Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of nostalgia, a lot of fun with friends
This is one of a very few games I can get my wife to (pay and) play for more than a few minutes. The upgraded, faux 3D visuals are great, the controls are as spot on as ever, and the mayhem that comes from playing it with someone else is incredibly fun. The level design is excellent, imaginative, with a perfect balance of challenging sections and more relaxed stretches...
Published on Nov. 15 2009 by Meagol

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent game, Not much new!
Seems a bit short. Not revolutionary but still brings the classic fun with it.
Published on Feb. 12 2010 by NORGATEoiler


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of nostalgia, a lot of fun with friends, Nov. 15 2009
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
This is one of a very few games I can get my wife to (pay and) play for more than a few minutes. The upgraded, faux 3D visuals are great, the controls are as spot on as ever, and the mayhem that comes from playing it with someone else is incredibly fun. The level design is excellent, imaginative, with a perfect balance of challenging sections and more relaxed stretches that allow the chubby plumber and his lanky brother to catch their breaths. It's polished, and lovingly crafted, though it is by no means revolutionary--the only novelty is really the co-op/competitive play--but that is one heck of an improvement. So far I've only completed the first world level, but I can see how this game would have a better replay value than the original; the co-op makes the levels fun and unpredictable--sometimes there's a benefit to having someone to boost you up to a too-high-to-reach-on-your-own coin or platform, sometime the players just end up tripping each other up with funny consequences.

The cons for this game are the omission of online multiplayer--not a big deal, since Mario games have always been more fun when the players are physically in the same room; and the second is that players 3 and 4 are both toads, making them hard to distinguish during frantic play. Really not a big deal at all.

This game is definitely worth the purchase, whether you liked the original platformer and would like to revisit it with updated graphics and additional play mechanics, or just simply looking for a fun game to play. [...] [...].

[...].

Wow-wow-wow - Amazon censored my issue with the pricing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mario Rules, Jan. 13 2010
By 
D. C. Thompson "deek" (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
I bought this game for the girlfriend, who bought me a Wii for my birthday, but she plays it 10 times more than I do ... but I digress.

This game is a lot of fun to play, very true to the original game from way back. The only thing the girlfriend mentioned as a negative was the fact the controller is used differently than all the other games she has for the Wii. Typically the controller is used in line with the TV, however, for this game the controller is used "sideways" which took her a bit to get used to. For me it wasn't a big deal since I dont play the Wii as much as her, and to be honest, if you are a Mario player from olden Nintendo days, the use of the Wii controller is more like the original controllers, so it has a nice nostalgic feel to it.

Game play is really good .. a mix of old and new and still a lot of fun for this old timer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good game!, Jan. 11 2010
By 
E. Meunier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Really fun game, especially with 4 players. Can be frustrating sometimes as you can hinder other players really easily. Sometimes, you'll throw people in holes or you'll jump on them, making them falling in holes or on monsters. My only disappointment was that it was a little bit too short for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandson gift, Jan. 3 2010
By 
Richard Wark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
I purchased two copies of the game for two of our nephews and two of our grandsons.
It was the the most popular request of the season by the young people in our family.
The game provided our grandsons fun well into Christmas Eve.
I played the game for a while after the kids went to bed and it provides a good challenge even for us old timers.
I'm sure it will provide many hours of entertainment.
Grandpa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably easier for regular gamers, June 17 2011
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Fun game, a little tricky to get past the levels but we're very soft-core gamers. Good price, fast shipping, happy overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, Jan. 21 2011
By 
Paul Thevasagayam (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Worth playing if you like platforming games or Mario games in general. A must-buy if you are a Wii owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Mario Bros., Oct. 9 2010
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
New Super Mario Bros

My husband loves it, me, not so much, but I'm not really a 'gamer'. He can play it for hours, it's like having a really big kid in the house. It's awesome to watch. He prefers the old style controller, finds it easier on his fingers/hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE GAME..., Aug. 25 2010
By 
Ricardo H (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
with great graphics, interesting music background, and fortunately, the magic Luigi (some of those levels are actually quite difficult to complete). Overall, entertaining and a good addition to the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, March 14 2010
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
It was a fun game except for the glitch when someone died and the screen froze momentarily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent game, Not much new!, Feb. 12 2010
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Seems a bit short. Not revolutionary but still brings the classic fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Super Mario Bros. Wii - Standard Edition
CDN$ 34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews