three Amigos nonetheless has some inspired and funny moments. It's always amusing to see Martin Short dance his combo Ed Grimly / Jackie Rogers Jr., or Steve Martin launch into a Navin R. Johnson soliloquy. Chevy seems lost in a fog, along for the ride playing second or third fiddle. Note the future Rebecca Ferratti at the end...
Published on Oct. 19 2003 by John IV


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goofy Fun, Nov. 14 2003
By 
Jamie Jeffords (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Amigos (DVD)
This is a clasdic screwball comedy and a cult classic. remember how that movie wasn't a very big hit in its release in 1986, yet all the kids knew all the best lines from it. Yes, it's silly humor, almost vaudeville in its style (that's fine with me, being the vaudeville fan that I am) but well worth a viewing. Too bad it's a barebones DVD with no hidden Easter Eggs like director's commentary or deleted scenes and such. I like that sort of thing, as it enhances your view of the art of film making to see the rationale for remving certain scenes.
There was no commentary track from the acrors, either. Have Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short disowned the movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three Amigos, three times as funny., Dec 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
I can't wait to see this movie again and share it with my son, he loves funny movies, and with the cast on this one, we will be laughing until we cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a plethora of reason to buy it, Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Amigos! [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is simply one of the must original and funny movie uniting those three great actor. The blu-ray come with a nice booklet with an interview of the guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic fares with three GREAT actors, May 14 2013
By 
Russ Moore "Yeshua Mandolins" (Oakville, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
This movie has always been one of my favourites. Just happy that it got moved from tape to DVD. I love the plot and the antics of the Three Amigos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant experience, March 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Amigos! (DVD)
The movie arrived in the time specified and in good shape. The plot is alittle silly but if you only want to sit and be entertained for an hour or two this is the movie for you. I still enjoy this escape on occassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel-good movie of the 80s..., Feb. 2 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Amigos! [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I remember seeing this film on BETA when I was about 9 years old... then, it disappeared from my mind... up until the blu-ray came up. Then, I HAD to buy it and relive my childhood memories as well as watching the characters' antics on screen and what a load of fun it was.

Watching Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short is a pure joy, and every actor surrounding them is quite nice to hate or love as well. It's light-hearted, good fun, a movie that doesn't pretend to offer something it won't or can't. It's not 2001: A Space Odyssey, nor is it "Bloodrayne: The Third Reich" either.

Three Amigos is its own thing. A calm but wild ride that doesn't take itself seriously for a minute.

Three silent film actors that have been kicked out of Hollywood now look for work or somewhere to go... then, they receive a letter from a woman saying her village is under the evil watch of El Guapo, a nasty villain with neurotic tendencies and speeches.

Taking the same premise as Ghostbusters (three scientist kicked out of the university now go into business... mmmh, funny, both films have been made by Saturday Night Live actors too...), Three Amigos takes the road to comedy without breaking a sweat. The good old days of 80s comedies.

In terms of special features, we may not have much, but having deleted scenes surely makes it quite valuable, as well as a booklet with an interview of the three actors (compare the booklet to the blu-ray cover... times change) and a 1986 cast interview where they thought the movie would probably get a sequel... Dammit, I wanted it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always A Favourite, Oct. 19 2012
This review is from: Three Amigos! [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This old classic is one of the best comedies from the 80s and really reminds you of that great age of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars three aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamigos!, Jan. 13 2004
This review is from: Three Amigos (DVD)
Are you ready to laugh your socks off? If yes, get this movie and start watching it! This mix of three amazingly hilarious comedians make an outstanding team that will certainly make your stomach hurt from laughing. Chevy Chase, Martin Short, and Steve Martin play the "Three Amigos," who are out-of-work actors asked to go fight the infamous El Guapo in Mexico. Thinking that El Guapo is "more than famous" instead of horrible, they take the job. As you can probably see, this mix-up causes quite a few problems that aren't at all too serious. After seeing this movie once, you'll be wanting to see it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Bad DVD, Nov. 28 2003
By 
Andrew Fernandez (Boulder, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three Amigos (DVD)
This is definitely one my favorite comodies out there with Steve Martin.
Unfortunately, the DVD is pooly made. Watching the movie, the image isn't even stable. There are artifacts that show up on the DVD. In sum it's barely watchable because the transfer to DVD was botched.
Also I just tried to contact HBO Home Video and they say they don't even manufacture the movie so they can't provide a refund or replacement. What kind of support is that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars �We Had to Pay the Rent� I guess, Oct. 19 2003
By 
John IV (Snohomish, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three Amigos (DVD)
Well below minor cult classic status, the Three Amigos nonetheless has some inspired and funny moments. It's always amusing to see Martin Short dance his combo Ed Grimly / Jackie Rogers Jr., or Steve Martin launch into a Navin R. Johnson soliloquy. Chevy seems lost in a fog, along for the ride playing second or third fiddle. Note the future Rebecca Ferratti at the end giving Martin Short his send off. Three actors in the 30's head to Mexico to ostensibly do a show but in reality were hired to rid the village of El Guapo, the bandit who's been pestering them for years. Hearkening back to Magnificent Seven and any number of Roy Rogers era singing cowboy send-ups, this movie is too much of a hodgepodge to be taken seriously. It's mildly entertaining, but I'm sure a nadir for many of the participants. Casually interesting was the scene in the beginning in the movie studios' office w/ a bunch of the voices of the Simpsons in the same room. I kept expecting Troy MaClure / Lionel Hutz and Fat Tony to creep out five years before airing. 'Do you know what a plethora is Heffe?'. Sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Amigos!
Three Amigos! by John Landis (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 6.85 CDN$ 5.00
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews