Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Story Arc
When it first came out, I was put off by the cheesy early episodes. But this series has wonderful character actors and a long story arc that builds and unfolds and interconnects. The best science fiction on television.
Published on May 25 2004 by D. Mitchell

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The weakest of the 5 seasons by far, but required viewing to understand the terrific series
Fascinating, sometimes maddening mix of wonderful and silly,
intelligent and dumb, insightful and obvious.

At it's best it's the 'Wire' of science fiction, challenging
'Battlestar Galactica' for intelligence and emotional depth. At it's
worst, it's like an OK episode of 'Lost in Space'.

Generally far more intelligent than most TV...
Published on Aug. 14 2011 by K. Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The weakest of the 5 seasons by far, but required viewing to understand the terrific series, Aug. 14 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
Fascinating, sometimes maddening mix of wonderful and silly,
intelligent and dumb, insightful and obvious.

At it's best it's the 'Wire' of science fiction, challenging
'Battlestar Galactica' for intelligence and emotional depth. At it's
worst, it's like an OK episode of 'Lost in Space'.

Generally far more intelligent than most TV sci-fi (or recent sci-fi
films for that matter), with stories based more on ideas than laser
battles. In that, it's a little reminiscent of the original 'Star Trek'
series.

The most interesting thing; this was an early case of a series having a
pre-planned multi-year arc, so throughout there are sometimes seemingly
throwaway details that suddenly return to be finally explained as
having great importance a season or two or three later. On the other
hand, because this preceded the acceptance of truly serial cable shows,
each episode is more self contained than more recent shows in a
sometimes annoyingly neat way.

The show is also full of allusions; Shakespeare, the Bible, Buddhism,
King Arthur, the Koran. Certainly the writing is grounded in pretty
heady stuff. Of course, sometimes it's dealt with in a pretty heavy
handed way.

The setting is a space station that's sort of an intergalactic United
Nations. In season 1, some of the acting is so stiff, that it brings
the series down. Also, the effects, production design, etc. all reflect
a budget that's clearly way too low, giving it all an amateurish air.
None-the-less, I found myself caught up in a number of the episodes,
both emotionally and intellectually. One even brought tears to my eyes.
And the layering in of deep mysteries only slowly solved gives it a
sense of deeper meaning and arc.

One running problem of the series, the villains tended to be a little
'Snidely Whiplash', complete with black costumes and deep scary voices.
It got a little better as the series went along, but I wish the 'bad
guys' were a little less cartoony.

I wish the series was even more consistently great, but - in the end - it was
more than good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Story Arc, May 25 2004
By 
D. Mitchell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When it first came out, I was put off by the cheesy early episodes. But this series has wonderful character actors and a long story arc that builds and unfolds and interconnects. The best science fiction on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aw yeah.. just fell in love all over again :), Nov. 6 2002
Just picked it up last night, and am very impressed. I am in B5 heaven, after putting up with poor quality video and audio from the broadcasts, now we are treated to a digital widescreen transfer, and remixed 5.1 digital sound. Faith manages!
One negative note... whoever edited the included booklet should be fired.. I counted 3 glaring spelling errors on a quick skim through...
If you want to hook someone on the series, show them Chrysalis, the season 1 finale. It's head and shoulders above the rest from first season, no question. Do NOT show them Infection or TKO. The best episodes from season 1 are: Mind War, And The Sky Full Of Stars, Signs and Portents (this one still gives me shivers... "I want us to reach out and command the stars!"), A Voice In The Wilderness I/II, Babylon Squared, and Chrysalis. Parliament of Dreams and Survivors are pretty good too.
This season is easily the weakest of the series, but that doesn't mean it's bad.. just that there are a few lame episodes, probably born out of early studio pressure to make the series more "mass-appealing" and "Star Trekky". (ie, disposable, recycled plots, and cheesy action) But it's a crucial chapter of the overall Babylon saga, introducing an unforgettable cast of characters.. the sly, vengeful patriot G'Kar, the disheveled outcast politician Londo Mollari, the cynical and tough Lt. Susan Ivanova, the questionable past Security Chief Garibaldi, the guarded but resourceful Delenn, the ruthless Psi-Cop Bester, the impenetrable and enigmatic Kosh.. and so many more. It's so incredible to see the characters grow, change, and even die over the five year span. Season 1 is good. Season 2 is great. Seasons 3 & 4 are pure solid gold.. absolutely breathtaking. Season 5 doesn't quite capture the highs of 3 & 4, but it's right up there, a worthy conclusion, and the most powerfully moving final episode I've ever seen.
ARGH! I want Season 2 NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babylon 5 Season 1 Review, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
Love it. The best show ever made for television. Great story, great acting. A must buy for any sci-fi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Space Opera, May 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
There is no simple way to describe the depth of story to this series. Every time I have watched it through I notice new details that remind me of other classic works/tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Babylon 5, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
I laoved this series when it first appeared on tv and was happy to have season 1 for my sci-fi collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good series for the time..., Sept. 22 2013
By 
Luc Durocher (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
Very 90's. Original, well plotted, great characters... It passes the test of time so much better than his counterpart at the times, Star Trek the next generation. Lots of things to like... except for the slapstick humor, which is not my cup of tea, but besides that, it is a very good SF series.

And the delivery was impeccable, as was the service. Thanks again, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most First Seasons have their ups and downs and B5 is no exception., July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
Unfortunately, The Gathering which serves as the pilot for Babylon 5 is NOT included in this First Season Boxed set, which I guess is fair, as The Gathering did originally air over a year before Babylon 5 found a home on TV.

The Gathering pilot, while not essential viewing to understand the plot, it does held to fill in the blanks and it is recommended to watch it before watching Babylon 5 Season I especially on the first viewing of the show.

The first season features interesting plot developments and introduces the key players to the Babylon 5 Story: G'Kar, Londo Mollari, Delenn, Susan Ivanova, Garibaldi and Jeffery Sinclair.

Considering the show is in it's second decade the special effects on the most part hold up fairly well, but unfortunately this is NOT true on composite shots and sometimes you can clearly see flaws in the original source film.

Babylon 5 is best viewed as a novel for Television and as such the first season can be viewed as the Introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy I got this series, April 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
I had forgotten how much I liked this series. I remembered that It was good but after getting all 5 seasons and watching them all, I have to say I'm very glad to have watched it again, all these years later. Well worth the price. I know I will watch all five seasons again a couple of time over the years.

The regular characters are well defined, you really get to like and dislike some of them. For all the weird costumes and hairstyles, and what not, the acting gets you beyond laughing at them and brings you right along to caring about them.

Very good Sci-Fi series. A great addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars only did half a job., Feb. 9 2013
By 
This review is from: Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) (DVD)
I am not going to repeat everything about the bad quality picture and the artifacts. that's already been covered. My biggest complaint is the english subtitling. For certain reasons i have to turn it on sometimes even though i can still hear it and i noticed instantly that different words were used then what was spoken and half the dialogue was cut out in some of the the scenes. It was like the ones typing it out were too lazy to type out the harder to spell words or just didn't feel like typing out everything said. i can understand small changes but these changes were so huge it made me angry that those who sometimes have to read the dialogue didn't get the full experience of what was being said.

I am first to admit some of the acting wasn't that great, the overacting was plentiful and i look at the show with an eye that has been spoiled by 2013 CGI. What was on the show was cool for it's time so i just step back and enjoy the fun of it.i was not a fan of the actor who played sinclair thinking that sometimes his acting was quite wooden and somewhat forced although he did improve later in the season.I look forward to season 2 with boxleitner of who i have been a fan since i was a wee one and scarecrow and mrs. king was on.
This is coming from a non sci-fi person, i did enjoy watching it on t.v and i am still enjoying rewatching it on dvd.so there has to be good stuff in it to keep my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage)
Babylon 5: The Complete First Season (Repackage) by Bruce Boxleitner (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 49.70 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews