Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie
This movie is a classic and Sylvester and James woods did a amazing job in there roles, it's a movie you keep on watching through out your life time for sure.
Published 1 month ago by michael

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Specialist
Bon p'tit film d'action si on n'a pas trop d'attentes. Quelques longueurs, mais l'histoire se tient dans l'ensemble. Le jeu de James Woods est excécrable dans un personnage plus grand que nature, à la limite de l'exagération, ce qui lui fait perdre toute crédibilité. Malgré cela, le film demeure intéressant car il repose...
Published 22 months ago by P. Loranger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars The colour and sound are great - which is what one would expect from a ..., July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this disc as a replacement for my VHS copy. The colour and sound are great - which is what one would expect from a bluray disc. The plot was average while the action sequences were quite good. As I was watching it, I was reminded how truly awful actors Stallone and Stone are. In an ensemble cast Stallone is passable as the other actors help to hide Stallone's thespian deficiencies. As for Stone...well, at least she has her good looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, June 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is a classic and Sylvester and James woods did a amazing job in there roles, it's a movie you keep on watching through out your life time for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars satisfaction, May 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Specialist (Keepcase) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
i would recommend this product. Theres nothing wrong with the produc; however,the tracking of the package was lacking but it came in good time and good packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Specialist, Sept. 24 2012
By 
P. Loranger "Rick" (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bon p'tit film d'action si on n'a pas trop d'attentes. Quelques longueurs, mais l'histoire se tient dans l'ensemble. Le jeu de James Woods est excécrable dans un personnage plus grand que nature, à la limite de l'exagération, ce qui lui fait perdre toute crédibilité. Malgré cela, le film demeure intéressant car il repose davantage sur les épaules musclées de Stallone.
Le DVD est arrivé rapidement et en excellent état. Mes remerciements au vendeur !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive Action!, June 3 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Specialist [Import] (DVD)
Ray Quick (lordage Sylvester Stallone) is a veteran specialist who now assassinates people for money. His newest mission requires to bump off the murderers who took away May Munro's (Sharon Stone) parents. This is a taut film that will have you sweating. High fever! The chemistry that Stallone and Stone have is remarkable and will leave you thirsty. I must've drank ten sodas. Hyper! Quick gets each man one-by-one and finishes off Timayo (excellent name) played by Eric Roberts. Even when the movie doesn't involve his mission, Quick fights a couple of punks on a bus and causes tax money to be spent on a broken window. Shattering! Rod Steiger is the father of Timayo and James Woods (who is always an evil genius) plays a trigger man who used to set off Quick's bombs. This movie will leave you exhausted, but wanting more? You say 'no', but I say 'YES'! Immortal genius to the maximum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stallone is a walking bomb, June 30 2004
By 
Dusan Leon-Citic (Uzice, Serbia and Montenegro) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Specialist [Import] (DVD)
Former government bomb expert will now help one woman in her personal vengeance. A lot of action scenes (check one in the bus), big explosions and great thrill. Stallone is cool as always, Stone looks hot and Roberts is the man (I'll never forget his question:"You like the bitch? Maybe you like me?!)Ambient is very good (especially by night) and you simply want to be in Stallone's skin while he's walking down the streets looking for bad guys. Music score is also masterfully done and inspires the moment. Definetly worth of watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hardly Stallone's worst, but it's not worth mentioning., March 29 2004
This review is from: The Specialist [Import] (DVD)
Arguably Sylvester Stallone's last box office hit (unless you count Cop Land), The Specialist is not the typical Stallone testosterone fest. In fact, it remains a fairly atmospheric thriller revolving around obsession and revenge. But it's not as interesting as it may sound, thanks to the generally lackluster script and mostly unlikeable characters.
Stallone plays Ray Quick, an ex-bomb specialist who works for hire. After the movie's requisite prologue, he's in Miami working for May Munro (Sharon Stone), who wants him to kill three mobsters, especially the head mobster's son, Tomas (Eric Roberts), because they murdered her parents when she was a little girl. Quick contacts her only by phone, they are to never meet, but he's admittedly intrigued by her and vice versa. However, she's actually working for Ned Trent (James Woods), Quick's former colleague who's out for revenge.
Action fans expecting bombastic and over-the-top action sequences should steer clear, this movie will be too sluggish for them. The Specialist has no desire to function as a typical Stallone actioner. There are no large-scale gun battles, fisticuffs, or car chases. In fact, I gather Stallone received the role purely on the basis of his box office clout (and perhaps also his ability to brood and act generally depressed fairly well).
So what is The Specialist, then? Is it a thriller? Yeah, sort of, there are a few suspenseful moments, mostly pertaining to Stallone using his bombs to knock off the mobsters. Surprisingly enough, the twist of having the hero kill the bad guys with explosives (Speed and Blown away came out the same year) works well enough, mostly because the villains' impending doom bears a certain inevitability that plays to the movie's advantage.
But there's little else about the movie worth recommending. The story doesn't make much sense; as soon as it's revealed Roberts' murdered Stone's parents when she was a child, I scratched my head in confusion. He couldn't possibly be more than a year or two older than Stone, meaning he committed the murders when he was about, what, ten or eleven? More likely, it appears the filmmakers are trying to pass off Stone as a twenty-year old bombshell. Sure, Stone looks great (and I do mean great) in this film, but she can't even pass for thirty.
The romance is unsurprisingly perfunctory and generic. As soon as the hero and heroine meet, they almost immediately tear their clothes off and go at it. This is neither romantic nor sexy, even with the undeniably hot Sharon Stone as part of this tryst. I've always kind of liked Stallone, subpar an actor as he may be. He's always had a fairly commandable screen presence, though he has yet to translate that to genuine charisma (which is what puts him considerably behind that other big lug, Arnold Scwarzenegger).
Neither suspenseful nor exciting enough to recommend, The Specialist is of little interest to anyone except for Stallone and Stone fans (and maybe James Wood fans, who will either delight or wince at his maniacally over-the-top performance). I'm still waiting for Stallone to revive his career with a big-budget action blockbuster, but I don't see it happening. Hey, I'm one of the few guys out there who actually liked D-Tox, so I wouldn't necessarily say his career has gone down the drain.
* 1/2 out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There is Trash--and Then There is The Specialist, Sept. 20 2003
By 
Martin Asiner (jersey city, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Specialist [Import] (DVD)
Most big budget big star films that come under heavy critical panning usually contain ludicrous acting on the parts of the big stars and a heavy reliance on special effects. I can see why THE SPECIALIST is now included in that group. Sylvester Stallone has rarely been as buff as he is in the role of Ray Quick, an ex-CIA bomb specialist who has been hired as a bomb hit man to kill some thugs headed by Rod Steiger and Eric Roberts. Stallone is as stone-faced as ever as he judiciously places small but powerful explosives to kill his victims. Stallone as Quick sleepwalks through his screen time, but as I watched this movie for the third time, I realized that the movie that I saw was exactly the one that director Luis LLosa wanted: a paen to the power and destructive force of matchbook sized bombs. Clearly, LLosa did not want anyone to take seriously the tale of a hired bomber who could kill in the hundreds and not arouse world wide attention. There are so many explosions that each one works metaphorically to eradicate any serious consideration of a plot that has as much weight as one of Quick's plastic explosives. The focus is less on Quick, but more on his supporting cast, Sharon Stone as the revenge-seeking woman who hires him and James Woods as the former CIA teacher spook who taught Quick all he knows about bombs. Miss Stone is the leggy female counterpart to a Stallone whose primary acting skill is to grimace as if he expects a hook from Apollo Creed at any moment. Stone walks around for most of her screen time in mini skirts while Stallone shows off his equally impressive pecs. Yet, despite their physical symmetry, their screen chemistry barely registers on the cinematic Richter scale. What keeps the film going is a balance between the incredible explosions (one of which allows a hotel floor to disengage itself from its structural base) and the superb acting of James Woods, who seems to be working as some kind of CIA spook with authority over the local police but is really on the pad of a crime boss, played shrilly by a balding Rod Steiger, who is guilty of badly overacting. Woods does what he can to keep the disparate elements of an off-balanced movie like this one on track. To his credit, he manages to give more than a note of authenticity even to the scenes that defy logic and analysis. The relationship between Woods and Stallone on a reverse-buddy level is far more of note that the hoped for sexual sizzle between Stallone and Stone. Essentially, THE SPECIALIST is predator prey film with Woods hunting Stallone, but the boundaries between the hunter and the hunted soon often blur. Watching a film like this is a perversely enjoyable experience. One does not expect any great statements about the Twisted Meaning of Life, but in the male bonding arena, nobody can top James Woods with his ability to make the audience feel the nervous agida as he closes in on his target. Stallone, however, has never learned how to react when he is outside of the squared circle, but in THE SPECIALIST, I did not really care about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get sucked by becouse of all the good actors. I did., March 9 2003
By 
This review is from: The Specialist (VHS Tape)
This movie I could not wait to see. The very day it came out I plunked down my money and sat in a theater and watched one of the worst movies ever made.
Well first i'll go over the "plot". Stallone plays Ray Quick a demolitions expert who is hired be Sharon Stone to kill a mob family that she has infultrated. The family killed her family years ago (just how many times are we going to have to have this same plot). Eric Roberts plays Stone's boyfriend/mob bosses son/patsy. Rod Steiger plays the family monarch and resident bad guy. James Woods is Ned Trent a crooked cop who Quick had issues with when they were both in the army.
This movie opens up in the middle and tries to tell the story in both flashbacks and present time format. All this dose is give you a real lost feeling right off the bat. All the actors are heavy hitters with Oscar nominations to thier credit but this is one of the missteps that even the best make. The only bright spot in this entire mess is Woods. Even with a bad script and foolish lines he still, somwhow, pulls the role off with flair and humor that, unlike the rest of the movie, was intended. This movie should just be forgotten as quickly as possable...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as some other big movies!!!!!!!, Jan. 17 2003
This review is from: The Specialist [Import] (DVD)
Although this film has been trashed by the media, it is not as bad as some will say, it does have some interesting characters, In this Stallone is a former CIA explosives expert who is hired by Stone to secretly kill off the mobsters who killed her parents when she was a child, James Woods is at his usual best here as Stallone's former CIA partner who is in cahoots with these mobsters, you can tell Woods had fun here in this role, Eric Roberts is chilling here as one of the mobsters who Stone is wanting killed, this movie gives much depth to its stars, Stallone, Stone, & Woods are NOT one-dimentional as some would say, we feel Stone's anger & sorrow for her parents, & we understand Stallone's calm & collective demeanor as he follows Stone in an effort to understand her intensions as any former CIA agent might do, & we understand Woods' intent, although not action-packed to the extreme, it was never meant to be,but does have big explosions, the hotel room explosion has to be seen to be believed, set in Miami, the scenery is nice to look at, as is Stone who doesn't look as good now, but this film is good if you want character substance, but if you are looking for non-stop action, you will be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Specialist (Keepcase) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 6.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews